paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Coastal Paintball Field / Coastal Paintball Field / Coastal Paintball Field / Coastal Paintball Field

Coastal Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
15Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: 2586 Wilmington Highway
Jacksonville, North Carolina 28540
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
paintballkid55 Sunday, November 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Real McCoys- Smells due to dogs, but close to raleigh
Southwest Paintball-Best, but far from raleigh, small woods
Sportsmans, horrible speedball course, decent woods
Coastal, horrible speedball course, few other courses
GZ Paintball, good speedball
Directions
to the Field:
Camp Lejune
Review: Coastal Paintball is way way over priced, they only let you buy their paint, I will talk about that under paint, Staff is nothing more than people from their team that all talk junk about walk ons. Proshop is more like little hot shed. food and bathroom is a joke.

PAINT-- The last time I was there they were charging $75 dollars for CHEAP PAINT, which is kept in a HOT SHED aka the shop, which were getting jamed in my gun since they were like play dough, so I had to sit my box of paint my car to cool down.

SPEED BALL-- I mean what speed ball, everytime I went here it was a waste of my time, the team would not blow up the speed ball bunkers unless the field owner was there which was once in a blew moon, and if you said anything about the paint or bunkers to her she would talk down to you, even to kids.

I would not recomend this field, to anyone.

Sportsmans lodge is fun to play in the woods but I would not recomend for speed ballers.

Southwest Paintball has the best speed ball any where around jacksonville and now has a MOUNT / Urban combat which is the best scenerio game play around.

Overall go anywhere else but here. For speed ballers check out southwest paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blackjack21 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Milty's
Nature of the Game
Review: I reserved the field a few weeks ago for a platoon function, and haven't missed a day of play since. The staff is extremely helpful in every regard, and the fields are great. The field on base has an airball field, a recball field, a woodsball and a 'trench warfare' area. Everything is kept safe, and prices are extremely reasonable. For a newer player looking to get better, I highly recommend this field. It's like they really understand the concept of having fun with it and helping everyone out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOOCH7373 Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Milty's (closed unfortunately)
Sportsmans Lodge
Nature of the Game
Review: The field set up is nice but talking to the ref who plays there regularly he said they probably wouldn't be changing it any time soon because they set it up in a way they like it finally. I personally dont mind the field being the same for a little while but i like it when they change it up so people just dont own every time they play. The ref was friendly and helpful along with his buddy who also refs there and was playing with us. the owner bambi sold my friend a bad case of paint and only replaced one bag instead of the whole case when he had only opened one of the bags. I got a case of paint and they checked the paint to make sure it was good for me and swapped one of the bags but the paint was a different size so when it got dumped into my loader during a game istarted breaking every shot. After the game i found out that the paint didn't even come close to fitting in the biggest barrel insert for my freak system. Over all the field was nice even though they had to keep inflatting bunkers every few games but the owner is someone i would not like to deal with again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steeev Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dunno, im a VA local
Directions
to the Field:
From VA, I didn't (but you should) take US-17 thru N.C to Jacksonville. Once there, I guess you just find the base. Wasnt really paying attention on the ride from the Hotel to the field (even though I drove)
Review: I recently played in a ACTS tournament at this field, that was my purpose of being there.

*First Arrival*
Easy enough to locate the fields, and air/fill station. Shop was also nearby, but alittle farther away from the fields then what im used to. (not complaining, just alittle annoying when you have a few minutes between each game)

We were told to repark our cars, when they pointed out that we had parked over some invisible line, which was for our cars (and ourselves) safety. Not a problem, in fact, im glad they did, even though they were prime parking spots. However....not 30 minutes later, when more people arrived, those spots were refilled with others arriving to the tournament, and they were NOT asked to move. So...we lost prime parking, oh well, right? Just a tiny staff flaw/mistake is all, nothing too major.

*Day Play*

Bunkers were inflated rather quickly, and the overall field set up was not entirely bad at all. Players all chrono'd before hand, which was nice, but not monitored. (For the record, players were chrono'd at random coming on and off the field. Alittle different then the everyone chrono'd on/off scheme Ive seen before, but, still effective I suppose.)

The refs at this tournament consisted of staff members and the Coastal paintball team. Not too sure how many came from each group, but I do know that the refs positions were well taken care of. Bad calls happened, but hey, if you've ever reffed, you know that you can't always please everyone.

Dry firing wasn't allowed in the staging area, which is alittle different to what im used to here at home, but I can understand the reasoning, it definately keeps things safer.

Other then those things, game play was about the same as any other field. Teams were called when it was their turn. Decent game turn-around times. Fills were up in the 4k's, and food/drinks were available at all times.

Staff was friendly, but sometimes you could see it was forced. This goes as no suprise, since it happens everywhere, but you could tell that some people were givin more leeway then others. Its no problem, but its kinda a pain when you see someone else givin access to something you were just denied to.

Overall, this place seems like a great place to spend your day paintballin. I spend the day there however, and didn't see a woodsball field. I think they have one, or at least I would assume they do, since there are alot of woodsballers out there, and it would be crazy not to have a woods field. If your not sure yourself, please check someone elses review for that, cause I unfortunately cant report on that. Sry


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

freeflow28540 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Miltys Paintball #1
Nature Of The Game
Review: I had started playing at this field many many years ago. The owner Bambi was o.k., but then I saw her evil streak. If you went to play somewhere else, she was highly offended. From that point on you were black-balled and she didn't want you at her field any more. I guess she thought she had the best field,and you didn't need to go anywhere else. Well ,she is highly mistaken. I have been playing at Milty's on hwy. 258,and i'm here to tell you it is an great place. The Techs at Mily's are very knowledgable and know a lot about the sport and the markers that the players use. The players at this field I have had the Honor to play with are in my opinion an excellent group of individuals. Since i've been there I haven't seen anyone mistreated. I have heard stories about players and customers being ripped off and taken advantage of, and to this day I haven't seen anyone treated that way. I should be a good judge of character since i'm out there every weekend, and been in this sport for over 14 years. I have had teams tell me Bambi changes rules in her ACTS tourneys and shows favoritism to some teams. The reffing or so called it in my opinion is very sub par considering the refs are supposed to be certified refs. The fields look rough and the few times I went by to look ,safety must not be a big concern. While I was standing talking to a friend of mine beside one of the fields the net blew up above our heads and we were wide open to get shot. They need to find a way to secure that net before someone gets hurt,luckily my friend and I moved away . The field on base has had some tourneys,and Bambi's selective on who plays in these. I myself tried to enter on one of these but she wouldn't allow us to.Considering I had 4 active duty Marines to play with I couldn't understand why. I thought the field was put there for the enjoyment of military personnel but maybe i'm wrong. The store on the base field is really small and has high prices. Again I thought is was on base to be reasonable priced for military personnel. But ,I just want to put out some facts about fields in the area,I haven't had the opportunity to play at Nature Of The Game yet but I look forward to it. Play SAFE and have loads of Fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ryan s Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tri-county
real mccoys pb
nature of the game
Review: I went to this feild 2 times so far and both times sucked, the first time was for rec ball and the second was for one of the acts tournys. You have to walk about a 5 minute walk to get air on a normal day and then lets hope theres not a line there ,the pro shop is tiny and it suks. the owner is a a.s.s.h.o.l.e and if u r talking to her she will just walk away from you and she makes the lamest rules for her tournaments and then she doesnt even go by them,she said no staining paint and then she sells voodoo at the next event, the feilds are strait s.h.i.t for her rookie division and her refs r awful u can wipe a hit right in front of them.goin into the finals my team was in 2nd and she put the standings up as if we were in 5th so all of the players had to fix that. but 1 thing they had nice was at the acts tournys she does have a nice air system to filll ur tanks but that is it seriously.and her prices are rediculous , she wants 80 for a case of chronic and 20 to play.this was the worst feild i have ever played on and its a wast of time and $$$, if u want a better experience just play greg hastings.seriously

Bad Natured 4 Eva
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

blu82 Monday, October 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the Jacksonville area other than Coastal PB. Played at all the ACTS fields in MD, NC, VA and SC since 2002.
Review: Best field setup I've seen. Two diff locations - one at Camp Lejeune and one on Hwy 17 on the way to Wilmington. Excellent airball fields, woods, fields with foxholes, spool fields, etc. Building up the Camp Lejeune field for the Battle of Bastogne scenario produced by Millenium Paintball Productions (www.mppgames.com) in Nov 5-7.
Events held here are always a pleasure to attend. Loads of fun for family too. The staff and refs are friendly and courteous. The refs takes time explaining safety regs especially to new players and parents. The staging areas have tents to provide shade, food and drinks always available, and so are clean restrooms. The stores have most all paintball gear you can think of, and if not, will gladly order for you. Hours are from 1000-1600 Sat-Sun. You can call to reserve weekdays for groups and group pricing available. Great place to have unit training or team-building events for business owners. I especially appreciate the charity fund-raising events that support the military, DAV and USO. MCCS does a great job supporting paintball at Camp Lejeune. The skeet range shares their building with the paintball office. Mike, the skeet range manager, is very helpful and hospitable when you show the skeet range customers the same consideration you would expect. The Camp Lejeune main gate MPs will direct you to the fields after you apply for a day pass. It's a straight shot in from the main gate. Just turn right at the signs for the Skeet Range/Paintball field. If you go about a 1/2 mile more, you'll see the Burger King, gas stations, convenience store, PX/Commissary, ATMs, Domino's and Subway all just minutes away. Very convenient for everyone. The Hwy 17 field has Food Lion, ATMs, pizza places, convenience stores and gas stations within 1 mile. Coastal PB USA overall rated outstanding.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sbc785 Friday, September 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none...went here on vacation
Review: Well...i went down to Coastal Paintball the day i got to Topsail Island for vacation. I was a little tired from the 9 hour drive that i had to endure from Northeastern Pennsylvania (not a long drive, but it was nite time). At this time, Bambi (the owner) was not there but i got to meet her ref's and other employee's. Let me just say that everyone there was soo nice and very helpful. Her proshop is a bit on the small side but it's stocked with everything that anyone could need for their guns. They have everything from Halo B's to Angel's. They also have a wide selection for Spyder and Pirhana owners also. But that was just her proshop...her field was also very good. From just the looks, it looks like your average spool field for speedball, but the layout on it was very well organized. I also liked they're woodsball course even tho it was so hot (97* + humidity). Coastal also has a field at the army base but it's very hard to get into it because u need a few types of I.D. and proof of insurance. But to anyone who can provide these, i hear that there is an EXCELLENT speed ball field there. And before i forget...lemme just say that i went to Coastal Paintball the last day i was there and Bambi was there...she is one of the NICEST people i have ever met....Bambi, if you're reading this....i just wanna say hello and thank you for all the help that i got.
Last edited on Friday, September 10th, 2004 at 3:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sprayandpray Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
milty's paintball havn't played on field good store layout but bad location.
Review: Good field's one on base (Camp lejeune) is very nice with an airball field and a terrific woods filed with fighting holes already dug and nice forts also has good fields at main store location with 2 speedball fields and a variety of woods fields to choose from - has a new staff and newly rostered teams.Good atmosphere and environment, with emphasis on safety first and a good time.The staff put effort into keeping the action going and try to cater to all players.They have a nice store with everything you need to play whether you are a first timer or an experienced tourney player. Though the tournament players may want to play on the base field for airball and tournament atmosphere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

usmcpaintball Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have been playing at CP since it opened 14 years ago. The staff has always been nice no matter what (unlike other fields) I love the sport I have played all over the country and staff wise CP is the best. They have certified referee's. They have snacks, drinks and a great big store and if it is not in the store they will order it for you. They also have a field on base you do not have to be military to play all you have to do is get a pass. The owner is a VERY nice lady. If you give her respect she will give you respect!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media