paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field / Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Wolf's Ridge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Christiansburg, Virginia 24073
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Quigley45-90 Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest (Lynchburg), Metrolina (Charlotte), Golddiggers (Charlotte), Blountville, TN (can't remember their name but I've played there many times)
Review: If you read a review about Wolf's Ridge that wasn't a 9 or 10 then it must have been written by someone who has never been there. Wolf's Ridge is THE friendliest and most fun place that you will ever play. Carl runs the field on his own property for the love of the game of paintball. Notice that I said PAINTBALL, not "go for broke, I have a $10,000 gun, 5 second game" paintball. It's a game, not a lifestyle, and Carl makes it fun. Actually what he does is LET IT BE FUN. He is huge on safety and he lets you know it. He and the guys that help him are straight-up refs and there is never a sense of anything but fair play. At Wolf's Ridge you don't see anybody trying to hammer the new players, you see them actually helping the new players. The games are furious and fun, and when the game is over the staging area is just as fun.
Any negative reviews written about Wolf's Ridge were written by his competition and shouldn't even be granted the time to read them. Come to think of it, he has no competition in the area, because he is THE BEST out there. Wolf's Ridge is what the game of paintball is all about. . . . . fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

garindick Saturday, August 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest, Lynchburg -- Much better; Gold Diggers, Charlotte NC -- About equal
Review: Carl is not only one of the nicest guys you could know but one of the best Paintball field owners! He is fair and honest about the way he runs his business but he is cool and does not yell at his people or the players. Other reviews about him and his field have trashed him when it comes to the way he runs his business and they are FALSE!
The field in in good condition; I can see no holes! He demands a chrono before EVERY GAME!!! He has a goggles on philosophy that makes sense and is enforced strictly! Yes, his netting is old and he has an order in to buy a new one as I am writing this.
This is one of the best field that I have tried even though it is small. Quick play and pretty equally matched groups make this an outstanding field! I agree, the wooded area is not that great but he is working on that too. All in all for the money (the cost of a full 20 tank refill is only $3.90!) this is a great field with good refs who try their best to catch it all. Do not believe the nasty reviews; they are coming from people who want to open their own field and were denied access!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unit44 Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Speedball fields in Roanoke & Salem and they don't compare, too many people cheat and have poor attitudes.
Review: I have been involved in the sport of paintball since 1994 and it seems to me in the past few years things have gone downhill.... The young tourney players now seem to see who can spend the most money on guns (which they must work on constantly) and paint instead of building skills and having fun, which is why the sport of paintball came along in the first place. Wolfs Ridge is one of the few places left where a new player can go and have a good time with a cheap gun, a few hundred rounds of paint and not feel cheated for paying a field fee at the end of the day. Bad attitudes and throwing your new $1200 gun are not tolerated so a families or mature tourney players can have fun here and that is why it deserves a 10 in my book.
Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2003 at 7:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshot_911 Wednesday, August 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hyperball Field in Salem
Review: Good field. Can't beat it with a stick. Only recball field in the entire area. They let you use your own paint which is way cool. Big field with lots of different stuff to hide behind. They have even built a old west town at the bottom of the field. Needs a little more room at the staging area, but other than that, no real complaints.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippyflatliner Wednesday, August 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
speedball at High Velocity Paintball -- to many gotta win attitudes
Review: Wolf's Ridge is a great field that is always loads of fun. cool forts for both teams with plenty of bunkers, neat "kill zone" on players that makes it more fun / harder to get people out . many players will share tools / parts to help keep you on the field even if you are on different teams. Wolf Ridge has the perfect mix of good people and field playing that keeps me coming back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpeedViper Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw Paintball on Private Field.
Review: Wolf's Ridge is a place to have a great paintball experience. Carl (owner / head ref) is a great guy to be around. He ensures that all rules implied are strictly enforced, e.j. barrel plugs in the gun whenever outside playing area, all markers chronoed below 300 fps and personally checked by the ref EACH time a player is to enter the playing area. Rules are explained for the "new" people (and those who need a review) in a briefing by (who else?) Carl himself before play is even thought to begin. Enough about that though and on to the field. Bunkers, trees, ruts to dig into, and berms to hide behind (and get safety killed behind) lie all over the open field area. (Did I mention the woods???) Can you say intense? The woods experience will get your blood flowing, alone or even WITH a teammate by your side. (yumm, two targets together....) Never knowing when a foe will pop a cap in your head (or backside for that matter) from the cover of bushes, trees, or bunkers which lie in the main paths of the area can be quite the exhilarating experience. In other news, the "kill" areas are quite convenient also. Below the elbow, knee, and gun shots do not count, which makes game play much more exciting and more realistic in my opinion. (I mean, you can still shoot with a few bullets in your leg and arms right?) With all the improvements Carl has put into this field, it definitely makes the trip worthwhile, and the friendly people you meet there make the game play even that much more fun. Looking for a great time? I'll be waiting for you behind the next bunker...........
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

capt Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Seymour Johnson Airforce base
Review: I have been taking my thirteen year old son to play paintball at Wolfs Ridge field for approximately six months. I have also been playing there for the same time period. I was extremely impressed with the rules and safety precautions that are in place. The field consists of plenty of barricades, two forts, a vehicle and a western town. The owner Carl and the other referees stress safety and make it a number one priority. The guns are chronographed and adjusted and masks required to be on each time someone enters the playing area. The rules are clearly explained to each player before they can play at this field. The referees are also very observant and make sure the games are played fairly and safely. Safety kills are called to prevent players from being shot at a distance less that 25 feet. Water is provided for drinking and cleaning guns. I have not seen anyone have a problem with any gun rented there. I think Wolf's Ridge is a great place to play paintball and would not and have not hesitated in letting my son play there because of safety concerns.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Masterofpaint86 Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really - 45 minute drive to the next closest field, and it's Speedball (yuck)
Review: Here is the 411 on Wolfsridge Paintball:

Field Fee: $10.00 (Cant beat that, includes pump marker and free co2 fill).

Field: Lots of bunkers on a giant hillside. Also has a woodsball area.

Safety: All markers are checked before a game, and barrel blocking devices are required.

Staff: Awesome

People who show up: all kinds, mainly recreational players.

Fun level: way up there...

* big thanks to Carl for running a great field. He loves the game and doesnt just run a field to make money, he just wants people to enjoy themselves playing paintball. I like the field rules to. It's stupid to be shot out if your hopper or gun gets marked. Here it takes a body or head shot to put you out.


*forgot to say you can bring your own paint. You dont get reamed by someone charging you $70 - $80 for a case of paint to play on their field.
Last edited on Saturday, August 9th, 2003 at 7:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sockmonkey4u2 Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
played at Hich Velocity in Salem. its OK. not as cool as "The Ridge"
Review: i luv the "ridge". i dont get to play as often as I used to. wolfsridge paintball is great fun. they make sure you are all playing safe and having a fun time. my only complaint is they arent open enough. but if they were i would go broke. the field is huge. people are nice. they have co2, hpa, paint, and snacks. i think they just got a bunch new rental markers to. check out wolfsridge. i think you will like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rigster_TBB Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw Paintball on my Private Field - 75 acres open and wooded.
Review: Wolfs Ridge is the only commercial place my friends and I play. Carl (the owner / head ref) is the nicest guy you could ever meet. He tries very hard to make sure everyone there has a good time. All new players are given a safety briefing, and instructed as to the rules of this field. Barrel plugs are required at all times, all markers are chronoed to below 300 fps before every game and checked as you enter the field. Is this a big "Fancy" Speedball field with posers and wannabee' tourney players all over the place? No, (maybe there is a god). This is good old rec ball at its finest. They have a big bunkered field and a woods field as well. This field could support 30 people playing at the same time. Everyone that plays there is usually super nice. It's like a big bunch of friends playing a little paintball together. Nobody really cares which team wins or loses, it's all about the FUN... This field attracts people of all ages and skill. And with the way the rules are made for getting tagged out, it makes it very nice for new players. If you want to see how fast you can dump a case of paint with your new angel, go play speedball somewhere else. If you want to have a good time and meet some nice people, I'll see you there sometime.
Last edited on Saturday, August 9th, 2003 at 4:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media