paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball

Hurlburt Field Paintball

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Highway 98
Mary Esther, Florida 32569
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
jettjon Saturday, November 5th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2013
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Danger Zone Pensacola - fewer fields, no refs, slower games, MUCH closer to Pensacola.
Directions
to the Field:
On Kissam Street across from the main gate of Hurlburt Field just off of Highway 98.
Review: Pros:
Well staffed
Multiple fields
Strong turnout
Decent rental gear
Reasonable prices
Quick game turnover

Cons:
No pro shop
Not very convenient to Pensacola area

Updated 3/2/13: Still the best paintball field in the Pensacola area BY FAR. Run like a well-oiled machine and priced extremely cheap thanks to military sponsorship. Recent additions include increase from 3K to 4.5K air fills (still free all day) plus they replaced the aging hyperball field with a regulation airball field.

Original review:

I finally played at Hurlburt for the first time this weekend. I've heard good things about the field for a long time, but never had made the ~1 hour commute to Hurlburt Field. As we arrived I was immediately impressed. There was plenty of parking and two large tents covering various tables to keep the sun off of players. The main building was clean and well laid out, and well staffed with knowledgeable and friendly people.

Check in for our group (one walk on and three rentals) was a breeze, and prices were very reasonable. This is a field paint only field, but paint prices are reasonable and the standard field fee and rentals include 100 free decent quality paintballs, and free air (CO2 and 4500 psi HPA) all day. We went in on a case of paint which proved to be more than adequate for the day’s play. Minor amenities (batteries, squeegies, etc.) are available, but there is no true “pro shop.”

A safety briefing was done and chrono limits were enforced. I found staff to be friendly but firm when enforcing rules. Generally, player camaraderie was good; no big egos or arguments. I was totally unfamiliar with the fields but very quickly learned the “lay of the land.” There are three (as far as I could tell) major fields: A moderate-sized woods-ball field (about 3 acres); a small hyperball field (about 1 acre) and a similar-sized “bunkers” field with various urban type bunkers.

We started out on the woodsball field and found the game to flow very well, with a nice balance of semi-open areas well built out with forts and bunkers, and heavier foliage suitable for sneaking and sniping. Next we moved to the hyperball field with a smaller group of about 15 players who wanted to “play some speedball.” Refs were very clear on the NO BUNKERING rule, which was welcome since we had some smaller kids and noobs in our group. We played a fast and furious game on the hyperball field, finding the bunkers to be well balanced and the field perfect for 3-7 man teams.
Next we moved to the “urban” field, another field set up for a maximum of about 20 players. Game play was fast and fun, and aided by the capable assistance of two refs.

We continued the day on the woods ball field. A variety of games were played include simple elimination, capture the fort/attack & defend, and capture the flag. Games were run about as quickly as we wished them to be. As more players arrived, the main group splintered into several groups, each on a different field. The fields were moderately sized, but spaced out well enough to allow simultaneous games on all fields. The layout was clean and none of the fields was more than a two-three minute walk from the staging area.

Overall, as a longtime (20+ years) paintball veteran I was extremely pleased with Hurlburt Paintball. Similarly, my three friends, who have only played a couple times before, were quite impressed and had a great time. The only down side to me is that the field is about one hour from Pensacola. However, the drive is well worth it, especially if you have a friend or two to make a road trip a bit more enjoyable. This is definitely one of the top fields in the Pensacola/Destin area.
Last edited on Sunday, May 26th, 2013 at 6:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBJUNKEY Tuesday, June 29th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: It seems like these people want to rob you with their paint prices. Go somewhere else that will not try to get every penny out of you. I will not go back here and and i advise you not to waste your time. Or you can can try and see if they'll start letting you bring the same paint you can buy elsewhere for $15 cheaper. otherwise this place sucks!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pain ball Thursday, January 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: this field was the first field I ever played at even then I thought it was the best field around. they're very helpful they will fix your gun for free if it's broken prices are very low if you bring your own gun its only ten bucks for field fee air all day a full hopper of paintballs. paint is cheap 15 bucks for 500. the field is great. I recommend evryone to go there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hurlburt Saturday, November 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Here is the website address for more information on the field:

Http://HurlburtPaintball.org


From the Fence Side:



Thanks for taking an interest in the Paintball Field. Just a little about the field.... They are a family friendly facility who tries to incorporate real time experiences in a very safe environment. They are sticklers for the rules, and give safety briefings throughout the day. Please keep in mind that safety promotes good play and with the three different fields, coordination and cooperation is a must. Whether it is Hyperball all the way to the Big Woods scenario games, our paintball field is geared for the novice all the way to the more experienced player. Their woodsball scenario games range from Attack or Defend, where they have actual bunkers, trenches, forts, netting, vehicles, and other assorted obstacles for your endeavors; Capture the Flag, which can be one or two entirely different objectives where strategy and planning is a must; to Rabbit, where survival of the fittest is of paramount importance.



The Volunteers and Staff are available to look at your marker if minor repairs are needed at no charge. Again, you must use their paint to play at the facility due to the different vendors using entirely different mixtures in their paintballs. They have a very good quality at a very reasonable price and the varieties are designed to optimum performance of your equipment. The field paint is non-staining, cannot be frozen, and will not damage your equipment. Again, thank you for taking the time to visit our site.



Enjoy!

Website Manager
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DonDiesel Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Right by Hurlburt Feild Front Gate, south of U.S. highway 98
Review: Let me start by saying that this was only my second paintball experience having only played once before when I was 15. That was in Mossy Head, Fl 23 now so its been a while.
The Safety at the course was great everyones guns where tested to make sure no body was shooting hot, though I saw a few of the people that said they "played there all the time" turn there guns up while walking to the woods. The refs had a safety meeting before the first match. The refs were also very nice.
There where about 20 or 30 people out there and we played mostly in the big woods. They had a speedball course but some of the inflateable bunkers where deflated and the ground was sandy and would have been hard to run in. Also there was a little woods area with little bunkers and other things strewn about. The big woods cover a good sized area and are realy thick with pine trees and ground cover(mostly fallen trees, palmettos, and small bushes), There are also many trenches and bunkers along with a bread truck and a little fort area in the back. We mostly played attack and defend and president, But at the end there was an hour for team free for all. They had a $10 field fee and could only use field paint for safety reasons. I had a blast and will be heading out there to play in the near future. I met the guy who works the register. His name was Stick and he was an awsome guy. Also all the people out there where cool and friendly. There was only one guy out of all of them I didnt like. Only beacuse he was ordering his team around like cattle and after i got hit and yelled out, he sprayed me fully auto for about 4 seconds bottom to top from like 10 feet. (about 20 welts from my lower thigh to upper back in a stright line)
The only thing that I did not like about my experience was there was a group of 7 or 8 people that had airsoft guns, so after every game we had to leave the field for 30 minutes so the airsoft people could play. I was there from 10:45 AM till 4:30pm and played 4 games exluding the free for all that was an hour long at the end of the day. probably just sat around waiting for the airsofters for a total of 2 hours. They had a little shack with rental guns and paintballs, I think they had drinks and snacks as well but we brought our own water and snacks.

Woodsball - 10
Speedball - 4

Overall had a great time.


Last edited on Monday, March 3rd, 2008 at 7:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p-cola flashman Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
niceville

blue angel... heard good things never been
Directions
to the Field:
across the road from the front gate at hurlburt
Review: MUST USE FIELD PAINT


alright
first off i did not get to play here, however i did walk the fields and talk to some staff

prices of paint are a little ridiculous, i think a case was $55 field paint and $65 for premium

fields looked alright
looked like a fun place to play rec
but not for any kind of tourney play

Airball field set up in a sandy field, and not very extensive, and undersized

Speedball field set up in a woody area, clear of brush, but under a canopy with trees scattered around but clear for firing, so it looked Kiiiinnda fun

ALOT of woodsball area, an old delivery truck, plenty of bunkers and such

overall looked pretty fun


went on the sunday following thanksgiving so it was pretty dead, me, my bro, and about 6 other guys

had my own paint and Air but they didnt want to make an exception to the rules for us, so we booked

staff kinda had a rock up their ass, but i guess rules are rules. eh?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spec Ops 24/7 Saturday, August 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This field is great I loved it today, When I got tot he field there was a big group of people, they have N2 and co2 fills. they have a Great woulds fields and they are very fun to play on I would highly recommend this to anyone who love woods ball or paintball in general.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

landon7 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blackwater paintball, Panhandle
Directions
to the Field:
across from hurlburt field beach side
Review: This is my second time at the field. i had a better experience this time. there were a number of military members there and they helped to make the experience better. if you like woods ball scenerios this is the place for you in the ft. walton/destin, fl area. i still dislike the sandy speedball field but i have been told that grass in in the works. the only thing i still dislike is the field fees and the price of the paintballs. no field fees at moody afb, ga where im stationed. i believe its $55 for a case but its pmi paint at the moment. i know it changes a bit from time to time as of quality of paint. i would rather see draxxus for that price or feel better about it atleast. other than that i really cant say that i saw anything else that i didnt like. its a pretty good field.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 4th, 2007 at 11:54 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

ionsprever Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre(got tore down) , nicville is ok speed good woods sucks not good refs there
Review: its a good field and all the ppl who say it no ob field i would like u to go there one more time now there's is air ball field.its not in the ditch now but they had to cut of some of the small woods got cut off.i would rate this a 10.not just cause they have awesome fields they have nice refs.there always a ref at the games unless u cant wait to go out and play. but other than that they will start games.also the refs will help u with ur gun pretty much with every problem.joe and stick are the main ppl that run the register and run it,there cool.stick is awesome. they have only three fields now.speed ball air bunker's big woods and small woods.there's only one problem that is u have to walk to far to get to field but there going to fix that they got there netting and im sure they are going to move the net up to the field and get another building,atl east what i herd im pretty sure tho. the prices are reasonable

paintball prices
100-$4.00
500-$15.00
1000-$28.00
2000-$55.00

entry is $10.00
you might know my team we play all the tournaments they we can do.are name is Deathpromise im the temate that was at the nicville tournament open class when we beat excplicet b im the one who went down snake last one and we won!i walked out and every body said yaa big thx to mac
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

edd Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There was crappy navarre, but there gone now. Thats right, the paintball world is saved.
Directions
to the Field:
If you are ever going past hurlburt and see the black netting, try and get back there by going on a little road thatis slightly before or after the field. ( depending on coming from east or west) If your going east and you see the netting then youve gone too far.
Review: Well as some may know, I am a ref at this field along with my main man Joseph, and Dylan and Joey. AND as some of you might know, the speed-ball has been down for about 3 or so months cause some tree huggers said " you cant do that" BUT, as of RIGHT NOW, they are currently clearing out the part of small woods that has sectioned off for our AIR BALL A-FIELD. That's right we don't have no X-ball field. We've got A-ball field. ( "A" more then likely stands for Air Force) All the hyper tubing from old speed-ball has been put in the small woods and all bunkers from what was in the small woods has been put in the big woods. there are now more places for attackers to hide bunker up against the forces inside the "fort" area. We still have the mandatory safety briefing before each day really starts and as more show up we do it again. If you ever need help with guns, we will try our hardest to help you. If you have a spyder or a clone of it, I can help you. And I have gained knowledge of Ions workings.(kinda) We can also help you out with Halos, and Stick of course knows all about them Tippmans.
Future Plans(of my knowledge)
Netting will encase the entire speed-ball field and there wont be any other netting any were else since the air ball isnt in the ditch. Shop will be moved down the were speed-ball is and that will be the ONLY entrance to and from the field. Shop will also be an actual building. We currently have compressed air in the form of scuba tanks. Plans are that we will have a complete compression system of our own and fill up to 4500psi, once we get the building. Well that's all i can think of and i will keep all of you posted on the news of the field.

updates-10/11/06
As for the new speedball field. the "a" isnt like a capital A, looking thing. Its a 15-16ft triangle. Still a cool looking middle bunker. We arnt allowed to get and astro turf, or material put down because again , tree hugers. So we need to get real grass put out there. We got the high cap fill station, we just need to get 2 big tanks to put it on. Most all the other stuff is going to take awhile. If anything happens, just come here for the info.

update 1/16/07
This weekend we should have our compressor and big tanks to fill people up to 4500. Once we have that all set up, Ray plans to cut all day air down to $5 instead of $10. That stands for Co2 and Compressed. We have also introduced a brand new game to the field. Its a game that we start at the last hour or so of the day. Double CTF Whole field. Everyone plays or you get to just sit there and watch. 2 teams both with flags, one of the teams is clearly marked with a bright ribbon. Ribbon people get speed ball / small woods side to hide there flag, and the other team gets the eastern end of big woods. We even open up the ditch for play. The entire 8-9 acres of the field is open during this game. Its pretty cool.

update 2/24/07
New netting has arrived! we got all our new netting and clips, so know it shouldn't be too long until we move all the poles to the other side of the ditch. Ray said they plan to make the new building with full compression system built in, some time in march.

update 6/20/07
Well, the paperwork is whats killing us again. Net isnt up yet becuase of it. The new building i was talking about before is a plan for March 08 now and is not just paintball its going to be kind of a Rec center thing for the base. So theres going to be more there then just paintball ( pool maybe...............................) Ray got an offer for an entire NPPL 5 man field set up plus material( slidy astro kinda stuff ) for something like 14k. Thats all for now.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 8:02 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media