paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park

Gateway Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (314) 298-3772
Address: Missouri Bottom Road
Bridgeton, Missouri 63044
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
chuck10 Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: this field was good back in the day its really gone to shat lately.

pros:
cheap
close to home (ST Louis)
good mix of courses

cons:
the regulars gang up on everyone else
no food or drinks
they check the speed of your gun at the beginning of the day (once) then everyone shoots WAY WAY of Powered
the staff doesn't seem like they want to be there
the wait time between games is very unnecessary long
its very dirty (even for paintball courses)
the staff always says that the woods courses have too much plants, wet, poison oak, under construction... theirs always an excuse not to play woods ball
the staff basically just babysits people they hardly ref the games they just watch

i have seen two hoppers break
one hopper shatter
and one cheep gun split do to the high speed of everyone guns

it do love this course it is in bad shape with unfriendly staff and its trashy but i do like it and still go back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foxco0311 Saturday, April 3rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwackers, and Private feilds
Directions
to the Field:
At the end of the St Charles Rock road,right next to the River.
Review: HOPE YOU LIKE "DEAD MAN WALKING" AND BOUNDARY ABUSE, its all fair game here!!!!

Pros: Conveniently located close to st. louis, Feilds that I played on there were pretty cool. Competitve pricing, but you get what you pay for. The staging area wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. Main staff refunded my money and said that unsportsman like conduct would not be tolerated. (I didn't stick around to find out if this would hold true for the remainder of the session)

Cons: Bad Reffing, regulars ruin it for the renters and other non-renters. I can't emphasize it enough, BAD REFFING!!! Went to have a good time, ended up leaving very aggravated and unfullfilled.

Safety: Poor, I didn't know who was out and who was in play..... and this was okay with the Ref. This lead to people that were out of play being shot at multiple times over.


Summary of my experiece at Gateway Paintball in early spring 2010

I used to play alot of paintball when I was younger before joining the Marine Corps infantry and had a blast while playing. I recently got back into the sport because I love the game. I primarily have played at Bushwackers and always enjoyed the game there, eventhough they really nickel and dime you. Today was the first day of paintball that I've played in years and was very dissapointed. The Ref that was handeling the open play was very young and it seemed as though just creating 2 teams with equal players was very confusing. He should have taken charge and instead needed help from some players who later became a problem. Basic ground rules like boundaries were not established before starting play on new feilds. There were a few regulars at the park that seemed buddy buddy with the ref. At first I didn't see a problem with it, until we started playing. After a few games of speedball I was having a good time and had no problems. Then we went to play the "trenches field", this is when the aggrivation set in. One of the regulars decided to become a ref? Even though he didn't work there. Whatever..... didn't see why, but okay. The first match the feild seemed great and I was having a ball. Then out of nowhere I got shot from behind. Didn't bother me since this is all part of the game. I was thinking that the whole left side of my team was dead and this player was able to make it through, good on him. I soon learned that this wasn't the case. The player was doing the dead man walk down the road which I beleive was the outer boundary to the field and came up from behind my team. The reason why I say, "I beleive it was the boundary",is because I DON'T KNOW. All I can say is that this is the place that the players that were out gathered and it made sense that this would be a boundary line. At Gateway the "dead man walking", must be considered in play. I don't know seems cheesy to me. Kind of makes playing a little dangerous since after you see this going on you want to shoot at everyone you see, in or out of bounds. The next game we switched sides and I held back and watched the road. I started to get into the game and ignored the road for a bit when I noticed someone walking as if he were out of the game close by. Before firing at him I asked, "are you in or out", without an answer the guy paused looked around and then pointed his gun at me and started shooting. He missed and I was able to light him up. Then the guy has the nerve to say that he wants to see if I was hit or not, very aggravating. Right after this happened another regular was also walking up the road and this time was mingled in with the players that were ACTUALLY out and spectating. I had to ask my brother who had just been shot by the chince, if he was in game. Once I knew that he was in, I shot him as well as some of the players that were already out of play that he happen to be mixed in with. He unfortunately was able to get me out as well. All this happened by the way right in front of the refferees. By this time my addrenaline was pumping and I wanted to set the situation straight. All the second player could say was "yeah, yeah okay... calm down". I asked the ref and the other "regular player acting as a ref", whom by the way was buddies with the two dead man walking clowns, if this was playing within the rules. The posing ref said, "yes". The actual Ref didn't even have the balls to respond to my question, and let the other guy step in and take over the situation that had no business doing so. I'll have to admit by this time I was irate and it was best that I just left the field anyways. So basically if you like to play somewhere that if your a regular you can get away with anything and the ref will look the other way.... Go to Gateway. If you like the actual game paintball and want to play a good game against people that aren't into the chince way to play, go somewhere else. The staff at the staging area did give my money back. Which tells me that someone knows that this is bad sportsmanship and shouldn't have been tolerated. I will not be returning to the field as long as this kind of play is tolerated. The feild seemed as though it could have been alot of fun if you don't mind Flat woodsball fields and speedball. Whoever owns the business needs to hire some more intelligent refs that aren't easily persuaded by regulars that like to abuse the rules to the game.
Last edited on Saturday, April 3rd, 2010 at 5:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilverTG Sunday, September 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
River Spalt, much nicer and cleaner but not as many players.
Review: Just played for the first time at Gateway Paintball. Most reviews on here were good so I picked it out of several fields in ST Louis while I was in town for work.

Overall my impression was very bad. Gateway looks like it was great at one time but has been neglected.

The reviews talk about how nice the fields are and how they have a nice mix of woods and hyper ball fields. I only saw the hyper ball and the field they call mounds. They didnít play woods ball all day.

Ill break down my review as follows;

Fields
Both fields I played on were very overgrown and dirty. There was trash all over the place.

Staff
The refs are young and more interested in hanging out and grilling hot dogs (not for sale but for them, there is no food available to players). The games were reefed from the sidelines and I never saw a ref on the field to paint check.

Games
Games were 2 at a time and the breaks were long. We did a lot of waiting to play.

Safety Ė THIS IS A BIG ONE
Although barrel bags were kept on and refs enforced bags and masks all the time. I never saw a chronograph and many of the guns being used were very hot. 2 hits produced cuts on my wrist & arm, the kind that only come from a hot gun. A hopper got hit so hard it shattered, I would have hate to have seen a ball that fast hit one of the small kids in the mask or neck.

The worst thing I saw was open drinking (beer) by the staff, both in the shed they use as the rental shop and on the field.

I am as big a fan of a beer or 2 as anyone but drinking and guns donít mix and these refs are responsible for the safety of children

All in all this was probably a grate field back in the day but it is way past its prime and very poorly run.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pianoboy Friday, February 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky worriors (more woodsball, but less quality), bingshop st. charles (one small field)
Review: intro
Gateway Paintball is a really good field. But before you read this review, you should know i'm a woodsball person.

safety
First, the safety. They are very safe as far as barrel plugs and masks. If you are a periniod person, don't worry. I was there 5 hours and only cought one person without a barrel plug, but the ref called it quickly.

refs
The refs are nice and fair. There where usally fair teams and no one cheated and got away with it.

fields
The fields consist of 3 1/2 woodsball fields. The main one is about 3 acres big. It has a varity of terrian and lots of cover. The 1/2 is a mixed field called village. 1/2 is woods and 1/2 is "houses." The other 2 where to big to play on (trench and revine). Find them in another review. The speedball, even for a woodsball guy, was pretty cool. It was made of tubish mettle things. There where (i think) 4 fieldgoels, 4 stand ups, a X, and some other things. The final field i played on was mounds. It used large swage tubes made of concrete as cover. It was pretty cool.

food
There was minimal food. soda was avalible, but that was all.

people there
There was a difference between the people there. Besides my group (3-4 years experiance) there where pros and newbees. The pros where nice. There was a balenced number of pros on each team. The newbees where also balence, and where fun as well. The field manager at the dest knew how to fix all problems our group encountered with our markers. No one was a jerk

conclution
Overall, it was a really good field. I give it a 9 /10 for a first visit and hope to go again soon.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigbear08 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwackers
Directions
to the Field:
from 270 to 70, take earth city expressway north exit. Go to stchar;es rock road andmakea left. follow that aroundcouple turns and field is on the left.
Review: Safety: Very high on safety at this park, always made sure barrel plugs were in and masks were on when on fields. Only made us crono once though before we started playing in the morningand didnt crono againt the whole day.

Prices: We brought our own paint but i think a cae is $65, admission with own equipment was only $15 with all day air.

Staff: Didnt really seem to friendly, could have been that there was a party of 70 marines there though.

Ref: We had one ref all day because there was only 6 there for open play.Mike was our ref and was awesome. He could have been a lil more active instead of just standin out of bounds waiting for the game to be over. The bushwackers ref were more involved andactive. But with 6 players, 3 of wich are tourny level players i guess he didnt really need to be more active. He was nice and answered all questions. Thanks mike.

Fields: They have good fields. Hyperball and mounds are good fields very fun. There airball bunkers were very crappy and falling over and small. I wish they had a better airball set up. The woodsball fields were mediocre, and needed somework. But hyperball and mounds were good fields. The village was pretty cool also, lil wet from the rain but cool.

Facilties: They definatly need to revise there facilities and make some changes. They run their refills and rentals out of this small wooden shack( very small). Also they didnt fill tanks very full due to the lines being long. Air lines were crazy long and had to wait 15 plus minutes to refill. they need a bigger area or something because that was crazy.
There were about 6 areas with a lil roof top are. 3 with picnic tables, and two with waist high table things. No seating and not much room with big crowds, but we just backed the truck up and used it for stagging area.

No food ordrinkfor sale, and no pro shop. But gateway outfitters is just right down the road for any proshop needed reasons.

Overall hada great time at gateway and give it a 8 out of 10. If they had a better airball field waould have gotten 9 or 9.5 but 8 for now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RiceBurnaBoi Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Fearless Fighters(average)
-Bushwackers(decent)
-The Colleseum (closed, but was good)
Directions
to the Field:
Near the saint louis/saint charles border. Basically its at the end of Saint Charles Rock Road
Review: For those who want a quick summary of gateway here it is:

Bads: The prices are a little pricey, long air lines(sometimes). They still dont have a proper place to rent out guns/equipment(It's basically a large wooden box[Used to be a trailer]) No foods or drinks! I drank all my water one day, and they didnt have any more, it was kind of depressing. But I had my friend drive down to the QT down the road and it was all good.

Goods: diverse fields, (but they took their sup air field down, im guessing temporarily, but i dont know), they have hyperball, mounds, a village type field, and 3 other woodsball fields. Also they enforce the safety, when the match is over the ref stands at the gate and makes sure barrel plugs are on, and when going on to the field, makes sure goggles are on. 7/8 of the refs i played with were nice, Im guessing that one other guy was having a bad day or something.

The miniscule annoying things: There are only really small roofed areas, if it were to rain, your equipment would get totally soaked. Now, there are picnic tables, which is an improvement to before, but there are only about 4-5, and if lots of players come, confusion could ensue. Also between the mounds and hyperball fields, theres no net, so often a noob could shoot you from the other field, which is extremely annoying.

So all in all, I give gateway a 8 out of 10, The field is good, but it could be improved.

EDIT: Gave more specific directions. =D

Last edited on Tuesday, March 18th, 2008 at 8:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DYEHALO92 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Bushwackers
-Fearless Fighters
-xtreme paintball park
-MC paintball
Directions
to the Field:
end of St. Charles Rock Road and to the right near the river
Review: I will say this now the only times i went was in the early spring when it was very cold and i havent been there for 2 years so idk what changed. i like the fields and the amount of fields. the staging area if ok but could use some work and the office is a little b/c its in a trailer. the air ball looked crappy but thats proably b/c it was the winter. so over all good field. I will give it a 9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WhoShotMe! Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, The Bing Shop, Bushwackers, & Top Dog
Directions
to the Field:
St Charles rock road to mo bottom rd 1/4th mile on the left.
Review: Safety: Top notch, even the players enforce it.

Prices: Very reasonable.

Service: Great service.

I started playing at Gateway when I found their shop, The guys are nice and helpful and helped me buy markers and parts to start playing. The fields are great and the service is excellent. There is always a good group of new players to experienced players for open play and they do a good job of making the teams as even as they possibly can, but they don't know how good the new players are.

No field or experience will ever be perfect, but the people there, including the players, make it one of the best fields around. To truly experience the field you have to play there yourself, just keep an open mind and have fun.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DM5P8ntBalla08 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gateway Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
By Old Bridge
Review: Fields 10/10
They have complete Speedball, Hyperball, Mounds, and 3 Woodsball fields. All great!

Staff 10/10
Nice, considerate, respectfull, nice, laid back. Just keep your mask on

Safety 10/10
They always try to keep you safe

Times 10/10
Always fits everyone's schedule

Prices 10/10
15 Dollars all day air and play! Perfect!

Food 9/10
Wish they had like hotdogs or burgers id be buyem em like crazy!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJAJ101 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most around St.Charles
Review: Ok I started out playing at gateway and then moved on. I am having problems with wacky so i decided to start going back to gateway. After telling my team to go to gateway to practice, some people who are 24 years old and up started to threaten my teammate. So this went on for about two games and it got so bad that the guys were screaming at him telling him if they were 17 again they would kill him. All of this verbal abuse happened right in front of the air station (were the employee just watched and did absolutely nothing.) So I finally stepped forward and told them if they keep threatening my teammates I will call the cops. This made them leave the following game and we left disappointed. So the following week we go and there is a new ref. Ok cool. So we played and I shot a kid. The kid then put his hands up and walked off. Then as im doing my run through I see the kid i just shot at the home base just standing there. So i think well ok maybe hes just waiting for the next game. So I shoot one guy and am going for the last and that kid shoots me. So long story short I talk to the ref and ask (what ref's said is in caps) "Ref I shot him. SO HE WAS CLEAN. ok but he called him self out.ON HE CAME TO GET A PAINTCHECK. Ok but still he put his hands up. LIKE I SAID HE GOT A PAINTCHECK. but once u call your self out by putting your hands up then ur calling your self out and u cant come back in when you call your self out. NO ITS CALLED DEADMENS WALK AND YOU CAN FAKE IT. ok so ur telling me that if I do the dead mans walk at the start of a game I can walk across the field, turn around and shoot all the players in the back. NO YOU CANT DO THAT.now mind you I said this with respect in my voice) ok w/e ur ref im not. i don't agree with what u say and ur call but ur getting paid to do this so ill honor it. HEY KID DON'T BE A F*&%'N SMART ASS! Whoa im not im saying ur ref and u get paid to make calls im not so ur right.HEY IM TELLING U DON'T BE A SMART ASS! So now that is two times I have had a bad time at Gateway and I WlLL NOT BE BACK!!!!!!!!! I will give this a 2 only because Wacky is much worse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media