paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park

Fran Bar Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: 13861 E. Broad St.
Pataskala, Ohio 43062
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
willem_dafoeXD Sunday, June 6th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the land(amazing), splatterpark(great).
Directions
to the Field:
haunted hoochie
Review: wow, where do i start?
1. there are NO REFS. wtf?
2. horrrible fields and unsturdy buildings
3. they have no pro shop, no food, no staff, and like noooo rules.
4. there are like 356789 fields, and you and your friends choose one and make your own rules. mr and my 2 friends went there and we had to play with these inbred juggalo white trash noobs. it sucked!
5. only woodsball! i hate woodsball. im a tourny playing speedballer =], and they had this joke of a speedball feild.

all together, it sucked. if you are a REAL paintballer, then you would know not to go here, its horrible. and the staff thier is a some fat b1tch and some old a55 man.
f*ck fran bar. it even has a stupid name....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

saefkow Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Land Paintball - More expensive, and a smaller field
Splatterpark - Farther away, it can be THE Event in Ohio Paintball. But it is more expensive as you have to buy their paint. They are better on safety though.
Directions
to the Field:
It's behind a white house off Broad (Rt 16). Google maps has it. Pull in where you see other people parked. Watch out for a friendly (but noisy) rooster.
Review: I had heard of this field for the past 5 years. It was even featured in the Columbus Dispatch once. But the reviews on this site kept me away, even though I live 12 miles away.

I MADE A MISTAKE. I should have checked it out for myself. Which I finally did a couple months ago. Now I can't imagine going anywhere else. I've been playing on and off for 14 years. After a year away from the game, I decided to try this place finally. After my 4th visit in 6 weeks, here's my review:

Pros:
-Lots of fields. I play Woodsball, and because this place has 3 pipe fields and an airball field, we are pretty well separated from the speedballers. I prefer the Woodsball field directly behind the haunted house. These past few weeks, there have been groups of 12-16 semi-experienced (though there are still people with rentals there too)people at both fields. Because of the size, private groups like bachelor parties or birthday parties have the room to have their own field and experience.

-BYOP. The necessity to Bring Your Own Paint is awesome. I used to drive to Battlezone in Mansfield for that ability. This allows you to shop around and find a good price on paint, though I have found that General Mechandise across the street is very competitive on pricing.

-Price. $15 to bring your own equipment and paint is a reasonable price. Same goes for their rental pricing. CO2 refills are $3 for a 20oz tank, that's not too bad either.

Cons:
-Safety. A lot of people have made mention of this and I agree. Since I have started playing here, they have had one roaming ref. She will observe a game or two, then move on to each field and group. This is a nice effort by the owners, as I read there was a time when there wasn't a ref at all. I have not seen infractions that were too horrible. But people do still cap off rounds in the prep areas where people don't have masks on. If you are worried about safety, keep your mask on and be aware. Most people know not to point an un-covered marker at another person's face when they don't have a mask on.

-Compressed air. I use it, and have never refilled here. They only have the 3000psi capability and they charge $5 for that. That's pretty steep, my guess is they are trying to pay off the compressor equipment. Since I have 4500psi tanks, I fill up at Paintball Ohio before I go ($10 air pass there gives you unlimited fills for a year).

In Conclusion, I like this field a lot. I'm working on bringing more of my friends here, and I would recommend it to anyone who has their own equipment (as you have to BYOP). Anyone who has had to buy paint at The Land or Splatterpark knows that paint can be had that is more fresh and cheap that at those places. This is a good place to learn with your group of friends if you just want to play with your group too (just remember, buy your paint across the street before you arrive).

My recommendations to the owners would be clean up the Hootchie and junkyard fields. There are some sharp surfaces and coils of wires that can be hazardous. Maybe get another ref to work in tandem with the one you have, and portable chronos for each would help keep that 270fps limit you set at the start of each day. Also, you have a rule about not shooting the trailers, how about giving the guys who like wasting paint a good place to do it? Set up a couple shooting galleries by the two woods fields, this way they can waste paint in one direction, away from everyone else's face.

8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

philspang65 Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-270 to East Broad for about 10 minutes until you hit Pataskala. After the road goes to 2 lanes, it will be on your right.
Review: Hours of Operation: Open 10-5 Saturday and Sunday, from late March to mid-September

Safety: This is a major concern at this field. There are no refs on any fields, and the players have to police themselves. If everyone uses common sense with safety, you should be fine.

Fields: There are 8 total fields including: 3 pipe fields, 2 airball fields, 1 smaller traditional woods field, 1 junkyard (anything to hide behind...old cars, wood piles, refridgerator), and 1 crazy woods field that used to serve as a haunted house with buildings, towers, etc.

Prices: $30 to rent Tippman Carbine, mask, barrel plug; $15 for field fees if you have your own equipment. CO2 is very reasonably priced, but if you use HPA, it gets INSANELY expensive. It is $5 per fill and there is NO all-day air. Go with full tanks.

Rules: They will chrono you to 270. Other than that, you are on your own.

Proshop: No pro shop here.

Food/Drink: There is a pop machine, but no food. You are within 5 minutes of a plethora of fast food places.

Staff: It's just a husband and wife, but they are both really laid back and will be happy to talk to you. They also run one of the premier haunted houses in the entire country, and are always excited to talk to you about that as well. He'll help you with your gun if he can. These 2 are definitely a plus about coming to this field.

In General: This is the best field in Columbus for variety and it doesn't get much cheaper to paintball. Players of all abilities come here, and I've never gone when there haven't been plenty of others there as well. They DO NOT sell paint there, so make sure you bring your own with you, or if you forget there is a place across the street that sells paint called "General Merchandise". Overall, a great place to play for rookies or more experienced players. I give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DeadNut Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Land
Directions
to the Field:
It's on the right hand side going east on Broad Street. Small white sign with red lettering.
Review: Surprised at how big the place really is once you drive onto the land. 2 speedball fields, a woodsball field, a jungle village type of field next to woodsball, and a bunch of other bunker/outdoor fields. Incredible variety for being so close to Columbus. Fairly inexpensive if you bring your own paint and equipment. Air is $5 and CO2 is $3 per fill.

Definitely an awesome place to play.

The people who live/own/work the place are extremely nice and so were the other players. We had a great time playing for 5 hours this past Sunday. We only had 10 players. Everyonelse must have been scared of the rain.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

badattitude Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not from here
Directions
to the Field:
5 miles east of columbus on east broad street
Review: i was a little skeptical at first...with the bus and all...kinda cool i guess...the guy was really nice and helped everyone with all kinds of gun trouble...and when offered $ for his help..he said no..he was glad to help...not something i am used to seeing...everyone had to chrono..and the fields were great...somethin for everybody...nine fields in all...an x ball and an nppl ..with like 100 bunkers...you could sit right in a huge shelter house and watch 2 games goin on...and the Haunted Hoochie field was like nothin i had ever seen before...when i went they were havein a airsoft tornament and there was guys from canada and wisconsin because of the Hoochie...so i would say fran bar park is damn nice place to play...my 2 cents
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

The Thnickaman Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Ok, ive been playing at Fran Bar for quite some time. Here i go:
Pros:
pretty cheap
guy is nice (we were waiting for some guys in our party to arrive and he just sat there and we talked about U.F.C. for like forty minutes!)
a lot of fields
Get to play in the Haunted Hoochie
GM is just down the street
really relaxed feel (don't have the pressure to play that the refs might produce {had some bad refs a lot})

Cons:
Safety can be an issue
There are no refs
Its like paying to play at your friends house.
really swampy after a rain
rental equipment is left in the back of an old bus that they use to sign in ballers.

Ok, many have addressed that they only fill CO2. Last i was there, the owner said that they will be filling comp. air tanks once spring hits. He is also putting in two forty bunker X-ball and NPPL courses. So that starting this year, there will be something for everybody. He is also addressing the swampy factor by building the air-ball courses on mounds ( kinda like a football field where it is rounded to rain will flow off to the side).
I give it an 8 because while there are some safety issues (broken glass and what not), it is a really great place to play.
Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 5:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snip3r Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cannon but they can't open due to zoneing
Big Run Park (our private field)
The police academy on Mickenly
Directions
to the Field:
go down broad
Review: on the 4th it rained all day and when it wasnt raining, it was humid as hell. i have a thermel proto mask w/ a fan and it still fogged. we had them open for us and we had 20 ppl which is perfect for sum of their fields but too small for other fields. i like to play speedball but their field SUCKED. its just tubes stickin out the ground but w/e b/c i like to play woodsball too. everyone says that safety is an issue well it really isnt. the people that say "they only crono you at the beggining but you can change that later", r the ones that change their velocity. if you go with people that you trust, or just don't play with the people who r breaking the rules, then your fine. the hoochie was perfect for me because i had my A-5 with me set up with a flashlight so i could kind of see in the darkness. you have to have a partner though or else ur just walkin into a trap. i like to use smoke and your not aloud to. overall i give it a 9 because its actually a field that has a mini city. its not just woods so you can play regualar ball or woods or speed it just depends on how you set it up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bring Da Heat Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
victory hill
first baptist church
my house (speed ball and woods)
snake pit (closed)
random woods near freinds houses
Review: id like to start off saying that i play both speedball and woods i prefer speed but i heard about the haunted hoochie so i decided to check it out

the pros r:
its cheap 15 bucks for the day
the owner was a nice guy
alot of fields like 7 or something i only played on 3 of em
alot of people showed up 2 wen i left there was like 30 ppl

The cons r:
the safety really concerned me when i noticed they only chrono at the beggining there were semi trucks for nets and the werent even helping... kids were shoot at random things and i was like wtf??!?!!? one kid shot over my head when i was sitting down
they only fill co2
they selll paint but its usually double what GM sells for and u get a better deal there
basically it was like a pick up game like what i used to do in the woods when i first got a gun
no reffs
the guys who i played with were cool but honestly safety needs to be adressed guys!
the guy who owns the place didnt even come to the fields he signed the ppl in and then went inside his house

its worth checking out if ur into low safety and woods the guy said he wanted to buy an air ball field and a n2o fill station so i can see where the field can get better over all i give it a 6 out of 10 and b 4 ppl start goin skeptic on me im only 13 and i have to say every1 has there opinion
Last edited on Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 at 8:17 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

D.Squad Oh Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not many very near Columbus
Cannon if it reopens
Directions
to the Field:
East Broad Street
Review: ShurShotBaller on Thursday, April 28th, 2005 your post included;

"Safety- Not the biggest issue on this field...They have u chrono when u first get there and sign in...but then ur released on to the field and can turn ur gun up as high as u would like...There are no Refs...and no chrono out on the fields"

Beyond this what else needs said, $15 might be cheap to play but if safety is not a concern why would anyone play there.

Lets look at the facts.
1. price is good but is that worth getting hurt? NO
2. "They have u chrono when u first get there and sign in...but then ur released on to the field and can turn ur gun up as high as u would like" does anyone think that is a good idea? if we don't control people who think this way our sport will end!!!!!
3. The field is full of trash and junk, sharp metal, glass, splintered wood. Even with the low field fee, where does the money go? NOT BACK IN THE FIELD that's for sure.

I have been to the field a few times over the last 2 years and all I can say is if anything it is worse now than then. Safety has to be our number one issue here



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slinky17 Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Park
Review: This place is great. I love the Haunted Hoochie course. There are a bunch of buildings you can go into and a ton of stuff to hide behind. Also just down the street is General Merchandise which is a army surplus store where you can buy a large selection of paint, get your tanks filled for a good price, and buy new and used paintball equipment. The staff are really friendly there too. The best way to improve Fran Bar would be for the owner to hire some college kids that need a job to help him run the place.
Last edited on Saturday, July 1st, 2006 at 3:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media