paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field

Splat Tag Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
58Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 651-488-7700
Location: Burkhardt, Wisconsin 54016
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
GeronimoBALLER Monday, March 21st, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 20th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hastings Paintball Club-a private course just across from Emerald Hills Golf Course. St. Croix Paintball-South out of Hudson. 'One-Timers' @ an assortment of both speedball courses and woodsball fields over the course of like 10+ years.
Directions
to the Field:
Check the field's site. They have very straight forward directions on how to get there from all directions.
Review: First, I want to cover the basics about this field. Go to Their site and read all the information they have posted in their own words. The site covers virtually everything about safety, hours of operation, directions, rules, and services. My review is not going to be based on any one of my opinions, but rather just straight facts that I have seen with my own eyes from playing at this field as a 'walk-on' for around 4 years now.
There have been vast improvements made to this field and many of there courses (including several new courses) over the 5+ years I have played here. They have those Big games every month and some HUGE games like a few times a year...which they have special information bannered all over their site at you. They have a D-Day course which is cool, but made for like "Ironman" games(totally one-sided...LIKE D-Day!!!) They have a course with a fort and downed plane on it. Another course with more forts on each side of a valley. Another course with an Urban setup. Another course with like a basic woodsball layout with a tower along a main road that runs through the middle of a course based on a gradual graded slope, canopied with thick woods and all sorts of barrels and other battlefield shelters and hides and barriers. I mean their course selection is by FAR the best around hands down. The Refing is good, on days when they have legit staff working, but somedays they have some questionable staff and the refs and staff are really bad, I.E.---Not enough staff on for the day's expectation for the amount of players that show up---Mis-managed game times where they state " A new game every 20-30 minutes", when it actually on 50-75% of the time runs more like one game every hour to an hour and a half. Granted, the amount of people that show up makes a difference, but this is even the case on days where you may only have 20 players in the morning and by noon only about 10 more show up. Even when their Manager/CEO is present, somedays they just don't get it together. The worst in this regards is on some days the staff just is NOT inviting to new players and only caters to veterans. Again, if people disagree with this, its not opinion its FACT. If you don't believe me, go there and make your own opinions. However, on days when they are staffed properly and their staff is under good direction, the refing and games are smooth and great. Those Huge games have been staffed proportionately like the review states below me in regards to refs being everywhere which is GOOD. The biggest problem with this place currently is the new FPO rip-off pricing that they have. Numerous concerns are circulating BIG-TIME about this amongst the avid woodsball players that have been coming out to this field for years and years. Even though I will try to stay non-biased on this subject I believe you will certainly get a feel of where I stand on this. They originally stated back in '09 prices would range 45-65 for 2000 balls based on anything Key-Action Sports offers for paint and at their grade-levels. Look around and you will see what I am talking about. Currently in 2011 I recieved a response from the CEO that its 15 dollars for entry fee and now a fixed 65 for 2000 balls with a dedicated response specifically non-addressing the brand of the ball except stating "Our Field Special Paint". I have despite what others say, been there and played with this moderate paint that shoots moderate/just above levels of poor. I shoot a brand NEW GUN (Tippman Phenom...Yeah Baby!!!) and have not been impressed with their "FP" at all.
In Conclusion, Splat Tag Inc. is great, but the recent years of FPO at the currently "Rip-off " prices has really got a community of woodsballers thinking about where they stand and how deep their pockets go. I know the field is a business and by all means needs to conduct that business to reach thier means, but I and a community of players do not agree with the fact of high priced balls when they are a $45 woodsball grade box of 2000 rounds. Fresh and taken care of or not, this place rips you off on paint. FINAL. An all day affair for the average shooter to have fun is roughly 2000 rounds for a 8-10 hour day (maybe as low as a 4-6 hour day for trigger-happy gents!)...at a price of $80 for a single day. THINK ABOUT IT. I really don't want to upset players, but my truth is shown in one simple gallop here....I am the first person to accurately review this place as non-biased as I could be in almost 2 years. And in absolute conclusion, the place is good, but the UNFAIR prices on paint really makes a person question the "New Business Direction" and "Field to Consumer Respect" when it blatently rips you off on paint. READ IT! REVIEW IT! RESPECT IT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintinaction Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
northside sports,the place at prokart indoors < crappy >, most hikely fields,splat ball inc
Review: even though alot of the reviews for this place are bad i realy love this place. i go there every year for the giant big game and it is always great. i didnt have a single problem with their paint. they had refs everywhere in the course which is saying somthing because it was a 200 acre playing field and i was everywhere there. never without a ref for me to yell "paintcheck" at. the game play on the premesis is tremendous. . . all in all dont listen to these losers flaming this place because only true woodsballers can HANDLE this place. . . most of the peeps putting this place down are xballers who play woodsball once a year and they suck at it. no offense of course i dont mean any trouble. in conclusion. even though this place is being put down alot i loved it and im sure u will also
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Podshot Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, Fredrick Paintball, Northside Sports, Combat Paintball, PGI paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Out past Burkhart, directions on the site.
Review: Ok, first I would like to say that Splattag is one of the best paintball fields I have ever played at. They were the first field that I ever played at, and was so pleased with how they were run that I decided to continue to play there. The refs are nice and will help you with broken guns.
FEES: The paint is not that expensive, around 50 a case normally. They also let you B.Y.O.P for only 10 dollars. The entrance fee is quite cheap, 15 dollars for the whole day and that includes all day air. They have rentals there, individual or a package. The package includes a 98 rental, Empire mask, and 3000psi air tank. You can upgrade to an A-5 or X-7 for more money. On busy days they also have pro carbines and PCS guns for rental. You can also pay extra for pod packs if you want to rent those.
9/10
STAFF: Above average staff, they know the game and fields, and how to run them both. I've seen many people have their own guns break down and the staff at splattag give them a free rental for the day.
10/10
FIELDS: Splattag has a huge variate of well kept fields. Many have complex bases and different areas of more "open" for speedballers and more brush for classic woodsballers. Splattag has a new d-day field where they run a d-day scenario of allies v.s axis. Splattag also added a new urban field. It's a small completely open city like field, where the bunkers are like buildings. It's very fun to play on.
8/10
EVENTS: Splattag runs some of the best big scenario games I have ever been to. Organized, fun, and always a good turnout.
9/10
I could go on and on about how fun Splattag is but the best way to find out is just to go and play! I give Splattag a 9/10 because in my opinion nothing is perfect but Splattag comes pretty goddamn close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2wreckless Tuesday, July 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, Bubba's, First Strike.
Review: Despite all the bad reviews about this field, a friend and I choose to give it a shot anyway since it was one of the few fields open on July 5th.

REFS.
Splat Tag is a big field and the prices are close to others in the area. There were about 50 people there that day and of the 3 refs present, 2 were playing. Yeah.... 1 ref for 50 people. They refused to start other games. There was a half hour wait in between each game. One game they put 30 people of all ages and experience levels on a 5 man speedball course all at once. (unintelligent in so many ways)

I talked to a few members of the field who openly admitted to half assing because the owner wasn't there that day. We even filled our own tanks... which was a first... Im sure the fields insurance company would allow that....


PAINT
Their paint was stored in a steel shed... in the hot sun... which = very hard paint. It was very easy to overshoot someone on behalf of all the bounces. The fields are uneven and the woods ball fields have really thick brush.


We were there for a total of 3 hours and decided to leave... luckily I was able to get a refund on 3/4s of a case... it didn't pay to keep it, for I wouldn't dare take it to another field and shoot it...it was that bad. The only thing that kind of paint is good for is shooting chipmunks in the backyard.

FINAL VERDICT
You are better off playing in your backyard.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

SirHart Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hinkley, MN - Hinkley had a better selection of fields and more organized
Review: I have played paintball for 4 years now and Splat Tag was a new experience for me. I went to the first Jungle Rumble game of the year that they hold every month on the last sunday of the month. There were about 100 people there.

The Field: The fields they had there for woodsball were below par in my opinion. The brush was thick and impossible to shoot through in most places, and this was before the trees had leaves, I can't imagine how they play when the leaves are on the trees. They did have paths but it didn't help much. The sides were usually uneven which made it suck for Capture the Flag. The speedball field or "town" which consisted of a bunch of bunkers and plastic black pipes was a great playing area for Attack and defensd and this was by far their best field.

The Prices: Paint was alright for price, cheap brand $55 a case I think, there was a $10 fee for bringing your own paint. The cost for the day was $35 If I remember right.

The Refs: Good and Bad, the refs were very good during the games to pay attention and control the game, BUT they didn't know much about the game when asked! Our team asked if we had to bring the flag back for Capture the flag to win and he told us the wrong thing, half our team last the game early cause they said no more re-insertion and then changed it.

The Game types: Pretty fun, attack and defend stuff, good missions and re-insertion and a lot of fun despite the fields and confusion. I hated the last game of the day of Terminator, peope got too close and got shot up pretty bad, basically no control over it. I won't play that again.

The overall experience: It was bpar in my opinion, there was good and bad but I don't think I'll ever go again due to the field. I give it a 5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinautique Monday, September 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Northside, Just Paintball in Minnesota. Sherwood Forest, Indiana. CPX Illinois
Review: This field is the best operated field I have played at. The owner is very concerned about the safety of the players and goes to great lengths to insure everyone has a good time. Splat Tag has many fields to play on and they can be combined to make a field that is huge. Their Giant Big Games can get 100s of players. The Refs do a good job and are also safety concerned. The only negative comment I can make is the road getting to the field is fairly rough.
I give this field a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fanky Thursday, August 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only other field I have played at is First Strike in Chippewa for a night game. Splat Tag is a bigger field, and I like playing there better.
Directions
to the Field:
If you're coming the Wisconsin way (I-94 West), get off at exit 4 (HWY 12 North). Take a right at the end of the ramp and follow 12 until it turns into HWY A. You'll go on that for a few miles then turn right onto Highway E then one more right turn at the driveway.
Review: Overall, Splat Tag is a great place to play. I've been going to the Monthly Jungle Rumbles and attended both Giant Games this summer. The owner, Darrin, is a great guy that makes sure you have a good time. I'll break up my review into a few key points.

Travel: The field is really easy to get to once you get off I-94. There's a State Park not even 5 minutes away as well that usually has sites open if you need to stay overnight at a good price ($15 a night and $7 for parking unless you have a pass). The driveway can be pretty rough in a few spots, but just drive slow and you'll be fine.

Cost: The entry fee of $25 for the monthly Jungle Rumbles isn't bad considering what you get. A full day of play with at least a hundred people or more usually, Free air/CO2 fills, and a ticket in the raffle which usually has some goodies and a Tippmann X7. The field paint is only $50 or so a case, and BYOP is $10.

Field Layout: The whole field is about 20 acres, but not all of it is used at once. There are plenty of hills, bases, and towers to make games interesting and challenging. My only complaint is that the woods are really thick, but that adds a new dimension to the game and gets you in closer to the other team.

Refs: For the most part, I like the refs at Splat Tag. They're great guys/gals that will help you fix your gun and answer any question. They really enforce masks on and barrel plugs, which is a good thing.

I can't really think of much else to say. It's a great field, that's why I keep coming back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NickBizzar Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Paintball
Review: Well, Let me just start off by saying that Splat Tag is good if you're a beginner. They treat you very well there and saftey is their #1 priority. This field to me isn't as appealing for the people who have been playing for a while. But if you're new, this is a great place to start out at.

Prices-Pretty expensive compared to combat paintball. 25 for big game plus 10 for B.Y.O.P. Free CO2/Compressed Air, which is nice.

Rules- Like any other place they have good rules and they keep safety in mind at the same time so that they have fair rules and it still is safe and fun to play.

Fields- Awesome. These fields are neatley set-up with plenty amount of cover, but sometimes it gets unorganized and the fields get all mixed up and 30 min out on the field is wasted just because the refs don't know where the insertion point (s) will be and where the limits to the field are.

Refs- Fine. One guy thinks the S*** though. You'll probably know who he is once you go there a couple of times.

People that go there in general-A lot are really nice and will help anyone who is new and needs help. You do get the occasional idiots, but that's not Splat Tags fault.

Food- It's food.

Overall-Good if you are new to the sport and just want to go to a place. But once you get more into it, combat is better. When you see Splat Tag guys and the owner going to combat, that kinda tells you something. But it is a nice field and recomended to the new player and if you just want to try it out for a party and have never played paintball before.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

N3M3515 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played several fields around the metro area, but I usually play at a private site that we have built ourselves.
Review: I have been playing paint ball for about 5 years, splat tag was one of the worst experiences I have had in my 5 + years playing and here are the reasons why.

1.) The fields - All of the fields that we played were either one sided or were just not laid out very proportionally. Advantage to one team works for some games, king of the hill, and fort. But when you are playing team elem or flag over and over you do not want one team to have the advantage. All of the courses we played were very hilly and it seemed like one team always had the advantage. Also the thicket was terrible, the underbrush was absolutely horrible. There was the main trails and then there was woods it seemed like very little in between. None of the underbrush had been cleared out so even in spring with very little foliage you couldn't get any long shots off. Another thing is the total lack of cover, splat tag has a very small amount of cover on field other than downed trees, logs etc.

2.) The Ref - Okay this was one of my BIGGEST pet peeves about splat tag. If you pay approximately 50 bucks you should get a good ref, one at minimum 2 should be standard for a 25+ group. Other fields I have played at I had 2 refs for about the same size group. We were given one ref, and the kid was 13 years old. Only one ref for 30 people is sparse but can be managed if the ref is decent. This ref was beyond green, I could have put my 8 year daughter out there and had more accomplished.

We have all had that jerk on the field that thinks hes special and doesn't call out when you shoot him, talks to players on field after being shot to give away your position, and stays on the field after calling out. Now imagine the worst player you have had to deal with, I played with that guy today. His kid came down after being shot and calling out gave up our locations to his dad, as my friend was shooting at him(the dad that wasn't out yet) the ref told my friend to stop shooting because he was out. My friend stopped shooting but jerk off didn't, then I shot this guy totally by surprise and hit him, and he turned to me and shot me after the fact and the ref called us both out. Also while we were playing we got booted off the field we were playing mid game because they needed it for a big game that they were doing, mind you this was mid game it wasn't at the end of the game.

3.) Management - Being a cog in the corporate machine I understand good management can be a very difficult thing to come by. But this was down right shameful, the complete lack of organization was apparent. Not only was our ref unqualified (13 year old kid that probably hasn't shot a paint ball gun let alone ref'd a day of paint ball in his life) but the ref didn't seem to know what was going on what so ever as he wasn't even granted a walky talky to communicate with "Base" or a Horn to start / stop games. You can' t really blame the kid for being unqualified and not having the right tools to do his job you really have to look at the management. They are truly the ones responsible for this abomination in paintball named splat tag.

So in summary, if you are thinking about going to Splat Tag I would highly advise against it. There are many other courses in the metro area that will give you a far greater bang for your buck. The only way I would ever go back to Splat Tag to play was if it was free.

If any of you would like to further converse about my experience at Splat Tag feel free to email me at acidflash07@hotmail.com.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

CHAOSFTW Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This has been the only field i have ever played at more than once.
Directions
to the Field:
well you can go to there site, and find them its very, very easy to find.
Review: Splat tag is a very good place to play your first time or however long you have played. they tell you everything you need to know, and will answer any questions you have. there prices of entry,paint and rental are phenomenal. the owners are fun and are very uptight on safety and having a lot of fun. Splat tag has many fields, ranging from small to enormous pending on what is going on or the population of the group. the games them selves are switched up a lot so you have the max amount of fun, such as capture the flag (middle flag, or where its on both sides), or elimination,terminator, torso shots only things like that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media