paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field / Mersey Road Paintball Field

Mersey Road Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 902-857-9745
Address: 292 Mersey Road, East River
Hubbards, Nova Scotia
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Jayodi Friday, January 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Overkill Sportz, Splatterzone, Storm Warning. None can measure up.
Directions
to the Field:
It's near Chester
Review: Mersey Road is easily the best paintball field I've ever played at.
Paint is cheap, from $18-$20/bag, although you have to use their paint, the prices on the gear you can buy there are more than reasonable, and there's on-site food. No alcohol or drugs on the field allowed, and safety is a big concern. Guns must be chronographed to 290 fps or lower, and Jim really enforces the 20-foot freeze rule. Goggles must be worn at all times when in the field or chrono area, and barrel plugs/bags whenever not on the field or chrono area.

The woodsball field is one of the most interesting and fun I've ever played on. From the radar tower to the bog area by the speedball field to skull tower to the embassy, you're never seeing the same thing twice. There's deep woods in the back, and an open field up front, with lots of cover, both natural and bunkers. Down in the pit is the perfect place to lay an ambush, providing you're not ambushed yourself, and direct, open firefights in the middle of the field can test the resolve of even the most confident players. There are thousands of ways each game can go, because the strategies and maneuvers are endless.
Many different missions are played, which keeps it interesting and fun. CTF, President, Hunt, and Deathmatch just to name a few.

I've never actually played on the speedball field, so I can't review that, but I hear it's decent.
Last edited on Friday, January 29th, 2010 at 2:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatterZone, Splatshot, nowhere near as awesome.
Directions
to the Field:
Off exit 6 on the 103, turn left, go to the end of the road, turn right onto St. Margaret's Bay Road, go about 5km, and there should be a sign on the side of the road, if not, turn right onto Mersey Road Connector, go through the tunnel, then look on the right for the MRPB sign at the end of the driveway.
Review: Definitely the best field I've played on to date. They're all about safety, 15ft is their shot limit. All their prices are rediculously cheap considering how big of an operation they are. Weekdays are for booking only, Saturdays are usually event days, and Sundays are walk-on.
The MRPB staff are overall very friendly, they make sure you know what's going on. The refs aren't overzealous like they can be at smaller locations. They have two outhouses (as of my last visit), and food on-site.

MRPB has two fields: a speedball field, roughly about 20' x 30'-40'; and a woodsball field, a couple of acres I think.

The markers they rent out are the old style Tippmann 98C, but you can bring your own equipment. You must use field paint only and unopened grenades (unless you get pre-game paint from a supplier) [ie: Banshee Paintball].

I've never played on their speedball course, as I'm not very big into speedball. The woodsball course is phenomenal though. The first time I played there, I didn't realize how big the place actually was until my group started at the top of the field.

Overall, Mersey Road Paintball is the place to be, I'm looking forward to my next visit.
Last edited on Friday, October 3rd, 2008 at 7:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

meisener Tuesday, September 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
slaterzone
Directions
to the Field:
east river nova scotia just off highway 6
Review: for me and my friends that normaly go to every Mersey Road event and lots of walk on days we have decided that Mersey Road is god. there are no more feild fees anymore but its no longer byop you have to buy there own paint. jims paint prices are really good as it goes from 60 bucks a case for triump and 70 for nightmare and bronze to 80 for a case of premiun and silver. also at mersey road they dont take tax so the price you see is the price you pay. the feild is very well set up with a new fully turfed xball feild and a woodsball feild with a large assortment of bunkers towers buildings and the embacy. as well to bunkers they also have the thick which is perfect to run a flank down. Mersey Road sells an assortment of random guns and upgrades for really cheap. i bought a 98c e trigger for 65 dollars less than it cost at my local pro shop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

taylor_matt Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Overkill
Directions
to the Field:
Near Chester
Review: Mersey Road is a great feild for either newbs or veterans who enjoy paintball.Howie Langlois(one of the fields owners) has fixed my gun on numerous ocations. On Sundays they only charge 5 bucks for field fee.Then a bag of 500 balls costs 15 dollars.My favorite thing about this field is that your aloud to bring your own paint, except for ZAP because it stains. Howie inforces the 20 foot rule where you must say freeze before shooting, and if they don't, it's their problem.

www.merseyroad.com


My conculsion: Go to Mersey Road, see for yourself.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 at 5:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevenl38 Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Overkill Sportz
Directions
to the Field:
Listen to the sound of guns rolling.
Review: Mersey Road is a great field, there Woodsball is the greatest and the best for all those fun and exciting scenario games there always holding. There Speedball field is good too, but not the greatest, you can't slide or dive without hurting yourself or ripping you pants or jersey but its still lots of fun.

There prices are soo good. The field is BYOP and walk on sundays but they have the no crap Walmart Zap paint which is good because that stuff stains.

Prices
$5 Field Fee
$5 Air Fee
$80 a case
$20 a bag

Some of the best prices around in my opinion. There paint is always good instead of those other fields that give you like whitebox for 80 bucks when you can order it online for $50 and bring it to play at Mersey!

Mersey is always good on safety and always reminding you to have your barrel plugs in when off the field, and when your on the field they remind you to have your mask down and theres always good refereeing.

In conclusion, Mersey Road Paintball owns.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 at 2:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

S.P.E.D Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Overkill -which i still havnt been

and makeshift fields my friends and i create
Directions
to the Field:
Yall know how to get there.
Review: Ok. Mersey road is a great place. This review is just about the makeup of the field. becuse everything else besides the field couldnt be better.


What i like about the field. is that it has three areas pretty much. large wooded area, "town", and another smaller wooded area (*from left to right). what i think it could use more of, is the ammount of buildings (no disrespect, i understand it costs money and time, and labour) but i think if people take a sunday to help out it could flurish.

My favorite part of the field. is the area where the sniper tower sits, and the buildings across the "path" from it. its a little close quarters area where people can make use of both close quarters (realitive to the 20ft rule) and long range shots. i believe other sniper towers would make the field more apealing to thoes who like to snipe so its not so much as "who gets to the sniper tower first" so there are more people that get their turn, and have more fun, ect. ect. ..

Least favorite part is WAY in the woods on the far Left realitive to the parking lot (thoes of us allied on ww5 know) that it was a hastle shooting though all the bush which people are rarely RARELY back there..

The Right side woods are pretty sweet. its been cleaned up very nice and it a joy to play in.

All in all i believe this field is worth the drive any sunday. i live about 45 min(legal drivign speed) away but can make it in 25 from fall river. If you live in nova scotia, Deffintly check it out.

I like it enough to give it a 9 but im giving it an 8 becuase it has potential.

(my advice)-if the small bunkers in the middle were moved to some of the woods or surrounding town area and other buldings were established. i would love to spend more time there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kreth Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I gotta say it is nice to feel at home when I play and this is the place for that.

Safety is as per any field you go to : masks on out at the field and at the chrono (290), barrel bags or plugs everywhere else. Twenty foot surrender rule with the proviso that the player being surrendered can try and fight it out (almost always a loosing proposition). The more players out on the field, the more Refs you see, with some of the regulars volunteering if they see a hand is needed. The Refs play it fair and keep it safe.

The speed ball field has not been up since I have played there but it is being rebuilt soon. The woodsball field? Ummm WOW? There is a great mix of everything a woodsballer could want. Towers (two and three story), single story buildings, a helo and a tank (non-moving) to fight out of and more bunkers than you can use in a 6 or 7 hour day. Then you have the actual woods. Everything from thick brush to large areas of larger trees with plenty of open space around them. The field boundaries are clearly defined. The size of the field can easily take 250 players without it feeling crowded and for a recent scenerio it was more than doubled in size for the game to take 425 players on the field at once.

You will have to look pretty hard to find better prices. Walk on Sunday is $5 field fee, $5 all day air or .50/oz CO2. Field paint is $20/500 or you can bring your own, although I am unsure where I can find it cheaper than that around here. As a side note, they have recently banned Zap from the field due to complaints about the blue staining clothes. Rental packages are 98Cs on air for $10.

The staff? Jim, Howie and all their staff are as accommodating as you could hope to run across. The players at Mersey run the whole spectrum. From people who are playing for the first time, to folks that write for some of the paintball magazines and everything in between. Not sure what other fields are like, but it is nice when the guy you just shot out walks by and gives you a thumbs up for a good fight.

An edit here to mention the new speedball field. Through out the spring and summer a really first class regulation size XBall field on turf was installed at Mersey.
Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2008 at 6:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fudo Dachi Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Several in Canada and USA since the mid-eighties
Review: Great place to play, I would recommend this field to any player from beginner to semi-pro. They have the most bunkers I have ever seen and their prices cannot be beaten. The day I played the field fee included a hamburger lunch unlike other fields that would just see food as another way to make money, ie. $2 pop and bars etc... I look forward to playing here again soon....
Last edited on Thursday, April 26th, 2007 at 6:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Davey Husker Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, played at mersey all my life.
Review: Mersey is a GREAT paintball field to go to. Jim and Howie (The owners of the field) and the rest of the staff are very nice. Also you can get free hot dogs! The prices are great and the players are nice and know how to play the game...go to mersey..
Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 4:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

C.D. Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
This is my home field, this place is utterly awesome. The greatest people i have ever met that play paintball. Igf you have a problem everyone is more then happy to help out. The field is just crazy. Towers, houses, cars, tires, bunkers everywhere. You cannot go wrong with taking a day to go paintballing. If you love to paintball goto this field.
Review: Safety is a big thing their, if your barrel plug isnt in, they warn you and tell you to put on in. These guys love to play, but also want to be safe.

Prices are awesome.

The service is great, everyone is willing to help.

the refs are good, and the players know how to paintball.

Free Food for breaks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and i dont know about you but when i play paintball i get hungry.

all in all this field rules. If you have money, and you have a paintball gun, i advise you to go, NOW!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media