paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SXC Games (Formerly T2) Paintball Field / SXC Games (Formerly T2) Paintball Field / SXC Games (Formerly T2) Paintball Field / SXC Games (Formerly T2) Paintball Field

SXC Games (Formerly T2) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
25Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 514-334-7529 (PLAY)
Address: 7155 Transcanadienne
St-Laurent, Québec H4T 1A2
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
GODSPEED7 Saturday, October 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
'Homemade' game in the woods near you.
Directions
to the Field:
Right behind Guzzo Cinema
Review: Well, it was my first time organizing a game at an actual Paintball place, so this review will be absolutely un-biased.

There are quite a few points I'd like to point out, the most important being The Field itself, right?

Well it's pretty small. But on the other hand, if you're like me and it's your first time going to a real field, well it isn't such a bad place, the 'smallness' contributes to an easy start. For a more experienced player, unfortunately, I believe you could quickly get 'tired' of it.

Objects in the field are all inflatable, so no getting hurt, and they can be moved, or you can squeeze through them... kinda fun actually.

The floor is made of some sort of matting, so you can slide, fall, crawl.. without sand! So for those scared of sand, well this place doesn't have any! The floor, unfortunately, was not very clean when I went.. it was pretty much full of balls or spots everywhere, so let's forget crawling around... unless you want to end up looking like a Glad bag! You'd expect them to have it cleaned more, seeing has how all the equipment is inflatable and the ground only mat... it's no biggie though, that won't stop you from having fun!

Second, I'd like to cover The Staff.

Some were very nice, some were just... well they were 'just'. Nor overly good, nor overly bad. No one goes to paintball FOR the staff, although Paintball being an expensive sport, we might be inclined to think the staff would be slightly on the 'nicer'. But really I have no big complaints.

Now, let's talk about The Prices & Equipment.

Never have I seen such a cheap place to play... 25$ to play, 20$ if you have your equipment. 100$ for 1000 balls.. 175$ for 2000 balls. Really cheap! Although it goes hand in hand with the size and 'quality' of the terrain.

As for the equipment, well as of most places it's pretty standard.. Tippmann 98's, mask and Co2... You have to pay extra if you want a disposable suit (5$). The bad thing is that the day we went they didn't have suits!! Yes you heard... NO SUITS! They told me when I went to make a reservation, so I and the people I organized knew, but there were a few there who didn't even know and they played only with t-shirts! So if you go, make sure you call and ask if they have suits available, and if possible, request to have one reserved or something.. or prepare your own.
The equipment isn't all that clean and all, but it's ok really when you consider how much you're paying right? I had my own though, so I was happy.

The Extras:
I met a few VERY nice players who played with us, but to be honest, my opinion for their Pro-Shop team is very very low. A few of them are nice, while a few others just look like a bunch of snobs because they had better guns than anyone who had a rental. Plus, for most of us it was our first time actually playing paintball as a whole... and these guys were going all out full automatic on us.. after a few rounds we got pretty tired of that and decided to play only amongst our own group [with other non-member players joining us.. because we weren't there to show off, but to have fun!]. It did NOT ruin my day in any way, but ANY ideas I had of having a membership at this place is TOTALLY OUT OF THE QUESTION! I do not wish to play with a bunch of guys who think they are superior to first time players with rental guns.. Some of them we're acting like total jerks actually. So I was discontent of that. I will not let that event bias my review of this place in any way though, as I realize, others might have a better experience.

So... all this said, let's sum it up into a few words:

PROS:
- Cheap Cost
- Good for beginners
- No sand
- Safe inflatable Objects
- Very easy access, close to cinema, restaurants, etc..
- Nice Pro-Shop

CONS:
- Very low replayability
- No interest for experienced players
- Equipment looked a little too used/old/dirty to my taste
- Field is too small

I'd give it 6.5/10 - Although my first experience at a real Pb place was great, I'm trying to be honest about what I think of the place, to help others make a choice, and not MY experience/fun playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pvt.j0k3r Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arnold's Paintball, Skorpion Paintball.
Review: Not bad. The new speedball field layout isn't that good in my opinion good paint prices if you are a member like me. But the field is too small for my taste. It would be better if they had left it as a semi scenario field because there was 2 levels and it brought more of an attraction for parties and such. Still have a certain love for it though. The guys who work there are real nice too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jonnymac14 Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skorpion
Review: I have been going to this field for a very vry long time, i started playing paintball there.

I have seen this field progress threw many managers and different rules. first i would like to say this is an amazing field, with great staff, and lotts of fun.

Plus+
*They inforce safety a great amount, and make sure everyones alright(i have seen people thrown out because of dangerous or unwated actions.
*The refs are great people, most of them are my friends and they take great pride in there work, they will do almost anything you ask them to.
*next is the field it is completely new, all air bunkers, no more wood!!!!!.
*The field is a bit small then the standerd RBL or CX4 fields(for people dont know what that means= it is not wide and has a pretty good length to it.
*also it is all turf now (fun to slide on!!!)
* also they have a 20 person limit on the field, (it can be a little annoying sometimes to the more experienced players). but the do make games for the members by them selves, if not you just buddy up with a noob.
*great for first time players, big groops, birthday party's, and even experienced players.

all in all i say it is a good field, inexpensive if you are a member, and i recommend it to anyone that loves to ball or who want to get into it!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fir3_Blast3r Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
BigFoot paintball, and safe places in woods.
Review: Its a really great place!! Since last week, they've changed the field configuration to a speed ball field and it's the best of the two!!! The other was great too but there were too many peoples hiding and never moving form their place. Now u have no choice but to move or get shot in no time. It gives a higher adrenaline rush and the game are much more fast. The staff are always friendly and ready to help you. They REALLY insist about their safety rules and that's a great thing. Like the other said respect their rules and you'll have a great time. One thing that i found a little boring is that they almost always clean the field and it takes some times, but they must have a good reason for doing that. It was my first time on speed ball field an i'm going back next weekend that's for sure!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action commando i guess.
Directions
to the Field:
Its off the 440 guys, not hard to get there.
Review: So guys, this is a pretty friken cool field. i like what they did to it. and soon there getting rid of the lazertag so the're either gonna make a bigger field or make 2 fields. only complaint with the feild is the 2nd story floors. they're so soggy with paint, that you can fall though if your heavy enough, and im being serious, stay off the second floor is your over 200 pounds, people like me (130 pounds) dont have to worry tho. umm i like how its curved, so you can just shoot arcross the field if you have a flatline. the refs are pretty cool too, theyusualy stay up top to see the whole feild, so they dont get in your way while playing. since im a membre its great. i go over the the shop next door to get my paint and free refils. it can get very very messy in this place, so bring extra clothes and shoes. i was bumbed to find out the "membres night" doesnt really exist cause no one goes on wensday nights... so your stuck going saterday or the dredded sunday. saterday isnt so bad... but sunday is when little kids organise birthday parties. and if you come in like me and my friends, with masive amounts of paintballs and guns with 400+$ of mods, they usualy dont like you play with them. and since theres only one feild, theres a huge wait to play. they split it up into two, partie+newbies, and experienced players. but i guess it gives you time to clean up after a match and get ready. so yeah after your doen playing, you can order pizza from 2 for 1, its like 5$ if i remebre. umm other problem, dont be over 6 feet. the doors in the feild are like less the 5 feet high. and even my friends who are shorter have trouble getting around in this place. but all in all its a great indoor feild. nothin special tho. i give it an 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Mirabel, Skorpion, Arnolds - they're all different but larger than SXC
Directions
to the Field:
Near the Place-Vertu shopping center, on the service road going WEST from Cavandish at highway 40. It's in the same building as Rona warehouse on Cote-Vertu; your best bets are:
- get to the parking lot for Rona and drive down the ALLEY past shipping & receiving on the EAST side of RONA, turning into the SXC parking lot BEFORE getting on the service road OR...
- go to the Cavendish exit/entrance of autoroute 40 (at the Ikea) and getting on the highway there to go WEST which will get you on the service road and right to SXC.
Review: EDIT - 3 April 2007

There's no BYOP anymore but members can buy a case of fresh, field-branded X-Ball Bronze for $65. If you're like me, that'll last two months. ;)

SXC has gone airball. They've also torn down a few walls to make more room for people and gear.

Much as I liked the old field, it had its weak points, chiefly the slippery floors and people hiding in tunnels for entire games. Players would also bend the rules by using structures they weren't allowed during so-called "streets" games.

Now, with the inflatable bunkers, every game is "streets" or street-CTF and there aren't any off-limits spots so it levels the playing field.

Running a squeegee across the floor is a great idea to get un-popped paintballs cleared away but cleaning EVERY INFLATABLE BUNKER after every game has to stop. The added wait is annoying and delays games unreasonably.


*** *** ***


Let me start by saying this is the closest field to where I live and it's also the field attached to the pro-shop where I bought my first marker: buyPBL's head office. If you buy a marker there over $200 or $250, you'll receive a membership which lets you into SXC at a discounted rate ($10 instead of $25).

They allow BYOP for members only and it must be white, yellow or aqua fill. They do this to better identify if anyone is sneaking their own paint on field without being a member. (it happens) As of February 1st, 2007, they will FPO (field paint only) which will be discounted for members.

Pluses
Staff are quite friendly and helpful. Don't be a jerk and they'll stay that way. Barrel plug and mask rules are enforced. There's also a 10' rule: you aren't allowed to shoot someone less than 10' away, instead you're supposed to yell "FREEZE!"
They will boot people who don't follow safety rules; usually people get one warning and are asked to sit out a game. If they don't follow the rules after that, they're asked to leave.

I actually know the staff pretty well at SXC because I've played there since October of 2006. I put my marker down and help the staff out if things get really busy.

The layout of the field is something like a hockey stick with an open "L" shape. It's also 2 stories tall with some "2-1/2 to 3rd" story areas like the West castle and the top turrets on the North wall. This makes it interesting if you like to be sneaky.

HPA and CO2 fills are available and if you're a member or you've paid your entrance fee, at least HPA is free, CO2 possibly as well.

The staff seem genuinely concerned about the quality of service and try to insure people are not only safe but have a good time. If I'm reffing, I'll personally run around with a shield and do paint and safety checks which I believe is well received.

Some downsides
The field is smaller than some others and somewhat dimly lit. This could be a good or bad - it lets you skulk around and hide in dark tunnels without being seen. You actually get used to the size after a while and adapt. It's a perfect "close-quarter battle" field and you'll brush up on your short-range dueling while you're there.

BYOP is probably going to end soon in favour of FPO. I hear rumours of this as a means of keeping people from sneaking paint in which seems to be happening on an increasing basis.

Floors have astro-turf in most places but due to the large amount of paint on everything, it is VERY slippery - not as bad as ice but much like wet grass. Ladders and stairs to upper levels are wood and slightly less slippery but you have to watch your step.

Conclusions
If you're used to a larger field, you may feel boxed in the first few times you play SXC. Keep playing! You get used to it and you'll find it makes for interesting games. There's more than one way into most areas - either the direct route or a back tunnel - so you can keep the other team guessing where you're coming from.

There's a "clean" area by the front counter with seating for probably 30+ people that's great for birthday parties and such. They have a LaserTag field next to that and a lot of parents arrange for pizza and cake in this area. The staff are good about letting you bring your own food or order in. If they don't have change for the drink machines (of which there are over half a dozen) PBL next door can usually help or you could walk or drive to the mall just behind the building.

A small, friendly, fun field, SXC is a change of pace from many larger, less personal fields.

Rob is the current assistant manager, easily recognized by being the TALL guy on front desk and on field. Refs include Andee, Gordie (recognized by his longer hair) occasionally Rob's brother Kyle and Mikey. I go by "Bush" on account of running around in a ghillie suit from time to time. ;)

EDIT - boring. It's geared to birthday parties for 14-year olds now. The old city was unique and awesome. This place is boring. 3/10.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 3rd, 2009 at 8:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamizOnAlan Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arnolds Indoor
Review: Pros : Staff was great my gun broke and they fixed it without a problem, Prices were great espiecially if you were a member, and if you needed new equipment you had to go next door which was where the proshop was located. Players were nice found 1 guy to join my paintball team and we didnt chrono :) 300+ fps for the win.

Cons : They had no change so it was hard for me to get drinks :(, The floor was WAY TO slippery,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Montalban Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skorpion, Fou de l'ile, Mirabel, Big Foot, etc,etc
Review: I have played paintball for 8 years, this was the first time I went to this local field. In the past I only used the proshop. People reading these reviews should take note that SXC shares the building with a well stocked proshop (www.buypbl.com), a laser tag field and went through 2 renovations in the past 2 years, so the reviews dating before 2004 don't really apply to today's setup.

I went along with a group of 25 players, mostly co-workers who had little or no past paintball experience. Earlier in the year I had bought some gear at the proshop and had recieved a free 1 yr membership to this field.

-Prices;
They were quite fair and they had a good special on paint for members, one of the cheapest fields around.

-Proshop;
Although its meant to be a seporate entity, the proshop is well stocked and they have improved on staffing.

-The field;
The current setup at SXC is 1 field (check the photos section on their website) that appears to be a 10,000 square foot rectangle. There are 2 main "alleys" , the rest of the field is covered with wood divisions and a few "boxes" about 4 feet high and they make a bit of a maze in the middle. The divisions along the sides have 2 stories with the lower one being a crawl space. Along the back wall they built a 2 story "house" that doubles as a fort. My teammates had 2 opinions on the field. Some found it "cluttered" and hard to navigate and too small. Others found the field challenging as there are litterally dozens of places to hide. I can see both opinions being valid, but as a outdoor player, I would have prefered something a bit more open.

Facilities;
Theres only 1 bathroom, no changing rooms, no lockers and no sinks or "wash" area to clean your masks, you have to the little sink in the bathroom.

-Staff,refs;
We had 2 refs working with us all day. There are 4 game themes available; a) Full elimination , b) Street (you can only stay in the alleys, can't go inside any structures, c) flag capture, d) Attack the fort.
They did their best to enforce safety, but didnt manage the groups very well. I was surprised they don't use arm bands or anything to identify teams, they rely on the color of the rental clothes, but this doesnt work well for players who bring their own gear and we had alot of "friendly fire" incidents. They didn't seem too interested when I suggest we use armbands. Late in the afternoon we had a flood of walk-ons and the refs had a hard time keeping the teams balanced out.

All in all , im going to use my free membership and its a great place to practice, but not a field I would bring my groups to.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

quigonjin Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skorpion, Arnold's, Action Commando
Directions
to the Field:
Off Highway 40 eastbound, eats of the Decarie interchange.
Review: 1st time there, have to say that the field itself is ok, not as big as some of the others in the area (Action Commando). Would state the sq. footage around 9-10K. Lots of bunkering & passage ways. Floor however could use some work in the sense that some areas are carpet covered (kinda like AstroTurf), some areas covering is either ripped or mossing which is a greater slipping/injury factor.

- overall rating: field is interesting, good for stress relief until outdoor fields come back online (summer)

Negative: refs kinda manage games very loosely, no real control or in-depth knowledge of security and gaming variety. Another drawback is: they should control the number of players they let onto the field, at one point in time, there was close to 50 people in one game, which is way too many for an indoor field that size.

Summary: it did the job, we had fun and the newbies that came along, also seemed to have enjoyed themselves.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andee5150 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skorpion
Review: Great field....great staff...i love it! AMAZING for recball, Refs always on the field, they help you out on the field...give you hints....They are open whenever you want...pretty good prices, staff will fix your gun if you want'em to...just AWESOME!
The floor is slippery but there is a rumor that it will be changed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media