paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action & Adventure Paintball Field / Action & Adventure Paintball Field / Action & Adventure Paintball Field / Action & Adventure Paintball Field

Action & Adventure Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 250-493-GOT-U (468
Address: Lat: 49° 26 Min. 53 Sec. Long: -119° 36 Min. 37 Sec.
Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6J7
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Dover Friday, July 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first field I have played in the southern Okanagan.

I have played at Salmon Arm, Vernon and Kelowna but they were speedball tournaments.
Directions
to the Field:
South end of Penticton, you can't miss it as you pass the Go-Karts on your right (heading south), the paintball field is just further up the hill on your left.
Review: I give the field an 8 / 10 as it was extremely well run, considering the couple Jack and Barb are super cheery and happy to run an efficient, safe, and fun paintball field.

Safety is stricty enforced with a hand stamp required with chrono'ing of markers before they are allowed on field.

Two fields: one bark mulch covered three-man speedball court, and a larger rec ball area with wood bunkers and pallets and such.

Hours are not as good as those in more urban areas, but obviously better during the summer.

No proshop is available, and there is no paintball store in Penticton, the closest being Hardcore Paintball, 1 hour north in Kelowna.

They have a vending machine with snacks and canned pop, but I advise bring lots of water, as this is Canada's only desert region.

I thought it was kinda weird playing on sand, it was like playing paintball in California!
Last edited on Friday, July 18th, 2008 at 1:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BC Tactical Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Summerland Field not the same it is all bush,
the Princeton fields not the same they are all bush too,
The old AA field. Was all bush with a wicked town.
Directions
to the Field:
It is on your right coming into Penticton from the south just across from the go carts when leaving Penticton it is past the airport just on the left as you come around the corner heading up the hill on your way out of the city.
Review: Although I like the old bushball field better than this one it is still a great field. The sand is a bit much but it is close to town, the lake is just down the hill and the staff is great. They are always safety first at Action and Adventure.

Barb tries to keep the field open all year round which is cool not a lot of fields outside the lower mainland do that.

Prices are good, competitive with other fields.

Refs have always been good to us.

Most of the players who come there are young which is ok because they always need to learn how to play too.

All in all I would recommend this field to anyone who wants to just get out and play for the day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Boggz Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Westbank, Kelowna, Vernon, Salmon Arm
Review: Staff:
The staff is very friendly and always interested in feedback from the players.

Location:
The field is on the right side of the highway as you enter Penticton from OK Falls and about 5 minutes from the centre of the city. You cant beat the convenience of that. Its right by the lake so you get a nice cool breeze in the summer. There is a decent sized building where you can hang out between games if the weather is bad. There is lots of parking and appears to be room for expansion. Spectators can relax on a picnic table and safely watch from behind a huge net.

Price:
The price is very affordable. Im not sure how much rentals are because I have my own equipment, but its a good deal if you have your own stuff. Its only $5.00 to get on the field. With your own equipment and a $60 membership fee, paint and air are half price. Memberships including rental gear are also available.

Fields:
The field layout is great. There are two fields that can be combined into a larger field. One is a typical speedball course and the other is a town. There is lots of good cover with ample opportunity to advance on your opponent and have some excellent firefights. Both fields are equipped with lights which is great for those hot summer nights. The lights project some interesting shadows on the field and considerably change the dynamics of the game.

The ground is covered with a fine sand. It is great if youre diving for cover or rolling around; it is very soft and forgiving. The ground area is kept relatively clean - you dont have to worry about landing on a rock or branch. My only complaint is that the sand seems to get on everything. Be thankful if you have a gun with few external moving parts. Cleaning your equipment will often be a big nuisance, especially if its a dry windy day.

Tournaments:
Their tournaments usually turn out a decent number of teams. There is a nice mix of new and experienced players and there is usually an A & B division. From what Ive heard, the teams are usually pretty evenly matched within each division (according to the final point totals). Paint is limited to a full hopper per game. Some people dont like this rule, but I believe it helps even out the technology and various levels of experience. Not everyone can afford to shoot lots of paint and not everyone has a fast trigger finger either. The tournaments are just for fun and there are no big prizes up for grabs.

Suggestions for Improvement:
I think it would be helpful to have another chronograph. I can appreciate the concerns of leaving it out at the target range unattended. Maybe it could be bolted to the table or something. At the present time you have to give your gun to a staff member to chronograph. Standing in line to do this to only be told your gun is too high or too low is a waste of time for everyone. If there was a chronograph at the target range players could setup their guns before getting in line to have the staff do the final confirmation of a safe velocity. Then there would hopefully be no additional adjustments needed. As we all know, sometimes we spend more time setting up our guns than actually playing.

They have a variety of games to keep things interesting, although the time limits seem a little short. Sometimes the action is just getting good and then time runs out. I can appreciate not wanting to drag things out for the players that are already eliminated, but an extra few minutes probably wouldnt hurt.

Conclusion:
All in all, Action & Adventure Paintball is a great place to play and continues to improve every year. I look forward to the new changes over the years to come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtra_Xtra Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball action games, TAG, Weekend Warriors, Quest for adventure.
Review: This field is ok. It's primarily aimed towards noobies. They rent pump markers and quite frankly the staff is not experienced. CO2 only and paint is overpriced. On the plus side it's lit for night games and netting to provide spectator seating. Overall this field needs some major work if it wants to attrach a real paintball crowd.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_sable69er Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Safari Ridge, OPC, Super Daves, Darrens Speedballand and Bushwackers.
Review: A and A has to fields, a speedball field and a town. The sand is really annoying and gets in your gear which pisses me off. There tournaments don't allow pods..........Enough said about the tournament. They rent out Piranhas and Traccer pumps. They fill nitro(badly) and c02(the wrong way). Membershipa are 60 bucks and you get discounts n entry, paint and air. I would rather go to Safari Ridge but its too far away since I moved so I will probably get a membership here.
Last edited on Sunday, September 14th, 2003 at 7:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media