paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
147Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 518-329-2255
Address: 746 Roche Lane
Ancramdale, New York 12503
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
HeMaDeMeDoThIs! Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
This is the link to get directions to the field.
http://hornetsnestpaintball.com/directions.htm
Review: The reason why I keep coming back to the field week after week is because of the friendly atmosphere and the high regard for safety. Bob, the owner, is the nicest guy you will ever meet. If you go by yourself and one of the teams are playing, they always welcome anyone who wants to play. Also if you have any questions they are happy to answer them for you if they can. All of the players make sure that everyone has their masks on. The fields are large, with plenty of natural and man made bunkers. The Kill House is the indoor field that is a c.q.c. It is just a little scary at first, but it not so bad once you get used to it. The pro shop has everything a paintballer will ever need, from speed ball upgrades to A-5 mod kits. They even sell cold smoke grenades. And for the hungry people, Bob even has good food. The food consists of pizza, burgers, and Buffalo wings. (I recommend the buffalo pizza =) Prices are better then fair. The paint is about 70 dollars a case depending on the type you get and air and play is only $21. Everyone is truly welcome no matter who you are, guy or girl.
~Irina =P
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gage Conklin Sunday, December 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
some in West MA.
Review: Let me tell you all about the quality of the Hornet's nest from a experienced eye.
1: Safety - These guys #1 Thing even more than you having fun is Safety. It's very important, and these guys will always remind you to keep masks on / barrel bags on, They have a little 15 min safety video at the start for people who never been there, but I think it's so people don't have to worry about people not wearing masks in the middle of a fight.Nobody wants an eye out or def in an ear, do they?

2: Variations of Fields - Hornet's Nest has a very large variation of highly thought into fields. The Indoor field is a very impressive field of what they could fit inside of it, A 2 alley way urban fight with a maze in the middle, This is not for the feint of heart and VERY CQC (Close Quarters Combat), As of Safety First though (yay for no big welts) the speed is downed to 200 fps inside. The outside courses Range huge, and the Speed increase to 270 fps, The Outside Consists of a rather large Speed ball field, a Castle, Trenches, an Xball field, 2 Villages, and a convoy field. The refs don't mind for multi courses to be played on when there's a good number of people, (one team starts at the castle, one other starts at the trenches, and the middle points are the speed ball field and woods) The Woods Ball Courses are Insane for any Woodsball Players like myself. Bravo on the fields Hornet crew!

3: Prices - The Prices are not that bad at all, 60$ for normal paint, and 70$ for pro paint, These guy's have a REALLY good deal for people who want to go on a regular bases. 21$ (10 for air, and 11 for field entry) lasts for 1 full week! (weeks restart every Monday) So if you want to go on Saturday and Sunday, You don't have to pay for a 2nd time for air/field use on the Sunday!

4: Pro shop - The pro shop is amazing, It has scenario guns displayed, Bob the owner is always there ready to help you guys if you need any thing, Almost every thing in the store is on sale (Don't waste you're time on buying Bob's 1st place jacket, it's impossible) Parts of guns as well are on the store counter, They are very generous on rentels, 10$ for Mask ,CO2 + Tippman98 ,or 20$ for Mask, N2 + ION! The people who get the ions will give new people a fighting chance against people who have scary guns =p. The food they sell at the counter is a pretty impressive list, It serves breakfast sandwiches, to cheese burgers, to pizza, and then don't forget the Candy, Icecream, and drinks. Last on this note, The bathroom is really clean and pretty big as well!

5: Staff & Refs - The staff is incredibly nice and friendly, though strict on the safety rules (don't lifts you masks like said earlier) and every thing is fine, The staff & refs will give you hints & tips on how to be more effective at certain situations, Help you at problems if occurring (Gun Malfunctioning and other things), They will try their best to keep the field fun & safe for people, (Warning for people who don't call themselves out). The best staff of all though is Bob himself, Bob is ready to help you for what ever problems you have or needs at the pro-counter, Go for him for tips as well, He's the Definition of Veteran in paintball.

6: Scenario Games!!! - My favorite part about Hornet's Nest. They host REALLY good scenario games, They pull out that 30.cal MG that shoots like 23BPS and put it on top of a jeep. It's fun, The field is huge, be expecting to play end to end of their fields, (Convoy to Castle), The Objective's are legit, and the game itself is very long, So bring some friends and enjoy!

7: Down side - (Yes, every thing in the world has a con when they have a pro) The Con is that not many people know of the great service's that the Hornet's Nest Crew tries to do. It is our job as the people who have gone there to tell others of what a great place Hornet's nest is so that we get some more people on the field! (more players, More fun!)

8: Over All - This place is amazing, This place would be the best in the whole North East coast if more people came to the Hornet's Nest, Remember!, The game starts at entering the doors of the proshop first, not when the ref says go!
Last edited on Sunday, December 2nd, 2007 at 7:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guard Dog Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Map quest directions were helpful. Nice drive through some farms, easy to find.
Review: I'm a member of the Army Paintball team and had heard good things about the Hornet's Nest and about the MOUT site. I decidied to check it out over my Thanksgiving break....

Safety: Mandatory safety video covers all major points of safety, good for all players. Quick and efficient.
Fields: I played on the village, castle, and indoor MOUT site. The MOUT site is LEGIT. I intend to bring the rest of the Army Paintball team up to do some close quarters traning at the MOUT site. The rooms are all big enough to work a 3-4 man team through them. My friend and I came up on the saturday after thanksgiving. We played with a handful of players and had a great time.
Village field had decent buildings along with trees for cover. Nice wooded areas outside.

Prices: Everything is VERY reasonably priced.

Services: Heated indoors, good fields, no trash, netted areas outside, good bunkers, field kept in good condition.

Staff: VERY friendly staff, makes you feel very welcome.

Players: Hornet's nest attracts a good clientele. Players were more than happy to allow more players to play with them.

Good facility, I would recommend checking it out to anyone in the area. I'm about 1.5 hours away and am glad I made the drive up to check it out. I will be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoWonCares Sunday, October 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Albany Paintball Emporium (Outdoor in Nassau)
First Prize Paintball
Review: Safety:
Mandatory safety lessons, but doesn't treat you like you're dumb. Bob (the owner) is a very nice guy, and when my friends and I got there, he explained all the fields, showed us the *intense* indoor field, and showed us where everything was. Safety speech before you got to play, and there were signs clearly showing where the lines were for firing and wearing your masks.

Fields:
Basically, no matter what you want, you can play it here. They have an speed/X ball field next to the pro-shop. They have village(s) outside. They have a building inside. Their indoor facility has heat and air conditioning, as well as fog machines. They've got long maps, short maps, out in the open, and more wooded. Great variety. We didn't even get a chance to try everything in one day.

Hours of Operation:
Open late, which is great for me, because it takes me an hour and a half to get there. So even if I'm lazy and leave at noon, I still have time to play.

Prices:
$21 for all day air and admission. Free for military guys, and free on Saturdays for civil service. Field paint is $65, $70 or $75. Pretty standard, from my experience. More expensive than what you could get online, but they have to make money some how.

Rules:
They have refs around, but you're free to police yourselves if you want. We played by honesty rules, and most people were pretty good about calling themselves out. They have tons of scenarios and such, so you could conceivably do whatever you wanted. I had no issues with their rules.

Services:
The cleanest bathroom at a paintball field I've ever seen. It's actually a real toilet, with running water and everything. I was impressed.

They have some ice cream and drinks, and there was mention of food, but I didn't personally try anything.

Pro Shop:
They have a *ton* of parts here. It was like being at home and going to a legit paintball store, only with fields out back. I didn't really check out the prices, but if you bust something, I'm sure they could give you a replacement. One of the guys with me forgot his mask, and I'm pretty sure Bob let him use a rental mask for free. Again, Bob is a very nice guy.


Staff:
I wasn't really sure who was working here and who wasn't, aside from the Ref (reffed a different game), and Bob, the owner, who was pretty much as nice as one could be.

Players:
A little light on the numbers, but we didn't make it to the field until almost 3:00. I'm sure we would have had better numbers if we showed up earlier. The ones that were there were pretty friendly, not elitist in the slightest, and by the end of the day, let us shoot their guns to see how they shot/felt (a lot had custom body work done. One guy had a legit M14 with a minimag board in it).

My skill level isn't the greatest, so I was getting shot up a lot. Most guys were nice enough to send a few rounds my way, but not light my newbie ass up. Much appreciated, if you guys read this.




Final Word:
I really don't have any complaints about this place. I would take a point off because they're so far away from both my home and my school, but that's not really fair. Well worth an hour and a half drive, and a leap and bound above and beyond the other fields I've been to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CitrusMaximus Tuesday, September 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is a fantastic X-Ball field. Full-size NPPL and the field and bunkers are in top shape. The pro-shop is sticked and Bob, the owner, is a great guy.

If speedball isn't your thing, they have an indoor- MOUNT site and about 100 acres of woodsball heaven. Make sure you check out the bunker/castle thing on the hill overlooking the X-Ball field.

Plus they have indoor plumbing and heat and air conditioning in the staging area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xpurtwitness Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area.
Review: So, to add to Italo's review: This was the second time we came here, and it was pretty sweet. Bob's a good guy, and I've gotta say I've never quite encountered the kind of deals they have at Hornet's Nest. Playing early in the week, and then you can come again for the rest of the week and only pay for paint!

I recommend folks check this place out for sure!

-Aaron
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

akemi_pwn Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
From PA go to college in NY
Review: Field isnt bad tiny, BUT....dont ever play Tourneys here WORST EVER!!!!! home teams play in it and their players not playing in tourney are reffing and are terrible, dont know rules...all rules state that player hanging flag in dead box is game over. Player hung flag with a hit on his goggles....meaning they lose opposit team gets 100 points done...BUT that team felt that since they had 1 live player that it didnt matter and head ref didnt kno what to do about it and listened to other teams and gave them full points for pull and hang when he was a dead player....lame.....other reffing was shatty as h3ll worst tourney i ever played....started 2 hours late panzy refs tried busting on shooting an ion but it rolled their factory teams...LAWL and went in finals in 3rd place then got BSed worst place to play a tourney straight up bad!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

italo Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Route 4
Review: So, me and my friends from the place that I work at decided to play paintball, but the we had the weather issue going on... all the snow outside and stuff. So we started to search for a indoor paintball field, therefore we found hornets nest.
Took us an hour to get there, which was definitely worth it. The field is really good, the bunkers all well inflated, air on 4100 all the time, great illumination. Bob was really nice to all of us, specially with the people that were new for the sport, giving all the instructions, safety procedures and such, really great guy, the price is not bad at all.
If you need any kind of repair, he probably will have what you need at his proshop, you can also grab some hotdogs and beverages outside.
don't forget to say hi to meggy!

Overall: Great place to go, if u're a fan of speedball like I'm, you can't go wrong.
once it gets a little warmer we'll come back to give a try on the woodsball course.
which i've heard it's great.
Good job Bob, keep it up.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blotter Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Field that I have played at due to the fact that it is winter up here and there are very few fields open during this time of year.
Directions
to the Field:
It took us only about 45min from Southern Dutchess County from the intersection of I84 and I684 it may take you one hour.
Review: We found this field while looking for a place to host my sons birthday party. My son is pretty young still and safety is a big concern especially as I would be having other peoples children there as well. I went up the weekend before to check things out and took my son and one of his friends. We met Bob and he quickly was able to tell me everything that we needed to know about where we could set up for the party and other details. They were getting ready for a upcoming Tournament but he was still able to take the time to help us get set up for my son and his friends first Paintball experience. One of the things that I noticed was that many of the young people who were helping him that day were players on some team or another and while they were not all that much older than my son they quickly commanded respect as they detailed all of the safety guidelines that must be followed. They did a great job and as a result the party the next weekend was a big hit. One boy who helped us a great deal was Tanner and for a youngsters first outing having him help you would be a great plus. the day of the party we showed up with 13 or so kids and half again as many adults half of whom played with the kids. The staff quickly got us all set up and there was little lag time while still being very through with the safety guidelines for all involved kids as well as parents. I was told by some that this same attention to safety is not always followed at all other fields as well as it is here. There was ton of time to spray paint and we all had a great time both in the indoor arena as well as several storm the castle games. A week later both kids and parents are still talking about their time up there and discussing when to get back up there. I felt that the prices were very fair given all that we did and the number of people that we had there that day. My daughter has been looking into a lazer tag party at a place closer to NYC for her birthday and price wise it looks to me to be a great deal more expensive and less time. the day we went for my sons party we played for about 4 1/2 hours start to finish.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ckykid12533 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Champions-Great Prices,Exelent Field
Spazz-BEST PRICES EVER,Nice field,Very clean
Liberty-Over Priced,Terrible staff
Review: I went there to practice with my Team for torney, We had a great time, The owner was a very nice guy and the rest of the staff was great,Lots of fields both indoor and outdoor, Pro-shop right at the field that sells everything,Very nice, clean staging area. The indoor field was well light and they fill to *4500PSI*. Over all a great field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media