paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Challenge Park / Challenge Park / Challenge Park / Challenge Park

Challenge Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 806-792-4551
Address: Corner of Loop 289 & E 50th St Lbk
Lubbock, Texas 79423
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
paint shadow Tuesday, April 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apache acers
Review: Grate for woods ball last time i was ther they had 4 woods ball fields in use and one sucky speed ball field

btu over all it was good soe of the staff sre kinda mean and stuck up
but usaly when u go in the morning ther are bretty nice and help full

overall i give it a 9 out a 10 becase the filds are in need of minore repares but outherwise it grate
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kenny-p Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
50th and the loop
Review: This park has about a hundred acres and has excellent woodsball fields. The rentals are now tippmann 98 customs and can take a beating. As of now there are 5 active fields to play on, including the speedball field. They run senerio games on the last sunday of every month and they are awsome. The staff members are friendly and very helpfull. The paint is expensive and u have to use theirs but besides that the park is very cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

m16redneck Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
putt putt
Review: This really the only good field ive been to.

Staff- good people help u out when u need it just flat out good people

Prices-a little bit steep but it is good paint. it is also worth it to get the $100 membership

Rules- normal rules i guess cant use outside paint kinda sucks (then again the paint i use at home is really cheap and really sucks) no paint grenades or paint explosives i guess u cant have out there

Food- kinda sucks they have bottled water but its always hot

Players- are usually good people there's a few people u get out there and are just plain stupid
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DogHouse Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
East Loop 289 and 50th street. Take the Buffalo Lake turn off Loop 289.
Review: Great field, friendly helpful experienced staff and many honest players and teams.
Many different scenario fields to choose from with large hills, trees, trenches, etc.
Well built pallet speed ball field and a newly expanded NPPL 7 man air ball field.
Rental guns are late model center feed Piranhas and compressed air tanks.
Every game has 2 or more experienced refs to call hits and repair rentals.
Paint is fresh, good quality and prices are the best they have ever been.
New 4500psi air compressor means more playing time and less refills.
Facilities are constantly improved with more shaded staging area and netting.
Food & drinks, gun, tank, loader repair always on hand to keep you playing.
Many large 10-100 player church, business and school groups play frequently.

Overall a great place to experience paintball and have fun or play competively.
Last edited on Sunday, April 8th, 2007 at 1:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

icewolfen Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apache Field
Review: I really liked the place. It was my first field ever to play in and it rocked my socks off. I really like the fact that there are tons of fields to choose from and i like the woods ball fields.

My favorite field has to be the attack and defend field. It seems kinda like a d-day-ish kinda field. Theres a huge hill in the midst of all these trees and thats where the defending team is. The offensive starts at the bottom of the hill near a stream. The obejective is for the offensive to touch this pole within the hill. I have to say, for my first time, and for a crappy gun i had at the time, it was still fun.

So with a comparison of fields ive played this one has to get a 9.5 to 10 outta 10. It was my first field, its been the best field.

Also, im from Odessa and all the fields near odessa only have 2-3 fields. Not much to choose from. So this field is way better than odessa's.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

el zorro Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet.
Directions
to the Field:
East Loop 289 take Buffalo Gap/50th Street Exit. The field is on the east side of the highway just north of the exit.
Review: This field is a woods player's dream and a speed baller's disappointment. I am a woods player so I was not disappointed.

First the speed ball fields. There are two but only one was in use because the other is for inflatables which were taken down at the time. My main gripe against the existing speed ball field is the large number of small rocks that will eat up your knees when you slide into a bunker. But I'm not much of a speed ball player so it's not that big a deal to me but I know it will be to those who are.
I noticed the previous review mentioned glass on the field. There was no glass on the permantent speed ball field but I looked over at the empty inflatable field and saw lots of shiny glass so players beware. However, they had a tractor with a box blade and riper shanks tilling that field while we were there so maybe it will be in better shape when they get it set up. I'll keep you posted.

The woodsball fields are definitley Challenge Parks forte. We played on all 4 of them. According to the ref there is more land available on the other side of the creek but the flash floods keep washing out the bridge. I love playing in the woods and there was no disappointment here. I also like lots of variety and again I was not disappointed. Each field has its own personality. There is nothing particulary fancy about them but they work. They have bunkers, forts (kind of), old cars, tractor tires, trees and mounds depending on the field. I look forward to going back and conquering them again and again.
I don't get those who gripe about the walk. It's woods ball. Get over it.
On the mounds field, I did put my hand down an a dead tumbleweed and got a hand full of stickers. No big deal (remember this is woods ball.) Either wear gloves or watch where you put your hands.

I didn't think the prices were bad compared to some other places I've been back east.
$10 gets you in the gate and free HPA all day.
$18 - 500 rounds
$30 - 1000 rounds
$55 - 2000 rounds
Also, if you buy a $100+ marker from Challenge park's store in the South Plains mall, they will wave the $10 entry/HPA fee for up to 10 times in the next year. SO, if you are in the market for a Pirhana or Tippman this ought to be considered because if you play 10 times it's like getting $100 off of a marker.

The refs and staff were all friendly and helpful. Likewise all the players from young to not so young were all good sportsmen. I saw no bad attitudes and heard no foul words all day which makes my day all the better for it.

Since I'm a woods ball player I'm going to give it a woods ball player rating of 10. But if I were to rate it just on the speed ball I'd have to give it a 5 for rocks and glass.

On a final note, I took my little brother. This was his first time to play some real paintball and he (like I) had an absolute blast. And that to me is what ultimately recomends any field. Did we have a great time? Absolutley.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

superduperpbguy Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
APACHE ACRES PAINTBALL
Directions
to the Field:
DIRECTIONS TO THE FIELD...I HONESTLY WOULD NOT BOTHER.
Review: Ok, first of all, I have played this field before I forget exact dates and then we played a tournament. I don’t remember when it was exactly. I have played at the other field Apache Acres Paintball for practice. But, I’ll review them on their site and comment on them. Anyway, challenge park, it’s not a challenge. It’s sad, really, to put it as a comment. When I played before the tournament, we went to practice and check it out. The staff were stuck up and snobby. They acted like they knew every thing about paintball, and to good to talk to anybody like a person instead of a rookie learning. They were so condescending to us. I was like..uhhh..ok, you are not Greg Hastings and you sure as heck don’t play like it from what I have heard. I was surprised, them being “God’s of Paintball”. They would have played it..but funny, they did not play. I say, put your money where you mouth is.

Fields:

Tournament fields…ehhhh…full of glass and rocks. Even when we played the tournament, our team was not the only ones disappointed with the quality and glass on the field. One of the other teams picked up two hands full of glass. And I am talking their whole 5 man team did this and wanted to turn around and just go home. The guys in the concession stand were really nice though. Have to admit, they had a cute girl working their on tourney day. Hehehehe.

Conclusion- crappy staff and bad/unsafe fields. .

Rec field

They have tons of rec ball fields. We played a game down in that canyon. The walk down the hill and up really sucked! The fields…good for rec style, but again..hey, I would rather play tournament instead of crawling, in sticker and tall grass and just waiting.

Overall, this field is ok for rec, but staff needs some new attitudes and tournament fields need a clean up of glass and big rocks. Prices are just to high for a low quality paint and fields. It's like buying a low grade paintball gun for the price of my DM6.

I gave this field a 3. Below average and needs work.
Last edited on Sunday, June 25th, 2006 at 7:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

KateLover Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Roughneck -
I used to ref. there, wished they hadnt of gotten foreclosed on (now closed)

Apache Acres - (its ok) When i was last out there they were shooting at a bird and they actually did hit it but that is animal cruelty. THUMBSDOWN

Putt Putt - (its ok if you wanna play with lego bunkers)
Review: I highly recommend this field to anyone out there.
A+ Staff/Refs (they know there stuff)
A+ Prices (cheapest around)
A+ Fields (huge variety of fields from rec to tournement play)
A+ Paint
A+ on the Safety
A+ Staging Area
Rentals are nice
Store for when you get thirsty or hungry
If your gun breaks down on ya, one of the field tech will fix it right up in a jiffy

P.S. Im glad JR is barely around there anymore
Last edited on Monday, April 24th, 2006 at 9:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BvicePB Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: People often compare this field to other fields that they have played at around the nation. What they tend to forget is that this field is located in LUBBOCK, TX. Not exactly a hot spot for sports like paintball. While there may be a big following by percentage in Lubbock, Lubbock's population is quite small. Because of this, it is not fair to compare this field to those in Dallas or Houston. However, if this field was in Dallas or Houston it would still probably be successful. Challenge Park has a nice selection of fields. The majority are recball fields, 5 or 6 depending whether or not they are able to be used due to weather. They have two speedball fields, one designed for 3 or 5 man play, the other for larger groups. The staff there are friendly and willing to help both new and experienced players. A nice, or some might consider detrimental, aspect of this field is they only run air. No CO2. If you do not have an HPA tank, they will provide one free of charge. So even if you are running a rental, you get the consistency of HPA. Their prices are nice as well. $10 for admission and all day air, 55 for 2000 house, 65 for better paint, and 75 for tourney grade. They have a covered staging area with benches and tables. Their restroom consists of a port-o-potty, not so much of a deal for guys but certain females may be uneasy about that. Downsides of the field are not a large selection of items you need for a quick repair. O-rings, batteries, allen wrenches need to be brought in large supply so that you dont need to run to the hardware store during your day. Even so the staff will try and help as much as they can. Some also complain that it is a long walk to get to the fields. Speedball fields are located right at the staging area, but the recball fields do take 3-5 minutes to arrive at. Not a big deal unless you are completely out of shape, in which case paintball probably isn't for you. Overall, this field is a great place to play at for both experienced and new players alike. You aren't going to find the nicest, most state of the art field here, but you will find a great time and some great players. I give this field an 8 out of 10 considering everything mentioned above.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunderblaster Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played paintball in several parts of this Great Nation.
Review: I do not know where some of these people that write the reviews in this forum are from!!! They sound like people with a grudge or people that just do not know about reality.
When I played at Challenge Park I found that is a safe “they stress Goggle Safety”,
Fun place to play and the staff was very helpful. The prices were cheap $10.00 admission
And $50.00 for a case “2000” of PMI paintballs. Compared to the other places that I have played they are very inexpensive. The fields are the best in this part of the country, trees and water. They have everything that you should need to have a great time, woodball fields, and speedball. I drove by the other fields and they are just speedball fields and that is great for tournament players and if that is your cup of tea check out the other fields. I personally like to play all kinds of paintball and this is the only place for me in the Lubbock area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media