paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field / Splat Tag Paintball Field

Splat Tag Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
58Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 651-488-7700
Location: Burkhardt, Wisconsin 54016
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Duts! Friday, October 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FSL! Different type of field. Better run though.
SYO- Also different, but nicer reffs
PGI- only played there once
SFP- MUCH better
Review: Note: This review is for the so called "Hudson" Splat Tag in burkhardt, not the field in Baldwin which is now run by other people.

Alright, so now I've attended two Big Games at Splat Tag.. I moved here last year and was unfamiliar with local fields so I bummed around until someone directed me to Splat Tag in burkhardt (My first gripe. they tell you it is in hudson, which it is NOT. There was however a store in hudson that was able to give me directions to the field.)

I showed up early, which turned out to be a mistake. My truck nearly got wrecked on their almost inaccessible "road." (Yes, I have 4x4) None of the "refs" had a clue as to what was going on or who was in charge. Registration could of been run better. There was no air fills in the morning worth getting so I had to switch to Co2, which was being filled improperly by more of the absent minded "refs." Waited more than an hour and a half after the "scheduled" start time for the games and then had no idea where I was supposed to go.. It could of been worse, and it could of been much better. But for the entry fee I was not impressed.

My second big game experience was in Morristown. This time the games seemed to start on time, but there was still a problem with air and C02 fills, even MORE clueless refs, and some rather unfriendly hosts. The only good part about the entire operation was the field..which..go figure, was not a splat tag field. The reinsertion points were a joke, reffing was non existent, no full auto markers were allowed, and I heard one player say they'd been told the ROF rule was 4bps maximum. (FOUR balls per second. Do they even MAKE guns that shoot 4bps anymore?)

I've wasted my money with this "field" twice now, and I won't be doing it again.
Save your money and play in the backyard or look for another field like SYO, FSL, or special forces. I played a big game at PGI in baldwin that didn't have as many people but was run better.

Splat Tag won't be getting anymore of my money
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Gaming Spartan Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Half of the total fields in Minnesota and 5 in Wisconsin
Review: Now since I cant find a review for the Hudson field I'll just write it in here. I've played at around 20-25 fields and I liked them all. But recently when I dont want to drive for an hour to get to a field I now goto Hudson for there open play. The staff is some of the friendliest you'll meet. The refs compared to the higher up places are only average and dont quit catch everything but you cant really blame them. But almost every weekend I show up theres always some people that will bring there A-5 scenario markers and holy crap they just blow you out of the water. The big field is the best, the airplane and the overlooking hill makes it totally worth it. It's huge for anyone that's just starting or just wants to have fun for a reasonable price on weekends by the twin cities without having to pay big prices like at splat inc. then this is definitely the place for you. And dont try and find the place of driving directions on mapquest there completely wrong and will lead you to the middle of a neighborhood.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 at 12:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oldest Sage Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Farm Land Paintball Club
Bubba's Paintball
Adventure Zone
Review: Just had one of the best scenario games I've ever had. 650+ players and everything seemed to run extremely smooth. It took a game or two to get the HPA pump going but we were provided with HPA from Scuba tanks until it was running. The fields were in great shape, the staff was on of the best I have seen at any big game. The scenario's were challenging yet not too difficult for first time scenario players. At the end of the day there was a medical emergency that was handled sI will be attending every big game at this field that I can. moothly and very timely. Prices are reasonable, staff courteous and safety minded.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

erik vandenavon Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: i just went their for a giant big game. it cost 40 bucks to get in but yougot all the co2 and n2 you needed. you could also bring your own paint. i didn't bring my own because they had it thier cheep. 50 for a case and it was good paint. it was the best pb experiance i ever had. i normaly play speedball so this was one of the first times i got to play woods. i think i am going to get a 98 so i can use it at the big games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ROOFUSSTOOFUSS Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SPECIAL FORCES RULES 10of10
Review: this place is a fun place to play paintball, there are lots fields that offer fun action packed games and a good variety of fields like the normandy trenches that are all dirt. considering they have good fields, they could however work on there roads gettin to the place because when i went, i think about the only people makin it to there were people with 4x4 trucks. it was sloppy and lots of ruts and holes. other than that. the overall experience was fun and rating on the the field quality and price of supplies, i would give this field a 8.5, however special forces paintball in MN dominates on this because you get to ride in actually military vehicles and do a lot of cool scenarios and its a funner experience!!!!!!!!!! i would give SFP a 10of10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

ouch Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone,HillCrest,Hinkley
Review: The referees at the halloween game were very good .This field is probably good when leaves are on the trees . It was kind of wide open for my kind of play. We long balled alot because there was no way to hide to advance. Road going in has something to be desired.we had three guys in a car it bottomed out twice on way in. But the actual organization was well done keeping games going .Oh yeah second half of the day you were getting 1600 pounds of high pressure air in your tank fill
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

k1rage Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chippewa Hudson
Review: this is truly the worst feild I have ever played at it is sad really dont go there. There are perfectly good feilds at Hudson and Chippewa. They have much better service and prices. Note I am not conected with any of these feilds in any way. The cost of paint balls is way to high. so is the cost of everything else there. You are better off playing in your back yard.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

woodsball Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woods in back of house, Corn Fields, (Update) St Croix Painball, FSL, Special Forces, D Day, Junk Yard, Polar Bear, Farmland, Morris Town
Review: Spalt Tag (Hudson) is a blast to play. $20 gets you unlimited Air, BYOP, and at least 6 hours of open play. I have been there with my friends the last couple weeks on Sat and they let anyone that play and paid on Sat play for free on Sunday. About 50 maybe 100 people every time we have been there.

Great Fields love there Tower and Giant field.

Update: After playing for 3 years now instead of the 1 when I first posted:
Have played lots of different places now, My feelings about Splat Tag have only gotten better. Played there Giant Big Game Yesterday June 5th. Had a Blast!!!! HUGE Great Field, Loved the Tower/Castle they built. They had a problems with there air and CO2 which caused a late start, Really the first time I have seen this from them but they seemd to do everything they could to get things working. Guess every field has a bad day and air problems are not new in paintball :) Read a post from someone else about ref not doing anything well as for me I got a violation punch from Chris for not having my barrel condom on. I have known Chris for 2 years now and know what he tells and expects from the Refs and in my experance in the years I have played its the cheaters that complain about refs not doing anything. I enjoy every event that I have been to at Splat Tag and plan to attend more
Last edited on Monday, June 6th, 2005 at 8:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DocSilverhorn Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bubbas in Elk Mound, and Hillcrest east of Ladysmith
Review: The Baldwin field is a real hoot! I would go there all the time except that it is hard to access as a walkon. I have been to Baldwin one time. You will find everything you want there. I would rate this higher if I could play there more. 8


Splat Tag in Hudson is a woods ball players paradise. A veritable utopia for walkons. You have to give it high marks. It is senseless to rate this field with a speed-ball mentality. Availability is excellent prices and options are awesome, paint is first rate. Sometimes the air is shaky. No problems for CO2 users. I have actually played more hours of woods ball here this summer than I have in the last two years.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wolverine66 Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Special Forces, Paintball Sam's, TWC, D-Day, Monster Game II
Review: I have played quite a few places, but I have to say, Splat Tag has got to be one of the best. If I go there for open play I can expect nice fields with bunkers and great shooting lanes. If I go for their Big Game I can expect a variety of terrain, from heavy woods to nice open areas. Even with the last Big Game, with over 400 participants, the course was large enough, well marked, and very challenging. They had ample amounts of referees, who seemed to be all over the field. With hundreds of participants I'm sure it has to be a nightmare to run, but everything I saw seemed to be run great. The prices are low. I could bring my own paint. Heck, they even let some guy use the tank he brought. I really think the guys at Splat Tag do a first rate job and really know what the woods-ball players are all about. We like to make our own stuff, tanks, mortars, mines, etc. This is the only place I know that we can actually use our own creations during a Big Game.
However, the Big Game at Splat Tag may not be for everyone. Actual bunkers are few and far between. The speed-ballers may actually have to hide behind a tree. The course is not all cleared out for easy walking like a speed-ball course. You may actually trip on a branch or get stuck crawling through a patch of briers. The guys that own Splat Tag don't control the weather like the dude does at Splat You're Out. You actually have to play outside.
The staff is great. Every time I go there, it's the same people working. Which tells me they have to be experienced, 'cause they are always there. Any time I've had a complaint about wipers they don't take my word for it. Instead, they'll have a ref play for awhile and actually see for himself. So that's really cool. The guys there are always friendly and seem to know alot about the game. They also seem to want to be innovative, trying different scenarios all the time.
I'll give them a 9 out of 10. They would get a 10, but they let whiny speed-ballers play and actually have speed-ball courses there too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media