paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field

Scary Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 434 Scary Creek Road
Scott Depot, West Virginia 25560
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
RogueWatchmen Saturday, April 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most fields are over an hour away from this field. The one field that was close by closed.
Directions
to the Field:
Exit I-64 exit, right at bottom, turn up Scary Creek Rd Approx 200 yards from the exit and follow the signs. It is out in the country.
Review: First off I' 30 Y/O and I've not been to the field since I gave up paintball about 8 years ago. Paintball is making traction finally in the area, so a few of us decided to get back into it. Overall the experience was pleasantly exhausting for our party of three adults. While the field has some stringent rules about bringing bags and other seemingly asinine things like returning to your car after entering people need to realize the reasoning. Reading many of the post here it seems this is a sticking point especially among the more seasoned players, and yes it is inconvenient. On a side note food and coolers for drinks are allowed, they will check to make sure you’re not A) bringing in your own paint, and B) will take a peek to make sure no one tried to take field equipment out. Nothing intrusive just a glance usually.

First off several issues have arisen over the years not included to a firearm being brought onto the property, and alcohol being in the player area. As any experienced player and an adult can tell you neither of these things mix well. A firearm has no need to be on a field (Even though I utilize the 2nd amendment to great effect, common sense people) as it can bring nothing good from it. For the drinking, I mean if U really need an explanation let just say drunken people make poor decisions like deciding to light up someone in the safe area or take of their mask mid game because it’s not needed? Need I say more?

This field is run by a family, when I was there they had 4 people working, 3 at the counter/register, and 1 in the "referee" station. The staff I found was ready to help and very friendly. Jack who owns and refs was a bit flat, but doing the same thing 7 days a week nearly yearlong can do that to you over the years though. Oddly enough for having some strict rules in place they really are just a good bunch of people and it shows I think. What can I say, sometimes people ruin it for everyone else.

Ok, pricing I had me and the girlfriend I was paying for with our own equipment, I spent roughly $60 up front which was $11 per person for field fee, and 1000 rounds of the better paint, I went back later and gout another bag for $16. Can you buy it cheaper in a store like Durham's or Dicks? Sure, but fields make their money off things like selling paint, covering staffing, utilities, taxes, and I imagine liability insurance on a field is about as expensive as the malpractice insurance on a surgeon who consistently amputates the wrong leg...... So yes while it may seem expensive you can return for free within 2 weeks and have no field fee and each time you visit you have an addition 2 weeks to not pay again, if you go weekly you could not pay but one fee for your summer. CO2 is reasonable, it’s slightly cheaper than Dicks in Charleston, and unlike Dicks when I asked them if my new tank was leaking they said yes. Dicks said there wasn’t a problem. Was a slow leak, but still if someone asks do your job.

Prices from memory, but all this is listed on their site.

Paint: $15-$19 based on their 5 levels of paint quality
Field Fee: $11 w/ equipment, or $21 for the Tippmann 98 or $26 for a Piranha w/ electronic hopper?
Food and drinks: We brought ours, but they seemed to be around what you would expect to pay at your local gas station, possibly cheaper.

Experience varied on the field, allot had their own equipment, and the age range was varied, allot of High school/Collage age kids as one can imagine, but more importantly everyone just mingled as if they had all played before which made the experience much better considering the # of people that was there. There was a group that showed up later in the day with about 10 people that had little or no experience so Jack was good enough to let them play a game or 2 away from the more experienced people to get a feel. They did 2 short matches of about 10 min when we had a break so we alternated games for about 40 min but it wasn’t a noticeable rotation since between games is a small break. It was good because anyone with a group of inexperienced players can get some field time to get at least little more familiar with the game. They were probably 9th grade age which hopefully will foster a few new avid players.

Sales of equipment is minimal I imagine since they carry a small selection of markers and acc. Again small staff and field so I'd be willing to say there isn’t allot of call for sales.

Overall I'd say this is a good field, it's ran differently than I imagine people expect when they first get there, but if you understand the reasoning it doesn’t seem so bad. If you’re looking for a field for your first time or just something different I suggest giving it a try. More importantly than anything else I found the atmosphere to be very appealing, I apologize for the long winded review, but with the fatigue and need to be thorough I did the best to be accurate.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkcyd Sunday, May 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 16th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the first commercial field here
Directions
to the Field:
In the middle of stinking nowhere but near St. Albans is the best I can do from memory
Review: Okay, I'll try to list some positives.

The younger staff was nice
The players were very nice mixed group of 70% woodsballers, 20% first timers and 10% kid speedballers.

The bad:
The biggest problem with this place is management and I am pretty sure that is reflective by most posts here. The games are run in rapid rotation all on the woodsball/urban field. The guy who owns the place runs this and has run it a long time. He takes no suggestions, advice or input. If you come to play paintball, you play his scenario, his games, when he wants as he says. I was okay with that until we played some game where we had to go find players and I had to climb the side of a 50% grade hill through very high grass after it had rained. I fell 20 times getting to the top and at some point, paintball became not fun.

In retrospec, it is a good field for woodsballers who maybe have their own A5. If you like airball, they have it a decent field(no snake?) but you simply can't play it as the old guy would loose the authority to control everything. Yes, there are silly rules like no bags that seem to irk every player who has played the game. So, new woodsballers, have fun, everybody else....I'd suggest playing voodoo for speedball or maybe make the drive to a more established field. Its worth it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomandjenb Monday, May 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields in this state
Review: OK. I moved here in the middle of 2008 as the new youth pastor at a church in Charleston.
The teens LOVE paintball, as do I, so we planned a trip to what seems to be the only field around. What I found on this trip shocked me!!!

I have been playing paintball for 3 years now.....mostly in VA. I would not say that I am an expert, but have been to enough fields to know what to expect.
When you drive up to the fields, it looks ragged and rough. When I got out of the van I noticed a rules sign that said you can't bring any bags inside, you have to carry all your stuff in your hands!!! WHAT??? If your an avid paintballer like me, you have a huge bag with tons of stuff in it, from tool kits, to lube.
I was upset at first, but, thought..."ok, if I need something, I'll just come back out and get it"....WRONG!!!! Once you enter the "trailer", you can't go back out to your vehicle unless you are leaving.
Already I'm ready to go and call it a day. But since this was a teen activity I didn't.
Then they did the dirtiest thing I have ever seen a filed do. They sat our group down in a little meeting room to give us the rules. (they had a lot of rules, some of which I had never heard before, however this didn't bother me since I was their with a group of teens that I was responsible for. Had I been their by myself I would have hated the plethora of rules they have.) As we get done with the rules briefing, she pulls out this tippman 98 rental gun that has to be one of the first ones made, it's been painted, but the paint is worn off....it looks like it doesn't even work! She informs the teens that this is the basic rental gun. THEN, she pulls out this brand new (no joke) red automatic electronic gun (to me it was still a piece of junk. I think it was a piranha or something) and tells the teens that for a little more money you can rent one of these. Tell me what teen in there right mind would want the gun that thier dad would have used, or the shinny new one. The reason this bothers me is because the teens come with a certain amount of money. They came thinking that the basic gun would be fine....but when you look at it, it has no appeal whatsoever (I truly believe this is done on purpose, because the actual basic rental is not near as bad as the one on display in the briefing room). I go out of the briefing room to pay and I can't believe that stuff they make you pay for and the prices to go with it!!! They do not offer all day air....you have to pay per fill up which is super expensive, and they only had 3000psi for compressed air.
Under no circumstance can you bring in your own paint....which is understandable, however the price for thier paint is not!! way overpriced for cheep paint.

Youth pastors beware......This is THE most expensive field I have ever been to, or heard of! If you plan to take your teens, make sure they bring at least $80 a person to truly enjoy a day a paintball.

Now to the fields......

They had two fields open that day. The large field with houses on it, which was unique, and the "speedball" field. However I find it hard to call this field a speedball field since it is first of all huge....you can't even come close to reaching the other players on the break, and secondly it is on a slope, so the top team always has the advantage going downhill.
The larger field had lots of options. Thier were lots of people thier that day, and our kids wanted to play with just our group, so they did let just our group play on the speedball field several times which I appreciated.

All in all....I don't believe I will take a group back, nor will I ever darken the door of scp unless they lower prices. Instead, we have decided to buy our own equipment (it will save us money about the third time we play compared to scp) and play on our large church property. (If you decide to do this, please check with your churches insurance provider for important info.)

If someone would actually open a decent filed anywhere in charleston....scary creek would be forced to lower prices, or shut down. I know that this is a family buisness, and would never wish that they would have to shut down....just lower prices so people can afford to play!!
I hardly ever post reviews on the fields I go to....But people need to know, if you go to scary creek....your going to pay 50% more than you would at most fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBGrumpy Friday, September 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in WV
Review: SCARY CREEK PAINTBALL

Having the privilege of being a world traveler, I am able to see and play at all sorts of fields around the world. After experiencing Scary Creek, only one word comes to mind to describe this field: ANAL! (Before I go any further, I would like to apologize for this review to anyone who finds it offensive in anyway. I would just like to remind you that this is my own personal opinion and you might have another outlook in a different light and please, I am making my best attempts at professionalism, I only ask that you reply in-kind).
The good at that field were: The other players, the “free” locker rentals (lord knows they charge for everything else) and the way they turned the games, (strict time control during the games and the breaks).

I can only assume that the owners have opened the field for a business first basis and perhaps for the love of the game second. ANYONE in the business knows that trying to make a “real” profit from a paintball field is folly; therefore the pricing of the field and FPO paint makes it only naturally higher than other fields in the US of A for its size.

As for their local rules and policies, being an inquisitive person, I did ask the “WHY” question on a few of their policies and found their reasoning is that they should only cater to 10 to 13 yr old players (this is not saying that 99% of their participants have that age frame mentality in-which). Some of the most memorable rules:
1. Do not remove the tank off the marker (even if it is your own). REASON: The regulator might be unscrewed off the tank instead of the entire tank and regulator being removed from the marker.
2. Don’t remove the barrel to swab it on the field (glad I didn’t have any chops).
3. Don’t work on your marker anywhere other than the shop counter (I guess, they want to witness you breaking your own marker).
4. Hand carry all equipment into the shop/field. No bags allowed. Reason: (WV being a Concealed Carry state and one bonehead carried a pistol onto the field). Therefore customers could bring in weapons to the field house.
5. Once in the field house area, you are not allowed to return to your vehicle unless you’re leaving for the day. REASON: You might be going out to your car and drink alcoholic beverages.

Some of the other memorable experience was listening to the Ref council my son for ripping some paint on the practice stand. There were some noobs there and they made the statement of “oh he is shooting too fast for me, I don’t want to play with him”. The Ref informed my son that he would not be able to play with them because he scared them! (Turns out during the day they were in fact burning more paint faster than my son did).

The time there and with the lack of players, I only played on their village field. The games I did the majority was basic total elimination (vis-à-vis Search and Destroy a couple of times) and one Control the Tower/King of the Hill game. I will say there was little less type of plays that could have been played that day due to lack of customers.

The most remember-able and amusing occurrence was when the Ref was making up teams (each and every game play). One person switched sides during the break and on the head count for the next game he asked who switched sides? When no one fessed up, he declared his position as a major deity, whose word is law and when he says to do something you do it or leave the field! Not wanting to ruin the fun (if any) for my son, I decided not leave the field in my oh so unique way (Refer to: Bar Fighting 101/THE SUCKER PUNCH).

Another cheap shot at that persons Ref skills, he didn’t even leave his box to witness and or “referee” any of the games play. All in all, this person was nothing more than a glorified time keeper. The way they impress their local rules, one would think that there would be a couple of Refs out on the field to monitor the game? No such luck on this field. Fortunately the guy on the opposing team and I had the humor enough in us to shoot each other within their 20’ no shooting rule. That is what the other guy told me, no shooting each other within 20’ (please someone correct me if I am wrong on this). Also suggestion for Mr. Timekeeper, instead of making an unprofessional idiot of yourself (again my PERSONAL impression of you after your out-burst/temper tantrum), just choose someone to switch sides and be done with it!
Last but not least, is the rental masks; the double Velcro replacing the normal elastic strap on the mask has to be the tops in ANAL I have ever seen. I understand the owners want to keep people safe, however, there is going overboard. The Velcro was actually more of an hindrance than help.
Another suggestion, announce which field is going into play when you call for players. Big confusion as to which one of the two fields to go to.

One last cheap shot I have to make: It’s called a barrel CONDOM!

Out of all the fields I have played and visited, this one certainly does rate the lowest on the scale and I certainly will NOT be going back to that field again under current ownership.

Last edited on Friday, September 12th, 2008 at 10:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

jebocis Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at fields throughout the tri-state. I've played in Nashville all the way to Canton, Ohio. There aren't many to fields in the southern West Virginia are, which is unfortunate.
Review: I've played at "grand" Scary Creek a few times (for reasons to be enclosed). The field is in your typical red neck hollar (no offense), but pretty easy to find. In the area the field is located, it is based for the more woodsball crowd. There are a couple fields, an Urban field, and an "in-progress" speedball field (kind of a joke). The Urban field, is a pretty good time. There is a building, a couple trailers, a bus, and many good obstacles that will tickle your fancy. The speedball field is 2x4's with sheets wrapped around them for doritos, unless they've made some changes since my last visit, which has been awhile.

Everyone knows that paintball is an expensive sport. Scary Creek makes paintball a rediculously expensive sport. It kind of makes me sick to be honest. The paint is decent quality, but more expensive than some of the highest quality paint there is out there. I bought some Empire paint that was freaking $75 bucks a case. They fill your co2 by the fill, which is a rip off, sense it is a very cheap gas and I understand making a profit, but they've been in business for some time. They also fill HP tanks, but only to 3000, which is still HP, but with the prices they have, they should get a booster or sell their compressor and get a 4500 one.

Some plus sides. The people that run the field are nice, especially the lady. It is also family run, which is nice to see. They are tight on rules and safety which is great, because it keeps people safe.

I love the sport, but to be honest I would love to see some competition in the southern West Virginia area. The sport is growing and this place has a monopoly on it in the area right now. Their prices are too high, and it could be upgraded with the loyal players they have. I know some guys that love it, but I know a lot more that don't. You pick which side you're on.

To be honest. If there was a good venue that put some competitoin on Scary Creek I believe it would be gone in a hurry.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa1000 Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Scary Creek Paintball is great! They have 3 fields. A woodsball that is huge, and 2 speedball fields. The people are very nice to. Their woodsball field is by far the best field they have. They have about 3 houses, sniper tower, big hill, creek, buses, and a maze. They also have some great games. This field is good for new and older paintball players. They have a little store inside and very good prices on everything.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrjpball Friday, February 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: The first time i went there i was amazed. I had tons of fun and i still do. I always take about 60 bucks so i can buy a drink and always have a little more money than needed. Its kind of expensive but its a great field for people who don't have a gun or are just starting at the game. I love playing in the tournaments they have on Sundays. You can win money just for playing a game that you love. The best type of gun to use there is probably a tippmann so you can snipe people which is fun. Fast guns are also fun if you are a runner and like to capture the flag or capture the tower. I really like the people that play their and work their because they are very nice people. The best time I think to is on Saturdays around noon because their are a lot of people coming around that time. If u don't like a lot of people then come around 10:30 in the morning. What I like are the scenarios which happen once a month. They will have it posted on their sight under scenarios. Over all, this place is a great place to paintball and I really like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mrwaffles Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Our own personal fields.
Review: Now the first time I went to Scary Creek, I only brought $30. I thought well ok this should get me in and about 1500 paintballs or maybe only 1000 at the least. Well i wound up only being able to get a bag of paint becase of the prices. Now before you think im about to trash scary creek, Im not, because thats where there money comes from, but still, that is freakin expensive. Anyway, i have played on the urban field and I loved it from the first time i played on it. Its a good field for everything from Maze and House assault to Snipers and CTF. The speedball course on the other hand is a somewhat mediocre attempt to recreate some of the better fields in country, but once again, Im not saying that its a bad place. Scary creek is a family friendly place for a sport that all ages can play and I give it a 9 outta 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5man Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-County
Review: I have been going to Scary Creek ever since I was 10. Its not the best field but its good for all around play on the weekends. For starters the prices aren't that bad remeber they have to keep teh place running and pay the workers. The fields are decent the urban field is great in the summer when there is no mud, and the speedball field could use some work b/c its not really big enough for more than 3 v 3 max. Overall they are very safe and i can understand checking the bags and stuff. If someone stole ur gun while u were there they would get their stuff checked before they leave. And as for The time it takes to get in, it only takes 10 minutes if u know what you are doing. Just go early like 10am before every one gets there so u can play some warmups.

Overall-This is a great field for rec ball the staff is nice and they help u as much as they can and the prices are okay.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Beav Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at fields all across the country both recreationally and in tournaments
Review: I started playing at Scary Creek about 13 years ago and they have always been extremely helpful. I joined the Air Force about 4 1/2 years ago and hadnt been to the field since then, until earlier this month and I have to say that I was very impressed at how much it had changed. As always, the staff was extremely friendly and the prices were very compairable to the fields that I have played at all across the country. In response to everyones complaints about the time it takes to get in and the thorough searches of your personnel bags, I would have to tell you that it is a side effect of todays society. I mean now in days people are always looking for ways to sue someone or cheat (smuggle stuff in). As for the price of paint you have to realize that that is how paintball fields make their money. You might say what about the entry fees and rental cost but you dont think about the insurance, utilities and other aspects of keeping a field open such as that. In conclusion, I've always compaired the staff and field at scary creek to the different fields all across the country and have yet to find a better combination, period.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media