paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Baja Paintball Field / Baja Paintball Field / Baja Paintball Field / Baja Paintball Field

Baja Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 619 339 2891
Location: Tijuana, Mexico
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Dudlak Wednesday, April 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Baja Paintball is an easy drive south of the San/Diego Border, often taking no more than half an hour to get to. There really is no way to get lost since you have to find a huge blue hydroponic tower and use the next possible exit. First time i went there, we had to go through an awful dirt road (which was actually kind of fun) and my expectations plummeted but it's a short ride.
Review: However, once i got there in full, the parking facilities were top-notch, everything was clean and surprisingly free of paint splatter. Once you get there an employee hits you up and runs you through the rules and instructs newbies on how to play, then they assign a referee to shadow you the ENTIRE DAY, which was great because they are very cordial, friendly and outgoing. Our referee was a fantastic dude, very quick on paint checks, always in the thick of things despite the danger of being shot, and quickly setting up games with other groups that showed up, resulting in games exceeding 30 players in the larger scenario maps that open up with enough people.

The rest and ready area was a covered and comfortable array of large tables, which were very convenient and there are even grills for carne asadas and stuff. People can just arrive and leave all their stuff there without risk of it being stolen.

There are a great variety of paintball courses, 13 in all. They go from small urban-style maps like Kuwait to huge woodsball ones like Colombia. They are all just fantastic fields and everyone will find them very well done and enjoyable. Prices are very low and reasonable, air fills are like 20 pesos. There's a small side-window where they immediately repair or replace faulty rental markers for free.

Bathrooms were clean, and when we got there the employees were hosing off paint and putting trash away, while a truckload of boxes with paintballs was being unloaded. There is food at the camp, energy drinks and whatever you might need there. What i did love was the fact you paid a one-time fee of $15 for the entire day's stay, which is great since the place is so big you'll spend plenty of time walking from field to field.

There is also none of the stuck-up attitude most fields in the U.S. display, although it's far from a lawless free for all. Chrono tests aren't required but they will ask you to shoot a couple of times there if they think you're shooting hot. In the bigger games, multiple referees with shields show up to see if no one's cheating or wiping paint. Everything felt professional but not at all intimidating, most of the referees are veteran airball players so they are unobstructive and know how to move.

I just joined pbreview.com to recommend this great field to everyone interested. Many people are kind of queasy when they find out it's in Mexico, but i must tell you it was a fantastic, fun and relatively inexpensive trip. Will definitely go there again soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

felio182 Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ensenada paintball and my friends ranch
Directions
to the Field:
its really easy if you know the area if not a map from their webpage makes it easy about 15 minutes south of the border with sandiego
Review: This is one of the biggest and most reconginsed fields in mexico and it certainly has earned its spot.
This field has been around for about ten yeard now and its where most regional players go and unexperienced players go to try it out as well so there all kinds of players for your level of play, baja paintball is a really well set up and it has 13 fields you can play in incluiding 4 scenario ones two hyperball ones and a synthetic grass tournament one among others ive been there twice and both times the staff is always cheerfull and helpful somethin really cool that anyone has mentioned before is that you get your own referee and when you go play with other groups of people you have two referees on the game to help you one for you and one for the other team which comes in really handy these refs know what theyre doing and theyre all experienced players who arent afraid to go help you in the middle of a game when youre being shot at even if that means he'll get a few hits.
the referees all speak english and if they see youre struggling with something theyll help you with it and give you advice in what they see youre not so good at they are realy carefull about your barell plugs and masks theyll basically tell you and your group if youre at the field and someone starts shooting at something "either everyone puts on their masks or everyone puts on a plug".
The restrooms are clean and the "chillaxing" area is really comfortable and is really nice to just cool down after a long game theres a little snack place where you can buy water, gatorade, sodas, sandwiches chips etc.
The prices are very cheap so its really accesible to go every other weekend or even every weekend
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

funkypaintball Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havent really played at any feilds i usually play at my uncles ranch or my friends canyon or where ever.
Directions
to the Field:
Um its like 2 miles from the border, and really close to the beach which sorta cools it down a bit during the summer
Review: First Thoughts-

Well it was my first time playing paintball and waht can i say, i was excited, me my brother a frined and a colleague went to play their in mid July. I was excited at going becasue this was very close to my house in San Diego, and it was my first time going. The pictures on the website were awsome and actually helped you get aquanted to the fields.

Off the Bat-

As soon as we arrived there the day was pretty warm but i was ok. The staff were pretty cool, i mean they were pretty easy going and happy to welcome you as their guest. The picnic tables to lay your gear out were also pretty convinient. I loved that they had c02 fills really cheap compared to my neighborhood sprots authority. Looking at the field they looked jaw dropping awsome. Wasn't much peopel their at the time though pretty disappointing because we couldnt do a large scale game at one of their scenario feilds

Recommended Feilds to Play On-

Well, i was kinda dissapointed that some of the airball fields weren't inflated, but hey nothings perfect. A feild i highly recommend to play which is my favorite one that i played on was "Campo Kuwait" It was aswome im saddened at the fact i only played their once. It was awsome it felt liek u actualyl were in Kuwait because of all the heat and sand ahaha. THey even had an old ambulence parked in the side of the field. The X-ball feilds were actually pretty cool even though i generally do not liek that kind of person but they were awsome. The only thing that freaked me out about the x-ball course was that you could hear all the balls hitting your cover bu hey it was my first time! Who isn't scared their first time?

Fields I Didn't Really Like-

One of these which is disapointing to me is the field called "Town" the field is grade A perfect except for one one small fact, there is a house right next to it where somebody actually lives in and they have their cars and stuff parked right there. Why, oh why? Why did they do this to one of the coolest fields i have seen. Another field i didnt liek was Cemetary. The reason for this is that the cover is rather scarce. Most of the cover are small pieces of wood were you practically have to lay down to get covered fully, especially if you are tall liek me. Another thing is that the field is primarilly close quarters, so if you get hit, yeah it really hurts, especially from my idiot frined who thinks he is the toughest guy out there who puts his effing velocity up max on his spyder imagine and goes full auto on us..man what a mother F...well back to the review.

Things I Didn't liek about the Place-

One thing i didnt liek is that they didnt chrono your gun for every game you were going to play. They just let you play, which was really upsetting to me becasue of my colleague i mentioned a few lines up. If they coudl enforce this i would surley recommend this field more than i already do. Other than that that's all i didnt like.

Staff/Refs-

What can I say? The staff is really good and know what they are doing. WHen my gun broke down on me i was really bummed out but then i went to go fix my gun and it worked goods as new. Their customer service was realyl cool to. Their Refs they were awsome too. They actually were checking if everybody was following rules and even yelled at you if you didnt put your barrel plug or sumtin to cover your barrel with. Made me feel safe inside... Anyways yeah, they weren't afraid to tell you something more than once if you didnt pay attention the first time around.

Prices-

They do not get marked down for anything in this catagory. They priced everything at reasonable prices. I mean even admission is cheaper than Velocity, Cool huh? They don't charge you more than 4 dollars for Co2 refills too. Also the admission is for the whole day which makes it even more customer friendly!

Tips and Suggestions-

If you go during the summer make sure you bring some ice cold gatorade or water, as it does get hot over there. Consult a ref if you want to play on a certain feild, and do not be afraid to ask around even though its in Mexico, most people there do speak English. Knowing a bit a Spanish may help if you get lost and ask for directions at a gas station or people aroudn the area. Don't forget to bring your ID and papers so when your coming back they don't bring you into Secondary inspection, which really really takes a long time(believe me i've been stuck in their with my family for liek an hour just because my aunt forgot my cousins's ID. If you do all of these things, PREPARE YOURSELF!!! For the funnest day of your life!

Overview-

GO there NOW! You won't regret it all feilds are 100% fun. Even if your not a woodsball player or your a speedball player every feidl is fun. Heck i play woodsball mostly and i enjoyed all the feilds! Don;t be shy and come down and you'll be greeted by the warmest staff in the paintballing industry! Although they could use some more saftey rules and inform you abotu the rules a bit more and move their field to safer locations this is still one of the greatest palces to play paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

atsakiris Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: These guys are great.

I wanted take my son and his friends paintballing for his birthday. Most of the group had never been and we wanted to find a place with the right vibe. I was blown away by the website so I called them up and spoke with Perla. She was great and set up a complete package where they picked us up at the boarder and took us to the fields. We wound up getting a ride in the Baja Paintball van from Karlo – one of the owners. He told us about the place and how he and his brother built the fields over the last nine years. The guy works as a doctor during the week and does paintball on the weekend.

The place is just as impressive as everyone says. Everything is in great shape and the people are all really nice and helpful.

We had a great time and are definitely going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

elmatto91 Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields in San Diego (Velocity, Mr Paintball, camp pendleton, my old elementary)
Review: I came here last weekend with my friend and was aamazed at how good this park was. I was expecting this place to be king of cheap , but wasn't.

They let you bring your own equipment and paint for only 15 bucks all day. Air is t (2 bucks for 9 0z., 4 for a 20oz., and a dollar for every psi). 5 bucks to rent a spyder with mask, jacket, free air fill.

The fields their were awesome. They have a few themed fields like Kuwait, Colombia, this little Village, and a huge main course i guess was closed because of the damage of the recent rainage). They have one airball course which was alway being used by teams practicing there. there is a lot of competition down there, there were few teams practicing on the airball course. There's also 3 other speedball courses which were very well made. Bathrooms were clean, and there's a snackbar which is cool. The on;y bad part was the way overpriced paint. I forgot how much, but it was like 60 or 80 bucks for a case of dented and dimpled shrapnel, but who cares, i always bring my own paint.

Very friendly environment. they assigned a ref to your group and follow you around and get you into any game. We'd just got done plaiyng with some group we never asked to play with, and then just started another game about 5 minutes later on the other side of the park. My favorite part about Baja is that safety isn't enforced so bad. Chrono wasn't enforced but here was a station to check yuorself, I did. I guess that's not a googd thing, but sometimes the States can be a pain in the ass. The park is conbtrolled though, don't think things aren't in order just because it's in mexico. If you play speedball, this is your park. Even in the themed "kuwait " you find yourself in speedball situations. There was only one field that benfited my flatline the most (Colombia), tall grass, more places to creep around. .
Defintely going back there, and if you live in SD, you should defintely check this place out.
10 out of 10
Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 5:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

moonguia Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields in Tecate, Mexico
Otay Mesa in San Diego
Review: Great, Great field, we are going back there again!
Just amazing all the fields that are available to play,
people are nice, and you get to play if you are not experienced
for a very cheap price.

I recommend is only 30 minutes away from San Diego.
Once you get there, they will assist you in giving you directions
about how to play the game,
how to use the guns, and how is paint ball played. The assign a referee to every game
and the ref's are really cool, they give you tips and pointers about how to win, and even help you strategize better before the game...
my guess is that this is only because we are newbies!
but anyways, I though it was really cool!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

radpin Sunday, May 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend warriors, mr. paintball, camp pendelton
Review: So we got here an hour early, driving from San Diego. First off, from downtown San Diego it only took 25 minutes to get there, so it's actualy the closest field to center city San Diego.

We show up, and there are dudes raking the shells and trash off the course. Everything is spotless. It even looks like they wash the paint off all the barricades at night or something, cause there's none of that pink/blue/yellow splatter everywhere.

The courses are phenominal, and here's a rough breakdown:

- Two hyper ball courses (stacked and layed down plastic ribbed tubes). Probably the best hyper ball courses I've ever seen.

- One "spools" course, which although spools normally is boring, this one is so big that it's pretty fun.

- Columbia, which is the super duper woods course. A lot of fun.

- Kuwait, which is this mad max style place, which is a ton of fun.

- Air ball, a lot of fun. I'm not even an airball kinda guy, but eventually it was a blast.

- This long , long, long, long "village" course, which is the only one we didn't get a chance to play, but we'll do it next time. We walked and checked it out, and it looks cool as hell.


But the real difference was the people. In addition to the staff being incredibly cordial and nice, the other players were very cool. There were a few clowns who were more concerned with being "pros" than having fun, but that crap happens everywhere. We were about to start a game 2 on 5, because the "team" of five didn't want to split up at all. But once some more people started showing up, we didn't really have to deal with it anymore.

The refs make $15 a day, and are mainly kids from TJ. If you get a ref to be with you the whole day (like me and my friend did), the dude will act as a translator, and get you into whatever games on whatever fields you want to. Plus they are awesome for paint checks and what not.

I didn't really notice anyone shooting hot, but chrono wasn't enforced. There was a station to check yourself, but I say maybe half of the walkons with gear used it. Also, keep your mask on, because people shoot all over the place. It might seem unsafe, but honestly the guys shooting are aware of you, and aren't shooting even remotely in your direction. It took some getting used to, but it's all fine.

The biggest thing I'd say to get used to, and is so much different than US fields, is that down there it's more laid back and chill, and you can just talk to some dudes about playing a course, and then just walk over there. It's not like in the states where the ref is some kind of authority figure, setting the timelines and picking the courses. The ref is in charge on the field, but you paid to play there, so they should (and at baja paintball are) EXTREMELY cool about hooking you up with whatever you want.

Again, the refs make $15 a day, and bust their ass. It's up to you to handle it whatever you want, but I slipped ours $20, and my friend did $10, because that kid was working for us the entire day. Shadowed us like crazy, responded to all our paint check requests, got us the fields and games we wanted, etc.

Go to baja paintball. Don't be stupid and be all scared about driving into Mexico with your stuff. It's only 15 minutes south of the border, on a busy street. One thing to note though, the last two-three minutes getting to (and then back from) the field requires you to go over this GNARLY dirt road, so don't drive so fast.

And here are the directions, from one of the owners, on how to get down there (from the 5 south border crossing):


Hello, our field is located in the old road to Rosarito, NOT the toll road, so going into Tijuana you will go straight following the sign that says ZONA RIO, you will stop with a round about that looks like big scissors with a Mc Donalds to the right, but you will keep on going straight, before getting to the second round about you will see a big building to the right that is all black glass, after that you will see a sign that says Rosarito / Ensanada (this sign changed a bit, but you'll see a blatent highway sign after the big black building, which you can see from a mile away. Once you make the right, a block ahead will show that you're on the way to rosarito) and you go to the right, you will drive thru the city without taking any more turns, you go all straight for about 10-15 minutes, you will be exiting the city and pass under a couple of big bridges going towards rosarito, after passing a military base on your right you will pretty soon see a big blue water tube standing vertically straight that says Rosarito booster system 2, after that you will se a sign that says Baja Paintball and you take a right there, you will take that exit, go straight, and after a dip you will see another sign that says baja paintball and you take another right on the dirt road, go on that dirt road for 5 minutes and you will find our field. thanks, Karlo



This field of course gets a 10.

Cost = excellent ($15)
Service = excellent (get your own ref!)
Location = excellent (close to san diego)
Safety = excellent (even though it's not the "USA" way to do things, it works)
Rental stuff = excellent (they rent autocockers!)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

CanadianSamurai Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Who cares..This is the best one
Review: This the best field ever. Any self respecting human being should go here at least once. For the minimal entry fee you get to use your own paint, guns, gear, and you're given a ref. You can use any of the 13 fields. The customer service is unmatched and they have real food. They have every type of field imaginable from speedball to scenario to a Mad Max style city style arena. Theres everything here. It's a bit of a drive, but it's worth it, trust me you'll be impressed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

luisodude Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity ( Okay but not better)
Pirates Grove ( umm does it even exist anymore?)
Review: This field is awsome it has 3 tournament fields. . The refs here are awsome too. When I went with my friends ( who go just about every week) A ref followed us wherever and refed only our games !!! if anyone is wondering whether they should go or not they definatley should it is awesome if i could choose more than 10 on the fiel rating i would
Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 9:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media