paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field

Orbital Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (813) 789-8159
Address: 12771 US Highway 301 N
Tampa, Florida 33592
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
typelaez Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
thunder bay(no longer exists... lol)
Gator (did play with normal walk on games i played Xball with Team Speed)
Break 50 (fun and nice, great to practice with your team there.)
Directions
to the Field:
ehh... if u live in the west side of tampa area... just go east past mosi.... for a while?... i never drive?
Review: The safety at Orbital is prettuy good. if you see newbs take off their masks, some one is usally ready to tell/warn the kid to keep on the goggles. when younger little newbs walk off the feilds with their barrels in every ones face without a sock the owner or refs will tell the kid what he is doin and he neeeds to use a condom... ;) i no longer play woods but they do have some pretty good wooded feilds. the castle is a very fun attack/deffend game. the center feild is a long hyper pipe/village feild which is avery good game. the speed ball feild they have isn't the best.... you can ask to go play on it with some other walk ons but usally there is private groups and players over there practicing. the feilds are very sandy and nasty... if you slide in the speed ball or pipe feilds you wil be covered in dust/sand/ and dirt... not cool
Last edited on Saturday, July 15th, 2006 at 9:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MathU41 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintballistics (crap)
Review: I've been playing here for a while, mostly because there aren't many other fields within driving distance of me. Paintballistics is run by a couple rednecks from a trailer. They're nice, but the fields aren't set up very well, and bunkers fall over.

As far as my experience goes, this place has always been great. The owner's relatively nice, helpful, and is likely to do a lot to ensure return customers. He's fun to play against on the rare occasion that he gets to, as he doesn't take the game overly seriously.
They've got a good variety of fields. A 5/7-man airball field, a couple nice pipe hyperball fields, one butted against a 'village' type, attack and defend, and a couple woods fields. I've heard people complain about the spools in the village and attack and defend, but a big part of this game is adapting. If your feet are showing, learn from it and change your stance.

Prices are great. Cheap entry and air, BYOP, and standard retail prices on Big Ball, Premium, and a few other brands of various qualities, so they're not ripping you by charging you $90 for a case of Big Ball like some fields.

I've heard complaints about the safety practices. I've seen one or two problems the first time I went, but they've lately really cracked down. I've seen refs tackle people to the ground to cover their face if they'd removed their masks. Do it a couple times, and they kick you out for the day. It's not just protecting you from Murphy's Law, it's an insurance and licensing thing. You get an eye out, they likely get shut down. Think of the other players. The refs are STRICT about barrel covers and dry-firing in the staging area.

Unfortunately, the younger ref(s) aren't as strict as the older full-time ones. Also, the owner occasionally recruits part-time refs when it's really busy, and they don't care as long as they do a good enough job to get their free play or whatever. Luckily, almost all of the regular players are self-governing, and enforce the rules themselves.

Said players, myself included, are generally a nice bunch. Quick to offer advice to a new guy, congratulate a good shot or surrender (bunker) move, even if they got taken out, and direct refs to any suspected cheaters. Guys from a couple local teams are a common sight, and know their way around.

Another point: surrender rule. Within ten or fifteen feet, yell 'Surrender!' and they're out. No bunkering. Sometimes not as fun, but it prevents the harshest welts and keep the younger players from getting scared on the fields, and I'd personally like to see the young guns turn into the old-timers eventually.

I don't get to go often as I'd like, but if you head out, look for me; I'm one of the few pump players, and as far as I know, the ONLY guy that plays with my new black and green Phantom or a polished PGP (Brass is shiiiiny). To answer your questions now, yes it is accurate. Yes, it is old. Yes, it only holds ten shots. Yes, I know everyone else plays with semi-autos that can shoot ten times as fast as I can, and yes, I have shot people that threw daddy's money at a Dye Species Intimidator 4.0 as often as they've shot me. Heck, probably as often as they've shot in my direction. And yes, it is because I AM that damn good. *cough*luck*cough*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbspyder Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
gladiator(not very good), some other pretty good places
Review: to start off, it has about 4 different fields and all were great to play. Exept for attack and defend for the defenders, it is just a waste of paint beacause it doesn't have good lines of fire. But it is the bomb for attackers. Woods Ball is kind of small but still fun to play with, if you don't get the good bunker, you WILL get sprayed. For the village, it is all pretty good exept for the tiny bunkers(like cable spools)that you can get tagged by a rental gun. For price wise, the paint is at a reasonable price. Overall it it da bomb.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commander Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games, Thunder Bay, Gator, Wayne's World
Review: Well, after at least seven trips to Jungle Games to play on a huge field filled with barriers, bunkers, and other sharp, rusting objects uprooted from the depths of an old Vietnam battlefield, and playing against at least fifty smelly, hairy, sweaty people of all ages, I was getting tired of the same old thing, so we took a trip to PB Review to see if any other fields struck our fancy, and sure enough, here was Orbital. A nice change we all thought, and it was. BUT, not the change we expected...

The site advertised at least seven different fields, little did we know that it was all just one big field divided into seven different sections by moving the boundary tape. But, it was still good, seeing as how they let one of the castle games slide into their so called "busy schedule". It took at least thirty minutes after every game to get another one started, ridiculous! They had to of had at least ten refs there that day! But, time went on and the fun still remained present in our minds as we continued to trudge a seventh of the field...

The real threat to their business is their blatant disrespect for field safety. Kids were literally taking off their goggles before leaving the castle game, WHILE IT WAS STILL GOING!!! And where was the ref? OUTSIDE!!! Thank god for the paintball community being as brotherly as possible or someone could of lost an eye out there; maybe something else too. And out in the parking lot; you wouldn't even be able tell where the paintball field was because there was so much dry-firing going on to know who was really in a game! And barrel bags, WHAT BARREL BAGS? I've seen no barrel bags on that field, have you? Let me answer that for you: NO! Because you just got shot in both your eyes by a six-year-old running through the lot on full-auto supposedly dry-firing...

Don't get me wrong though, it was a great field, and I sure all the little kinks in their system was just because of the Sunday blues. Overall, I would definitely come back, but not without leaving the safety of my car...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

burgertech Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't visited any.
Review: Here it is, short and sweet:

1) Bring your own paint! Buy it there cheap - RPS for $60/case
2) Good safety enforcement...as safe a place as you'll find anywhere.
3) Lines CAN be long, BUT they're adding what looks like a giant shipping container as an office. They have weld cut two "windows" in it so far, so they will most likely have 2 lines to pay, and 2 for AIR.
4) Bring cash. Usually a separate line is formed for cash only AIR/FEES when it gets busy.
5) Air ball, Hyperball, Long woods, short woods, Castle, tower - all are field types/obstacles you can play on.

After playing there one time with rental equipment, I bought a Pirahna and have place 10+ times in 3 months.

Simple put, there are NO reasons NOT to play here, and several reasons TO play here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Killerinstinct Tuesday, April 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Ballistics. It's not bad because I live in Fish Hawk (which is 2 minutes away) so it's fun for a weekend thing.
Review: One thing about this field that I don't like compared to Paint Ballistics is that you have to wait for a ref ,if they have more than one, even if you want to play 3v3 with your friends. They do enforce saftey which is also a good thing, unlike Paint Ballistics. But when you wait for a game the ref gets to choose the game he wants to ref, so you have to wait until he plays the game you want. Also there is 100+ people there so it's always really packed.. Although I may have made this place sound bad, it's overall a great field when it's not packed. They have about 9 fields and it's worth your time to check it out. The staff is nice and there is a variety of player so it makes a fair playing field for all ages and skill level.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 at 7:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hdsrob Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi Tec in Bradenton, Hi Tec is a better field overall, but way more expensive
Review: Well, as others have already said, its a long wait, and a bit slow to get started.

I took my son here to play. I had read several reviews before we went, so we didn't show up to early, and expected to wait in line. wow. there was a 30 minute wait to rent gear for my son, and then after paying we waited an hour for the gear (with about 10 others), in their defense they were pulling people out of line that just needed to pay for air / and field fees, and getting them going. (now that we both have markers this should be a bit quicker in the future).

BYOP , or buy field paint cheap. This seems to be the #1 draw for the place , and it was packed with people. They have a number of fields, that could be a little better laid out, but they have done pretty good with what they have. We never had less than 2 refs all day, and they were great about enforcing the rules (goggles / condoms / no firing in the staging area).

Rental gear was crap (real cheap piranha), we went to the crono area first (my new marker had never been crono'd) and my son's marker had a break in the barrel on the first shot, when we squeegeed it it had purple paint (we were shooting yellow :) ... )


Over all, price rules at this field. We had a good time, and met some real nice people, but standing in line for 1.5 hours was a bit much. if you need to rent gear, or its your first time, I would suggest a different field (Hi Tec in Bradenton is just 30 min down I-75) But you just cant beat the cost of paint (or BYOP).

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

forrest1 Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Ballistics
Herdons
Review: Orbital has about 4 Fields which are very large and in addition to that, they have a small T-ball field and Speedball field. They have 3 refs that work there, which gets games going all the time. The speed ball field is on fire with players the whole day.


STRENGHTS:
Great Fields,
$10 for all day field
Organized
Good rental guns (compared to most)


WEAKNESS:
You can't bring your own fill staion (Atleast they say you can't.....)
No bunkering not even on speedball....

Conclusion:
Orbital is the best paintball place i've been in my life, !O out of !O !!!!!
Last edited on Friday, February 25th, 2005 at 5:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

otbBENlamin Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
thunder bay, jungle, glad, gator, FPC
Review: Iíve been to all the fields in Tampa and a lot of fields out of state. I think next to jungle this is the worst field around. The fields suck, I played all of theml and the only 2 decent ones where the hyperball field and air ball field. Their airball field is tiny and is in the shape of a square, itís smaller than the fields at FPC or glad. If u want to play good airball go to glad, FPC, gator, and now Thunder Bay has replaced the old speedball field with an airball field that is the same size as what the pros play on. The hyperball field had no grass so u couldnít dive or slide at all its sucked, you would just hit the thick sand and stop. Also because of all the sand if you ever played the snake you would get sand all over your gear and gun, and if itís a gun where you can see the bolt form the outside this could be a problem. The woods field and castle field were pretty lame, just a castle and some poorly made bunkers set up randomly. There was a speed ball field made of just wooden spools, they were horrible because you couldnít snap shoot without showing your feet. The safety sucked people were walking around with no socks on their guns and shooting in the safety area all the time. I was playing in a tourney in cal at a nice field and some kid got shot if the face three times from ten feet away because the refs werenít caring if people had their socks on or not. I think the refs at orbital were worse than the ones at that tourney. People always complain that Thunder Bay is too strict, but there just doing what should be done at all fields. I would rate this place a 2, because of poorly put together fields and bad refs. The drive to glad, FPC or Thunder Bay is way worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jahoosawa Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have Played @ Paintball Ballisticks, but it sucks. Crapy fields, kinda dangerous!
Review: Orbital PB Fields is awsome!!!

Orbital has great fields.
Their reff's are fun, ther's even a 14-year-old who works as a reff.
You should call in advance, 'cause they let you go out whenever you want with no reff (only if you call in advance)
BYOP (Bring Your Own Pain), but they do sell some.

Here are their prices:

Day Pack
(Gun, O2 tank, hopper, goggles, and all day air) no paint $25
(With 10 or more people) $20
Field Rental
(If you have your own gun/paint/air and just want to play) $10
All-day-air
(If you have a gun/paint, but are planning to play all day) $10
Individual refills
20oz $4
12oz $3
9oz $2
Individual Parts Rental
(If you're missing goggles, gun, hopper, barrel, or anything else) $20
Paint
(What you shoot people with)
500 $10
1000 $20
2000 $35
2000 (Better Quality) $60

I've only gone a couple times, but I've got my stratagies down for each course.

Attack/Deffend:
Their "Attack/Deffend" field is the best. It has a giant, 2-story fortress to defend,
and another 2-story tower facing it. The field is about 150-200 yards long.
Attack: If you're attacking you want to go to the right out of small bunker where you
start. You should go from barrel to barrel along the right side of the field until you
get behind the hill. From the hill make a run for the bush about 5-10 feet to the
right of the hill (try not to be seen. Once you're there get up close to the wall of the
fortress and go towards the back/right entrence.
Deffend: Get in the top srory, otherwise there isn't much action. Shoot as many as
you can as they run out from their bunker (about a 150 yard shot, which is a good
time to use a longer barrel if you have one. And you'll have time to switch to a
shorter one if you want.).Once they get up close concentrate on the hill (everybody
wins by storming from the hill). Watch out for people in the tower.

"Woods Ball" (Long)
Their longer "Woods Ball" is just the regular "Woods Ball" or "King of the Hill"
field with the bunker behind the fortress.
Speedball Side: You don't have to start in the bunker, wait within 10 feet of it. Be sure
to be ahead of the croud. When the game starts run!!! At the sand pile don't go to
the left of the tree line, go to the right. Don't go into the woods. Go where all of the
barrels are, and get to the futhest one. Don't go any further, they'll run in and there
isn't any cover for 20 yards. Most of the action is around the small clearing with all
the barrels. Just snipe people of from you barrel. Watch the treeline to your right,
the other team may advance into the forrest part and take an easy shot at you. Just
take people out from there untill the game is over. You will need about 300 balls
minimum. So bring pods.
Fortress Side: Run, get as farout as you can. A good place to stop would be behind
the tank, or in the dirt mounds behind it. If you're lucky you might be able to go to
the giant tube way off to the right, in front of all the barrels. Snipe people off from
there untill the game is over. You can try rushing and surrenduring the people
behind the barrels, but it's not smart.

"Air Ball"
A typical 50 yard square field.
Not much strategy. Just do what ever you need to do.

"Speed Ball"/ "Village"
Two 20 yard by 70 yard fields.
Not much strategy. Just do what ever you need to do.

Now you're ready to go.

Happy hunting!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media