paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sherwood Forest Paintball Field / Sherwood Forest Paintball Field / Sherwood Forest Paintball Field / Sherwood Forest Paintball Field

Sherwood Forest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
12Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 219.325.8060
Address: 3497 North US HWY 35
La Porte, Indiana 46350
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
RelativeAsh Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Paintball, The Badlandz, CPX
Review: The team I am on and I went there yesterday for their Castle Siege game. It was unusually cold for this time of year and we even had snow. Because of this turnout was low and the paint (FPO - non winter fill) didn't hold up like it should. Team ESP was defending the castle and we along with the other people that showed up were attacking. Team ESP bested us and showed us their skill. However, they played with integrity and, along with the refs and field workers, always made the game fun. We played exclusively on the castle field. This field is AMAZING...its a good sized field with buildings and bunkers surrounding a giant castle. At half time we had some food and the snack shop has decent food for good prices. I would definitely recommend this field to others. The only non weather related downside was that this field is Field Paint Only. They do not charge as much as CPX but I will always prefer BYOP to FPO. Thank you again to Sherwood Forest, Viper's ref staff, and ESP for a great day of paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jayzilla Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only played this one in the immediate area
Review: I have only played here once, and it was a great time. We played at the Judge Dredd 08 scenario.

first off, the field is crazy amazing. the castle, the bunkers...everything is made out of rail road ties...meaning it isn't going to go anywhere for a long time. I think out of every man made bunker i saw there were two places that might not be completly safe. one was a tower that the they had actually put caution tape around it to keep people out, so that wasn't a deal at all. the other one was a soft spot on the second floor of the castle...wasn't dangerous, but in time if it rots more, someone who is bigger may fall. other than those little things, everything out there was great. there was always plenty of cover while at the same time not being crowded. giant Mulch piles and snakes were the bomb to storm over.

secondly, the prices were extremely reasonable. everyone knows that the fields jack up the price on paint for scenarios because people will still pay it. This wasn't to bad at all, if i remember right, a case was under 65. pre registration was 45 and i think registration was 60. the only complaint about price was they still charged for all day air per tank AFTER the registration. if you carried an extra tank, it was an extra 10 or 15 bucks.

third...no lines at the air station. They only had 3 lines for air with one being reserved for 3000psi. even with 3 lines their was only about 5-10 people waiting in line MAX. yeah it would have been nice if there was another line for people to use, but it was no problem

fourth...ORGANIZATION! it was nice to actually be able to talk to your general, get the low down on whats up, whats happening, and what you needed to do. the General, and his commanding officers were very helpful and, at least on our side, very fun to play with. they were good enough that you didn't want to break away and do your own thing, you wanted to stay in the group ( unlike other fields where people who don't know anything just yell at you).

fifth, refs were awsome. not only were they visible and never mistaken for players ( due to their full yellow and orange jumpsuits and funny jester hats). they were only 21 refs i believe but there was never a time when i needed one but couldn't find one. also, they actually checked your velocity to keep cheaters from goin up. i know i was checked twice. one time because he thought i was shootin' hot (which i was, don't ask me how...shoot 290 when we had to stay at 280). the other time, a whole bunch of us were holding the castle and he came by and checked everyone regardless of what he thought. it was nice to know someone wasn't shootin at 350.

with all that said, there were a few things that could have been better, i know, i am a stickler.

probably the biggest one was the paint. it was ARCHON paint and it was very small bore...but it wasnt perfectly round. so if you made the mistake i did and use a small bore insert, that one egg shaped ball would bust. I busted more balls through my Ion out there than i ever have before. But it wasn't a hard ball, it didn't bounce unless you were archin' real high.

in fact, that was the only thing that was bad that wasn't the weathers fault. it rained the whole week before so everything was damp and muddy, which doesn't make for a fun time. i know by the end of the second day the road going from one base to the campsites was pretty thick in mud from so many people taking it



so, i believe that wraps up my rambling...great field for scenarios. If you can catch one, do it. We drove 4 hours to get there, and my team is planning on going back again as regulars.

9 out of 10, there is not perfect.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TMoneyFromTango Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX - Only played 1 MSX event in 2004. Good field though not as well set up for scenario.
Realms of Ruin - Also played an MSX event. Good field overall but not as developed as Sherwood Forest
Review: I've played at commercial fields since 1990 and can easily say that I've had the most fun playing Scenario Ball at Sherwood forest. Unfortunately I haven't played any rec-games there because it's a 4 hour drive to get there. So this review will have to concentrate on how well the field conducts its scenario events.

Field - By far the best feature is the Castle. What makes this field truely special is the central location of the Castle. Firefights are constantly breaking out in and around it. The rest of the field is well developed and varied. If you like sneaking through brush or if you like bumping from bunker to bunker you can go to the area that you most enjoy.

Refs - They bring in the Lords of Discipline which is the best group of refs out there. The Lords work events all over and always work hard the entire weekend.

Prices - Very reasonable, registration ~50 and paint ~60-70. All weekend air is $15 per bottle, I'd prefer they just tack another $15 onto the registration fee so I can fill up tanks for my back-up and night markers.

Facilities - Adequate but nothing that will blow you away. My girlfriend would appreciate them labeling and enforcing one porta-john women only.

Players - Scenario players are generally very stand-up players and are also often very skilled. You'll find both here along with a few newer players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ebcblast Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Knox- The Best
Review: I've played many fields from here to FL and Sherwood would be the worst. Upon arrival with a group of 40+ they were totally unprepared. They did not have sufficient paint and had to run out and purchase more. They were warned ahead of time. They had a great chance to earn quite a bit of business. Their refs were totally unprofessional and game ethics left a lot to be desired. They had an agenda to prove to us "non-professionals" how much they knew; even though nobody really cares. Their facilities were nothing short of ghetto.

On a positive note, the fields were decent. The castle and SWAT games were set-up well. But weighing that against the poor experience/prices, I'd rather play in my backyard.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntchck Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX and many others across the country - Sherwood is by far the best field in the US
Review: This field is truly amazing. The owners are wonderful and knowledgeable. There are natural bunkers that you do not even realize are bunkers that have been put there by the field owners until you are using them....and the castle WOW !!!! Now they have added look out towers. There is nothing that compares.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bassplayr Saturday, October 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blast camp (little better)
Review: First off let me say Sherwwod has great potential and could become the best paintball place in all Indiana. They have a few problems to work out first though. The castle is awesome and dominates every other field, the only problem is that that is all you play. when i went we played two fields speedball and the castle, a little monotonous after the initial grandeur wears off. Everything is all natural wood no metal or brick or bright colors just bunkers made out of huge logs all over the place. Second bad thing was lack of people there. Ive heard they get huge numbers for the scenario games but when i went there was a group pof fifteen of us that came together and three people besides opur group played open group. If we hadnt of come it would have been one on two the whole day so much fun. If they work out a few kinks they will be awesome but for the monotony of two fields and lack of people i give it an eight, true i might have gone on a bad day so forgive me if this was a one time situation i plan on going back just for the castle
Rumor has it they are building three more castles so you have four teams with a flag in each castle. AAAAAAAAAAAA awesome so cool
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ripp Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz,CPX, and Fox paintball. All decent fields in their own right, but none compare with Sherwood!
Review: I've played at many sites in at least 6 states and Sherwood is my favorite. I've only been there for MXS scenario games, so I don't how the rec ball scene is there but the scenario events are fantastic! Joe and Wayne are very friendly, the field draws all the best scenario teams from the region, and the field is absolutely beautiful! I could enjoy walking around this field without a paintball game (for a short while anyway). I've never played in such an old growth forest as this anywhere else. Plus there are $.50 hot dogs and $1. burgers. what more could you want? How about a 3 story castle with multiple rooms, walkways all the way around the second floor, and 4 entrances!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

98101 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mayhem sports
hell survivors
Review: This field is the best in the world!!! My uncle owns and runs the field . I love the big 3 story castle located at the beginning of the field. The field is located strategically on 71 beautiful acres. Every time I go there and play the field has something new to it. The most recent time the red base was finished which was really cool. Keep up the great work Joe.
Last edited on Thursday, August 11th, 2005 at 5:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elf Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at EMR, CPX, Dropzone, and Paintball Arkansas. out of all those, this field is the most beautiful. nothing against the other, becuase they all have great points.
Review: Been almost a month since i was at this field for MXS Operation Rainbow, so here we go...

First off, this field is so easy to get to it isn't even funny. You drive down wut seems to be a main road in a little town and there's the sign. No hard directions like turn down this dirt road three miles past the last gas station blah blah blah. this field is easy access to the town.

since this was a scenario game the paint wasn't the field's paint, but it shoot well. the air station was set up nicely for nitro, but co2 as always was a pain since you gotta give the tank to the proshop guy. they inspected all tanks before filling them, which is nice, but a pain to get the tank cover off a max flow and the get it back on. still, better safe than sorry.

the owner was very pleasent and seemed glad to see every player there. which is a nice change from owners who don't care who shows up just as long as they get their money.

there was pleanty of camping room as far as i could see.. not as much as EMR, but EMR has bunkhouses. get there early if you're playing a scenario, cause this is one of the best scenario fields out there and spots will fill quickly.

the food was good too, 50 cents for a hot dog or sloppy joe. good prices on food and there's running water in the snack shack area (which is really a fully enclosed room with couches, tv, and a bathroom with a sink).

now the field.. wow. the weather hadn't quite turned too cold for all the leaves to change so there was pleanty of green left and the guys in ghile suits were hard to see. the "speed ball" field is a field enclosed in mesh netting. the bunkers are huge logs and stumps (everything on the field seemed very natural.. bunkers made of logs etc..). the castle is amazing... something like 4 or 5 stories tall and tons of angles to work. words can't describe how good this castle looks. in comparision to EMR's Arrgh... just doesn't the two are too different. Arrgh is great.. but Sherwood's castle is really amazing. the only part i wasn't happy with would be the thorns i crawled through... some bush hogging would help, but still this field is one great natural field. i've never played rec ball here, so i don't know how it holds up for that... but for scenarios, one of the tops in the country hands down.

recieves a 9 for great ownership, beautiful fields, great castle, good priced food, running water, and being a great scenario field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeforeShock Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Blast Camp, and a whole bunch other I dont want to name.
Review: Well I've only been there onse but I love it. There was only one person there but it was in the winter so it was great. I love the big wooden castle there but I always lost because I was a kind of a newb then. It was warm inside the building. It was one of the best feilds I've ever been to. I would advise anyone that can go to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media