paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Crusader Paintball Field / Crusader Paintball Field / Crusader Paintball Field / Crusader Paintball Field

Crusader Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 215-949-4600
Address: 225 Lincoln Highway
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania 19030
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
the_concept Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pocoloco - bad experience.
Review: This is a great place to play. The staff makes the place a great field to go to. They were nice and the prices were fair. It is a good location too and when they are finished getting the whole place setup how they want I can see them raking in the money. They well deserve it because the one guy I talked to who was a ref/owner works very hard there. He also let other peopel shoot his angel in game. The fields are close together and you don't have to walk 7 miles to get to another field. One of my friends busted his knee and had to go to the hospital and they gave him 4 passes to come back for free. They used decent paint at decent prices. Highly recommend this field to anybody in the Philly area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stealthdoughnut Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco - Had a bad experience, this is better
woods fields we've made
Review: Triage is a work in progress, but it's progressing nicely.

Pros:
Kind, friendly staff. Really.
Plenty of games for your money
Relaxed atmosphere
Decent prices- field paint is about what you'd find at a store
Good pro shop
Little down-time - 5 minutes between games on more than one occasion
Close to suburbia, where fields are few and far between
Good fields, especially the tarp field
Smooth running


Cons:
Small castle, if you could call it that
Small fields

This is about 5 mins from my house, so that benifit alone outweighs all the cons. It's still new, so I can see it gaining a lot more paintballers from the philly region as time goes on. Likewise, everything's improving over time, including bigger and better fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deMigod Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none, just the fields my friends and I have made
Review: -Great fields in my opinion
-The realy takes big steps to inusre saftey
-Great fair refs
-Nice Pro-Shop

-A little on the expensive side

Overall Triage is a great place to play paint, they realy do a good job organizing the games and making them fun to play.

The always provide guns for people who don't have one, its always fun to bring your dad and shoot the hell out of him (hehe)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

diklincoln Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fireball Mountain
Review: I do not have a lot of paintball experience, but from the little that I have, this seems to be a well run, fun work in progress. It is a pretty local field to most of us that like to go--very big benefit--and very fair when it comes to cost.

The biggest asset that I think they have going for them is the attitude of the employees. Overall, everyone was very helpful and nice--this is something that I had not experienced prior. We were with a big group and a lot of the people with us play all over the place. When we were finished, they had said the place was much more fun than skirmish, top gun, etc--largely due to the staff. The refs were active in making it a fun day and following the rules. You can tell that they are there because they love the sport. They did chrono everyone with their own equipment which was nice---last place we played didn't and people were shooting way too hard. They did allow us to change the rules a little to something more suitable for our group(body shots only = kills). All in all, they were very helpful!

The wait time in between games was also kept to a minimum. I think we played something like 15 games by 3pm. This was pretty good for us. The rental equipment was also in pretty good shape and ready for us when we got there! This made it very easy to get our group out. There was one problem with a rental gun, but it was taken care of immediately. Also, paint was pretty good. I did not have to squeegee once--and I was not the only one! At FB mountain I broke every 5th paintball.

The fields were all a lot of fun. I thought the bunkers and sand bags were set up well and offered a fair amount of strategy. The only field I really didn't like was crates, but I hate that anywhere so I am a little biased. There were about 8-9 fields (they said) when we played (only got to see 5 of them--I think they said something about bees?) and I was told there were another 3 or so being cleared. They even spoke of an indoor field.

All in all, this was a great place to go! I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lamby Saturday, August 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco - No comparison, Triage is MUCH better.
Jack Frost- Better Selection of fields, but Triage has better staff, prices, and lets you play more games.
Review: Having been a paintball player from the days when having a gun with auto-trigger was a big deal, Constant Air was a new thing, and paintball was oil based and cost 3 bucks a tube, it was absolutely refreshing to find a field that still holds true to the reasons for which paintball began: fun and excitement.
The place is relatively easy to find if you know where you are going, but as a suggestion, a sign outside the driveway would help for people who are unfamiliar with the area. When you get in, they have a fully stocked pro-shop, which is a refreshing change from other local places that run games out of the back of a trailer. The equipment is issued in the shop, and you are then bussed (2 minutes max) to the fields.
The prices: ahhh this is where the greatness of Triage starts. A measly 10 bucks is the field fee if you own your own equipment, and this gets you field use and free co2 for the day. If you need to rent, Triage uses Tippmann 98's which are exceptionally maintained (the field is relatively new though, but nonetheless they were in great condition.) One of our renter's gun started leaking during one game, and they had a new one out to him immediately, which is a testament to the quality of the staff. The paint we got was Storm (I think)... I had never heard of it (but then again, I'm not in touch with all of this new-fangled paintball gear), but it was good quality, ball breakage was kept to a minimum. The best part is that it's hardly marked up at all, it was $60 for a case of quality paint; unheard of at a commercial field. Excellent.
While I'm talking about staff, I'm generally a critic of the modern paintball player. A great thing about Triage's staff is that they are down to earth; most fields employ self-professed "professional" players who strut around with their $1500 rainbow guns and talk your ear off about how much better they are than you because you use a stock gun. Not here. Every staff member we spoke with had a great attitude, and truly seemed to enjoy being on the field, which made our experience that much better. A few staff members even played with our group (after asking permission; another thing we weren't used to) and congratulated the people who shot them out. Wow is all I can say, it made me consider going back to paintball after switching to Airsoft. Our main ref for the day was Dan, he did a phenominal job, always did paint checks when we asked for them. The Triage refs were so good at this, that they would even get on their radios to call for paintchecks across the field by other refs. We generally had 3 refs on the field for each game, which was nice (most places give you 2).
The fields are excellent, very milsim in nature with sandbags, foxholes, and structures. The attack and defend field is probably the best I've ever played, and it seems like a great deal of time went into field design and construction, because they all flow very well. More fields were being constructed while we were playing, so it will interesting to see what they do with them.
All in all, if you want to play at a great field, go to Triage. You will have FUN. The staff are great, the prices are the best I've seen, and the fields get even this often critical paintball player excited. You won't regret going to Triage. I'm giving it a 10 with just a suggestion that the refs get the players started a bit more quickly in the beginning of the day; but overall, it's arguably the best commercial field I've played.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xbob Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish-the most widely known fields in the poconos. Awful paint at awful prices, but maybe worth it for the fields.
Review: Compared to many other fields in northern PA, this one is obviously new and lacks the years of experience necessary to run a completely smooth show. However, it is very close to Philadelphia and its surrounding suburbs which allows for many people to play much more than if they had to go to the Poconos with 100 dollars ready.

The rental equipment was fairly basic of course but it held its own with my friends who used it. The prices were far cheaper than at skirmish but that doesn't always say too much. I was very impressed with the quality of paint, its not every day at paintball that a 200 dollar spider can fire 500 shots without one breaking.

The refs were ok. Some, at the pro shop for instance, were extremely helpful and professional. Others were just teenagers who kept everyone wearing their masks and joined in a few games, but they seemed to follow the laid back atmosphere of the entire place, which resulted from Triage's most serious detractor....

There were simply not enough people there. At 10 A.M. on a Saturday in the summer, the field should have drawn plenty of Philadelphia area players, but it seems that everyone is still willing to drive up to the Poconos. I realize the field is new, but they need to have some serious advertising attempts. They might try putting up a sign, only when i saw the green bus with a triage sign on it driving through the parking lot did i realize that i had already driven past it.

Finally, they have a solid foundation for fields, though most of them are bunker/structure fields. A couple wood fields would be a nice compliment to the smaller bunker fields that they already have, but they will probably come once people start filling up the rest of the fields. The castle really is too small to be called a castle, but the trenches/brush surrounding it along with numerous sandbag bunkers with windows offer a great deal of strategy to the attackers, which make it much more fun than attack/defend at skirmish's castle. Also, most of the underbrush is uncleared, and although a lot of its thorn, it really adds a great deal of camo which can help in ambushing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SlackerZsharp Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Picasso Lake: comparable to Triage (but very sandy)
Skirmish: In another League than Triage
Review: Updated Review (original review at bottom)
Team combat (formerly Triage) has taken a step in the wrong direction. The refs, the fields, the equipment are sub par, however it is very inexpensive: $25.00 to play, free air/CO2, and bring your own paint. There was no CO2 available at the fields so everyone had to trade in their tanks and used compressed air, a fine solution if the air compressor didn't stop working. Also, the tanks they loaned for the compressed air looked like ordinary CO2 tanks that shouldn't be rated for the higher pressures of compressed air. The staff could not address simple gun problems and maintenance usually resulting with the players borrowing tools and parts from each other to solve their problems. After starting an hour late (which involved the paintball field bus needing a push start and solving the CO2 dilemma) we played for about 5 hours but only used 4 fields, Throughout the day many of the players (lots of A5 users) would run out of a air towards the end of each and every round. If they were in luck and the compressor was working they might have the tank partly filled.
A quick positive note I think they let us play later because of the late start. I also didn't have to contend with the Team Combat staff member named Colt, his attitude of superiority had always been annoying, but he was also the most mature and knowledgeable staff member I have delt with... aside from the men I believe were the pb field owners.


Triage's best selling point is its location, 5 minutes from my house, turnpike 276, or interstate 95. The field judges were very involved and the pro shop has everything a newbie would need to get started. For more firepower a Fireball mountain paintball store is 2minutes down the road and stocks many of the higher priced markers. The fields I played on (June 03) are all fairly small... almost speedball fields. The tent city/tarp city is very enjoyable, and the D-Day field with the mock troop transport boats is a clever idea and well executed. Their rental masks are the nicest I've seen (they still look new) and their Tippman 98 rental worked well for my friend. I'd also like to add Triage is pretty cheap if you bring your own gun.
My first big complaint is that all the fields are fairly small and your first encounter with an opponent is usually within 5-10 seconds of the round's start. The other drawback are the structures. The fort/castle is rather small and doesn't have the same panache as similar structures at skirmish. The oil drum shields need to be welded together or weighted down. I'd also like to see some sort of drainage system for the trenches and fox holes (but I have that complaint about everyone's pb fields). I've been told they have many more fields in development and lots of military surplus vehicles on the way so there is a good chance my complaints will be rectified soon.
Last edited on Sunday, May 28th, 2006 at 5:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gshopper Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
On Target -- great, especially BYOP
Poco Loco - good fields, good refs, mediocre paint, expensive
Global -- okay fields, geared towards speedball
Cobra Command - good group of people play there, but WAY too much brush for decent play.
Skirmish -- good fields, but not worth the drive and the wait
Review: New fields in town. Extremely close to most Philadelphia residents, close to the Turnpike (just 5 - 10 min from the intersection of Rt. 1 and the turnpike). Fields are located in a wooded area behind a large trucking warehouse and parking lot. register in the office in front, then take a bus across the parking lot to the fields.

Prices are reasonable, especially for a place this close. full day field pass is $25, CO2 pass is 10/day, free with rental equipment ($15/ day). half day prices are also available. I've been there twice. Paint was Team Colors once (old, horribly dimpled), then next time it was Severe paint. (fairly fresh). $60/ case, $15/ 500.

Rental equipment is Tippman 98's and V-force Armor masks. 100 rental markers, so they can support large groups.

Fields are good and pretty varied. Most have a military theme. Storage depot (with lots of 55-gallon drums), D-Day (with large "landing craft" to start from and use for cover), an interesting field, using tarps stretched between trees for cover. some woods fields, with berms and piles of sandbags for cover. The obligatory castle on the hill, except the castle is way too easy to defend. the attackers usually get oblitterated. I guess some people like to play this way.

The refs are great. very professional, yet also nice guys. always a good ratio of refs to players.

The fields are well thought out (except the castle), with good use of natural and man-made cover. The owners have worked very hard on making the fields diverse, evenly matched, and appropriately challenging.

Triage is definitely a work in progress. There are plans to build and open more fields, including speedball and sup-air. When this is done, it will make a good place great. There are a few bugs still. The paint was old and dimpled the first time I was there. They are trying out new suppliers and new types of paint. Eventually this should not be a problem, but it may take a few tries to find a steady supply of fresh, quality paint.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

UnTaroAdun Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Well I have'nt been to any other fields yet, but I will be soon. This place is great though it has everything from capture the castle to just all out brawls. I give it a 8 just cause it's a little small thats it everything else rocks. It's so close to my house and whats really cool is you ride in a military bus from the front office to the back where the field is at. They also have tailer's before the field starts where they have chronographs and food and air refills. plus there are these things called "Safe Zones" where there is like a net that surrounds you where you can put your stuff (thats where you go when your get out) im not sure how many fields there are i got there at the last minute so i only played like 3 games, but it was really fun. as far as the fact that you have to use their balls there price is really good considering the fact that most places charge 100 per case but this places prices are 15 for 500/ 30 for 1000/ 60 for 2000/ thats pretty good for me. although you need entry fee which is only for a full day $10 and half a day is $5. There site is not up yet but maybe by time you read this is will be it's WWW.TriagePaintball.com if your in the area you should check it out. everyone there is really nice and the fields are pretty cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media