paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
147Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 518-329-2255
Address: 746 Roche Lane
Ancramdale, New York 12503
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
taz1769 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crazy paint, splat factory, liberty, and headrush. Not one of these fields compare to hornets nest.
Review: Well, Where do I begin. Since the first time I played at the Hornets nest it has evolved so much. It used to be a wooden bunker field and its now a 3 Airball and 1 wooden bunker field place. They have a regulation size Xball field, an ultimate air field and an indoor field which isn't completely done yet. The owner Bob Mathews is a great guy who cares more about his customers having fun rather than making money off of them. It is a great place to bring your team to practice. If you don't wanna u don't have to play the hard teams that play there although I recommend that u do. My team played the Hornets Nest Factory Team and got beat really bad but we learned alot and can't wait to play them again. They are a great team to learn from and they are willing to teach anybody how to be a better player.They are also funny and hilarious people to be around.
PRICES= Multiple different paint for a good price. Entry fee and all day air is really!!!!! cheap. This place also holds tournaments from young guns up to open just about every month. This place is the number 1 place to go
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericroberts Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty, Silver Mountain
Review: We played Hornet's Nest last weekend after hearing about it for quite a while. Despite almost no advertising the field, seems to have a cult following.

First of all, the owner, Bob Matthews, is great to deal with. He's been involved in the sport since the early 80's and is passionate about it. He also really wants people to enjoy themselves and cares less about how much he makes from them.

The mutliple fields offer everything from woods games with a set of well done forts forming a town to a professional speedball field. Another castle defense game was a favoite of our group. There's a new indoor and a couple other fields as well . Since the field doesn't advertise and is off the main roads, it doesn't appear to be overscheduled which allowed us to pick our day and play the fields we wanted to all day long.

All support is on-site including CO2 and nitro plus a full pro shop and high quality rentals of guns and all other gear for some of our guys who lacked them

This is the best course our crew had played and the best operator.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FatKid Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet
Review: My first time playing paintball, I enjoyed with some of my colleagues from work. With just ten of us on a Wednesday, we were the only ones at Hornetsnest. Bob and Bob were great, helping us newbies out and poking fun at some friends that had visited there before. We all enjoyed the day and had a blast playing what some of us feared at first, but loved in the end. Prices were great and the staff was more than accommodating. If you're looking for a supportive, team-building activity, choose paintball and look nowhere else for a better place to go! I give Hornet's Nest my highest recommendation as I truly enjoyed every minute of my day!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

joshbaum Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Executive paintball, Hadley MA (no longer in operation)- small indoors field and poor refs
Review: Hornet's nest is by far the best field I have ever played at. Bob was incredibly accommodating and personable. We took a small group from a local college and he set us up with everything we needed at a very reasonable price. We had all of the fields to ourselves. Great fields, refs who really care and are very clear about safety and rules, even a snack shop. Most of us were beginners but we had a great time. The airball field is intense, but my favorite was the woodsball town. Its really huge and they put a lot of work into making it really awesome. So basically: nice, well maintained fields, great people, and great prices (check out the promo coupon on their website). Well worth the drive out. If you're playing in the Hudson Valley area this is the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tool77 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Liberty and a field in Illinois, both were slightly worse than this one.
Review: Really liked this course. It has an excellent airball field as well as a really fun "castle." The "Western Town" is more challenging and would appeal to people who prefer a more woods like environment. Prices were fair and the service was excellent. The variety was a little lacking, there are four small fields and one very large one. But, they are building a brand new indoor facility and another speed ball field which should definitely help. Both will probably be built within six months to a year, the indoor facility looked close to being done. Our group played for five hours and had a lot of fun the whole time. The refs were awesome people and it big part of the fun was just talking to them, getting tips, and learning about the course. Excellent place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Peppy12 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley - Cousin's - ODAG -
Review: I truly cant say enough positive things about the field and staff. Its a good time with great prices and Excellent staff. After my local field closed down. I traveled from field to field looking for a new home field. From day one this place has been more then accommodating. I can now say I have a home field and its well worth driving an hour to go play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CoachClifton Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty - No comparison
Review: I brought a group of 25 teachers and students out to Hornet's Nest for a school outing and the kids (and faculty) haven't stopped talking about it. Bob was professional, friendly and very accommodating to our group. Communication with the company was excellent and prices were prefect. The staff deserves a major pat on the back, we were mostly newbies and novices and everyone at Hornet's Nest gave us plenty of help. The refs were top notch, I've played elsewhere where the referees were not concentrating on the games. At Hornet's Nest three refs were given to cover our group and they were professional at all times. It was a great time and I am highly recommending this field to everyone. Nearby Connecticut needs to know about this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder/kingman9 Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat factory
Review: hornets nest is a fun place to go especially for the new comers because the the owner bob, bob, and Brenda are really welcoming they have 6 fields 2 air ball fields {ones indoors} they have 2 woods fields, they have a speed ball field, and an attack and defend type of thing.you can order anything from the proshop like nitro tanks, drop forwards, and other stuff

i highly recommend this field to everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DocMinster Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins,First Prize, Liberty
Review: I have been [playing for quite a few years (1988) and I have to say Bob Mathews Sr. & Jr. are two of the GREATEST guys I have ever met in the Paintbal industry. They both go the extra mile to make sure your time and money is well spent at the Hornets Nest. The grounds are clean they offer Food and soft drinks...there is ample room to set up your gear on Picnic tables. They have two SupAir Fields an X-Ball Field, Hyper ball, Town scenario, King of the hill, a Castle,Woods Ball..... AND they are in the process of building a HUGE INDOOR for those bad weather Paintball days they you are bound to have in the Upstate New York area. .....The service and staff are great and the reffing is excellent....AND he charges a fair price. If he does not have what you are looking for in the store he will have it in by the next week when you come back to play!! Man what else can you ask for!!!??
Last edited on Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 at 3:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snafu13 Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I have played at a few fields, in New York and elsewhere, but I feel that this paintball club/field is one of the best. The people are very nice. They help everyone and they are very knowledgeable in all parts of the sport, and make sure everything is safe. The prices for the equipment and paint are also quit reasonable. The fields, though there aren't as many as some places, are very well kept and designed. There is also a new building going up.

So for anyone who loves this sport, you can go to hornet's nest paintball and have the best time playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media