paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field / SC Village Paintball Field

SC Village Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
192Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (562) 867-9013
Address: 8900 McCarty Road
Chino, California 91710
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
kuSh_kiLLeRS Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA(simi)
Review: I visited this place on the hottest weekend of the year and still had a good time. If you are a scenario player this field is definetly for you. The speedball is also awesome, but you better have your act together or you will get bunkered all day. There are always downsides to each paintball park like the cheaters and complainers and like the rest this place has them. It did smell like #2 all day, but that flys out the window as soon as the first ball flys past ur face.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

geekyrocketguy Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone-A lot smaller than SC, and the prices are nearly the same. Their fields are less impressive (no helicopters, plywood villages, etc).
On the other hand, when I played a tourney at Tombstone, the reffs were pretty bad. I was pulled twice because of spatter and once with no hit whatsoever. My friend STEPPED ON A PAINTBALL and was eliminated. The same guy was shot by dead players on TWO OCCASIONS. I was shot by someone doing a dead man's walk. The reffs were oblivious to all this.

BUT, Tombstone seems to have somewhat better safety policies.

WAIT A SECOND, I'M WRITING A REVIEW OF SC VILLAGE, NOT TOMBSTONE!
Review: SC Village is the Disney Land of paintball parks. It is one of the oldest parks out there. They INVENTED speedball in 1989. I think it's name started as Sat Cong Village, but, due to the racial implications, it was shortened to SC Village to be politically correct.

SC has some really great woodsball fields, from Beirut (An entire village of plywood shacks to simulate "urban combat"), to Bosnia (covered in helicopters, jeeps, military tents, underground tunnels, trenches, and some other cool stuff), to Kuwait (trenches and a miniature speedball court in the center), to Taliban City (a field of bombed out buildings and buses and taxis), and a bazillion other fields.

SC also has a slew of speedball courts. The have at least 4 or 5 hyperball courts, plus "Legoland" and several turf fields with airball. Unfortunately, they rent out the turf fields to teams. I have NEVER been able to play airball at SC Village, because the fields are either empty or used by teams. 'Tis a shame.

SC Village is huge, so if you don't wanna walk over hill and dale, then don't go here. It's not that big of a deal.

The place gets wicked hot during the summer, with temperatures often over 100*. I recommend you check the weather report for Corona, CA before you go. Playing in 100* heat is no fun. The paint melts in the pods and everyone gets dehydrated.

Woodsball also gets VERY crowded around midday. Only play walkons when they first open in the morning and then in the afternoon, after people have started leaving. Playing with 150 people on one field isn't very fun. Or, you could play woodball in the morning, speedball in the middle, and more woodsball at the end of the day.

Access to the whole park is $25 on a normal day. Speedball is $10. There is no woodball-only price. A 20-oz CO2 fill is $6 and all-day HPA is $10. The prices are kind of steep, but the park is huge.

The bathrooms are the epoch of filth. Someone recommended that you bring along a chemical suit and a gas mask if you plan to use the bathrooms. On the speedball side of the park, they have a row of porta potties. Someone on this forum claims a kid was bitten on the genitals by a spider in one of the porta potties. I believe it.

The reffs chrono your gun on the woodsball side of the park. Sometimes they just shoot half your hopper at targets before they chrono, which is really annoying. The lines at the chrono station become pretty big at times. The reffs at the chrono station give you a little tag to put on your gun to show that it is safe. Of course, anyone could go and turn up the velocity of their gun after getting chronoed... For the most part, the referees on the woodsball side are pretty good. They pay attention to what is going on, are funny, kick people out who take off their masks, and sometimes add their own rules to the game.

For speedball, on the other hand, no chrono is required. Most people just walk onto the fields without chronoing. I would be willing to bet that more than half the people playing speedball have hot guns. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. Further, there are never referees checking velocities on the field for speedball. On a number of occasions I have gotten bleeding welts, sometimes from people as far as 150 feet away. Tell me this is not a hot gun. SC Village really needs to do something about the hot guns. Also, there are RARELY referees on the speedball side, and they just sit around. They never actually referee games. We have to self-referee. People frequently wipe paint.

There is almost continual dry firing in the speedball parking lot. Sometimes people shoot paint in the parking lot. On the woodsball side, they'll kick you out of the park if you dry fire in the lot. On the speedball side, on the other hand, they don't care.

IN CONCLUSION, SC Village has great terrains, but really needs to address its safety issues and bathrooms.
Last edited on Monday, August 29th, 2005 at 6:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DANTE A-5 Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendalton (best)
Hollywood Sports Paintball
Tombstone
Review: SC village is the most popular place with the greatest fileds and definialy the most popular place to play. The park itself is HUGE. There are atleast 15 fields then the airball speedball fields. There are about 900 to 1,000 people there on average. The ref's are okay, some refs wouldn't do any paintchecks and some were really nice. The prices aren't too good. 10 $ for all day air and then 25 $ for admission. we played Advanced and intermidate walk-on, the players played fair for the most part. sometimes the refs would call me out and after the game I wouldn't have a splat. its really annoying. The only downfall is that they only give u 5 minutes inbetween games and since the lay out is huge, it's tiring to run around the 145 acre field with gear and such. The chrono range isn't too great, they schrono your gun, so the line is 15 minutes and they sometimes use too mch paint. when they chrono my Angel, sometimes they use 100 rounds and say it shoots nice then when I ask for it they say they havn't even chrono'd yet. so they waste your paint and test your gun... The lockers aren't too great, the bathrooms are so bad, you mind aswell take a dump on the street, because it would be much better. overall I thought the field was fun, not the cleanest nor the cheapest but it's a fun place to go to for Beginers to Pros...

I give SC a 7.4 outta 10.
Last edited on Monday, August 15th, 2005 at 4:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

element4lity Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone - better in customer service and cleanliness, but less speedball and rec ball firelds
Review: I usually go to Tombstone, which is near Sc Village, but i went with my friends to play at SC Village to practice for a tourney.

Pros: Lots of Speedball and Recball fields
10 dollars only just to play speedball

Cons: Horrible bathrooms
Horrible customer service
VERY long lines
Slow chrono
Expensive pro shop
Bad refs - they dont do paint checks and never chronoed on the field, even though there were 5 refs nearby and 1 could have easily done it
Not very clean
Ticket price higher than Tombstone

Overall, I thought this park was not very good. The only good part was that they had many fields, but everything else was not very good. I would definitely recommend going to Tombstone instead, and its only about 5 - 10 minutes away. Tombstone is cheaper as well, and has several pro shops near it. I give SC Village a 4 out of 10.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer279 Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private Fields In Mountains
Review: This field is the first public field i have ever played at since I play at private fields in mountains so i didn't know what to expect. I dont know much but I will say thier fields and refs are great. Rarely I would see people crank up their fps and the refs not do anything about it... but i didn't really care. I give them (SC Village) 2 thumbs up and a 10 rating just because this was the first public field I played at and thought they did a good job.
Last edited on Monday, August 29th, 2005 at 4:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gamble Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone Paintball, Field of fire, Hollywood Sports, Jungle island.
Review: Well by far in all of the paintball fields that I myself have played on this field has to be the best! I Have been going to Sc village since i first started to play paintball. Its a perfect field for beginners to even the advanced skilled players. They have different classes for different players and thats a good thing because noone likes to feel like they dont belong and sc village has a good way of preventing that from happening. The only complaint I would have about the field is some of the refs that are working there are so caught up in their own conversations that they pay no attention to the people there or sometimes even to the game but that has only happened once so Im not going to say they cant call a game but that should be something that isnt happening at all. Well Over all this field is the closest thing to perfect. I go play there every other weekend and Im still going on with the tradition! Go sc Village!! - Richard
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spudboy Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island, Tombstone, Adrenaline Games
Review: I have played at many fields for many years and usually have a good experience. However, when my sons, their friends and I went to SC Village for the one and only time (I will never return) it was an absolute joke. It was totally over crowded and out of control. The refs had no control nor did they care. Many cheaters since they could get away with it. We spent more time walking to and getting ready for games since there was such a crowd and the refs had no control than it was worth. I wrote a long and very positive letter to the owner with some suggestions and didn't even get a "we don't care" response...(which I take as a 'we don't care') It was entirely a waste of my time and money and I will continue to bash and tell as many people as I can NOT to waste time and money on SC Village. Tombstone is right next door and they DO care and treat their customers with respect. DON'T GO TO SC VILLAGE, GO TO TOMBSTONE OR JUNGLE ISLAND OR ANYWHERE ELSE.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bac0n Saturday, June 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village is by far the best field I have played at in CA. Tombstone is a great park but isn't as big as SC, nor is hollywood sports. Also, unlike hollywood sports, SC village lets you bring your own paint, which is great because field paint is expensive. SC has lots of speedball arenas which is great because I love speedball.
Review: SC Village is found in the heart of Corona, which is kind of bad because once you get out of your car, you'll be embrace with the sweet smell of cows. However, you'll get use to the smell and eventually wont smell anything after 15 min you're there. SC Villages scenario games are great, they have over 15 maps to choose from. I mainly stick to the speedball area since i'm more of a speedball guy. SC has plenty of hyperball maps which is great, however, they only have a few turf feilds, and most of the time people hogs them. I say they should get more turf fields cauyse turf fields rock. Over all, SC Village is a great paintball park because of their fileds and price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ocfighter Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
the yard
Review: this field has great speedball fields, i say this because allot of pros are there every weekend, like dynasty, ironmen, legacy, xsv, aftermath, bushwackers, and many others that i haven't seen yet. its really interesting to talk to them and get pro in-site at the events like huntington beach (best tourney in California by far). the only draw back to the forest ball is that sometimes the fields flood over because there's a river running right through most of them. another drawback is that it 65 acres so everything is so spread out, by the end of the day when your walk-in back for air, it feels like you walked miles.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

timid1 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: I've never been to any other paintball fields, so I don't have anything to compare against. The refs are professional in most cases; I've even played with and against some of the refs (who just so happened to not be scheduled to work that day).

The biggest problem I have with this field is the amenities. The buildings look dilapidated, and the restrooms are downright horrible. The restrooms have grafitti and have urine all over the place. Really, I've never had to use the restroom that bad. Save it until you get home. Oh, and the problem with the cows is just the nature of the city of Corona; I don't mind it one bit.

I rate this a 9 because the amenities suck.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media