paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park

Gateway Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (314) 298-3772
Address: Missouri Bottom Road
Bridgeton, Missouri 63044
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Fastlearner Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors (East and West), Bushwhackers, TopDog
Review: Gateway has a nice balance of Woods-ball and Speed-ball whichever tends to be your preference. The staff that has worked on the days I've played were very professional and efficient. When I played at Gateway the paint was PMI premium and it was affected by the early morning chill. Once the weather warmed up the paint performed well.

There is a problem with long lines and I asked one of the Gateway owners what the problem was. He stated that they were having problems getting a permit to put a building on the field. Everything, at this time, must be brought to the field in a trailer every play day until he can get a building up

I just recommend bringing extra tanks and getting them filled all at once before beginning your day.

I would score them better but the lines are a pain. Just remember ... they are trying to fix this.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BassMan256 Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors-I havent been in a long time... I really havent played for a while at all... but at first I liked Wacky because it was a bit closer to me, but now Gateway is my favorite.
Review: The fields: I think the fields are one of the major strenghts at gateway, They have a nice variaty of fields... wooded, and unwooded... after becoming allmost addicted to airball, speedball, and hyperball, I figured i wouldent like any of the wooded fields. I was quite suprised that I really enjoyed some of the wooded ones. My favorite "wooded" one was the trenches, they may have swiched things around quite a bit since you have been here last time.The Trenches were quite exilirating. lots of places to hide, and it wasnt clear enough to get picked off from 50 yards away... Nice and close and intense...

The people: we went earlyer on this morning, and yes, I beleive we got the "retarded ref" but it didnt phase me much. The guy just didnt want to mess around or take control of things. And I can see where hes coming from, because I dont like it when people make choices for us... as for on the field, he didnt do much... it wasnt unill our last game that somone told him to check someone for paint, and he was qite slow at it as well... but hey, The guy was nice... so it wasnt to bad.

The Prices: I found these quite nice actually... even though I dont like paying for anything... the cheaper paint than wacky was a pluss... kind of

The paint: this draxx. paint is really, really, bad... It might have just been the weather, but i highly doubt that... I was breaking balls left and right.... basicly every other one... you could label this as a gun problem, but it was happening to everyone.. it wasnt untill a closer inspection that i realized that basically every ball had some sort of dimlpe on it... and some even had strange sort of impression... or impressions... that seemed to make them break really easy... This is nice when your shooting at someone... but not when your just trying to get paint out of your barrel... seriously... I have used wallmart paint that is better than this stuff... The conditions were rough though, it was a brisk 32 or 33 F... but i still think the wallmart paint would have worked better (trust me, ive used it in this kind of weather).

If anyone has any other problems with the paint please state them in your review.

I give it a 7 out of 10 because if they make it "field paint only" like they are trying to, it will make playing there terrible... but just about everything else is ok
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WildCard38 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball, and others around the world.
Review: Gateway's fields are ok. They have an airball field that is always up, even if some bunkers are deflated out on the field. The condition of the airball field is less than ideal. It seems every time I go out there, it's like the Mardi Gras Mudfest from 2004 in some areas of the field. Another thing bad about this field is the smell. Being next to a sand pit or whatever it is, the area just has a bad smell. This is not the field's fault and they can't do anything about it, but just be ready for it.

The skill of the players out there is fantastic. If you want to play against some of the best that the St. Louis area has to offer, this is the field to go. Even if you just watch, you're going to pick up some pointers. I've heard a lot of people complain about the attitudes that a lot of players have there. These guys are hard-core ballers, they don't like to loose and when things don't go well they will get upset. The staff that works there is friendly also. They help you out and do their best to give you the best experience that you can have. It's the people there that make this field worth going to. The physical condition of the area and the land is not the greatest, but the people there make up for it (both players and workers).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crossman33 Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors - shorter air lines, not very good refs, short time between games
Review: I would first say that this field is another decent one, but in my opinion is hyped.
Between open play games, there is about a 20-30 minute wait. The air line was actually so long that I missed a game while waiting in the air line.
As said earlier, they are the only ones who play a multiple-hit format. The real reason for this is to get players to spend more on the field paint.

It's pretty ridiculous when you play a 15 to 20 min. game and then wait for 20 to 30 min. I only played 3 games before running out of my 750 or so rounds of paint.

Also, the field staff filling the air is very unfriendly, at least to me. I had a threadsaver on my tank. The guy took the tank and just gave me it back without the cap. I waited another 5 min. to tell him and then another 10 min. for them to find the cap the idiot dropped. Then i get yelled at that it's my fault that the cap was on. I would have been happier had he given me the tank w/ cap on and asked me to take the cap off first.

Still, I gave this field an average rating. It's a good place if you're going to be practicing or playing in a tournament as a team, but it is still way overrated with all the hype. EDIT: The fields still are good though design wise and the paint prices aren't a ripoff like Wacky Warriors ($80 a case @ Wacky, $60 at Gateway).
Last edited on Saturday, January 15th, 2005 at 1:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ebolazaire Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Wentzville - not as good as Gateway because of price of paint, types of fields, safety, etc.
Review: Gateway is an overall good field. They are very saftey conscious. They enforce the goggles/barrel plug rules. The field paint is ~$60 for a case of Draxxus. I preferr the field setups of Gateway over Wacky. I like fields like mounds and Ravine. Gateway also has a Sup Air field, something Wacky lacks at the time of this posting. My only cons about this are that there are no covered areas to set up your gear and all of the business is conducted from a trailer. Gateway is in a good strategic location (close to both St. Louis and surrounding areas). The owner of Gateway was also very leniant when setting up our private game. We tried to set it up a week in advance and then confirm it the night before. We didn't know that our e-mail was not recieved, and they had just found out when we called to confirm. They were able to pull strings for us and we got to play the next day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShootFaces14 Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme - Good but not as good 8/10
Wildcat - :/ not a fan 5/10
Review: Ive seen some reviews on here that have given really bad reviews and i dont see what the problem was?
The Trailor - Just as nice, easy to use and leaves more money for fields ect. ect.
The Cheaters- There is cheaters every were dont flame because u saw someome wipe.
The refs? Ive reffed there before and we dont sit on our a$$ and watch we get in there and check, dont complain.
The Area- The area is wonderful for me? not a bunch of cars driving by, someone said it stunk like sewage? no it doesnt.

THE ONLY THING I SEE WRONG with gateway is they could fix up there tables.

Rating 9.5/10 - since i cant choose 9.5 i put 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GotP8nt Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Meramec Challenge, Extreme, Bushwackere, WildCat
Review: Ok this place is ok, Iíd much rather play at Extreme or even Meramec.

I like paintball so as long as I get to play Iíll have fun just about everywhere. I donít like how rude most of the team players are. And having a lot of players around is a good thing, but you have to be able to handle everyone and make things run better. Get more refs and run more fields at once this could help a lot.

I give it a 5 the field need to be chaned. Playing the same ol gets old.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

horns800 Saturday, August 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fearless Fighters- I went there on a sat during weekend and noone was there. i played one on one with my friend for 1 hur. it was horrible. The guys lives on the property. this house is right next to fields. He is some hick who does nothing 1-10 3

Bushwackers- Not bad fields but bad management. high prices for paint. and can't bring own. refs r lazy. 1-10 6
Review: Gateway is my first choice of my friends and I. Awesome air field. Sweet town field. one of the bads things is they do not have a building. they have a little moveable trailer that they keep air and paint in. The refs r young about 16- 18 but they seam to be attentive and keeps rules in line. the mangement is good, it is a 22 year old who is in a partnership. he runs field and other runs the store. usealy they have a nice size open play group. (good if u r alone or only a couple of ur friends there)The rental guns r in good condition. they have lots of 3 man tourn. over all gate way is my favorite of all. i am going this weekend and i will prob post new report after i see what it looks like and how many people r there. 1-10 it gets a eight
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teabag22 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme, which is a million, no a billion times better
Review: Good: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

Okay, now that the good stuff is out of the way, I'll go ahead and write my review. First of all, the location of the field sucks. Everywhere that you go in their complex smells like raw sewage. Their Air-Ball course blows. (Xtreme's is 100x better). The 1, that's right one ref that they do have is rather incompetent. Why, you ask? He preaches safety on the field (mainly because he doesn't want to hear anyone complain), so he makes everyone crono before they get on the field, then he threatens to check everyone's gun throughout the game. Never happens. He yells 'GO!' and then stands in one spot and doesn't move until the game is over. Now, since he wants to be so safe why doesn't he move around and actually check people.

Another thing, how they handle their games. I personnaly have never seen any field in any state play the games the way Gateway does. Twenty minute speedball games, get hit as many times as you want. What's that about? I asked the ref what that was about, his response. It let's the kids that aren't that good get to keep playing, and not go out early. Well, how about this genius, divide your Open Play players into different groups instead of having people with 3 or 4 years playing experience playing with 10 year olds on their first day out. And whoever thought of that 20 minute stuff needs to go to a real field and see how Open Play is done. Anyway, you get the point. Maybe I'm a just a little ticked still from my experiences there, but this is just my opinion. Except for the FACT that the place smells like a sewer and the ref isn't that great. Take it how you will, and don't let me sway your decision to play here or not, but I for one, along with my teammates will NEVER BE BACK!

I don't know how long this review is going to last on here but I ask whoever looks at them and decides whether or not they stay, leave it on here. People should get to see different opinions of this place.

Thanks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impybackman Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky wariors
top dog
Review: Gateway is probably my favorite parks around. First off the guy thats in the trailor is awesome. (Monty your a stud) Second there prices on paint are fair they don't try to tap into your bank account unlike Wacky Warriors on paint cost. To play all day with free air is $15. All of thier fields are great, but i personally like hyperball and mounds. If your lookin for a place around to play paintball this is deffinetly a place to check out. It gets pretty packed on a good Sunday, so if your a new player they try thier best to put you with new players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media