paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Predator Paintball Field / Predator Paintball Field / Predator Paintball Field / Predator Paintball Field

Predator Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 919-732-6327
Address: 1113 Kenion Road
Hillsborough, North Carolina 27278
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Layman Wednesday, January 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Heart of Darkness, ie. FunWerks, Funtasia
Review: First of all let me say that I used this field once on Mother’s Day of 2003 and was not impressed. Then I went back in December and was blown away with how much the place had been improved. When I went on Mother’s Day the woods field was all that I played. It was run down and unkempt. There was debris from the ice storm that we NC’ers remember, strewn all around the field. It was in my opinion dangerous due to the fallen limbs littering the playing area. There were no defined boundaries, and I was not fond of it, to say the least. The chronograph didn’t work because of a low battery and was unused. The proshop was sufficient for most players needs. I used to be the field manager of FunWerks’ field and know how difficult it is to keep a field fresh and exciting. I went to Predator after FunWerks’ parent company Werks Inc. went bankrupt expecting to find the same shabby woods field. Upon returning Al, the owner, had done a truly great job with the place. The woods field was cleaned up and revamped with mounds comparable to earthworks running around it to give great coverage. The debris had been removed, and a new field had been put together, “Attack and Defend”. The speedball fields are fun to play on, giving a great change of pace to me, a woodsballer at heart. When you decide to give this field a play, you must play the “Junkyard” with the maze. It offers a new challenge to most of us without formal military/police training. In the maze you traverse a mock building, not knowing what to expect around the corner. Al is a likable guy willing to offer advice on problems that you may encounter with your marker. The ref’s are enjoyable characters with a genuine love of the sport. When I go, I and a couple of my friends are usually the last ones to leave, but never feel pressured to get out of there. As far as the other reviews I have read, I have not seen any of the cheating on the parts of the refs, by telling friends where an opponent is. I would confirm that the netting is able to blow up, exposing the observers to a possible paintball in the legs. The ref’s aren’t as on top of players taking the masks off on the field as I would hope, but still do a good job. The chronograph is not monitored by any employees, and most players don’t bother checking their speed – a fault of players more than staff. The food and drinks available are tasty and inexpensive. For $10 you can play all day, $5 field fee and $5 bring your own paint fee. The field is run competently and safely. Overall a great place to spend a day fulfilling your paintball fix. If you are there ask for Dan the Asian :-) and tell him you heard about the place on pbreview.com! I am giving it a 10 because they deserve higher than a 6.6 average on the main screen. Overall I give them a 9!
Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 2:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gingerbreadman5 Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintballcentral,gotcha paintball
Review: Predator Paintball in the best place around! Whether you are new to the sport or you are a pro player, your gonna have a blast at predator. The fields are like no other. They have two speedball fields (rumor is they are getting a new air ball field soon!), they also have a Close Quarters field (a.k.a the village), and to top it off they have three woods fields; one of which is 15 acres. The proshop is top of the line, if they dont have the part you need there, chances are they can order it and have it within a few days. The airsmith is also top of the line, and automags are his specialty. The referees are friendly and do anything that can do to make sure you have the time of your life. Not to mention Predator is the most affordable place to play. For 15 bucks you can play all day. If you havent played at predator paintball......you should!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beazzer Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Funtasia
-Gotcha Paintball
Review: Predator is an awesome place to play paintball!!! They have 3 speedball fields and 3 woods fields. The woods fields have a whole variety of bunkers: from trees to tires to gigantic walls. The speed ball fields or both about the same just with little varations. The pro-shop is pretty good. They fixed from freids gun for free. They also serve cheap chili hotdogs.Hmmmmm!!! Overall i would go her if you are a person wanting to play for the first time or a pro.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mustard Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
gotcha is awsome
Review: well predator is not that expeinsive but the have ok fields two woods, two speedball, and i think thats all.they also serve food and have a good line of guns and parts.the rental guns are also good.me and my church group went there and it was fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ebegoli Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Central
Review: So far I played on Paintball Central and on this one. It is hard to compare those two.
Paintball Central is ran like a real business with all goods and bads (money, rules and restrictions) about it. Predator is much less professional. Fields are very basic, but they do have a 10 acres wooded field which I really like since it is a basically a big forest with minimal intervention. Very good for tactical play.
They also have a CQB field which is OK.

On site shop is small, expensive and nothing special. Air smith is hmm, how to say this nicely not the best one I have ever had..
I wanted refill on rented CO2 since I calculated that it is about to run out, and he told me to hold on until it runs out. So it did in the middle of the bunkering, and I got painted all over.

Everything else is below par - refereeing, field maintenance, guns, promptness of the service. However, if you want to play the paintball for $15 this field is pretty good bet.
Last edited on Monday, September 1st, 2003 at 7:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jetstunner Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I have played there a few times and the place is run down the service is terrible and fields are old. The people who own the place are pretty rude when they talk to their customers and really have no idea how to run a paintball field (customers first) The paintball nets are not secured down to the ground and the nets fly up in a gust of wind,I was once hit in the leg b/c of the nets not secured down properly. one other thing about the nets is it has holes in it too. the only good thing is the air is cheap so the field gets a 2 need to learn to be friendlier to customers!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alsagooch Monday, August 18th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
triangle, gotcha, funtasia
Review: Preditor Paintball is a horrible waste of money and time. The feild rates are more expensive than any other field around. The owner charges insane amounts of money for small repairs and parts. For example, I needed a couple of parts for my gun that i expected not to be over 15$, but i was told it was going to be 67$. So i got the parts on the internet for 7$. I wanted to do business with him and buy a marker from him he even called me and said the marker was in. But, when i got there he had sold it and told me to find somewhere else to get it because he didn't want to make any other orders that week. His team OCP cheats. The refs play favorates. I would not recomend this field to anyone who wants a good day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cmrncrz1 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Triangle and Gotcha
Review: Predator is garbage.
The refs help out their friends by teliing them where people are and not calling their friends out when their clearly hit.
The speed ball fields are run down, the "maze" field is crap, its not even a maze, and their woods fields are mainly fallen limbs from the ice storm and broken bunkers.
The prices are outrageous, 98 dollars for a case of JT paint, 10 dollar field fee (bring your own paint $5/ field fee$5; thats the cheapest thing there), and if you're not own the field team and you need something worked on on your gun they'll say they don't have the part to fix it; when you can see it sitin on the counter.
I will give Predator one good word, the sceniro game put on by Blackcat was cool, it was too cold though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballstar Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
funtasia, triangle, and gotcha
Review: preditor is one of the best feilds in the regon the people are very nice the rentals are good and they let u do what u want the speed ball feilds are very good and there are people to play with at any level and if u need any help just ask because the refs will be there really quick so all and all the feild/store
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ScottQ Thursday, April 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Heart Of Darkness paintball, Triangle Paintball, Paintball Central, Action Tagg, Gotcha paintball.
Review: I played on the Predator paintball team for a little over a year and visted the field every weekend during that period of time. Predator offers 2 very nice speedball fields that take alittle to get used to. Al, the owner is very good at designing speedball fields and this shows in both of his speedball fields. The field has great food, friendly service, and is an overall great place to play. While it doesn't get as many walk-on players as Paintball Central, Triangle paintball or Heart of Darkness, it really makes up with the great fields and cheap prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media