paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field

SC Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
192Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (562) 867-9013
Address: 8900 McCarty Road
Chino, California 91710
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
-=Elementz=- Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone
Review: Well, SC Village is just about the best park there is. The staff is good natured (not like the chrono guy at Tombstone) the speed ball arenas always have good players on them, same as the regular scenario fields. However, it does get really, REALLY crowded, especially when your there on a special day, (i.e. memorial day) and sometimes you can get guys who will ignore the three hit maximum, but they usually get booted after a game or two. So in all SC Village is by far the best park ive ver played on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spankster67 Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Close Encounters-X-Park-Proving Grounds-Hollywood Sports-Jungle Island-Tombstone-Conquest-California Paintball Park-
Review: SC village has lots of fields in which to play in, but some can be a hike (100-175 yard hike). If you get bored of the scenario fields you can always jump onto the speedball fields for a little intense and fast fun.
I have been playing at this for several years and I have learned a couple of things. First priority goes to the private groups and sometimes the walk-ons are given the fartherest fields to play.
This is why I gave them only a 7, I love some of there scenario fields, but in the last three outings that I went on as a waolk-on have not been able to play these fields. Not very good odds since I did average at least 12-15 games a day.
Staff needs a little bit more training, the refs have a tendency to doze off during the game and not pay attention. That is some ref's for the most part there are about a dozen or so good ref's the others ooh well.
Played this field recently and had a disater of a time, ref was ignoring a hot, over shotting group of players because they were regulars. I even noticed them hanging out in the info booth at times. They must have been good friends because they kept shooting at the refs through out the day just for laughs.

Overall this is a good place that has tons of fields, it is better to go as a private group (I have several times) and you will have a good experience. If not be prepared to try some of the speed ball fields if you are a walk-on this will eliminate some of the downtime between the scenario fields.
Last gripe-Air fills they only fill to 3000 P.S.I depending on who is in the booth. I have gotten 3000-4000 p.s.i. fills depending on who is working the booth weird.
Also the rental guns are not very good please rent at a paintball store beforehand, because this are some of the worst shooting markers that I have ever seen. And I have seen lots of different markers rentals.

Hope this helps
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbordie_639 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
not sure..first ive ever played.
Review: PROS-
This is the first time i have ever went..and i understood everything!
Fields were very very awesome
Close drive(about 20 mins from OC)
Refs are very safety cautious(always wear ur goggles on field)
Great for newbs
CONS-
Smells like cow crap for the first 5 mins(no biggie)
Bathrooms are kinda bad..not too bad tho
I gots bug bites too (diffenatley worth it tho)

but that does not change the game play

FOR SURE come to this field!!!!! i wish i could give and 100/10 :-D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandaman Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Ok so this field is nice and has great fields(especally speelball). I went there and had lots of fun.
Pros. Good feild
Good reff
ok Parcking
good players that know what ur saying
and free air
good speed ball
Cons
Paintballs everyware you go
Few playing time
big teams like 20-30 maybye even 40
But it is worth it. When you go i recommend to get the speedball half for the day. im not sure how manny there are but the best one in airball. Toddle too
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

iuseacocker26 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none because i live in iowa but in iowa i've gone to ACP Action Jacks and Smokey Creek
Review: this place was awesome! i went to play against real players and it was well worth it. me and my team got a bunch of experience that we have used on the fields here at home. this place was awesome i loved their fields and i loved playin them. we got so much experience and got to meet some pros which really boosted our confidence and motivated us. (fraige man i owened u and would've pulled the bunkerin if bc wouldnt have nailed me!! lol ur kool man cant wait to play u again!)
Last edited on Thursday, April 22nd, 2004 at 2:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

muroks Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports - FPO, pricey, but closer to my home.
Proving Grounds - Very very nice, but still kinda far.
Friendly Fire - They're improving as I write this (under new ownership)
Review: I played at the speedball area, so some parts of this review do not reflect upon the rec-ball that SC is famous for.

PROS-

Very reasonable prices - $10 for speedball

BYO Paint - Find a cheap practice paint, and you can save some money in the long run.

Good competition - There is some good competition there. I'm fairly new to the sport and I get beat up on, but Its all very good practice.

Friendly staff - The guys working were pretty cool.

CONS-

Crowded - The lines for admission, chrono, and air are ridiculous.

Location - This depends on where you live, but for me, it was a loong drive.

Atmosphere - The whole place reeked of cow poop, and certain areas of the speedball field smelled quite wicked from either rotten paint, or something scary of the sort.

Restrooms - I wouldn't wish this restroom on my worst enemy. It is a portable room (like some classrooms in elementary schools), which smells pretty bad, and the floor is all creaky (I was praying it wouldn't cave in).
* I'd like to take a moment to thank the lord for my not having to poop during my stay at SC.

Certain staff members - The girl who was working the admission window didn't have her facts straight and gave me all types of wrong information regarding prices.

CONCLUSION
I'll be back here because its cheap, and the BYOP policy saves me money. Remember to pack a cooler with drinks, and bring an EZ UP during summer - it gets hot out there!


Last edited on Saturday, April 17th, 2004 at 1:44 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ANGELZRBAD Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest - a far superior field.
Review: The competition is not on the field, its in the lines. It takes real stamina to survive waiting for 1) your ticket (don't forget the ticket for the air refill, actually get a few); 2) the line for the paint balls; 3) the line for repair (hey, the o-rings have their own line, several hundred yards away); 4) the line for the air refill itself; 5) the line for your chrono (if you are there all day, you get in line twice - miss two games for the price of one); 6) and several other lines for food, rentals, and anything else you could make a line for. Make sure each line is at least ten minutes long and then give only five minutes warning of a new game. That way you get to miss one or two games a day minimum.

Okay, you've waited in all the lines. Time for a game. Get in line. Oh, apparently the refs have their own line, because they are twenty minutes late. Oh, well, another game missed.

I have to admit, the actual fields are great. The newest one Taliban City, has broken concrete walls, burned out buses and abandoned cars (learn to shoot in one window and out the other). China Beach and most of the others are as good. The question remains, was it worth the wait.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

iluvmysh Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: It was great in the beginning because it was only about 15 on 15... then as the people came in, it became ~ 100 on 100. About 10 kids at one small hill. I sat there just waiting for the kids to get shot so I could get some room to move around. Another game was so crowded that I just sat there behind a hill, peeked my head up and got shot in the face mask out of no where.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

l337pumper Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone paintball, Camp pendelton
Review: This has to be the best field in thw world. no joking. I went with a private group 3 days ago, and i had so much fun it wasnt funny. the place is huge, and supports like 20 fields. the refs and everyone are nice (nice enough anyways) and the prices are not so steep. however, there was about a million people there, and the huge parking lot was full in about 10 seconds.

the fields are very well maintained. their props are outstanding and i can hardly believe how inventive they are with some of the fields (bosnia, taliban city, iraq). we went on the day they had some sort of tournament, so we couldnt play speedball. it was kinda cool watching the guys with the angels and ebladed everything emptying their halo's in about 5 seconds. they had too many jungle/woods fields though, and they are all the same except maybe with more or less trees.

overall, i would suggest this field if you have some sort of group activity. if you go alone, make sure you go EARLY or you will be in line for about an hour. great field, i cant wait to go next time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Destructo6 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone (smaller, less variety, better run), Fields of Fire (defunct), Fields of Fury (not in the area, but decent), Close Encounters (way worse), Paintball USA, Simi (very small, decently run), others I forget.
Review: The first time I played at SC Village was in 1995, probably. Then, it was busy, but very organized. The refs appeared to have been recruited from the local Marine Corps bases (El Toro and Tustin) and were very much on top of things. When they gave out a 5-minute warning until the game began, the game began in exactly 5 minutes. They meant it when they said there would be 5 minutes between the pair of games on one field and 10 minutes between field swaps.

I've been to SC Village many times since and have noticed a gradual deterioration in the quality of the experience.

Two weeks ago, I returned with my brother, his sons, their cousin and uncle to show them the legendary SC Village. They were disappointed and I would be surprised if they returned.

The paved parking lot was full, so we had to park on the other side of the speedball fields. To get to the staging areas from this overflow parking, you have to walk through a nice, though long, covered walkway and several fields, some live.

They were running 3 walk-on games: advanced, intermediate, and beginner. There really didn't seem to be much difference, in regard to equipment and apparent experience, between the 3 groups. The main difference was that the beginner group had many more people than the others.

The ref'ing was pretty poor. Games were slow to start and just as slow to turn around. One game per hour seemed to be typical. It seemed the refs were there primarily to ensure that all players had paid admission.

The saving grace were the self-serve speedball fields. One could get into several speedball games per hour, with either no ref at all or another player acting as ref.

The fields themselves are, as always, quite good. Lots of props and such.

I hesitate to say that I will never go back, because I have had a lot of good experiences at SC Village over the years. However, if things remain as they are or deteriorate, I doubt if I would return more than once a year.

Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2004 at 9:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media