paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xtreme Sports - Wetumpka Paintball Field / Xtreme Sports - Wetumpka Paintball Field / Xtreme Sports - Wetumpka Paintball Field / Xtreme Sports - Wetumpka Paintball Field

Xtreme Sports - Wetumpka Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (334) 567-0149
Address: 787 Cedar Lane
Wetumpka, Alabama 36093
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
zacziggie Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fort Paintball (Allen Texas). Doesn't compare.
Advanced Alabama Adventures. Close Competition
Review: Safety and Fun. The main objectives of the field.

Very knowledgeable staff, they are very fair and will even give you pointers and tutorials if they see you're having a tough time. Hell, i've seen them give a kid a 30 min lesson. All guns were chronographed before you play, and they aggressively pursue anyone who does not have their mask down as soon as they pass the netting.

Fields are great compared to some of the other fields i've played. 3 hyperball, one airball, and two woods. 6 well kept fields...impressive.

I've played here for about a year now and i know the ref's and owners, and they are genuinely good people.

The only reason this field did not get a ten is because of the lack of shade (you have to sit under a table for shade), and the restroom facilities.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

VinceVega Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AMX in Auburn
DGS in Atlanta
Directions
to the Field:
Directions on site are good.
Review: Living in Auburn, AL there are very few facilities with good fields to play at within reasonable driving distance. This field, only about 40 minutes away, is one of the few choices I have, so due to that, I'm going to have to say I'll probably visit again.

The Good
They had 4 speed fields, and I assume one Woods course, though I never ventured over there... or even asked about it. I'll visit again because of the variety. There was also an excellent turn out... We could have had at the very least 3, 5-Man games going... but most opted to sit out every now and again. Prices were decent... I'm used to paying a little less for All-day air, but I'm also used to driving twice as far. Didn't have a whole lot in the way of a Pro Shop, but had a little selection in case you needed something. That's it in the way of the good really...

The Bad
There were 2 main issues that stood out to me as being really awful. Safety and Attitude. As far as safety, there was no safety talk, and a number of infractions that, at other fields, would get you kicked off of the field. I hope this isn't the norm at this field, but it appeared to be business as usual. There were at least 5 people that I could look at as being first-timers. It was quite clear that noone had talked to these people about safety, because as one of them walked off the field, they pulled off their mask. My buddy I was with ran over to him and yanked his mask down (This probably should have been a refs job, but we'll get to that later) and explained to him not to do that. Hopefully this will improve with future visits. My only other complaint was the refs. The only really friendly person who worked there was the guy behind the desk. The refs were little highschool punks who seemed more interested in socializing than getting the games started. In my previous experiences, mainly with DGS just outside Atlanta, the refs are ready when you're ready. At Xtreme, you'd be lucky to get in 2 games an hour as it took a solid 15 minutes for the refs to decide they were ready. Refs also weren't overly concerned with evening out the teams. In their defense it was hot, but it really shouldn't have mattered at they weren't active anyways. This place could probably use a couple more adults making sure that customer service is taken care of. There were 2 refs, and both just sat at the 50 on opposite sides of the field. My only other complaint is lack of shade... but not a whole lot you can do there.

All in all, it's a good place to go if you're a seasoned paintballer with knowledge of safety and can take the general lackadaisical attitude expressed by most of the staff you'll encounter. I'd have to give it a 5... but could be a lot higher with some safety and customer service help.
Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 7:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BackLeftPlayer Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-non other in that area
-homefield.. the one i started out on for speedball and still go it Tsunami
Review: Ok.. i went down with my cuz and her friend.. From reading the reviews on this field.. i heard and saw it was really good.

Ok.. when i got down there i live in Tennessee soo... this was kinda a family visit.. but a paintballer cannot go for long periods of time without playing... like a week.. itll kill me.

So.. i found out.. well.. only open on saterday.... ok... not bad.. i get there... its nicely hiddin away from any homes.. so no stray balls will fly anywhere.

I wanted to play on their airball field with their X.. but they didnt have it up.... and it was 112... and my Evil paint.. which was not bad.. around 15 for 500... im more used to not having my paint just melt.. but it did there.. which im sure it is just cause of the weather.

They have a great Woodsball area.. started bringing up the good ol days.

For having such a big area.. and from when i went there.. 3 fields.. and woodsball.. im sure they could make alot more money stayin open longer than one day a week.. and from 9-3.. but thats just me..

I give this field a 8 out of 10.

- one day play pass was kind of harsh on the money end
- had to pay each refill
- did not watch what people are cronoing at..( where i ref.. that is a important thing)
- Shop?... what shop.. i see a shack with some paintball stuff in it...
-..... my cuz and her friend used a rentail... dont get me wrong.. Tippmann products are great..i own one of them and i love it.... but when they are rusted out along with the tanks... i dont know...
- i think heat stroke could be provented with a tent?.. or something.. they have a tralier.. but its their repair shop or something.
- ()()()() i guess paintball has really not coaght on around there ()()()() -

The good things i saw

- Woodsball
- Great speedball fields
- Nice refs
- Great chooices of paint
- It has Great potential
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

customcocker5 Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Montgomery Paintball, AAA, Xtreme Paintball, DSG
Review: This is the best field in the world. It's built by paintball players for paintball players.

THe 5-man X-ball field is amazing and always up. FPO but they sell the best paint: Premium, Evil, Midevil, ETC.

Just come out and have fun. I wouldnt trade playing at this field for the world. THis place has become a second home to me. Jus come out and ball with us
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbie101 Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This field is great I love to play on the air ball field when i am not refing. The people who run it are great and it just a great place to come out and have a good time. the pricing is great and the field fee is cool. The 2 hyperball fields are fun and long play but the airball fields is one game one its own. Everytime i play there is something new i learn or see happen and haven't seen before. This field is great!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flyor Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wiley's Indoor
Bearclaw, TN
None local to Montgomery
Review: Had the opportunity to play here this past weekend. The staff was great and the field owners were very helpful. Field layout has something for everyone.

FIELDS: They have a few hyperball fields and an airball field all enclosed by netting. Unfortunately, due to the high winds of late, I was unable to play the airball field as they were having to rebuild the netting around it. They also have a woodsball field that we played one game on. I don't play woodsball too much but the layout seemed pretty good and there was talk of updating/upgrading it, which sounded good to me.

ON-SITE Support: They're going to FPO soon, but as far as FPO prices are concerned, they were reasonable. They had air fills up to 4500 and CO2 refills and a small pro-shop on-site. They two chrono stations setup inside netting as well. Cold drinks were available. There wasn't much in the form of a staging area and I noticed a lot of locals brought their own pop-up shades, tables and chairs. This was really the only CON that I saw. I fully recommend you do the same as the temps get warmer. Shade is a premium.

LOCATION: It isn't too far off the beaten path, and the directions you can download from mapquest or randmcnally will get you there pretty easily. The only shortcoming I noticed here was the last part of the drive is down a dirt road and after a good rain it does muddy up quite a bit. Short of a 4X4 you'll need to drive parallel to the road on the grass for parts of it. Not sure how the field owners could improve this but I wanted to warn any who plan to go; I would definitely leave the slammed sports cars at home.

REFS: Every game I played was reffed by a minimum of two and when we played the woods game there was even more; maybe about 5 refs or so. They were pretty darn good refs too. They weren't afraid to get in there and paint check a player, they used proper signals, and they were very fair in their assessments. Big plus for the reffing staff on-site.

OVERALL: I thoroughly enjoyed my time at this field. There was a very positive attitude by all that ran the fields and by all the folks I played with. If you are in the are this a fun field to play at, and you can get a lot of games in in a day. I plan on returning when I am down that way again.
Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 12:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darby_crash Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
American Xtreme the staging area was nicer and the staff was cool. But the players where all noobs but that was like 3 months ago
Review: This is the best field in Alabama the fields are raw and the people are the coolest around. Saftey is stricly enforced. The owners are very cool and so is the staff the reffing is very good here. There are 4 fields three speed and one wood, I always say if you're gonna play woods then play at you're house but thats just me.
Last edited on Saturday, June 12th, 2004 at 9:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cprlt2003 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: GOODS: This is a great field to go to if you are planning on having a good time. The fields themselves are really good. There are three speed-ball fields with one as an air-ball field. They also have one woods field. All the fields are well maintained and are thoughtfully set up to provide awesome paintball. By far the best speed-ball fields I have played at yet.

The staff members and regulars are very friendly and professional. All of them treated me like I have been going to their field for years. A very warm welcome to someone showing up for the first time. They treated everyone fairly, with respect, and also were willing to help anyone with marker problems, questions, or just chewing the fat.

The staff also tried to get as many games in as possible with very little downtime. You very well could play 10-15 games, one after another, without sitting down (provided you have paint and air).

BADS: There are very few bad points about the field as well. Hardly worth mentioning but reviews should have the goods as well as the bads. The staging area has very few places for shade. In the Alabama heat, this could pose a problem. The shop does sell Gatorade and water, but shaded areas are hard to come by. Another problem I saw was the restroom facility...aka porta-potty. With where the field is located, by far the best solution to the problem. But someone could always ask for softer toilet paper ;-) None of these problems affect the game play on the field or the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. Again, hardly worth mentioning an all.

All in all, I highly recommend this field for anyone in the area. The field is about 10-15 minutes from Montgomery and is definitely worth the drive. Fair prices, awesome fields, and a great staff. What else can you possibly want from a paintball field?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RubberDucky6904 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nope this one is conviently located in Wetumpka
Review: Well the #1 thing I love about this field is...................THE LOCATION! Yes the location! For anyone I know most other fields require an hour long drive but this field is close to many players who are just starting out. #2 thing I like about the field is SAFETY!!!! Safety was enforced to the XTREME! It helped the Paintball moms who thought it would be dangerous to play paintball.3# The stuff is cheap and easy to get all you have to do is contact the store owners and they will reserve the things you want!#4 thing I like is the community people know each other and are friendly. There is no scary jerk who wants to gogg you. #5 People help you there! yes everyone wants to help others at Xtreme Sports and they will work on your gun for free.
This field deserves the best a 10 outta 10!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BetterthanU Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: the field is a fun place to play and good place to learn at. everyone there will help you with your game all you have to do is ask someone. there are people of all skill levels that play there so you can always play with people that are better than you in order to get better at the sport. as far as the actual field it is nicely set up. the equipt might not be top of the line but it certainly isnt at the bottom. the 2 speed ball feilds are fun the airball rocks and the woods are cool too. the refs are nice (at least as long as you are). and the proshop isnt that big but they have more there than you think. and if need something while you are there i almost guarentee that they have it. definately worth going to!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media