paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field

SC Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
192Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (562) 867-9013
Address: 8900 McCarty Road
Chino, California 91710
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
THE KESTREL Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JUNGLE ISLAND ,SPLAT FACTORY (JUNK SPEEDBALL FIELD) OLD TOMBSTONE (S.C VILLAGE CLONE)
Directions
to the Field:
60 FWY TO EUCLID TURN RIGHT TURN LEFT ON PINE TURN RIGHT ON HELLMAN FOLLOW TO SIGN ...OR FOLLOW ALL THE TRAFFIC @ 8 AM ON A SATURDAY MORNING
Review: S.C Village is mainly for the woodsballer or ex serviceman...yeah they have a few speedball fields which seem to be constantly filled with 15 to 16 yr olds but since im strictly senario i cant comment about the speedball fields because i have played em ...

S.C Village opens at 8am roll call is 8 45 this is when they go over the safety rules and i mean they go over it in detail ..then a nice touch at the end is the national anthem..not being american it strikes me as a classy act and it seems to pump most folk up ..ive even heard a few comments about bozo bush at the end ...

Fields ..12 total ...top 5 ..BOSNIA .KOSOVO A.KA TRENCHES .BAGHDAD..BERUIT...GERMANY
each one has its owner special feature from helicopters and pillboxes on BOSNIA to close quarter combat on baghdad to the house to house features of beruit...
30% of the fields at S.C dont have much shade so be prepared to sweat a few pound and stick up on soda and water and whatever your fav bevarage is ...winter time @ s.c brings into play fog mist and showers which make the fields a hole new ball game ..the only negative thing i have to say is this depending upon the size of the group you are in that day you probably are gonna only get to play 7-8 maps but you get each map twice after the first round the switch it up so you can learn by your mistakes ...

REFS...usually they are quite good but that depends on how many times they have to yell at folks that keep messing with there masks or the speedballers that try to ramp up ..The UBER-REF is a bloke called ROB if you are lucky enough to get him your 100% likely to have the time of your life .the guy knows his stuff out any question he is the guy to see also the younger guy called ALEX seems to know his stuff and keeps his group in check pretty much when i get ther i look to see whichj groups those two will be running and i try and tag along with them

..PRICES.... $25 admission $10 all day hpa ..pretty much the going rate enough said co2 charges are based upon your tank size...the airfill station is a newer model with 3000 and 4500 psi the co2 fill is behind the counter if you blow your o ring no stress just go to the airfill station and they will hook you up

RULES... morning roll call takes care of everything on the fields is the usual stuff masks on ..condoms ,plug on when your shot ,no dry firing in the parking lot...

PROSHOP.. paint $18 for 500 balls (usually big balls ) elbows $5 9v batteries $3.50...its ur usual stuff there

SERVICES hmm gun repair shack usually they will fix it for free major stuff $10 gun rental is usually custom 98 some new some are from the civil war ..my advice is when you rent get there a bit early and dont be scared to ask for a newer gun..

PLAYERS ..you will see a 8yr old with a spyder imagine to a 50yr old with a autococker out there ..pretty much every gun on the market is on display at S.C ..the groups are broken down from kids (8 to 14) beginner inter,advanced,,in beginner look for it to be 50 vs 50 sometimes compaired to advanced 10 vs 10 ,,,

FOOD roach coach cooking supreme and probably the coldest dr peppers you will find in so cali....soda;'s $1 burgers $3 ..stay away from the tamales otherwise you will have ass en fuego....

*************************************overall review*******************************************

If your a dad wanting to take you kid out for a fun dad of paintballing or if your like me ex-military that wants to tame the beast withing s.c is the place ..bring alot of fluid to keep yourself cool ,bring usually about 2000 balls because you will need em these fields scream for serious gun play and dont be surprized if you use 4 pods on bosnia ,

word to the wise you might wanna buy some bdu's if your a beginner there almost a must have at S.C with the various terrains ...

SEE YOU OUT THERE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

angelfire342 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
been to:
jungle island- about the same...has no easy acsses speed ball fields
splat factory- small..only four feilds..but air conditioned and cleaner
Others in area:
conquest pb park
asylem-planning to go there soon
hollywood sports
warped
Directions
to the Field:
kinda hard to find cause its in the middle of no where...
Review: Ok, first of all, if you can, bring an RV. Im serious.. it makes life MUCH BETTER.
secondly, sign up with tripple tapp paintball shop... (they have a blue tent up once a month, you will have to find the dates, but the program is called To much phun, or friendly fire. You pay $20 for food, drink, a raffle ticket, all day admission, and allday c02 (kinda sucks they dont do HPA), o and free gun techs. or you can get the full starter set for an extra $40 (rental,condum,hopper,mask,pod pack,co2(all day)


Ok so now ive gone over that...


saftey: Their safty rating is pretty good, they are super strict about barrel condums and masks and pretty much good with saftey. 9/10

staff: depending on who you sign up with, it may vary (talking about trip. tap. vs normal walk on) With trip. tap. the guys are pretty cool, just talk with sandy and hell fix ya up...so..9/10

Fields: Well being a speedball player, i would suggest just walking on to the speed ball fields, and joining a group over there (unless you brought your own group). its alot more fun, and its at your own pace. Then again, if your more of a re ball player, Thier recball feilds are, in my opinion, ok. If you go to any grassy feilds (n.korea gettesburg, etc) be carful of the stinging nettle.It is a VERRRRY mean plant that will definatly wake you up if you fall on it (as i did).
so:
Speedball fields= no nettle so i rate them a 9.5
rec ball, although not as nice as speed ball still rates an 8 in my book.


In conclusion, i say go to SC. its an ausome park, and you wont regret it (less you get completety lit up..) That is as long as you register with the right people

P.S. If you dont bring an RV, use the bathroom before you get there...seriously, the side o the road is betterr than thier bathrooms.


Gun setup.

2k1 angel lcd
4500psi penut tank
halo lcd hopper (backman)
an array of different sized barrels
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

r00 Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle in NorCal.
None in SoCal.
Directions
to the Field:
Take 60 East from LA), exit on Archibald and go south, go six miles and turn right on River Rd. Follow a couple bends and the SC Village sign is in front of you directing you to take a left followed by an immediate right. Go to the end of the road.
Review: I've been here twice this year, and I quite enjoyed my time. It seems that some of the more negative reviews are people that have been playing for five years.. What are you, 15?? As an older paintball player (late 20s), I try to get into the advanced games here at SC Village, when I can. The pluses of going into the advanced group are you have a bunch of older players who are truly into the game as having fun and not complaining about someone elses gun or wiping or what have you. There's a lot more respect among the players in the advance group, and a lot more teamwork. Good safety coverage, good checks for 285fps field limit, and decent rules. I don't like the no marker hit rule, especially when some people blind fire. I've never had to wait more than a couple minutes to get chrono'd, but it would help if there were separate stations where you could fire your gun. I've never had a wait for an HPA fill. The players I played with were professional, and knew what to do and how to communicate among strangers.

Suffice to say, on Sunday when I went it started out around 75-80 degrees, and hit 90 when I left around 1pm. Not to bad, and some of the games were in the shade. Changed from last time is a kids group. There is kids (for kids 11-15), beginners, intermediate, and advanced. A lot of the time it seems the advanced group gets paired down into the intermediate. When we went Sunday we happened to get paired into the intermediate group, but the teams were advanced vs intermediate, eight of us vs about 20-30 of them. Our ref was excellent. He was an older guy, name tag was Rob, and he knew the fields and did a decent job of paint checking when I felt I might have been hit.

The fields are good, and this time around I played on different ones.. So far I've done Bosnia, North Vietnam, Kosovo, Iraq, Beruit, and Gettysburg. They all have different tactics, and it makes playing there enjoyable. A brief description of fields that I've done so far.

Bosnia: one with the Hind helicopters and airplane fuselage. Open to the hot sun. Some decent barricades and netting, and some small hills. Largish map. Was awesome shooting around the helis and planes.

North Vietnam: NV village on one site with a tower (non enterable) and forest on the other. Middle area had thick grass around 5 feet high (which made for excellent cover). Fun and tactically hard map. Medium sized.

Kosovo: Small, open to the sun map! Trench warfare at it's finest. Middle of the map has some structures with minimal paintball protection.

Iraq: Small, open to sun map, with varied hilly terrain. A couple bunkers, but fairly open on one side, with short brush on the other.

Beruit: Urban firefighting. Excellent medium sized map. Again, open to the sun. Enterable buildings (with no roofs). Lots of different angles to play and practice good for team communication.

Gettysburg: Narrow, forested, medium sized map. No bunkers, just hills and branches and some short grass for cover. Tough map, you can almost hit people from the get go. Pretty dusty when I played.

All in all, a decent place to play. Sure, you have to drive past cow farms, but once you're there I didn't notice any smell. Parking is plentiful. Hint. Get there early and park near the store and airfill station! That's the best place to be and be able to get to the other games. I paid $10 for all day air for my 68/4500, and didn't have to fill it up again once. Probably better to get it filled somewhere else for cheaper if you have a largish HPA tank. Oh, and if you've been playing paintball for five plus years, go into the advanced group there and quit complaining.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nadz Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OCA !!!! and i guess jungle
Directions
to the Field:
&^^$*&@&@!%(&%&#@#* middle of ^*&#ing nowhere and then when you reach the poo smell go a little further then turn left and a non existant road that curves right and you there
Review: Well, parking ..... hot ..... air ....... far ........ speed ball fields ? can you say hyperball inc. there was one air ball field there that had not so good turf you could slide/stick to the ground. The staff were not all that helpfull, wait, they didnt even talk to me except, "can i see your wrist band?" I hade to walk about a MILE AND A MILLION to get to the other fields and the portor potties, it was pretty crazy haha. the refs didnt do anything not even a countdown, oh and i saw a guy with a tippmann 98 just thought id add that in for your amusement. overall ......... eh lets just say im not going back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintbrawler951 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island, Fields of Fire,
Directions
to the Field:
get off the 15 at second street head west turn right at river road, follow it, it will then turn left after the bridge follow road till u find the Ugly old Sc sign
Review: Ok, Sc village has been around for 25 years, it has gone through alot. Fire, flood, and just overall beating, it has its problems, but its still the best paintball around. I go there whenever i have a chance, the fields are nice, they were alot nicer before the flood where the towers were still up North nam didnt look like crap. However, if they closed the park to fix the place up, people would complain, so they leave it, as for the refs, theres a few good ones that actually care for there job but alot of them are just punk kids. Even the ones who do care you will see slack off because how would you like to deal with 1500 people with guns in 115 degree weather? As for the bathrooms, go before you come lol they suck and they arent planning on getting new ones till the end of the year. As for the food its ok, kinda over priced, but ok. As for safety, they are pretty strick on masks, people bag on there safety stuff but the worst injury i have see in the last 10 years was a broken ankle. There rentals are now 98 customs with a 3000psi 68ci tank. For 13 bucks its not bad they shoot fine, if u get a bad one take it to the rental place and they will replace it without any hassle. As for the management, they are really nice, they will help you with any of your problems.Chrono can be a hassle, get there early and take care of chornoing, also buy your own paint from the shops down the road its much cheaper. Air fill is alot better now they opened a new air fill next to the store much bigger now and faster. As for the players alot of them are nice, some can be A holes, but this is with any field you go too. Speed ball isnt too bad as long as the fields are dry. Theres an overall oder than sucks but you get used to it. Its kind of nice how its ran, you dont have refs giving you problems however not having a ref there to ref can suck but most of the players are pretty honest, if you wipe 15 other players are watching you and will probably kick your ass.theres 2 refs for the dirt fields that check your wristbands, there going to check you everytime, get used to it and dont give them crap, they will get back at you. The supervisor for the arenas can be kinda mean also dont get on his bad side.as for the turf field, well its getting old, it went through cal jam and a few other tourneys, they need a new one, i guess by the end of the year there will be 3 new public turf fields. Ok well ill give Sc a 9, it has its problems, but this is the best out there that i have seen, theres much worse out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

armyboy Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
camp pendelton
Directions
to the Field:
go down the long @ss road where you will find some cows, keep going till you find a sign that says sc village on it...proceed down the road and pass a swampy spot, and you will be there...
Review: Ok, they have a lot of fields now. I don't think that you can even do them all in one day. The food there is pretty good, fresh off the grill. They have speed ball there but the problem with that is there aren't any refs. So ppl can wipe easily. all the players are pretty friendly and their shop is pretty good. The staff is a little irritable @ times probably because of the heat. In the summer it gets really hot there. Their field paint is overpriced, so i recommend bringing your own paint. The bathrooms are not clean ppl, make sure you go b4 you get there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WRX_Rocky Saturday, July 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The old Conquest when it was in Malibu (I miss this place sooooo much!!!)
Jungle Island
Camp Pendelton
Fields of Fire
Directions
to the Field:
Drive way out there, then turn right when your nose starts burning from the ammonia smell in the air (cows, UGH!)
Review: I started playing paintball back when it first began, at a field in Indiana. Moved to Cal in 84, and had the best years of my life at the old Conquest Field when it was in Malibu. It was small, but the most fun! And being by the ocean, always a cool breeze. Plus, compared to the drive to SCV, Malibu was a dream!

I started playing at SC back when it was called Sat Cong Village (anyone also remember Sad Sack's Warzone nearby?? LOL). There were only about 4 - 6 fields there at the time. Some of the most fun games there, were the once a year BIG games, with about a 1000 per side (in the pump days), and is spanned across all the fields they had at that time. Imagine being used to games of 20 vs 20, and now you are in the VC village defending with 30 players, and you get attacked by over 100!!!!!! Found out the hard way you did NOT want to be up the in the tower they had back then. The last time I was there before I quit for some years, what when Beruit was just freshly built, and they even had a tank drive through it once in awhile.

Years later I return, and now there are a ton of new fields! Some were nice, others were horrible (hate Thailand field with a passion!). But one thing I noticed right away, is the lack of upkeep. That cool tank from the old days, is now just sitting on one of the fields, host to a nest of spiders and what not. The VC Village I defended years ago, is almost non existent. Beruit is run down, and other fields are getting just plain nasty now! Make sure NEVER to walk in, or fall in the water there!!!!! It is sewage from the cow pastures surrounding the area.

But yes, it still has the most fields around, and the most varied. But some of the other things folks mentioned negatively on here is also true. Long lines everywhere. Getting an air fill is a PITA. Trying to chrono is a lesson in frustration!!!! Specially if you have to futz with your marker to get it down (or up) to the field limit. Having to chrono, walk out of line to adjust, get in line to chrono again, walk back out of line, etc is ARGH!!!! And the over crowding is too much (unless you are lucky enough to get into a private game). And to wait the entire day to just get one game in on Kosovo, or Iraq (I like that one a lot) or Beruit, the better fields they have, is a tragedy!!!! Instead, you get a zillion games way out at Thailand (UGH!!!), or the other ones, but almost always just one game only on the good ones. Oh and almsot forgot - the looooong walks back to your car . . . .

Oh, and thinking back to the old days, they used the have towers you could go up in and snipe, or the hootches you could go into, but now , the tower is gone, and most of the buildings you are no longer allowed to enter. The place is just plain falling apart, and what a shame as I got to see it when it was great :(
Last edited on Saturday, July 29th, 2006 at 4:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gaspricesareup Monday, July 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 3rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There's a few i'm gonna try out soon
Directions
to the Field:
Go threw the middle of nowhere lol i dont know
Review: Okay, Let's start when I was brand NEW to paintball and I have done alot of reserce and I wanted to try this place. What a bad idea! They give you tippman carbines and a hopper that is being held together with a rubber band!!! Why would they give you that! So it was a okay gun but my dad's would shoot a ball every 3 shots. He asked for a new gun 3 times that really worked but all they had was scrap metal and plastic. The paint was breaking into his gun and paint started to get in his trigger it was terribal. The feilds are pretty good, there were bees everywhere on Iraq so that wasn't too good. One thing i noticed is that the refs are not very well at supivising other players. They have some great feilds tho.

Next is their paint they sell is OK, but the bathrooms.. looks like they need a safty inspector in there or somthing! i couldnt belive it. Well not the best way to start paintball but im going to jungle island next weekend see how they manage stuff. SO IF YOUR NEW TO PAINTBALL PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE! I give it a two for good feilds.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 3:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

procarbinerules Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JI-better in everyway
Review: so normally i play the arena area of SC village
but i decided to play a lil walk ons.
first off the refs were horrible
they didnt do anything but enforce masks
theres this little kid who had such a power trip.
chrono was a joke. u have to wait while other refs chrono u and dont even tell u wat ur shooting at. for all i know i could be at 210.
on the feild there were about 4 refs or more i couldnt see them all. they sat at the boundary lines and watched the game.
to test the ref who was right next to me i wiped a hit and even the group of people shouted WIPER and the ref didnt do anything
so i walked out and stood there next to him and a player called for a paintcheck and the ref didnt do anything so i said get in there and he hesitated and screamed and made his way over to the player stumbling
another major problem is they say u are going to play 2 games on a feild but u only have 15 minutes total which sucks because how can u end a game of at least 60 on 60 in 7 minutes.
because parking is far out from the feilds by the time i got back to my car i was called back over to the net with no time to wait in line to get air so i missed games.

overall i didnt like this place at all and i recommend goin to the arena if u like speedball.
although some of the walkon courses are kinda cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

element13 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 26th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: tthis field was way over crowded and the lines were sooo long. If i wanted a air fill i had to wait in 1 line then buy the ticket then wait in another to get it filled

was not a good experiance

the fields were good if u wanted to walk a long ways
and omg the rentals sucked soo bad mine was falling apart as i held it(i couldent ship my marker there in time to use it)
Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 7:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media