paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Robin Hood Paintball Field / Robin Hood Paintball Field / Robin Hood Paintball Field / Robin Hood Paintball Field

Robin Hood Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
32Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (410) 273-1555
Address: 2429 Old Robinhood Rd
Havre de Grace, Maryland 21078
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Big Kahuna OP4 Saturday, May 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outdoor Adventures Paintball Park (Rosedale) - OA (Rosedale) have 3 - 4 mediocre fields. Expensive.

Rt 40 Paintball (White Marsh) - OK fields, too pricey.
Directions
to the Field:
2429 Old Robin Hood Rd.
Havre de Grace, MD 21078

I suggest mapquesting the address.
Review: Safety - Overall, safety is good. Ref's are on top of making sure barrels are covered outside of the fields. Staff were monitoring chrono station ensuring players were dialed in with proper chrono.

Fields - Overall fields were excellent. They have a wide variety and all fields are close together.
* One Air Ball Field
* One Wood Spool Field
* Three Wooded Fields
* One Hyperball Field
* One Pallets Field
* One Castle Field

Hours of Operation -
Saturday: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Prices - Excellent
Rental Guns – Field Paint Only - Must Buy Field Paint W/ Rental Guns

Tippman/ Tank/Goggles/Backpack/Field Fee/500 balls $35.00
Angel or Intimidator/Air System/Hopper/Field Fee $50.00
* 3000 Air Systems $15.00
* Electronic Hoppers $10.00
Back Packs/ Guppies $10.00
Goggles $5.00
12oz CO2 Tank $5.00
* Require Some Type of Deposit (Car Keys, Driver Lic., Etc.)

Field Fee -
(Bring your own paint, All-Day Air Included) $20.00

Paint Prices -
Bag - 500 paintballs per bag $15.00
1-4 Cases - 2000 paintballs per case $40.00
5 or more Cases $35.00

Party Prices (Birthday Parties, Bachelor Parties, Etc.)

Saturday and Sunday Party Prices
$15 per person -- 10 or more people -- Includes Field Fee, Gun Rental, Goggles, and All Day Air

NO PAINTBALLS ARE INCLUDED IN THIS PRICE

Must use field paint with rental guns
Must Make Reservations: 410.273.9291

Weekday prices for parties of 10 or more--
$35 per person -- 10 or more people -- Includes Field Fee, Gun Rental, Goggles, All Day Air, and 500 Paintballs.

Must Make Reservations: 410.273.9291

Employees (Staff & Ref's) - Excellent

Players - There were several large groups playing and had no problems with other players or groups. My group of 20 players never had to wait for a field.

Facilities - Portable Bathrooms were available.

Food - A small food vendor was onsite with the norm (hotdogs, soda's, etc)

Overall - I like this field and I would suggest to anyone that Robin Hood Paintball will be my playing field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockandrollguy7 Sunday, April 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Oa paintball Bowie/Rosedale
Route 40 paintball.
Review: I'm just going to type a quick review up as the field is fresh in my memory (I played at it yesterday). I went on as a walk-on with 5 friends, 4 of which rented guns and bought paint at the field (you can bring your own paint if you'd like also).

Safety -- The safety rules at Robin Hood were pretty lax, they let you use barrel plugs (instead of barrel condoms; required at the OA fields I play at), and the fields were right next to the shop and staging areas, but the nets kept the bulk of the paint away (only one shot bounced under the net and hit me in the ankle, but admittedly our table was way too close to the net to begin with)

Fields -- A good variety of fields and as a walkon we played on all of them but one(At OA I only played airball in tournaments so it was nice to play scrubs on an airball field ;-) ).
They had a big woods field which was great for large scale games, but due to a snowy season it was entirely covered in mud, but it was still a great field to play on. Small woods included less cover but the hills and creek made up for the lack of man made cover with natural cover. They also had 2 'speedball' fields which were your standard orange blocks, story books, doghouses, etc, One airball field which played like any low end tournament field, a spools field which was nice, open, and elevated, and a smaller pallets field which I did not get to play on.

Hours -- 9-5 Saturday and 10-5 Sunday I believe. The hours were good. The style of play for walks ons was a bit disorganized (we played with a birthday party, the marine core, and other walk ons over the course of the day lol) but it allowed you to get out on the field a lot. we arrived Saturday at 9:50, got on by 10:15, and played until 3:45 gettting in 20 or so games on a variety of fields.

Prices -- 40$ for a case of 2000 rounds, or bring your own. 20$ for all day play + air (they have co2 and self fill hpa stations.) If you're coming anywhere south of baltimore and you're taking 895 it will also cost you $4 in tolls to go to and from Havre de Grace MD. The store also carries everything you'd expect, rentals (35$ for all day use + air), batteries, goggles, o rings, etc. They also have a grill selling food and drinks and the proceeds go to some cancer society.

Rules -- Fairly lax, but the refs did their job when they needed too. Safety wasn't really enforced much admittedly (nobody checked chrono's all day and I had 2 bleeders, but I was also ripping at 310~ fps so I guess I have no room to talk.) You can smoke in the pavilion or the parking lot, anywhere away from the fields basically, which was important to me, and I had nothing stolen all day.

Services -- Portapotties, Air station, Chrono station, Grill/Drinks, Proshop, Big parking lot. The standard.

Players -- Many young players (I was surprised because due to insurance a lot of places don't let you play when you are >13 but I saw many parties of 10-12 y/o's. Lot of more experienced players were there also, but by 4:00 only young kids were left.

My rating of the field overall would be an 8.8/10
Very poor, Poor, Average, Good, Very good. <-- I will use these for a quick rundown of everything.

Field selection/condition -- Good.
Prices -- Very good.
Distance -- Poor (was a 1.5 hour drive for me :-\ )
Rule enforcement -- Average
Safety -- Average
Facilities -- Good
Player/Staff friendliness -- Very good
Hours/Time on field -- Good
Overall experience -- Good.

If you like low prices, and like a very lax environment (much different from OA) for walk ons then Robin Hood is a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EuroTrash Wednesday, July 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Went with a pretty large group. Compared to other places I've been, the refs here were great. They earned their money. Very friendly but serious when safety was a concern. The refs we had seemed a little older than some of the other ones there, so maybe that had something to do with it.
Price was very affordable but the paint selection was non existent. One type of paint only.
The fields are great and well maintained, fill station is nice, and the porto potties are a plus.
One of the better small fields I've played.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 29th, 2009 at 2:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntbller&hisgun Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
route 40
Review: well i play here alll the time (like every weekend) as a walkon during the summer and fall, and the field is great!

FIELDS
they have:
-smallwoods (woodsball);
-dog leg (a massive L shaped field that has lots of woodsy stuff and pallets an a freakin castle!);
-speedball (obvious);
-bigwoods (woods) <- ive never played there cuz its for LOTS of people but i heard its good;
-pallets (pallets);
-hyperball (looks like a big landfill with doors, windows, pallets, everything);
-spools (spools);

CUSTOMER SERVICE
lemme start off by saying that i hate the refs. every now and then theres that cool ref who is real good and friendly and know everything about your gun. then theres the little 10yr old refs they have working there that suck, are brats, showoff, and treat you like crap.
besides the field doubling up as a preschool, the fields themselves are nice.

FOOD/DISPOSING OF FOOD
well pats and dominoes both deliver to RH, and RH has their #s. also, they have gatorade and drink machines. but what i think is neat is they have portapotties. although portapottys arent the best bathrooms, its better than having to take a crap in the woods.

ROBIN HOOD
its pretty good overall. the price went up to $20 all-day pass w/ air. they have a chorno station, proshop, and good air refill stations.

TOTAL
overall, this field is worth it. besides the little refs, the field deserves a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mansion House - DE: a joke compared to most fields
PAG - DE: Good fields but RH is cheaper
Directions
to the Field:
Visit the website for directions. It's not hard to find really.
Review: Had a chance to visit RH yesterday and i had a great time as a walk-on by myself. Really good field, had a lot of fun.

Safety: Some fields claim to be safety concious but we pballer's know otherwise. RH really is on top of it. Ref's really kept after everyone to keep their masks on and their barrels plugged, was glad to see it.

Fields: RH has a field for everyone. 1 Small woods field w/bunkers, 1 field with wooden spools for cover, 2 Speedball fields, and a custom hyperball and dogleg fields that you have to see to understand. All of the fields were in excellent shape and showed some real thought was put into where the bunkers go. A+

Hours: 9-5 on Saturdays and 11-5 on Sundays. Seems reasonable to me

Prices: Here's where RH really shines. 15.75 for an all day pass w/air. For guys like me who have all of their own gear and like to play with a particular paint, this is heaven. You can bring your own paint or buy theres. The have economy paint for $45, with better stuff slightly more. Although i didn't pay much attention to it, i believe the rentals for a tippmann 98, co2 and a pod was like $25, which is still a good deal.

Rules and Ref's: After signing the waiver, i didn't really hear to much about rules; keep your mask on and your marker plugged. Other than that it seemed like anything goes. I asked about the rules for automatic fire and everyone gave me a different answer, lol. If i had 1 complaint about RH it would be the rules/refs issues throughout the day. Although wiping is obviously against the rules, i saw at least 4 players do it during the day. I was standing next to the ref when one of them did it and he said nothing; either he didn't see it (which is pretty sad since he was right in front of us) or decided not to do anything about it (even worse). I know it's hard sometimes and ref's probably give people the benefit of the doubt, but i saw an AWFUL LOT of cheating in the first few hours i was there. For a couple games there it seemed like if you didn't cheat you didn't have a chance, but as the day progressed this seemed to go away. I know part of it is the crew you play with and not RH's fault, but the ref's need to really pay attention and be more involved.

Another issue was that the field boundries for the woods sections aren't very clearly marked. A general briefing from the ref's on the fields would have been very helpful, ie, ("this is a rectangle field playing this way")

Later in the day we played the hyperball field and 2 of the ref's were staring out over a field, the exact OPPOSITE direction of the playing field. I was standing with a few other guys that were out and one of them out of frustration yelled out, "game's over here ref!" The ref's were all VERY young and didn't seem too into their job for the most part. Some of the other regulars to the field informed me that it's really hit or miss with the refs here; some are great and really involved, others stare into space. So i guess i got a bad day, but i'll take it in stride.

ProShop: RH had a retail store until recently; the owner informed me he was moving his stuff back to the field. Otherwise the entrance shack had everything that was needed; spare parts, orings, paint, rentals, etc.

Staff: All of the staff were very helpful. it was my first time there and i was by myself and i felt very accomidated by them. They pointed me in the right direction and got me chrono'd and on my way with other walk-ons.

Players: Because RH has a field for everyone you get the whole gambit of players here. Speedball, Woodsball, and everything in between. you'll see woodsballers playing speedball and vice versa. having the different fields keeps things interesting. They had a few parties that took priority, but thats nothing new. I will say that there were ALOT of young kids there. Probably a good 3rd were under 13. They tend to cower and not be very helpful. I wonder in a way why they are even playing, but the older players treat them well and try and go easy on them. It doesn't really bother me, but if you are looking to play with lots of hardcores, this isn't your field unless you bring them with you.

Facilities: Basic, but very functional. A very large staging area, some of which is covered and shaded. Netting to keep stray balls out, and a nice setup for refills, CO2 or HPA. 2 portapotties outside, 2 vending machines for drinks, nothing exciting.

*EDIT* A couple of ladies from the local Cancer center have setup a small grill where you can get hot dogs, etc. with the proceeds going to cancer research. VERY nice!

In Conclusion, i had a blast playing here. A few issues with cheating earlier in the day had me worried, but by the time i left i can't wait till i can go back. RH has great fields at an amazing price. I hope to be returning soon.

EDIT: 7/23/07 I had a chance to go back to RHPB this Sunday with some friends and had a total blast. Ref's were paying alot more attention and we didn't have any incidents of wiping. The only thing that really needs to be changed is that the refs need orange jerseys. Wearing civies got them shot alot. I'm going to raise the score to a 9.

EDIT 3/3/08 I've been going to RH pretty steady now since last summer and they've made some recent improvements i wanted to let everyone know about. First, they've gotten self service air compressors; 2 3k's and 1 4.5k. Hook up, press the button and blam, you're done. No more lines! Also, they've recently added a new canopy over the staging area which means that about half of it is now covered. They have also added a new "pallet" field which is like speedball but without the inflatable crap. All this and the price has stayed the same!!! I'm going to continue to go here even though it's a hike simply because this field rocks.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 25th, 2008 at 12:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

armygunner Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None Just moved here
Review: I am new to the area and heard about these fields so I went to them and they were really nice. The refs we pretty good abut starting games every 5 mins. The first day I went my Halo wasn't working and they looked at it to try and figure out what was wrong with it and couldn't figure it out, so he let me use a hopper they had. The second day I went my marker was having problems and they were more than helpful when it came to looking at it to see what was wrong. When we took about an hour to look it over and pretty much take it apart and lube everything he told me to take his timmy and use it while he was trying to figure out what was wrong with it. He kept it for about an hour and brought it back because he couldn't find out what was wrong and told me to keep the timmy for the day. These are a bunch of good guys that work there and I would recommend this place to walk-ons or to people that have teams to go and practice there. All in all the place is great. You can bring your own paint or buy it there for a reasonable price. Also they gave me a discount for being military and that is a good sign as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HolyShnikes Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A bunch of random fields while traveling - I cant remember all of them. I went to skermish once also :)
Directions
to the Field:
off of 155 take a Right on Paradise Rd. Follow that until you see Old Robin Hood Road. Make a Left on Old Robin Hood Road and follow that until you see the sign for Robin Hood Paintball on the left!
Review: I have been playing there for years. I started about 8 years ago when I went there simply because it was close to my house. Although I have not been there in a while because I have been up at college in Boston, MA (a little far to drive for a paintball game). But the first 4 years of high school I went there almost every other weekend.

The Reffs are nice and the owners are even more nice! Malcom, one of the owners is one of the nicest guys I have ever met. He always is friendly and has fixed my gun several times when I had a problem with it. As a matter of fact everyone there is so nice that if ther is a problem they try their hardest to do something about it. THEY REALLY FOLLOW THE RULES!

Pat's Pizza and Dominoes Pizza delivers there after you get the number from them at the desk. There is also a vending machine with Gatorade's and soda (although one of them takes dollars every once in a while, but even then the owners will give you a dollar back!)

The field is great! The have 3 wood courses, Two air ball fields (which are great) a Gravel/wood field with spools and a course called "The Dog Leg" which is a big L shaped field with spools and other things to hide behind (like a huge freeking cylinder).

I was there last Saturday (not to play) and apparently they have a new rule of 15$ all day air and BYOP! 15$ with free air and BYOP?!?! It wasn't like this before but thank God it is now! I can't wait for my gun to get its new parts so I can go down there!

They shoot Diablo Heat paintballs and they are about 40$

I would really recommend anyone to go to Robin Hood Paintball. It is absolutely one of the best fields that I have ever been to. However, I can not give them a 10 because I must leave a window for a field that could be better..? But I have not found one yet :)

Good Job Guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontlinegunerz Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
local tree farm i work at
Review: robinhood is sweet the refs are great except for a couple they could prolly care less other than that its great they no jost whats wrong w/ your gun if somethings is screwed up our team practices there n the refs get us out on th field as quick as possible..awesome field always concerned about your safty A++++++++++++++++
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Outlawcocker Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played on the field at Ft. Bragg, NC
Review: I just got together some friends from work to play up at Robin Hood this past weekend. I have played there about 8 times before. I took people that had either never played paintball or only played a few times. We had a great time. The day started slow as the walk ons arrived. One of the first games a young/new ref did a real bad job of splitting up teams. We brought this to their attention. The rest of the day was great. The prices are great and the rental equipment is in good shape (98 Customs) some have CO2 some are HPA. We drove from VA South of DC to play there and will be headed back. The other places around are way more expensive. They had the walk ons palying so many game that we had to ask for a breather because they wanted to get another game going. We could play another game as soon as we wanted and got to pick what field we wanted to play. I would say there was about 100 people there and never a wait for anything. I have heard a lot about fields having young refs. Robin Hood does have soem young refs but for the most part they are great. They get involved and if you ask for a paint check or if you think you hit someone on the speed ball field yell and they will check it out. They are also willing to help with any problems with your guns. I say if you can get to this place go. I am only giving it a 9 rating because there is no true 10!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

b4rigger Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Robin hood paintball is an excellent field. While the refs are all basically kids, they are all really good, and when you call for a paint check, they check. They have 3 woods fields, a spool field, and an airball field. All of which are alot of fun. Their airball field is especially fun because you can get alot of people in one game. The prices are also really nice. Its 15 dollars for field fee and all day air. And like 30 dollars for a case of diablo heat paint. However, renting everything may be a little pricey (like 70 dollars). But overall, Robin Hood is an awesome field with alot of awesome people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media