paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park

Gateway Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (314) 298-3772
Address: Missouri Bottom Road
Bridgeton, Missouri 63044
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Dycid Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I like Gateway, but there are some bad things. I've seen tournaments and some are very disorganized...which isn't a plus. I hate playing with open play because of some cheaters, whether they are on my team or not. I haven't seen many cheaters but some of the more popular people at GP were the ones I caught doing it....thats no way to be a role model. The biggest thing for me is that I hate having one ref for all of open play. There can be 30-40 some days and I don't mind it as much, but when there are 70-80 people it sucks. The fill lines used to be REALLY bad but they've started going faster. All you have to do to avoid a line is go in between open play games, or try to be the first up there out of your group.

They do have good things though. I don't feel unsafe at any point when I play at GP. The refs DO NOT play when it comes to safety and I'm proud of that. I've heard many refs say 'If you are caught being unsafe, you receive a warning but if you are caught again you will be escorted from the field and will not be allowed to play for the rest of the day."

The reffing on tournaments is excellent. They have refs everywhere so there are no bad calls. They also have good rentals..It's what I used when I started..Anyway this field was well worth the time going and I highly recommend it to any newb or any experienced player...GO HAVE FUN
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun Buster Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwhackers, Fearless Fighters, Wacky Warriors (west and east), Xtreme, Wildcat, Xtreme Zone Sportz
Review: My buddies and I have been playing at Gateway for a few years now and we will always go back. I enjoy traveling play and don't limit myself to one or two fields but Gateway has always been an enjoyable place to play paintball. The mounds field is fun, hyperball is set up well, and Sup'Air is there as well. We played on the airball field most of the day practicing with teams but were a part of open play. The woods field (trenches) is bit overgrown but I think that is due to it being fairly new. The refs were also helpfull and made sure everyone was aware of safety and fair play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DerekHoevel Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwackers, Wacky Warriors, Top Dog, Fearless Fighters, Extreem
Review: ok... I know that there has been a few bad reviews about the tournament a few months ago. I cant comment on it because I was not there but I know that they tried as hard as they could to get it done the right way. People are complaining that Eric (owner) made alot of money and didn't deserve it. The thing that these people are overlooking is that he turned around and put that money right back into the field and bought a new compressor to make the next tournament run smoother.
Well, there was another tournament this weekend and I have to say I was extremely impressed with how they ran it. Instead of one Airball field, they split it in half and made two fields. All the calls were just and it was all fair. Instead of screaming out who was playing, who was on deck, and who was in the hole they had a megaphone that was heard clearly. One major thing they now have is all the food and drinks are out of the trailer that is in charge of checking in teams and open play. They now have two air lines outside of the trailer. This cuts all the lines down alot and you are able to get through them much quicker. Also, instead of asking one of the refs when your team is playing next, you were able to check a list with all the games. This is by far the best tourney I have been to at Gateway and I have to guess that the rest are probably going to like this one. They were able to finish the finals of the first tournament... do this tournaments semi-finals... take a 30-45 min. break to get everything ready for finals... and finish the finals by about 4 o'clock.

GREAT FIELD!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

pimpnu Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rm paintball,Wacky, Xtreme
Review: Gateway has a great hyperball field that has many bunkers. Maybe one of the best around. Sometimes they put up an airball field but not always. And when the do the player level jumps up. The reffing is decent but sometimes youll get stuck with a lazy ref that dosent get very many games in and wont do his job on the field. The Mounds feild is neat. the rest of the fields, I hate concrete bunkers. Air lines take sometime. And if they have a tourney going on you might as well not go. Because you won't get many games in. And it's a nice drive from Mt. Vernon. And I'd rather go some where else to get more games in. But has the best playas in the game out sometimes to practice with.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcracker101 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky
meramizzel
Top Dog
Review: Come on
-50 teams is a few to many for one tournament.
-But gateway gave their best to make it work.
- The three man rookie series is a great way to play against a bunch of sandbaggers. But the harder the team the better you will get.
-People need to stop complaining about the only descent field in our area.
-opposed to meramac gateway is the only field to run an air field.
-STL needs to support gateway there a great field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_beard Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
xtreme paintball park touranments run alot better
Review: I have only played here once but its wasnt a good experience. First Most teams arrived around 8:00 to 8:30 and captains meeting was supposed to be at 9:00 but no. Its was late by who knows how long. Then after all that they started playing 15 or so games they said something was wrong and had to start it all over. My team didnt have its first real game along with many other team for four or five hours. By the time we were suposed to have our first game people already left so they had forfieted. The first game we played it was dark. It ended up they didnt have time for the finallys so they posponed them til the next part of the series. I did have a very good experince here but with 55 teams its not goin to be perfect. That is why i gave it a 7
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dan orf Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havn't played any other fields
Review: gateway has a vast quanity of fields. They have 7 different fields from air ball to the jungle. the field has great reffs and the staff is also great. i had the best time of my life and am goin back at least once a month. the field contains rentel gear and paint. they have a great facielity and carry a full suply of co2 and nitrogen
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brian Strode Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors: you get to play a lot more games, but not as many experienced tourney players.
Review: This field has many good and bad sides to it. Some days are awesome, but others really suck. My team is doing the 3 man rookie series being held there. The first one was on March 14th. The entire day was a total disaster. To start it all off, the captains meeting was an hour and a half late getting started, so much for getting there at 8:00 sharp! After that there were about 15 games before someone realized there was an error in the schedule so we had to start all over again. Some teams were there until 2:45 and still hadn't played in a single game. That is ridiculous. We were paying close to 270 dollars per team to play and they couldnt even get the schedule right. My team finished all of our games in a 2 hour time span so we had to sit around the rest of the day to wait until finals. To top it off, there were 50 teams trying to get waivers, paint,air fills, food,drinks, and other stuff in the same line the open play people used. Sometimes you had to stand in line for 45 minutes to get a single fill. The novice division only had 3 teams register so they cancelled that division and only did rookie. They even kept the prizes from the novice division. 50 teams trying to play on a single air ball field is crazy. There were even 2 fights because parents and players were very unhappy about being there at 3:00 and not even having the chance to set foot on the field yet. A couple teams just left. All in all it was a very poorly run tournament and I don't know if we'll be returning to complete the series. There were many teams who felt the same way. It was a very bad example for Gateway and I know for a fact it made some people feel like never coming back. I must add however, the reffing was top notch. There were many refs to cover all angles and there were no big mistakes made. Once the games got going, the rest of the day went fairly well, it just takes a long time to run a tournament with 50 teams.

Now for open play. As I said earlier some days are good and some days are bad. Some times there is only one ref for 70 people. It is an accident waiting to happen. There is just no way a ref can watch 70 people carefully all at once. The turnaround time is also bad. There is as much as 45 min. between games. However, if you go for team practices, it is the perfect paintball field. We practice on the air ball field and you can play almost nonstop if the lines for getting air arent long. They have other fun fields such as mounds and hyperball, although the hyperball field gets old after a while. It just depends on the number of players and how many refs are there.

I really want to give Gateway a good rating, but this last tournament was very disappointing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mike the fixer Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the fields are good
Review: it was at the tournament the 14 man it was a mess,.,. the ref's were very much local orientated..if you know what i mean 50 teams and this field was so disorganized it was terrable i was ashamed to be associated with paintball,,, you see i took some newbies and parents up to gateway and we were there at 8.00 and we did not play 1 game until 1;30 everyone was so upset i think money should have been refunded because it was a disaster and i guarantee there will be more on this tournament there was a black guy in the trailer selling hot soda and nothing much else they made 15,000 dollars this day and they even took away the other prizes from the novice division geez how cheap these guy's did for painball tournaments what manson ,.,.,.charles did for peace and harmony if you get my drift needless to say my new team and there parents were pissed and they said no more i tried and said there not all like this but you should have seen the look terrable on you ..,,.,.,. gateway paintbal l you need to regroup mike
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Teak Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors
Review: The fields are very good I think, there is nothing out there like to mounds course. Some of the fields are one side, I mean that one side is very easy to win with (mainly the village). But for the most part the fields are great. If you go to open play on a day with no tournaments you can easily get about 17-20 game in. I have never had any problems with the refs, they have all made good calls and appropriate ones. But, on days with tournaments you will be lucky to get about 5 games in 5 hours. One other thing, if there are many open players, there will be long lines. But dont get discouraged, I recommend this paintball park highly. I will continue to go to this paintball park for a long time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media