paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field

SC Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
192Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (562) 867-9013
Address: 8900 McCarty Road
Chino, California 91710
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
xfatalxballax Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports - In my opinion Hollywood sports is not as organized as SC
Directions
to the Field:
8900 McCarty Road
Chino, CA 91710

Review: I've been plaiyng at Sc Village for 3 in a half years. It is a great place for begginers and advanced players. Everytime i go i see new people and once in a while same faces. And SC VILLAGE ALLOWS YOU TO BRING YOUR OWN PAINTBALLS except for red or neon orange paint allowed also scenario games are ranked
begginer: players new to paintball or just playing for their 2-5 times
intermediate: players are more familiar with fields and better guns or sserious scenario players
Advanced: Players who have been to SC enough times to know what every field is like or just speedballers looking for fun but most are very serious scenario players




Saftey - SC enforces the rules all the time. Many times in the parking lot you will be told not to shoot ing the parking lot for you and others saftey. Everyday they're open they have the morning rules where you are informed on all the rules along with the national anthem. Usually when you hand in your applications the employees will ask you if you are new to SC, if you are they will ask you to go to the proshop and watch a short saftey video.

Fields - SC has feilds for everyone scenario or speedball, your choice. In scenario SC has around 17 or 18 fields that are all themed from real war such as iraq, beirut, north vietnam, bosnia, etc. Sometimes feilds are combined together for speacial events like last year's "Decay of Nations". In speed ball they have 7 fields but some are not always in use. 2 of the 7 speedball fields are air ball fields which usually are setup on weekends or tournaments. Also 1 more feild out of the 7 is a private feild for speedball teams to rent for a day all you need is your own air bunkers to play it(teams such as XSV and OC Bushwackers have used it ).

Hours of Operation -
Saturday and Sunday : 7:30am to 4:00pm
Monday to Friday : 9:30am to 3:30pm

Prices -
Full Day: $25 (7:30am to 4:00pm)
Half Day: $20 (12:00pm to 4:00pm)
CO2 FILLS:
7oz – 10oz - $3.00 per fill
12oz – 14oz - $4.00 per fill
16oz – 20oz - $6.00 per fill
COMPRESSED AIR - $5.00 per fill
All Day Air for both Compressed air and CO2 Tanks - $10.00
Half Day Air Fills (from 12pm to 4pm) - $5.00
Marker Rental - $13.00
Goggle Rental - $5.00
Compressed Air Tank Rental - $10.00
Half Day Air Fills - $5.00
Belt Pouch Rental - $5.00
Jumpsuit Rental - $7.00

Rules -
If a player is closer then 20 feet away from another player he or she is required to offer surrender(dont expect it to be enforced in speedball).
NO Drinking alcohol
no shorts allowed(but i havent seen it enforced)
Face Masks on at all times in playing area/shooting range
no shooting in parking lot
wristband required to play
watch saftey video at least once
barrel sock/plug on at all times till permitted
no airsoft masks
no fighting
thats all i can think of

Proshop - It has pretty much has every basic thing you would need(mask, plastic feedneck, hopper/electronic loader, orings, etc.)

Staff - Employees at SC are very friendly and will or try to help you with your questions or problems

Refs - Most refs are players theirself so they know the rules and what is right or wrong

Players - most players are nice and friendly but in some situations on the feild they can get irratating but bad players will be put in their place by refs or kicked off the field (sometimes even kicked out the whole park). Many players in SC are begginers and there are also a fair amount of highly advanced players (mostly in speedball)

Facilities - all of the facilities at SC are covered there is also the locker area for people that are dropping off players so theydont have to watch thieir stuff

Food - every weekend there is a snackcart(truck) that serves players hot dogs, hambugers, tacos, energy drinks, soda, chips, etc.



I gave SC Village a 10 because it is my favorite feild to play at and is fun for begginers and advanced players
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Karec Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
SC VILLAGE ADDRESS:
8900 McCarty Road
Chino, CA 91710
From the 60 Freeway:
Exit Archibald head South; Right on River Road; Turn left at Hellman Road; Enter private road to S.C. Village.

From the 91 Freeway:
91 freeway east to the Lincoln Ave exit. Go North on Lincoln and make a left turn on River Rd. Make a left on Hellman and a right on McCarty. Enter private road to SC Village.
Review: SC Village is to be honest the only paintball course i've gone to in the area but for a good reason. I've heard horrid things about the Giant Paintball park near the orange county fairgrounds. In addition i've heard at Jungle Island the staff is not nearly as friendly or attentive.

Safety: For the most part the staff is extremely concerned about safety, they put emphasis every match on not taking off your mask for any reason and not taking off ones barrel markers/condoms before the ref says it is safe to. In addition they have a ten foot offer surrender or shoot waist down rule. I have seen the refs make people sit out games for not obeying the rules, so they are not just all talk too.

Players: You get a large variety of players here ranging from pros to new players, really friendly people to some cheating idiots. For the most part the majority of players are very friendly and willing to help if you ask politely.

Food: Usually they have a food truck on the weekend games with hamburgers, hotdogs and beverages (Sometimes when they are opn on weekdays during holidays though they do not). However if you don't feel like that pack a lunch or order a pizza, the nearest fast food places are quite a drive. Also they have a large ammount of tables in the area that are covered so you have plenty of places to eat.

Proshop: The proshop there is ok and has all the basic equipment you need, plus some SC village memoriabila and camo clothing. However the shop itself is nothing special and doesn't have a wide variety of equipment.

Fields: They have a wide variety of fields with a lot of scenario maps, some of them are very interesting and a lot of fun ranging from urban type of fighting to jungle/forest type fighting. I've seen the fastball/hyperball fields but to be honest have not played them myself.

Staff: The employees there for the most part are actually players themselves and very knowledgeable about the sport. I've talked to a few of them personally and they are very friendly and willing to give you information to help you out around the course or even at paintballing themselves.

Services: They have an air/co2 refill station which either you can buy single refills or all day refills at the admissions office or pro-shop depending upon how busy the course is. I mentioned this above but they have a lot of picinic tables with shelter to either work on your marker, take a breather on or even to have a nice lunch.

Hours of Operation/Prices: On weekends the park opens at 7:30 for registration, 8:00 am for morning rules then play till 4:00. A full day costs $25, a half-day if you start at 12:00 is $20 dollars. However on certain special offers I have gotten 10:00 am to 4:00 pm on week days for $15 dollars. I've heard of special offers for 8:00am to 4:00pm for $20 dollars as well.

Overall: An excellent course that is great for a first time player or an experienced pro.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shanosalami Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood sports
Directions
to the Field:
website
Review: Since it was only my second time going paintballing i wasnt very expireinced. when i first got there i realized how huge the field was. one of the plusses was the fact they chronod twice and since im a safety freak i didnt mind. the other thing i like was they had alot of speedball i just wish they would put the airball up. the scenario was good because they had diffrent skill levels so i could play with people that are at my level and not a pro's. the only problem with the scenario is that there were so many people i could have watched a movie before the game was over. you couldnt move anywhere. one thing i didnt like was that when there was a little problem with my gun i went to the proshop and the guy was a complete ***. he was ignoring me, on the phone and i took me 10 minutes to get him off the phone and when he was off he wasnt my favorite guy in the world. other than that SC is great because me and my crew play speedball and only played one scenario game. sc is a great park and i recomend it to anyone begginer or pro. and the players there are extremly friendly

9.5/10 cause airball is never open
Last edited on Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 5:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolfsniper Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: The over all quality of Sc vill age is great the only thing that would be better is if they had more refs to have more games in session. One thing I di not like about the refs is there unwillingness to walk into the more wooded fields. I was stuck all day playing urban which is still great just not the best. The safety in place at the field was excellant. We had to be chronoed twice which was good lookin out. Also not a lot of space in the parking lot which caused traffic problems at times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

1ntens1ty Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatfactory=closed but had its goods and its bads
Directions
to the Field:
everyone knows where sc is...
Review: Ok sc was the first place i ever went paintballin at. The refs are lacking in number because of the sheer size of the park, but what defines sc are the people that go there. The first time I went i was a complete noob with my spyder imagine and my gravity fed, but my friend and I went and played speedball the whole day. I sucked total ass but everyone was cool and trying to give me some tips. The lack of refs makes scenario totally insane and hilarious to watch in my opinion because no one ever goes out and theres like 100 people with no one moving whatsoever, yet everyone unloads at rocks hoping that someone will pop up and get hit. What I am trying to say by this is that you're lucky if you ever finish a game in scenario, but sometimes its fun to sneak on to the field randomly and run around during the game (you know that one field by the fireball and legoland, though they may have netted the area I am talking about, I don't remember). Well speedball is different because we got like 50 people there and all of them know the rules and are more than happy to ref when they are taking a break. In all the times I've been at sc i have seen 0 refs reffing the speedball fields other than in private groups. SC pretty much invented speedball and it shows from the hyperball to fireball to airball. SC is freakin great for speedball and it can be ok if you're all into scenario which i find as a waste of paint, but totally fun to watch. The people are cool, the refs are good (when you find them), and they got so much scenario you'll get sick of walking back and forth to not finish your games of 100 vs 100 scenario (sometimes its funny to see the beginners group of scenario people because some of them take dm's and ego's just to rain paint on noobs with spyders lol). All in all SC is great for everything and is truly the heart of socal paintball. I personally chose this as my favorite field and think it is great for beginners to learn (you might get 0 people out but you still learn so don't worry) and it is great for the experienced as they can practice against some of the best paintballers out there.

I give SC Village a 10 out of 10
Last edited on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 at 9:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

exprophet Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island. It's a toss up. . .
Review: Ok, first off let me say, I this SC does a lot of things right. Most of their fields are awesome. Even though they are all virtually side by side, they netting they have separating them prevents most stray balls from other fields. Except for a few fields, that are basically an ant infested patch of dirt, the field designs are very fun to play. Especially if you like the more urban / close up type of battles. As for the fields, SC Village gets a 9 out of 10.

If you're a walk on, I'm sorry. This is one of the bad parts. SC Village is just too popular for noob's. If you attempt a beginners field, expect 60 on 60. It's a joke. All the noob's do is play long ball with rentals. These situations are no fun. I suggest playing with the intermediate or advanced groups. There's far less people. My first day ever playing, I was convinced to play with the advanced players. I must say, it was far more enjoyable than the beginner group. I got school'd, but I learned a lot, and the players weren't a bunch of idiots.

My only real complaint was my last private group experience. The ref. . . what can I say. . . this kid was lazy and a total joy kill. I'll give you my reasons for this. The group we played with was mostly experienced yet casual players. Everyone knew the rules, and just wanted to play.

The morning started off slow. It took him about 30 minutes to get the first field. Keep in mind, I could see at least 5 fields open at that time. We got to play only one match. Normally on a private group you play 2 matches per field. So we finished the first match and the ref say, "alright, I'm going to go get us another field." This kid disappeared for another 30 minutes. Everyone's sitting there just waiting, and getting kinda annoyed. When I went to go look for him, I saw him at his car. Looks like he went to change his clothes. This kinda thing kept happening. He would disappear for 10 to 30 minutes at a time.

On top of this, he insisted on explaining the rules before every match. Even the matches where we didn't change fields. It got really annoying. There were some in our group that were ready to go off on him.

As for doing his job on the field. I really couldn't tell you. I never really saw him. Most SC ref's will get in the middle of things to see the entire field. This kid stood off on the side near the back of the field. Looked like he was afraid to get shot.

Now don't get me wrong, most of the ref's at SC are really good. This last time out just happened to be a horrible experience. We were paid up to 4pm. But the ref made this outing so frustrating, we left before 2pm.

I will do another private group at SC. But next time I'm going to request specific refs, so I don't get stuck with a noob ref who didn't even want to be there.

Because of that experience, my group refuses to go back there. It's a shame, because they really do have a great facility. Are next adventure is to Jungle Island. Will post a review after the event.

Last edited on Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 at 12:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shadow81 Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports Park & Sc Village
Directions
to the Field:
Check website for directions and prices
Review: I'm new to paintballing but I am impressed with the friendly and organized staff at SC Village. I've played walk-on games and private games and both are fun. However, walk-ons can get crowded esp. beginner level games.

Costs to play: Admission and rental prices are about average. Rentals are not great. Gun jams frequently reported.

Very safety conscious. Staff keen at ensuring barrel plugs are in, and masks on.

Food: Catering truck- expensive, bring your own food.

Parking: Great if you arrive early, amenities central to fields and air, restrooms, rentals, registration. They've got tents for some and several benches for guests.

Fields: Many to choose from, cool props, for the most part they are well set up and fun to play.

Restrooms: Bungalow style, average cleanliness, w/ 3 or 4 urinals and toilet stalls.

Extras: I appreciate their clean up station the has several rolls of paper towels and water hose you may use to clean up afterwards. On site proshop.

I give it a 9 out of 10.
Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 10:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IONKIDS Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island-This is a good field, except the chronos tend to have a box of zip ties right by them and no ref to check, so you can always grab one and walk with out doing your chrono
Splat Factory-
Directions
to the Field:
Its difficult to explain really, I'm a local to the corona-norco area so i just go i dont really pay attn
Review: ok lets begin with there pro shop

-overpriced , i bought cleaner for my mask(which is basicaly windex cost me 8.00)
-the staff doesnt know what there doing at times in there pro shop
-on busy days theres normaly very long lines
-its not AC, its just a fan and only one fan
-why go when you can go to CC paintball on river rd next to jack in the box, there cheap and really nice
-did i say overpriced!?

The field
-is good
-some fields have their share of probelms, but dont most fields?
-Speedball and Airball are my personal favs, its normaly hard to play airball because when its up tems are always practicing and theres always a line, hyper ball is fun so is lego land , X Ball is for tournaments
-speedball is just setup and go
-The Scnearios are fun but can be really long walks so come prepared if your going to the jungle, also all you 3000 psi tank holders if you can conserve your air than youll be good but if you cant than you only be getting one game for that field
-alot of wipers

The Refs
-these refs are normaly really friendly but you might end up getting sandy ref one day
-they know who to call and for what
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

moymndz Monday, February 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
google it...
Directions
to the Field:
google it...
Review: Ive been playing for a little over four months. Ive played only at sc village. It's a good field for many reasons:

1) You can use any color of paint, except obviously red for distinguishing between blood or paint.

2) There are enough refs, the problem is that there are TOO many players trying to get into one game at a time.

3)Safety is good. They DO have a safety debrief, you have to get there early, if not that's your fault. They make you chrono so thats good I guess.

4)Obviously its not indoors if you've played there, if u haven't then now you know. I haven't gone on a rainy day. So, I wouldn't know if they play or not when it rains.

5)Staff is good, unless you get on their bad side, like shoot their buildings or disregard them when they tell you to put your barrel plug in. (That should be common sense. But then again common sense is not so common.)

6)I like the outdoors so this field is perfect for me, but thats my opinion. If you would like to run through bushes and crawl up sand dunes and run from tree to tree for cover and get headshots on campers then you would like this field. They also have speedball fields. I think 3. I know its three maybe more. Those are walk on so thats cool.

7) Scenery and props are cool. THey have helicopters and bombed out tanks, buses, trucks, rvs, stuff like that. You CAN NOT climb in, on, or under them for safety reasons, but they make good cover and its cool to come up behind the campers, again, to take out all of them shooting through windows.

8)As far as the players are concerned, most are good. I remember my first time during the game they would give me tips. My friends cousins came and they play a lot so that was cool. Once you get a good hold of the game other younger players start to tag along with you so you just pass on what you learned to them.


9)Theres a lot more than that, but you just have to go. My first time sucked because i because I didn't know what to do. Their guns are pretty good for rental, bring a squegee. Believe me it'll help. ITS DEFINITELY WORTH THE $25 DOLLAR ENTRANCE. Like anything else you have to go see for yourself and see if you like it.

The bad:

1)You cant climb on top of stuff.

2)Sometimes its packed with people. (I think that happens everywhere, unless the field sucks. So i think thats a good thing. hahahah)

3)Kinda far from food places. They have a catering truck there, but sometimes you just want a FAT JUICY HAMBURGER FROM JACK IN THE BOX, but its almost near the freeway.

4)If you rent there are long lines early in the day, but they die down.

5)There is no all day air, but if you're not a SPRAYER!!! then you should have no problem. A 20 0z tank fully loaded should last you all day if you don't spray.


Other than that its a good field. And, you get to see cows on the way there. (Don't get any ideas) Its a good field so I would recommend it if you dont like to be cooped indoors and just want some fresh air, but no too much so you can't hit others.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

bracer028 Sunday, January 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sport Park
Jungle Village
Mr. Paintball in Escondido
Review: Safety -
the safety here is adequate at best. With the typical goggles on the mask, there is nothing more safety precautions than that. The field forces you to chrono your gun twice. Once in the morning and another time after lunch. It is a good idea, but all you do is wait. (more on this later). They do not explain the rules adequately. No instructional video and no one to monitor it. People can just check the box and said they have watched the video and bypass that little obstacle.

Prices
It is about the same at many other places. $25 for entry and $10 for air fill. There is no unlimited Co2 fill so that is a problem. Compared to other places, it is more expensive. Hollywood sports gives free admission tickets if you buy balls in an off field pro shop. Even if you have to pay for admissions, it is only $15.

Rules
I haven't heard the rules once.

Refs
This place is UNDER STAFFED!!!!! I played on the intermediate field and there were 2 refs...TWO refs watching 400 FOUR HUNDRED players. Its impossible to watch the game. Many wipers, many cheaters. This place is horrible.

Besides the refs, you have to wait FOREVER for another game to start. This place is so under staffed that it calls a game every 30 minutes. Once you get into the field, the refs have to sort the players and that takes another 20 minutes before the game starts.

ALL I DID WAS WAIT!!! I PLAYED 5 GAMES THE WHOLE DAY.

Imagine if you missed a game. You have to wait an hour and 30 minutes before the next game starts.

I do not recommend going to this field

Players
the players cheat. Constant cheating. I shot one guy 5-10 times (he was hiding behind a tree, you can't miss him) and he just stayed on the field, ignoring the shots. The refs (not being there of course) couldn't see it and can't pull the player out.

I suggest going to Jungle or Hollywood Sports park before coming here. Honestly, i am never coming here again. Its just not worth it.

I only played about 5 games. One map called North Vietnam, is the most unbalanced map ever. One team has huts, bunkers, walls to hide behind. The other team hides behind bushes, shrubs, and mounts.

Another field has trenches. All people do is blind fire and even if hit, they would not come out of the game.

The only good thing i can say about this place is the speedball fields. People are honest, no waiting. The only reason for this is because its SPEEDball (therefore its fast), and players are ruled by an honor system. The spectators will help call out players who are shot. THe only problem is with children. They tend to cheat and even if shot, they will not come off the field. That's just immaturity on their part.

I give this place a 1 out of 10.
Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 9:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media