paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field

Splat Tag Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
58Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 651-488-7700
Location: Burkhardt, Wisconsin 54016
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
the_real_kaz Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Paintball
Review: I entered a speedball tournament here and didn't have the best experience.

First off I'll say the feild was horrible. It was dirt not grass and was being dug out of the side of a hill. It was really uneven and there snake bunkers where almost flat and they left them that way. making it impossible to use the snake ( which I was looking forward to!!)

The refing was terrible. Like the person before me said, a ref would "ok" you gun before the game and then mid-game another ref would pull you and give you a penilty. So then we would have the refs cheak the gun again before the next game and they said it was ok, but after they took it and shot a bunch of our paint to cheak it agian for modes! (This was a gun with a tournament lock on it so it's not like it changed mid game!) The ref's where also poor in general. They would allow guys to get hit on run throughs and continue on with no penalty even after one of the ref's said he seen him take the hit (in the mask) before his run through.

The paintballs where overpriced. We were getting Rampage, which is cheap rec ball paint for $55 bucks a case.

The food was good though. Burgers and dogs. Not bad at all.

There woods course's are what they are good at. There speedball one is horrible this feild is for woods a senierio which was the funnest part of the "speedball" day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only Wisconsin field I've been to, in MN I have been to Air Assault, Northside Sports, SYO (closed), FSL (closed), Splatball, and Special Forces. Outside of the area, I've been to Sherwood Forest and Oklahoma D-Day.
Directions
to the Field:
Found on their website. It's really easy to find.
Review: Disclaimer: No, I am not an employee. I'm just a very loyal customer, and rightfully so after the years of quality paintball at this field.


Part 1. The Field

For woodsball, this is the place to go if you're in the Twin Cities (or at a similar distance on the Wisconsin side). The owner, Darrin, understands paintball (he's been involved in paintball since 1986) and runs a professional field, and he's always looking for feedback to help make the place better.

The field has mixed terrain of several types, from more open fields with less cover to heavy, dense trees making for excellent soft cover / ambushing for those who are into that. For those who are not, there are trails throughout the fields that allow for quick travel from point a to point b. These trails have bunkers and forts along them, so there is cover if you want to move fast. Lastly, there is the "tower" field, which is a rec style speedball field.

Special Forces doesn't open every weekened, but Splat Tag is always open, all the time. That saves the player from doubting if they are open or not before driving.

The price is reasonable, the field is great. I have no complaints here. It might be interesting to see some new forts, but those cost more and I don't consider that a bad thing to not put in more. The field has a sufficient amount; the idea would just be for some more diversity.

Part 2. The Scenario

If you want a scenario, this is also the place to go with the Hunt for the Cure or the Giant Big Game.

During the Giant Big Game, this field is great. Good terrain, maps provided, etc. The scenario is usually about controlling certain key objectives for points, with a few special missions thrown into the mix. For the Giant Big Games, there usually are two tanks out on the field as well, adding to the gameplay experience.

If the "big game" format is more your thing than the scenario, be sure to drop by on the last Sunday of every month, because that's when there's a big game. Each month it has a different theme, and is always a lot of fun.

Part 3. Safety

Splat Tag is big about safety. The usual chrono speed is 280 FPS, and they have random checks during the day. A player cannot make it past a few feet with his barrel cover off before someone says something because both field staff and the regulars work together to keep an eye on everything. Mask safety is also quickly enforced.

Part 4. The Players

Splat Tag, like any field, has a mixed population of players that frequent it. Most are good natured and just want to have a good time. I have had trouble with certain players in the past, but as they are not Splat Tag employees, Splat Tag is not at fault. Every field has them, you just shoot them again if they don't go out the first time.

Besides the good natured regulars and the small group of troublemakers, Splat Tag often has newer players showing up. These guys are the future of paintball, and it's good to see they're being taught paintball at Splat Tag, where safety and fair, honest play are prized.


EDIT: To add an update to this, Splat Tag is planning on adding some new fields and structures. The best in the area gets better! You know the Sentinels will be back for another great season.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 4th, 2009 at 8:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
94 east into wisconsin unto You hit Hudson exit 4 take a left and then follow the signs.
Review: This is a nice field espescially during the Giant big Game but the refs are very hard to deal with. Yes they will call you out when you dont get hit but when i go there, they're are so many players that they really cant tell. During one game me and six guys were pinned down in a base surronded by about 30-40 enemy troops. When this happened 3 refs walked in and started eating hotdogs. My friend shot the hot dog out of a refs hand and told him to go away. they called all of us out. Other than this one mishap it has been a good field. The only thing i wish they would do is fix the road going down to the field, fix the holes and re-smooth it, very bunmpy and hard on the cars suspension.
Last edited on Friday, May 19th, 2006 at 7:54 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The end of the month wars are fun with around 100 people that are all pretty cool. The free food is a plus. They have really goo woods coarses that were fun to play. I do agree though that the regular open plays are run kinda sloppy, I arrived at the time they said they would start playing and i was the only one there, i even beat some of the employees.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

stillwatrballer Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
St. Croix paintball (worth the extra 15 minutes extra drive from minnesota.)
Review: Well what can I say about Splat Tag.... Oh yeah....IT SUCKS! They have the worst refs i have ever seen in my life! The refs call you out on anything and barely even watch the game! Later one in the day, the ref joined in the game and started playing! Also they do a terrible job at making the teams even. It was me and some older guy with a bunch of little kids with rental guns and they were all under the age of 13, againest these 16-30 year old speedballers! it was just terrible. The place was terrible with concessions and their was trash all over the parking lot. The refs talk down to you all the time and are not helpful at all. They also are terrible at fills. they filled my 20oz C02 by ear instead of weight, and i had to get a refill every other game. All in all this place is bad, if you want some fun go the extra miles to St.croix paintball field you will have far more fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

yamaha cow Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Me and my team the madamericancows have played there for 1 but the team has played there for 2 and are sister team is wildbunch splat tag is so cool i have 1 box of paint my friend one an A5 Daren the owner is awsome me and my friend played him once it was so fun i shot him he was so supprised after a while of playing there u get to know everybodys names and all the hiding spots sniper spots they just need to get better food hot dogs and burgers that are burnt but they dont have the best equipment to cook on so? but other whies i give it a 15/10 all the refs r funny and u can have a smart coversation a bout a gun or item and its just cool i had a 1 1/2 hour conversation about my gun with a ref
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Shane923 Tuesday, December 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
MN Pro paintball
Review: When I was there I came with my Youth Group with about 22 kids. My first impression was that the guns were tippmann pro/carbines so I guessed they were old. When I got my gun it chopped balls right a way! The brand they use for paint isn't the best. Mine were curving after like about 20ft.
The best field there was Giant big field. But once my friend and I were hiding in the sweet spot between two paths and we could shoot with out anyone getting us (great sniper position) We seriously got about 5 guys out of 8 walking on one of the paths (they said we hadn't hit them but I think they wiped). The coolest was the fortress but it kind of stressed me thinking about getting shot from the back at any time. Only a few guys had played before (like me) so there wasn't a lot of good play (our fault).
There were ok refs. When there was only my friend and I left (playing elimination) our ref said there was two of us left!
I only got to use 3 fields so I don't know how good any other fields are. I would give it a 8.5 for the equipment they use but it is good for the price.
Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 2:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Shyunobi Friday, October 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 6th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FSL, Adventure Zone, SYO, Splat Ball
Review: This field is ok, they have the most reasonable prices in the twin cities area. Their website says it takes only 25mins to get to their field in hudson, its more like 40mins (unless you drive super fast) from the twin cities.

$15 for green fee includes all you can eat air and $10 byop fee, you can't beat that. Their field paint is also reasonable at $65, but I just bring my own. The rec fields are comparable to splatball inc's, so you can say its cheaper to play at splattag - but yeah they don't run the operation very well.

I've been there two seperate times, so what I saw was consistant both times. First of all there are LITERALLY NO REFS AT THE OPEN GAMES. I am serious when I say this. The time I was playing the person who owned the field played with us - YES HE PLAYED WITH US. He was on the clock reffing, and playing with us at the same time. How can an on the clock ref be playing - can anyone say 'team bias???'... How can a ref play with people? Thats stupid. Not to mention he knows everything about the field so its obvious he's going to school everyone. So basically all the newbs got a but kicking. They let people who work at the field to play at open games, I think that is the most unprofessional thing I saw. I'm from California, I have never seen a field let their own workers nor owners play with people. People don't pay money to get wooped. Not to mention people were wiping all the time, because it was basically 'honor' system. For real, it was like we were playing paintball at my friends cabin.

I give this field a 6 out of 10, yes it is a good value so if you want to save some money it would be a good idea to go there - not to mention the big games are kinda cool. But again, it is sort of pointless to play paintball without any refs - or to have refs who are basically not doing their job or PLAYING PAINTBALL ON A TEAM WITH CUSTOMERS... god I am so angry about that. But yeah free air, which I think is awesome - and they have cheap paint and cheap byop fees. But again, you pay for what you get. They don't staff real refs for their open games (ie refs who are neutral and watch the whole game).

There are many more professionally run paintball fields around Minnesota that are way better that Splattag, sure you pay an extra $10 more there, but its worth it. FSL is awesome place to play speedball - prices are little high, but they have real refs and real organized playing. Splat ball is also a great place for outdoors, they have real refs sometimes two to a game - again more expensive, but way more professional. Splat tag seems like some dude with a farm that let people play on his land. For real.

If you are listening to this splattag - for real you have a great business pricing model and field to attract customers - if you would just hire some good refs to actually watch the games -- FOR REAL WATCH AND MANAGE/REF GAMES... ALOT more people would come to your field to play. I mean god, it costs what $6 and hour to pay some college kid to ref a game - how stingy can u get?

Rating 6 / 10 - I've played there two times and experienced the same things. I personally wouldn't go there unless there was some big scenario game. I will not go back there to play open games until they fix these things. For real, my friends and I got so mad over our day of play there.

Last edited on Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Toby16custom Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MN pro - used to be great
GDX soon to be ( i got to give her a test run :)_IS GOIN TO BE THE BEST FIELD IN THE MIDWEST.
A few other mock speedball fields
Review: Well First off the place is easy to get to if u kno any thing at all about directions.
The prices are perfect for a guy like me who just mowes lawns and earns less than 60 a month so i buy a case of paint at fleet farm get my tanks ready (i suggest if u have co2 have one filled before u get there) and go to splat tag for the big games (most in$)
Most entry is under 20 and air is free up to 4500 compressed and co2 is filled quicky also. It is great cause many scenario groups come also , my speedball buddies enjoi a day of woods as well. Over all this place is the best for a fun day of ball with newbs as well as more exp players dookin it out in the brush. did i mention the owner is friggen awsome! This place gets my vote for best economical paintball field in MN/WI/IA
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Houlie123 Friday, August 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Have played at Splat Tag a couple times and the expirences have been great. Their Big Games are the last Sunday of every month (April-October) they ussaly get around a 100 to 200 people. The felds are woodball and are fun. There is a crashed plane on the big course and plenty of hyperball pipes every where and wooden bunkers as well with plenty of natural cover as well. The games are an hour long each with a long game in the afternoon witch goes along with the theme of the day. I have also attened on of their airball tournies, the ref were very good. The field was spectater freindly with netting on the spectater side with a small grandstand area for people to sit. the games were run well. The Big Games are very affordable with the price of $15 bucks u can get all day play, ref supervision, air. Paint is $50 bucks a case, $15 500. U can also bring your own paint for an extra $10. Rental equipment is availible(Masks, Air Tanks, Tippmann Pro Carbines, Hopper, Pods) For a fun day of good ol' paintball in the woods check out any of splat tags events at www.splattag.com under events. Extra note: the road is very crappy so drive carefully!
Last edited on Friday, August 5th, 2005 at 10:09 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media