paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park / Gateway Paintball Park

Gateway Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (314) 298-3772
Address: Missouri Bottom Road
Bridgeton, Missouri 63044
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
itfchaos Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bunch
Review: Before hand:
I heard about Gateway paintball from this site here and decided to go check it out.

Positives:
Very nice area to set up, get there early to get under the tree for shade as it can get hot in the day out in the sun. Lots of fields and they keep rotating them as you play. The fields are all decent, my favorite is the concrete drain pipe field. Lots of angles to keep you checking your 3 and 9 all the time. They tend to rotate to the two center fields more, hyper ball and the concrete pipe. Which is what really has this place going in my opinion! They fill the tanks good, and customer service is fast. You can bring your own paint, unless you rent their guns then you have to use their paint.

Negatives:
I think $15 is a little steep on the price but a business has to keep running. The referees are not the best in the world, some are better than others, everytime I played, there was only one ref during play. The wooded fields are not the best, very few bunkers, but lots of thick vegetation. The wooded field with the tree house has more objects to get behind than the other, unless your talking trees.

Final:
I give this field an 8 out of 10. It is hard to get a 9 or a 10 out of me. This field has two good things going for it. One being the two good fields that are really fun to play (hyper ball and concrete pipe field). The other is they have lots of room to make more better fields. The wood fields need some major overhauls!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Akakman Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Fearless Fighters, Bushwackers
Review: A nice clean field with reasonable pricing. If you don't like hyperball then this is not the place to go. They do post a schedule of fields to be played but it has been my experience that the schedule is not kept on a regular basis. On more than one occasion I have spent the entire day playing nothing but the two hyperball type fields. All games are elimination type and so there is little variety in games. If you like speedball then this is a good place to go, otherwise there are better alternatives for players looking for more variety.

As an update:
Gateway seems to be trending towards a slower and slower pace. I guess the ref did not understand that the more games played = more paint purchased. Oh well, to give you an idea, last week (and the last week i'll ever go) The ref managed to squeeze in 4 games in 4 and a half hours. Thanks anyway Gateway, I like to reload between rounds, but not take a nap.
Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2003 at 11:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kaos_Ratboy Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that are even close to Gateway
Review: Ok Gateway is the best field in the St Louis area! Is there any other field that Amateur and Pro's hang out at? I think not....... The Ref's are always on top of everything, the field and staging areas are always clean. They run the best tourney's, allot of teams all ways show up. They have the best group rates and the prices are very fair.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stlpaintball237 Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky warriors(lol)
Review: Gateway dominates wacky in all ways i can think of. they have great fields and people. the reffing has some room for improvement but its still pretty good. also a lot of good teams play there which is great for practices. if it werent for the fill lines i would give it a ten but thats the only problem. i'd recommend this field to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

topguns195 Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky warriors(not even close)
Review: gateway is my home field and ive been playing there since i started paintball. its a great place to play, great fields, good teams, nice people. sometimes u got some people that love to cheat, recently there has been a lot of cheating. there does need to be a bit more reffing, and i personally think there should be two days of play instead of one on sunday. my biggest complaint though is fill lines, i dont like waiting 20 minutes to get my n2 tank filled. but over all i think it is the best field in missouri. the people that run it are great, Eric, Big Dog, Imani, and all the others that i cant think of right now. so if we can fix the fill lines, get better reffing, and get rid of all the wipers well have a top class field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr. autococker Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Doesn't even compare to Gateway because of the type of paintball that is played.
Review: Eric has the BEST fields in the St. Louis area....period. The big draw is definately the "Hyperball" field. The most unique field is his "Mound" field which is made up of about twenty pieces of concrete culvert pipes that are about 5-6 feet in diameter, it is a field of many angles to say the least. The woods fields are run-of-the-mill but still very playable. If there is anything about this park that is lacking I would have to say reffing issues are constant. There is a schedule posted for open play so you know when and where you're going to play so be there or be left out. The field is by the river so sand is involved but it's fairly flat terrain to play on. The staff at Gateway is really geared toward tournament style paintball, lots of team sponsorship and practices and such. They even set up a 'Sup Air field on occasion. I would recommend Gateway to anyone, and do a private outting of 10-16 people for best results.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedBunker83 Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wacky Warriors, Bush Wackers, Extream Paintball
Review: The fields are great!!! They have like 6 of them and they are all fun and challenging in all aspects that you use them. Their service is not that great, aftre a game I was wating to get my N2 filled and there was nobody there they were talking about some thing and did not eaven pay attention to us. The only ref that i like is Monty, he is a great ref, can help you with any thing you want, knows a $H|T load of stuff, lets you play about any game you could think up, and a great person to talk to. My personal favorite is either Hyper ball, or the woods corse. The hyper ball is pretty much your plane jant hyper ball field but it is the best on I have played. Woods is just a fun corse to play because you can run up the side and bunker the other team off the break (If you know how to do it). The only thing they could do to make the field better is get some better service. I mean come on we pay money not to listen to you talk about your cars but to fill our tanks and ref us!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media