paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park / Camp Pendleton Paintball Park

Camp Pendleton Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
114Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (951) 323-9883
Address: Vandergrift
San Diego, California 92055
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
PumpPaintball04 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball
Paintball superpark
Review: Safety: barrel plugs required in staging area fairly decent enforcement of basic safety such as not taking masks off near games. pretty good chrono range with cool targets to shoot at. Overall good variety of fields from woodsball to speedball, no inflatable fields though :(
Staff is semi helpful when it comes to gun teching. Restrooms are discusting port o potties. The parking lot has tables to park next to to set your gear on in between games. The field has lockers for people who didn't take their car to the field which you can rent for $2. Admission is $15 which is an ok price. The worst thing i can say about the CP paintball field is the refs do a horrible job at watching the games and calling people out, which encourages a whole lot of cheating. to me, this ruins my games, I play with limited capacity semi autos and sometimes pump guns to save paint and work on my shooting, and when people wipe it really sucks. I give them a 3/10, the field itself is pretty decent, but having bad referees really screws up the games. I have to admit, I have had some really good days out there, but today the cheating got people way out of hand, people were going nuts and almost getting to the point of fist fighting on the field. I think CP is fun sometimes, but the incompetance of the referees allows things to get out of hand, and screws over players who play honarably and go out when they are tagged.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xonelastsalute Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
jungle island - too crowded and ineffective reffing, expensive admission
splat factory - no rec ball, have to use their paint most of the time
Directions
to the Field:
5 freeway to camp pendleton, enter the marine base, take the road like 8 miles down and it's on the right.
Review: I played here earlier today, and I'm really satisfied with the way this place is being run. There were no lines for registration and air in the morning, there were about 3 refs to a game (advanced walk-on) who would check anybody being shot at for hits, and they stress safety. Not to mention everyone there's cool and fun to play with. The only problems I have with it really are that they dont sell food at the field and you have to drive 35 miles an hour on what's practically a drag strip to get there unless you want to get pulled over by the MP's and kicked off the base. Overall, I had a great day and I plan to go here a lot more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

captainkromwell Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't lived in So CAL vary long. I've only been to Vellocity and Pendelton down here.
Review: Positives:
The field staff seem to be organized vary well. Filling air, asking questions, getting repairs, registering and paying were all what you would expect at a good field.

Of the many paintball fields I've played all over CA this one has some of the best Urban and themed fields. They were just thought out vary well with great use of the terrain to make them tactically challenging and fun. The place is huge so there is a wide variety of fields to play on.

No food sold on field, but Mc Donaldís was just down the street.

The refs were friendly, but didnít do anything but start and stop the game and make sure you had a barrel condom. The players were on their own during the game.

For me a good paintball experience comes from a good field and honorable players which brings me to my next topic.

Negatives:
In my 20 years of playing I've never seen so many dishonorable, hotheaded, bad tempered players on one field. There was zero respect for other players, screaming of profanity and death threats by hotheaded players (yes, death threats), wiping, dead men talking, over shooting. Virtually every negative thing you can think of and I saw the Refs do nothing at all to stop the cheating or the inappropriate behavior. Now I'm talking about what I alone witnessed. I heard many others comment about the same thing happening to them throughout the day.

The intensity and numerous examples of this behavior made it a vary un-enjoyable day for me and those I went with.

I understand the occasional outburst but this was to such a degree I would warn parents to go to the field first to see for themselves before bringing children.

I'm primarily a scenario player so perhaps this is just the way they play, or maybe it was a bad day and all the jerks showed up at the same time. Regardless it will be a long time before I go back to see if it's like that every weekend.

The field is easily a 10. But I'll give it an 8 only because the Refs did nothing to stop the cheating and inapropriate behavior.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Blackspike Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Safety
CPP park is firm and strict on their safety rules. Before each day is started the Refs hold an orientation to brief of the safety rules, laws, and regulations. A fine is in order for any one not wearing their goggles past the parking lot and participants that do not have a barrel sock on their barrels once they enter the parking lot. CPP also encourages to wear thick, full protective apparell.

Fields
CPP has an array of 8 fields. 1 speedball field with wooden bunkers and 7 woodsball fields with wooden bunker and natural foilage. Specifically theres a field with 2 storie wooden houses(not recommended to battle on the second story, easy to be trapped and bunkered.) ONE field in particular stuck out. Stage 1 also known as "the Jungle" in the front of the park. This field is natural obstacles, theres a 20 foot cliff were players can shoot from. There is also an abundance of trees, plants, "hedgerows," trenches and best of all for those SNIPERS "mushroom trees."

Prices
Admission-$12
Air-About $2-4

Rules
Rules are satisfying except the begginer rule that you have to ask them if they surrender before you shoot your opponent.

Refs
Great they do their job to makesure everyones safe and haveing fun fair paintball.

Facilities
Alright. Portajohns,actually aren't that bad.

Food
No food. But domino's pizza delivers to the park.

Field number 1, "the Jungle" can get intense, you can be 10 feet in a tree or bush from an opponent and they will not know your there. GREAT FIELD!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

iridespyder Thursday, October 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area, but there is Splat Factory which I like better because it is all speedball and indoor which is my thing. There is also Jungle Island which has pretty nice scenario and woods games but as I states earlier, woods is not my thing.
Directions
to the Field:
I live in Orange so I just take the 5S down then get off at the Camp Pendleton exit.
Review: Getting there can sometimes be a hassle considering it's inside of a Marine base. They stop you, ask you where your going then sometimes make you check in which is what I had to do last time. After you pass that, it's smooth sailing until you take a right onto the PAINTBALL PARK exit. There is a small sign but it is approximately a minute past Taco Bell or at least that's what I found it to be. Take a small drive through some of the field's and you are at the beautiful and CLEAN staging area with the Target Range on your left. Admissions desk in front. And speedball on your right. Don't worry. I highly doubt that anyone will shoot your car unless they are a no-nothing and don't leave their barrel condum in. At the beginning of the day, the owner of the place will come out and explain all the rules of paintball for the newcomers and just to remind the regulars. Some of the rules consist of, Barrel Condums/socks whatever you want to call them MUST BE ON AT ALL TIME BESIDES THE FIELD AND ON THE PLAYING FIELDS(barrel plugs are no longer allowed). Other rules are no shooting the wildlife, keep your mask on at all time, and playing rules like how to tell when you are out or not. This is a helpful talk, and you will walk away very knowledgeable of all the expectations and various rules of the park. Prices differ whether you play in a private group or not. The prices for a regular walk on day is ADMISSION is $20 dollars. To Renta a PACKAGE is $44 dollars and comes with a Inferno Semi-auto, a mask, 2 pods, a gravity feed hopper, and 500 paintballs. This package also comes with all day refill on c02. PAINT is 2000 count for $58, 500 count for $15 dollars, and 100 count for $5 dollars.Snacks and drinks are usually 50 cents to $1.50. Water is $.75. After you setup, and STRETCH(stretching is key) then a ref with a loudspeaker will tell you that a beginner or an advanced game is going to start,and you walk down to get chronoed(which means testing to see how fast [feet per second] yor gun is shooting the paintballs) and get seperated into teams. They have various woodsball courses with houses, and blocks, and wooden pillars to bunker in. These courses are fun to play, but I enjoy playing speedball, or in this case, hyperballspeedball with wooden bunkers). The one think I do not like is that all the woodsball courses consist of the same things and can get boring after a while. At 12:00, games will stop for a half hour lunch break in which you can bring your own lunch or drive down the street to Taco Bell or McDonalds. I usually have a great time at this field and would reccomend it to anyone new to the sport or just beginning in the SoCal area. If you want more of a thrill or adrenaline rush, you might also want to try out Splat Factory in Brea. Thanks for reading and I hope you found this review useful and informational!!
Last edited on Thursday, October 5th, 2006 at 8:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Core949 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village, What used to beTombstone, one out by lake elsinore other places.
Directions
to the Field:
for directions their website
Review: Location: This park is located in a small valley, and some good tree coverage, it also some water treatment places, but only two, so don't shoot them. Its cool in the morning and warms up in the afternoon, but it will never get as hot as in Corona or Riverside, which makes it sweet.

Organization: This park keeps it simple, two groups seperated by gun type, spyder and low end gun begin in the beginner group, the high end guns including cockers, and any gun with electric internal parts, will start the day of in advanced. The always start the day off with the payment of the new raised price of $20 bucks which you will save in gas money because you don't have to drive out to Riverside to play. Rental gun are avaliable and range from the basic Inferno 2000's, which work for first time players. That basic kit costs about $44 dollars, and comes with mask, gun and two pods and holder. Other gun are avaible to be rented including the PMI electrics and WGP cockers. But, the only problem with renting you have to use their paint which is $58 for a case. Bought can be bought in smaller amounts.

Filling stations and servcies: CP has one major flaw its fill station, it will only fill compresed air tanks to 3000psi, and there is no all day air. But the prices for air are not bad ranging from 1-3 dollars per fill. But the lower PSi requires you to fill more often. Food is not avaible at the field for lunch you could drive a few miles to fast food places or the staff is willing to order pizza for you and have it driven to you as long as you pay. They do have drinks for sale. They can help you with gun problems but, they do not carry a lot of parts, and teching skills are limited. But hey you should always know your own stuff and bring replacment parts. The restrooms consist of a few portopotties which are kept clean.

Staging Area: This area is kept clean, and has tables under trees and is not located too far from the fields. It about 5 ft to the speed ball field and to the farthest field is only a few hundred yards so not too much walking.

Fields: The fields at this park are not bad and include all the fun that is expected in walkon parks, also the terrain will give you a sweet work up if you decide to run up the many hills. The fields will give you a look at wild life including snakes squrriels. But, don't worry about the snakes they are usually removed. But, the field is a wildlife preserve and a large fine of $10,000 will be given to you if you are caught shooting the wildlife. Also if you come in the summer the grasses are usually dead, in the winter when it rains the fields have plants of the greenest kind grow in and the play is fun. Also after rain there is no problem with standing water and smell, like at other parks, water stands collects paint and decomposes stuff making a great smell, but not here.

Staff: Though they hire staff from the community most refs are there to have fun and let you do the same. These Ref's will do what you ask, as long as you first don't shoot them and also don't get angery. Also every morning is started with a safty briefing, which goes over the rules of the park, no drugs of any kind, no shooting of wildlife, rules about hits and what counts, services, and other things. Leaving you knowing the park after it. Safety is a major thing at this park and they let you know it charging fines for not having you mask on and your barrel cover, they will yell at you for both.

Play: The park is a clean one, the people usually nice as long as your cool to them, and for all those who says this is a violent place. If you don't mess with people, light them up excessivly, piss them off, or be a d*&k , nothing will happen and you will have a great time. I have never had a bad experience there and i have been playing here sense i was 8, i am now 15. This is my home field, i am there alot, you can see me there, i got all yellow Dye gear. The field opens for play around 8 and you play till 4 and you have a lunch break for a half an hour around 12.

Overall: Good clean funny, that will leave you tired at the end of the day, and you will love it like i did the first time, if not try other fields, you play fair and are nice to people most will become your friends and you play with them alot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

OTEdge Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - A lot Bigger, Better Fields, Dirtier, Costs More$.
Tombstone *RIP* - Bigger, Better Fields, Costs a Little More, Better Refs, More Organized.
Directions
to the Field:
I don't drive but you can find the directions on http://www.cppaintball.com/ and it is located in the Camp Pendleton Marine Base.
Review: The Good:
Bring Your Own Paint (BYOP) Cost
Field Setup Safty
Clean Players
Parking Area Staging Area

The Bad:
No Shop Refs
Food Availibity

The First Impression:
Well since this was my first field I had ever played on my first feelings towards this field were amazing, although I had no experiance with other fields to compare to. It was just a normal day of paintball. The refs had their ups and downs that I will discuss later in the review.

The Review:

Bring Your Own Paint
This is one of the things that make CPP so cheap! But dont be alarmed if you run out or did not bring any paint, they have some 2000 packs their for a mesealy $58 dollers (sarcasim) But hey, they need to get the money somewhere. +3 Cost

Cost
When going to Camp Pendleton their is one main goal, Lots of Fun, Little Money. Only a $12 Doller Admission! When comparing to other SoCal fields this is about the best price you can get for admission. The Compressed Air Stations Charge Per 1000 PSI, and only fill up to 3000. +7 Cost

Fields
The arena's at CPP are well thought out desins and even though small compared to some other Paintball Parks, these are perfectly suitable for any amount of players. Many will come to be disappointed as they were hoping to play speedball all day, but you are able to play almost all fields everytime you come and speedball happens to occur alot more then others, It is used as a "Last Half an Hour Filler Inner." +8 Fields

Safety
CPP is very heavy on safty, atleast for the most part. If you walk out of a game without barrel condom on they will charge you from $1-$5 or into a game without mask on then bam, Cash up. Some find this a cruel way to punish for their mistakes but IMO I love this rule and I know i can be safe at CPP. +9 Safety

Out Game Areas
The Parking and Staging area are pretty good. Their is Lots of parking, the spots are under tree's next to a table so this is very convinent. The Staging area is about 10-15 Feet Behind the Target Arena, their are 3 sets of wooden bleachers their that can hold lots of people. All of this is provided with some sort of barrier that would keep paintballs away from these public areas unless a unpreventable accident of a dumb nut player who shot his marker off in the parking lot or something. +10 Safety

Clean?
Very Clean Indeed. This place is out on dirt like most Paintball Parks but the tables are clean and you wouldnt be disgusted going to this place, They dont have mordern restrooms though.....can you say...Porta Potty? Good =) Suprisingly These are kept well cleaned though and isnt that bad really...For a Porta Potty... +5 Service

Food
Their is no food provided at the field but their are fast food "Restraunts" about 2 miles down the road and I belive but not Sure of (Correct me if im wrong) a list they can provide you for ordered pizza, chinese, etc. +3 Service

Staff and Players
The Staff here are friendly but very unprofessional, On the field they are pretty good with cheaters and most of the time doing a good job, A lot of these refs can be really immature and I can tell you about 8 stories of their stupidity but I will tell you one thing....If you care about your marker..Do Not! Let Them Touch It With Their Think-They-Know-It-All-About-Paintball-Markers Hands..Or you'll be paying to fix it. Also, Make sure you bring extra items because their shop is very limited. +1 People
The Players on the otherhand are very good, I myself have made a few paintball buddies with some of the players whoms home field is CPP and it consists of friendly, welcoming players. But Dont get me wrong, theirs a few nut jobs in the handful, I Have seen 3 Fist Fights within the time i have been playing at CPP and those people are Idiots...Soooo yea... Their Problem... +4 People

Scores:
Cost: 8/10
Fields: 8/10
Safety: 19/10
Service: 8/10
People: 5/10
Average Rating: 8/10

Conclusion
Do I recommend this Paintball Park? HECK YEA! Come and play and I can almost gaurentee that would will have loads of fun. This park is extreamly safe IMO and everything is great. Refs Could be a little better but hey life aint perfect, Good Luck and Have Fun =D
Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 10:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pballmonkey Friday, June 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I checked out Camp Pendleton because it looked the most promising of a host of lackluster fields in California.

I am new to the state and have played primarily on the East Coast.

The terrain and Pendleton was good, I enjoyed the variety of fields and game types and more or less had a fun time.

The issue I took with the field was the sheer disorganization, rude staff, and faulty safety precautions.

If I had wanted to, I easily could have walked onto the field without hitting the chrono.

Mask enforcement was weak and several times I had to actually tell some young kids to keep their mask before matches started with refs standing next to me.

Asking questions of the refs were fruitless. Either they had no idea where to point you or you were bounced around so many people till you gave up with your question.

Once I got there, trying to find what group we were in, where we were playing, etc. was very hard because of the poor organization.

In all, I don't plan on returning because of the poor level of service and rude staff, which is regrettable at an otherwise nicely laid out course.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

AD BEAR Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MR PAINTBALL- Decent Field but going through some changes
SC VILLAGE- Big place, pretty far drive from Oceanside but worth it, top notch
JUNGLE ISLAND- Again, pretty far drive for me, but a great time
Directions
to the Field:
www.CPPAINTBALL.com
Located on Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton
Review: Well first off I guess I should state that I've been playing 'Ball for a while now and that CP is my local field, for better or for worse. My overall experience there and that of my friends and Co-workers has been pretty good. But as of late, there has been some dramatic negativity related with this field.

I'm an older guy at 27, not that old I know, but old enough to see there are issues that Management should address to keep it's loyal base of regular customers from driving else ware to play. On Sunday May 21st, 2006, I encountered rude staff, TWO fist fights and more upset and disappointed paintballers than I could count. Being a manager myself I full well know that there are no "quick-fixes" for these type of issues. The only way to address these concerns is for CP to talk with their staff, dismiss those staff members that are not up par, and do a better overall job of catering to their CUSTOMER'S NEEDS. Because that is what every baller is, a customer (no matter what age or what kind of gear they are sporting). And if the customer is not happy they may simply choose to go else ware without ever letting the CP staff know why.

If I had kids of my own there would be no way I would drop them off at a place like this. Too much cussing, so many frustrated people itching for a fight, staff neglecting these problems and letting the problems get bigger, and bigger. However, they are on the ball about SAFETY. If they weren't I would take my two good eyes and never return to play. Overall, if you're an older guy or part a private group (the only way to play there in my humble opinion) you should be good to go for a mediocre day of balling. To Mom and Dad out there; spring for the private group party. You don't want your little guy being cussed out by a guy bigger than me, and I'm a big dude, for something as petty as being hit in the back by your own team by mistake. I watched it happen on the 21st with a ref 5 feet away. Not cool, ever.

A couple of redeeming qualities regarding CP Paintball-
-You can bring your own paint. Really cool if you're on a budget or sharing with buddies
-Safety is taken seriously. I've heard things like "they charge you $ if you tip your mask" but it's never happened to myself or anyone I've been with.
-Private groups are well taken care of, plenty of time to gear-up, play, rest.

Thanks for taking the time to read this review. If you are ever at any field and think that you are not getting the most out of your day, take a break and talk with someone in charge. It's OK if you're only 15, if you don't whine and have a valid issue the field staff should take care of you. If you don't say anything, nothing will change.

Be Safe. Have Fun. Be cool to all your Paint Ball brothers and sisters out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dusky-SCD Sunday, May 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village ::: Much funner, better looking, more plentiful fields, and less pricey / Worse everything else

Mr. Paintball ::: Doesnt even compare, almost all the courses we're bulldozed

Hollywood Paintball ::: Sad, sad experience... Field paint only.. PERIOD!! 50$ every 2K, staff plays favorites
Directions
to the Field:
Map on located here: http://www.cppaintball.com/contact.html
Review: I've been paint balling here since I started playing and SC Village is the only field that I've been to that even compares...

The staff is very fun and fair, for all the people that think they're racist, rude, or cheap. Get over yourselves, just because you don't know how to take a joke or not pay attention to rhetorical questions doesn't mean people on this website have to be misinformed... The fields are all unique, even the speed ball is different then any other field! It has a bunker almost every 5-10ft! And with 25 on 25 players in a 80 yd. x 40 yd. field you'll realize why its called speed ball. As for food? Just go up to the counter and ask for the phone numbers of any delivery places, they have them written up at the station (pizza, Chinese, etc.). The prices for paint are really messed up, but if you don't have rentals, or you just have every person that comes w/ you bring they're own cash, your usually set. They are very strict on safety in rules they MIGHT give you a warning, or they MIGHT just skip strait to the payment (pay the refs, 3$ for no mask on when you're supposed to have it on etc.). Just remember, for you 1st-timers, or rookies, make sure you get a private party, the active or ex-servicemen don't 'relax' when they have a gun in hand
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media