paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park

Gateway Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (314) 298-3772
Address: Missouri Bottom Road
Bridgeton, Missouri 63044
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
andrew@95 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mc paintball, extreme and bush wackers wich shouldent even been a paintball park cause it is so bad
Review: I love this feild, i think it is prety well kept up but i do not like at ALL what they run this place out of it is a darn trailer i mean come on if you are going to run a paintball park build a small shop on sit and it takes forever to get things going. but all in all this is a relly good feild and host alot of touremnt but they could be better casue there teams tend to cheat alot. the bads things are just basily what they run the place out of and how slow the refs are they like to talk way to much and at touremnts the refs help there teams out alot but that going to hapeen anywhere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

GreatKill Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really, but I plan to try out Wacky Warriors.
Review: I really like this field for a few reasons. There are always friendly people around and majority of the people are veterans. There are a variety of game types, the classic Woodsball and the semi-new Speedball. The staging area is well kept and clean. The people who run the field have gatorade and food for anyone who needs a quick bite or a snack, for a small fee of course. There is something that annoys me, however. The lines are very long for service. It would be great if they had like a seperate line for food and anothesr for fills. They have multiple fields and often have private groups. All in all, I give this field an 8, very fun and organized, but those darn lines are the only reason I have a gripe. A solid 8 is nothing to complain about :).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chronic Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Buschwhackers, Xtreme Paintball
Review: This is one of the best fields i have been to. I love there hyperball course and everyone that goes there is experienced. It's very much opposite from Buschwhackers. It has many fun courses, and great customer support also safety is much higher priority hear. They have the best paint and best paint prices and they dont rip you off like buschwhackers and to get in they have a low price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdom10 Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors but I like Gateway better It has better fields in my opinion.
Review: First of all Gateway has a great hyperball field that has many bunkers including my favorite SNAKE. Sometimes they put up a airball field and when there isnt many people there its the best course anywhere. The reffing is decent but sometimes youll get stuck with a lazy ref that dosent get very many games in and wont do his job on the field. Then again sometimes you get a ref that gets tons of games in and pulls players out on the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gobleaux Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky warriors
Review: I was very disappointed in time management aspect of the field. While it seems to have quite an interesting array of fields, it was disappointing to see who few games we actually got in. We played on Jan 3, 2004 during open play. We had called middle of the week and said we would have 14 players. Would it be best to set up as a private party or open play? We were told to go with open play. We showed up at 9am. From 9am until 2:20pm we played exactly 8, ten minute games. Hmmm let's see that's 1hr20 minutes of playing time and 4 hours of down time. We were told that this was because air fills had to occur. I'm sure it had nothing to do with the two refs who were there(one was with a private party all day) with left only one other rep for the 100+ open players who showed up. 40 -50 players a side was ridiculous. We had 5 players standing behind one upright piece of sewer pipe three deep at one point. Romo(sp), our ref, might have picked up the pace of the game if he was paid by the game and not by the day. The guy running the air shack was nice enough, but I counted 16 people in line at one point for air and or sign in.

Am I missing something, or couldn't a ten minute game be run. At the end of the game, if someone needed air they could go get it while the next game started. It doesn't make any sense to take 45 minute breaks so that everyoneeee can get air at the same time. Besides, with over 100 open players on the field at any one time, if a few went to get air there would always be way more than enough to play any game the ref wanted.

Once again, the pluses
Close to where I live
variety of fields(although we only played 3 of them)
reasonable cost

negatives
too many open players for too few refs(100to1)
too much downtime between games
one person handling both sign in waivers and air(long air line)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbicon Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme,Wacky Warriors,Bushwhackers
Review: In the time I've played at Gateway,I've rather enjoyed it,although I enjoy any place to paintball. Gateway had a great sup'air course that is awesome in the tournaments. The only problem is that they only occasionally will let open play players play on it. They also had a great hyperball course that was my favorite untill I started playing in tournaments. Now,like most paintball fields,people will like them based on the kind of games they like to play. I like the fast pased,intense games that you will get at Gateway. They only have 2 senario courses. But they also only have 2 other courses besides those. Waiting in line to get help or air will take a long time and they usually will only fill your tank a third of the way (my tank is 3000 psi and I only got 1000). People that go to this field have very nice gun setups for the most part,I've never seen so many Halo B's in my entire life. Practice makes perfect and if you play a few times at this field you will probably notice yourself improving. I give this field a 7 because of the low number of courses and the poor customer help.
Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2004 at 1:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

peabody Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Meremac Challenge - good field, but I prefer Gateway
Xtreme - only played their once for a tournament.
Review: Overall rating: 9.

Fields: Gateway has a variety of fields including a Sup Air field, Hyperball, and three woods fields. Total number of fields is 7. In general, I like all the fields except one. They are well maintained. The Sup Air could often us some inflation but otherwise is in good shape.

Staff: One of the main reasons that I like Gateway is the people. The head ref is excellent. I play there about once a week for several months and have only had a bad ref once in all that time. And I haven't seen that one bad ref there since. On top of that, the people that work the store are good folks. Since the people that work there are awesome, I keep coming back. The entire staff has been very patient as my group of regulars continues to ask them all sorts of newbie questions. They have really helped us along.

Price: Standard prices are $15 for all day air. An additional $5 to rent a marker, mask, and tank. The same prices apply for group play on the weekends. Different rate for group on the week. Comparing this to other fields in the area, this is either the same as other fields or better. I haven't found any other fields that are better price wise.

Open Play: The open play players are a large variety. From fresh faced newbies to hard core veterans. The refs do their best to balance the field so that there isn't a lopsided competition.

Complaints?: More than a few people have said that the fill line for air takes a while. I may just be lucky, but I rarely have more than five people ahead of me for air. In general, I have nothing to say bad about Gateway - either the store of the field. It takes a special occasion like a tournament to get me to play elsewhere.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

217Lost Prophet Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I have been playing at gateway ever sense I was able to convence my friends to play the sport of paintball. We initialy started playing there because it was the closest field, only a 15 minute drive.

Field: Gateway has some impressive fields. What ever your type of play is they have a field for you. But their two best fields (IMHO) are the hyper-ball field and sup-air field. The few woods fields they have are not bad either if that is your game.

refs/managment: The only really bad thing I would have to say about the refs would have to be that they tend to be alittle slow at times. They all know how to have fun and enjoy the game. Imani run the fill-stattion, he is a great guy and there to offer advice and fix your gun if you can't. They currently have trouble with lines at the fill-station but they going to get that fixed soon. They have a great price for field paint $60/case. Field fees are pretty standard, $15 for your own equipment with all day air and $20 for rental (98s w/ nitro)

other players: Gateway get a big veriety of players at thier field, all the way from first timers to pros. Most of the regulars are tourney players and are always there to give you advice and pointers. Open play normal draws atlest 20 people a day.

Shop: That also have a pro shop in St. Louis, this shop is one of the better ones in town, they owner is a good guy even though they can give you a hard time, it is all in good fun though so there is not hard feelings.

All in all, I really enjoy Gateway alot, just need to improve the speed of the games and the waiting in lines and it would get a 10/10 from me.
Last edited on Sunday, December 28th, 2003 at 10:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

STL PBALLER Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky, Bushwackers, Xtreme
Review: Gateway Paintball Is the best in St. Louis HANDS DOWN! The guys who run it are all players and all around great people. There is a good mix of woods and speedball fields including the FIRST and ONLY REAL HYPERBALL field in St. Louis. They do have an awesome airball field that is always set up and is spectator friendly(you don't have to walk a mile to watch games). There have been a few people complaining about wait times and refs. Unlike other so called Fields in St. Louis, (YES IT IS IN ST. LOUIS COUNTY IN BRIDGETON) On the weekends mass amounts of players converge on the only field where REAL PRO PAINTBALL PLAYERS (not just guys with expensive markers and jerseys) actually play. Thats right! on any given Sunday, you can actually play alongside players from Chicago Aftershock or the Phily Americans or just watch them and learn from them. So if you consider 10 minutes in between games a long wait when there are usually 60 to 100 players, you need to get your head checked. The field manager Imani busts his butt and does a great job keeping the lines down. YEAH, I SAID LINES...THATS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU HAVE AN AWESOME FACILITY AND LOTS OF PEOPLE GO TO PLAY THERE. Top players and the top teams in St. Louis play here because these guys know what paintball is all about. Great Fields and Great times. 2004 is going to be even better with the addition to more fields and an awesome new compressor system which will eliminate air lines. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced player, Gateway is sure to provide you with an awesome paintball experience. This field has only been around 3 years and they are growing in leaps and bounds. They regularly hold big games, tournaments, and numerous charity events throughout the year so check the website for updates or call eric or Jeff at the store. These guys are all top notch and really nice. Not to mention the only factory trained airsmiths in St. Louis so if there is a problem with your marker, they can usually fix it at the field. Gateway is also one of the most safety conscious fields around. So if you want to experience what paintball is all about. check Gateway Paintball Park out. Definitely the only field worthy of a 10! Opinions are like..well...you know, and everyone has em' but anyone who would bash this field or the guys who run it has to be crazy because they work hard to make Gateway better that the rest.


* Admission is $15.00 with own equipment and all day air
* Rentals are $20.00
*They use Model 98s and pro-carbines with nitrogen systems
*Gateway Has THE BEST FIELD PAINT PRICES AROUND
$10.00 for 200 rds.
$20.00 for 500 rds.
$35.00 for 1000 rds.
$60.00 for 2000 rds.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Boogshag Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors
Review: Gateway has many courses that I like. Their hyperball course is very fun with many bunkers. They also have an awesome Mounds course, whose bunkers are made of concrete sewer tubes. They have 2 more OK woods fields and a sup air field that they set up sometimes, very fun. The onlt bad thing about Gateway is the refs, or at least the one that has been reffing me the last 2 weekends. He takes at least 10 minutes in between each game! We never played back to back once. That was very disappointing. I would reccomend Gateway if you're patient, but if not I wouldnt go. The courses are nice, but not the refs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media