paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball

Hurlburt Field Paintball

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Highway 98
Mary Esther, Florida 32569
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
BlairBlur19 Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre (over priced, don't know about with new management though)
Review: This field is one of the best in the area. I love it, and I'm mad i wasted my time at other fields. This field has a friendly staff that is taken over by a new person. I don't know his name yet, but J.J. the old manager was promoted.

The wood ball fields are the best in the area unless you want to drive to panama city. The big wood field is still down but, I'm sure it'll be fixed soon. (damage from hurricane). The small wood field is a great field by its self. Great for CTF games, President, and all other variations.

Everyone seems to bash on the speed-ball field because it's in sand. Then they complain that if you drop your marker it gets a tremendous amount of sand in it. I have 2 things to say to that.

1) A few runs with a squeege will clean any amount of sand from you dropping your gun
2) You're at fault if you drop your marker into sand...

The people there are nice. I'm some what of a noob but I'm not ashamed. Everyone in the area is nice to you if you go there, there is no bashing of noobs, or anything like that.

The staff is great, they can fix just about anything that i've seen asked. My friend had a problem with his JT Excellerator, they fixed it within 10 min. He was back on the field after they fixed it, and he hasn't had a problem with it since.

Your first fill on CO2 is free, and then after that it isn't that expensive. Paint is overall cheap, but if you don't buy from them, you can get in trouble with the park . The ref's check your paint every once in a while if they see people not using field paint (i.e. pink splatter marks on a player).


Overall this field is probably the best around in my area. I enjoy playing there. There are nice people, and a great staff. The woods are the best in the area. The speed-ball is a good field.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 3:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

voodoomarine762 Sunday, February 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre Paintball Adventure, the tech there scratched my marker but i like the feilds alot more.
Paintball Panic, Great nothing bad about the place,if you have the chance go there.
Review: I went to the Hurlburt because my teammates wanted to go and try it out, normally we would go to panic or paintball adventure, but we wanted something new. we got there and realized that there is no one running anything, newbies are running around every wear no barrel plugs or anything just shooting every thing in the staging area(i end up wearing my mask alot of the times cause i was afraid of getting shot by some 9 year old and his 98.) Then you find out that they don't have any air for hp tanks, so if you have a good marker too bad.( we went to paintball adventure to get our tanks filled just so we could try the fields out at Hurlburt. Then its time to get the games going, you walk out on to the field and realize its a horrible little speed ball field built in a ditch, literally there is a 5 ft difference in the middle of the field and the sides of the field(and its all sand so you sink in every step you take). There are no refs because the only person who works there stays in a shed filling co2. so some one is nice enough to put on a ref jersey and voluntarily ref a game or 2(but no one chronographs their marker most people are shooting at like 325 and more.)I reffed a few games and realized 90% of the people playing there wipe or just play through and I even saw a kid bunker this 9 yr old newbie buy putting his marker to the little kids head and shooting him like 3 times and then start screaming get your @$$ of the field. The only good thing is since no one but the guy by the fill station works there you only have to pay a field fee if you want and you only have to shoot field paint if you want cause no one is going to say anything.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ESKO2 Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nicville
Panama City Paintball
Navarre
Review: This field is really great for people who are just starting out at paintball or the people who are really big into woods.The woods a Hurlburt are the best around.There speedball how ever is terrible,cause its in a ditch and its just not well maintained.Another good thing hurlburt offers is great service,JJ does a great job runnig the place.The prices at hurlburt are really good.Tho I do not play there as often andmore because I got more into speedball.I will go back to hurlburt whenbig woods opens. I am rating it an 8 because there speed ball is terrible and there arnt many refs out there.But I do recommend you check out there woods you will not be disappointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wangatang1019 Monday, January 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
niceville-which is good beside the reffing.
navarre-my home field which is great!!!
pensacola paintball panic-pretty good x-ball field.
crestview-an alright hyperball field.
Review: First off let me say that this field is terrible. There are no refs to enforce rules, the players are a bunch of noobs who run their mouth at you for being better than they are, and the field is pretty much crap. There are no refs at all, only a guy in the shack where you rent stuff and buy paint (jj is a cool guy though), the players are noobs that get mad if you send a stream of paint at them and they say you overshot them when you stop shooting when they call themselves out, and the field is hyper ball tubing in a sandy *** ditch with some pallets. Overall this field is pretty much a joke besides a few things like the paint which is blaze, inferno, and hellfire which is awesome paint. But the field gets a thumbs down from me. 2 out of 10. But if you do go out there holla at jj for me.
Last edited on Monday, January 24th, 2005 at 5:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon1110 Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
niceville
navarre
Review: this is the best field that i have ever played on 1. the service the staff will help you out and JJ is the nicest guy u will ever meet and there are very few people that will talk smack and i will promise that if u play w/me u will have a great time and the field layout is pretty good they have a big speedball field a small speedball field and a big and small woods but the big woods are being updated from the hurricane and the prices u cant beat and anytime u play there i would suggest if u are playing w/your own gun rent their air so that u get free refills and as always for their loyal customers "YOUR FIRST FILL IS FREE"
the prices are as follows i believe
100-$4.00
500-$18.00
1000-$?? (i play w/a pump phantom so i never buy these but i will fill it in when i find out)
2000-$??(^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^)

overall i am giving this field a 10 only because i cant put a 9.75 on it but if u ever go to hurlburt i hope i will have the pleasure of playin w/ya (I'll be the one w/a phantom stock class pump marker)
cya there and as always PLAY W/HONOR & ACCURACY
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Solid Knight Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niceville Rec. Center Field
Review: The field is fairly nice. Although I haven't had much of a chance to play at the other fields in my location however I have seen all of the fields in my surrounding areas. Aside from this field and the one in Niceville, none of them have woods. The Niceville woods are decent, not as good as the ones here but for some reason nobody plays in them. Then again, the only people I saw at the Niceville field was a bunch of kids with $1000+ markers who spent more time looking at them than playing.

There are four areas that you can play at Hurlburt. The main speedball course, the smaller speedball course, small woods and large woods.

The main speedball course is in a sandy ditch and the bunkers are comprised of large tubing and pallettes. Cover is always close by and easy to find. However, there is a tendancy for the players to sit in the back and hide which I find really odd since the bunkers are set up in such a fashion that moving up is encouraging.

The smaller speedball course, which as the name would indicate as being smaller, is seldom used. Actually, I have only seen it used once. I have never played on it although it is similar to the main speedball course so I don't imagine it being much different to play.

The small woods is merely a two acre wooded area with some bunkers comprised of barrels laying around. Although, since the hurricane struck the area there are now some trees laying on their sides which make fore some great cover.

The large woods is my favorite place to play. It's obviously much larger which in turn makes sneaking around much, much easier. It has has bigger treese and bushes (read better cover). The fort is at the back end of the large woods and is made of pallettes lined up in a wall, a well fortified truck and a tent with some camo netting stretching between it and the truck. There is also a sand bag bunker in that area that is an excellent position for covering the backside of you fort. The fort itself is fairly large so you'll need at least ten people to adequately cover it. Usually people play attack and defend on this field.

In between the small woods and big woods is a van that looks like something UPS would drive and a busted up tent (it used to be intact before the hurricane hit). It's in the middle of a road and is usually only used when playing escort or extraction games.

The field fee is eight dollars which includes a CO2 fill and 100 paintballs. Although I think refills are free at the moment. However I run HPA so I wouldn't really know, however I didn't notice anyone paying for their CO2 refills.

As far as reffing goes, refs are volunteers or appointed on the sport. However, most of the time there isn't a ref. Especially in the woods. Although I don't really see a refs out there much anymore it really makes no difference as the majority of the people call themselves out. and if you think about it people can cheat while refs are out there anyway.

Snacks and drinks are available. Snacks, as in candy bars. You won't find a grill or something other there.

The paint available is Draxxus and some other "higher-end" paint. I forgot the name of the higher-end paint. I usually just get the Draxxus. you can also bring you own paint. Much better than Niceville where you have to use their paint and their paint is harder than rock. Seriously, the Niceville paint doesn't want to break.

Rental guns and masks are available. They only rent Tippmann Model 98 with 9Oz CO2 bottles and some generic mask. As far as I can tell refills on the tanks are free when renting. You don't have to wait for him to fill the tank up, he'll just pop on a prefilled tank.

You can fire fully automatic at Hurlburt and I've seen some people with grenades there as well. Although, very rarely.

All in all I give it an eight. Mainly because I believe that the big woods could have a much better fort than the existing one and the lack of refreshments. However, I cut the guy some slack as at the moment it's only one guy running the show. The other guy PCSed or something.
Last edited on Thursday, November 11th, 2004 at 5:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soysause6626 Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
navarrar
Review: the hurlburt field paintball is pretty good if u like woods ball. There speedball course is allright to much sand and to hilly. They have a small woods and big woods. Good place to start out if ur a noob. Tons of noobs there. They small woods is good for team battle. The big woods are realy good for president game drug lord and attack and defend. Although theyere is alot of newwbies theys millatary people there to. there prety good. the have good prices u can bring ur own paint. entnce fee is 8 dollars and to rent 20onc co2 is 2 dollars pretty good price but its stupid now because it hasnt bin open since a month because of hurrican Ivan they need to fix it up quick. They havent done any thing to it . They always say there open but when u get ther they are close. So overall hurlburt field is a pretty good place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theskinnyde Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Safe Paintball (Crestview) umhh i have to say that this field is better for the fact of the woods.
Review: What can i say about Hurlburt Field, They are a great field. Ran by great owners. They have a very very large wood ball field, a small woods ball field and a o.k. speed ball field. The Large wood ball field has a base and it is usually turned into an attack and defend, but they play all different types of scenario games. I am the Team captain of
AUTO-SPEED. I have a great bit of experience in paintball i think everyone needs to stop dogging the speed ball there also, if you play on any field if your careless you are going to get dirt in your gun just be careful. I suggest this field to anyone. Alot of newbs usually but there is alot of military people that play too so it = out. Go out have a great time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skim 2surf Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NAVARRE
Review: Now i dont now what every one IS dising on hurlbert, i think its a great field.Ok if you drop your gun its guna get sand in it but what place doesent have some sand, and ok people climb the trees like monkeys but in some strang way its a part of paintball . I think its resonably priced and is a graet field.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 12th, 2004 at 6:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ace424 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre, And Paintball Panic
Review: I started playing at this field when i first started playing paintball and it was great they have the best woods in North West Florida. But its all for nubies, there speed ball field is crap it should not be considered speed ball there's a bunker ever 5 feet and there mostly pallets or some hyper tubing. They don't fill Compressed air and charge for every co2 fill. ever since navarre has reopened with new management i have been playing there much better prices and they fill Compressed air. If your a nub got to Hurlburt.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media