paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Christiansburg, Virginia 24073
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
splatdrew49006 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I used the pbreview "distance to the field calculator" and it said as the crow flies I'm 451.9 miles away. WOW!!

I had the opportunity to spend a full day at Wolf's Ridge with my brother and let me tell you...there is NOTHING...absolutely NOTHING like a well run, hospitibale, affordable and SAFE day of REC BALL!!!!!!!

Great field with hopper-loads of playablility and potential to expand.

After I engaged the 4-wheel drive to park! (Virginia Mud..ugh) We were warmly greeted by Carl the owner and given probably one of the most thorough safety-briefings. If you can't play safe...don't play here.....everyone leaves with all important body parts! Yipee!

I ref in Michigan and was impressed at how organized the games were. however there is a slight amount of downtime to catch your breath and reload...you will be doing some running out at the ridge!

elimination, centerflag, capture the flag..all the classics are here....

I even had the opportunity to ref for the latter part of the afternoon and some great paintball was had. (I think I gave away 1000 rounds of DraXXus Comp edge for the flag hanger in a game...aww well...it's just paint). Also ...very nicely groomed...not alot of rocks and debris...so go ahead and slide into those bunkers....!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here the game is what you bring with you...honor, skill and attitude....

I remember why I got hooked on paintball in the first place years ago this weekened........it's just way to addictive and fun.

two enthusiastic thumbs up ...a well-run field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5Driver Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Overall, I was very impressed with this field. I had alot of fun. I have been playing paintball for a long time, and I have never been in a more professional, yet highly enjoyable environment when I have played. Carl, the owner, runs this field flawlessly, dividing his time between the shop/check-in and referreeing all the games. The price cant be beat either. Only a $10 field fee is mandatory. Everything else you can bring. He has ample supply of paint and air if you need to buy...as well as an arsenal of rentals. All guns ar chronoed before EACH game, which keeps everything fair.

All in all, this is the best field i have ever been to. It doesn't matter if you are a seasoned veteran or a first time newbie, at Wolf's Ridge, you will not be dissapointed.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

action_30 Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I am a field owner in Michigan & was in town on vacation. I had a great time at Wolfs Ridge! The prices are very reasonable & the field is great. I'm a woodsball/recball player from way back & this field is well suited for people like me. It is also very nice to see a field that is so safety concious. My hat is off to Carl, the owner, as he runs a very tight ship. I would recommend this field to any player of any skill level. Try it out. You will be in for a treat!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballz66 Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity - Salem
Review: Wolf's Ridge is a fun place to play. It has a neat mixture of speed ball surrounded by woods, which bring both elements into play. There is usually a mixture of games, with elimination and capture the flag the most common.

The owner Carl is an extremely nice person. He tries to keep safety in mind, requiring a crono before each game. Games are generally 15 to 20 minutes long, with as many as ten to 15 people per side. I know this sounds like a lot of people, but the field is huge.

There are no air bunkers. The bunkers are constructed of wood, barrels and even an old truck.

Paint, air, drinks and snacks are sold at reasonable rates.

Even if you think you only like to play speedball on small fields with air bunkers, give Wolf's Ridge a try. You just may find you will have a load of fun.
Last edited on Saturday, July 17th, 2004 at 4:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gustopherus Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity (Salem... speedball)
Painted Forest (Lynchburg, woodsball mostly)
CrossCreek Paintball (Honaker, speedball... very cool people)
Review: Great place to play... the owner is a very nice guy, whom makes sure everything is safe and everyone is having a good time. The field is setup with barrel, plywood and natural bunkers. There are also forts and buildings, so it adds a neat dynamic to the field. I will say that playing from the far end of the field seems to be at a disadvantage due to the slope of the field and proximity of the fort to the starting area. It is much easier to get to high ground and the bigger fort when starting from the near end of the field... but since it gets switched up each game, it isn't really a concern. It's BYOP and that is a nice bonus to those who like to buy their own favorite paint and bring it... no worry of jacked up field paint prices. He sells paint as well, for fair prices. The field fee includes 1 free CO2 refill and the use of a pump gun (if you choose to use it). He can fill HPA for a decent fee. In fact, when I was there last time he could only fill to 3k, so he took 3$ off the cost, so it would be fair. Nice guy, fun field, cheap price and good attitudes from the players; what more could you want?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nighthawk0127 Thursday, May 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I played with a group of friends there one Saturday, and was very impressed with what I saw. The one field was a good combination of speedball and some wood patches around the edges that provided an interesting aspect to gameplay. A new field is on the way as well. Prices are very inexpensive, with only a $10 field fee, which includes a pump rental and some free CO2! Paint was available at good rates, and not no-name brands but quality stuff. Of course, you could bring your own paint if you wished. Paint grenades, paint land mines, etc were available as well, as were snacks and cold drinks.
The owner of Wolf's Ridge, Carl, was a tremendously accomodating host. He has a true love for the game which helps everybody to have a great day. He is very safety conscious and makes sure everyone is chrono'd, uses barrel plugs, safeties etc. Although the standard rules at Wolf's Ridge are that gun hits and hits below the elbow/knee don't count, Carl let us decide for ourselves. A very fun gametype which we played was team elimination with a twist: a large "paint cannon" that shot 50 paintballs. This was a lot of fun as the two teams attempted to control the "cannon" and attack the other team's fort. Fresh water was available in the staging area between games for cleaning off equipment and for drinking.
All in all, Wolf's Ridge was a great experience and I will definitely be playing there again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Falcon 2552 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is a great field. I played at Wolf's Ridge this weekend and it was the most enjoyable day of paintball I've ever had. The field fee is only $10 and it includes some free C02. They also let you use your own paint, but you can buy paint there if you need to. The paint is pretty cheap too ($45 for 2000 balls). The course itself is kind of a speedball and woodsball hybrid. It's a big open area with tons of bunkers and buildings for cover. The whole thing is surrounded by woods and you are allowed to go a certain distance into the woods, so you get some of each type of play (speedball and woodsball). They feature several types of games including elimination, attack and defend, two variations of capture the flag, and, the most unique to this course, cannon. Cannon is basically an elimination game, but in the middle of the field is a big cannon that shoots 50 paintballs like a shotgun. You are supposed to get the cannon and shoot the other team's base so it "blows up", causing anyone in the base to be out. Another great thing about this course it the owner, Carl. He is a really nice guy who makes the whole experience great for everything. He is very accommodating to the players. I read in earlier reviews of this course that people complained because gun shots and below the elbows and knees don't count, that is the default rule, but Carl let us decide what hits we wanted to count. They also said that the safety wasn't very good when they played, but it was for me. Guns are chronoed before every game and barrel plugs must be in and safeties on whenever you're in the staging area, so obviously they have improved in this area. I had a great time at this field and I highly recommend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FLsmotherer Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PEVS In Leesburg
Review: WolfsRidge is by far one of the greatest paintball fields ever. The owner (Carl) is great. He is nice, helpful, consistent in his refereeing, and knows how to run a field. He has great prices on a good paint ( ZAP PRIMER, DRAXXUS REC-SPORT, and PROBALL). The rental equipment is great too. he has PRO/Carbine and 98 customs. the greatest gun ever cough cough. haha. Some of his hoppers are covered with camo. He also has cool things to buy. Smoke dynamite, land mines, grenades, just cool things to try out. His field is speedball and it is enormous. Not great for tournament players, but great for woodsballers who like a change. This field can hold TONS of players. I hate when I go somewhere and the field is made for 3VS3, and they put 12VS12! it's annoying. He has a whole bunch of different games you can play, like CANNON. Also there is a Town, such as a jail, saloon, and um, something else. It's a building. Then they have two bases. They're huge, one is 2 stories high where you can snipe from. By the way, this field is great for the Flatline barrel. It's big, so you can pick people off from the start, and then catch them while they think they're out of range. The field is surrounded mostly by woods, so they include some of the woods with the field. So it's sort of a mix. Games are only 15 minutes, so if you're a nub, you don't get shot out and wait an hour before the next game. I give WolfsRidge a 10 because the service and the field are top-of-the-line.
Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2004 at 6:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gebo Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Our Church took our Youth here on a weekday. It was raining the day we had booked but Carl gave us another day the same week and took off work to allow us to come. The first thing I noticed and was really impressed was how patient he was with the beginners. The next thing was the new netting. His prices are Great!!! His Tippmann equipment worked fine and his paint was cheap compared to local stores. He even has compressed air (along with C02) and is getting a 4800 psi system that should be ready by first of June '04. Everyone is "Chrono'd" as they enter the field. He doesn't put up with any rough stuff, anger, bad attitudes, etc. He's redoing his woods field at present but there was a "speedball" field that provided plenty of field to work today. He has this big cannon (shoots 50 paintballs) that he allowed us to use during one game. The "Cannon" is placed between 2 forts in the open and the object is to get to the Cannon and shoot the opposing team's fort which would render it destroyed and it could no longer could be used. I carried 4 paintballers in my car and they all gave it "10." I guess I was really surprised at Carl's professional yet caring attitude. It was so nice to not have to hear swearing every other breath as Carl appears to be a real gentleman. If you are anywhere near here, you ought to give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hokiesfan Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: First off what makes this place great is the owner Carl. He is very helpful to all players not just the new quys. He has great prices on field fees, paint,and rentals if you need one. There is actually two fields in one here one open field with many forts and bunkers to get ganged up on "Believe me I know" Then there is the "woods" with paths,bunkers, and more forts. Actually last time I talked to Carl he said he is working on building a helicopter shell in the wooded area for some scenario games. Can't wait til he gets that finished. If your looking for a fun day of paintball with good people and no hassle this is the field to visit
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media