paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field / Paintball Action Games Paintball Field

Paintball Action Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 3124 Old County Road
Newark, Delaware 19702
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
fabfields Monday, August 3rd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: So my brother, my cousins, and some family friends went paintballing at Paintball Action. It was everyone's first time, and let me tell you, it was a good time.

PRICING- None of us had any equipment, so we had to rent. The prices weren't too bad if you get the packages. The paintballs weren't priced badly either, however, if you are anything like we were (not conservative) you'll run out of paint pretty quickly.

RENTAL EQUIPMENT- The paintball guns they had for rent weren't the best, they had little accuracy, so we found ourselves firing many rounds without hitting anything. But since it was our first time, not sure we can blame the guns. The masks they have provided great protection (i would know, i got hit in mask right between my eyes twice) however they did fog up ALOT. Maybe that was because it was 90 degrees and we are a bunch of sweaty teenagers, I don't know. And since you can't take off your mask we found ourselves walking around half blind.

FIELDS- The woodsball fields were awesome. They were a lot of fun. There are bunkers and stacks of wood to hide behind, and all kinds of good stuff. The speedball field was a little cheesey, but that didn't take away from the fun at all. The speedball games were fast paced and on a small field with large crates, large spools, and barrels. You get to play on all the fields at least twice. There are two woodsball fields and one speedball field.

STAFF- The staff members were pretty cool. They gave advice to the teams on how to win and how to work the field.

ADVICE- You should dress for mobility over protection. The paintballs don't really hurt that much, but they hurt even more if you're exhausted from the hoodie and sweatpants you wore because you didn't want to get hit. Even the staff there said its stupid to dress heavily. They recommended shorts and a t-shirt. The only thing i wore for protection was a beanie type hat under my mask to protect the back of my head, even though i never got hit there.
Overall experience was a 9+, it was a great day and I would recommend this place to others!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

toastydeath Saturday, April 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Very friendly establishment. Most of the business at PAG is rental groups, and they do an excellent job of catering to the group. They have a very hard-line bunker rule, and you cannot come within ~15 feet of an opponent, period. There is no surrender rule or anything similar, you must shoot it out with zero bunkering. The groups that show up are large. The walk-on players are abnormally friendly, and it makes up for a lot of the small problems I had playing on this field. If you are a brand new player, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this field as your first place to go. Just as an example, I lost my speed feed on the first game of the day, and afterward, with only a brief mention, half the field was looking for my friggin' speed feed (a kid found it, thanks guy). Great group of people, out to have fun and not prove anything.

There are two sessions, morning and afternoon. They have an internet group you can sign up with that gives you pretty good deals. Play both sessions for one price, and discounts on admission/paint. Very good deal if you're a walk-on. They sell snacks and drinks for very attractive prices. Paint is something like 55 a case, admissions 15, all day hpa 10. Field paint only.

Safety needed some work. They do have masks on/barrel plugs/no shooting zones, but the enforcement was lackluster at times. It was also not clear when the field was hot or safe, leading to some players with masks up and others with barrel socks off, testing markers at the same time. Overall, safety is decent at this field, but there is room for improvement. All it takes is one accident to get more bad press.

The refs are very patient, especially with the newer players. For the size of the fields and the number of players, the refs were understaffed most of the day. It could be difficult to get a paint check, especially on the woodsball fields. Overall, they did a good job.

The fields are my biggest complaint. The woodsball fields are large, but very sparse with cover. There are several areas on the fields that do not have any cover at all, aside from trees (almost no bush). This makes the games a little more about attrition and less about strategy. The bunkers that do exist are low stacked logs, and are quite some distance from one another, easily 50-60 feet apart. I would prefer to see a little better layout, with 30-40 foot distance between bunkers. Plywood sheeting nailed to 2x4's in the ground would be perfect. The bunkers also are stacked in a line - there are very, very few angles to be had, again increasing the attrition style gameplay. Also, the ground needs work. There's lots of potholes, stuck branches, et cetera under the leaves, and several people fell (myself included) when trying to run from one bunker to the other because of this. Again, knowing you can't run full out makes the game more about luck than strategy.

The speedball field is similar. I would prefer to see some used hyperball tubing. Since the stuff can be had by talking to construction sites and similar inexpensively or free, I don't see why this field doesn't have it. It's a strange combination of plastic crates, barrels, and spools. There are not many stand up bunkers. The field size is what you'd expect for a three man game, but has a 5 or 7 man field's worth of bunkers crammed into the same space. For the amount of people the field draws, I'd expect a larger space. The bunker density makes many of the angles irrelevant until you can move up closer to the player you want to shoot at.

But as I said in the beginning, don't let my minor whining dissuade you from going, but I have to be complete in my opinion of the place. It's a great group of people to play with, and if you're in the area I suggest checking it out at least once to find out if it's your style of field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

WearyCorpse Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thornton, new ECX, USANA, West Point, picasso lake
Review: Average field, reasonable pricing. reffing was ok untill i was told i was ramping when i was not (fast fingers). they have sevral fields. speedball, woodsball-ctf and center flag. ok for small parties of newer players but vetrans of paintball would look down on this field. worth a try but dont go out of the way for it when better fields are only 20 min further.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrpopinfresh30 Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish (jim Thorp P.A), The Graveyard (in D.E)
Review: Ok so I have been playing at this field for about 2 years now, mainly because it only takes me 5 minutes to get there, and I have been very pleased with it. It's a very low-key field and is great for parties or just playing with your friends, if you're a beginner, you don't have to worry about professional players getting in there and destroying you. Anyway, heres the review:

Safety: From my experience and what I've heard, they aren't uber strict on safety like at Skirmish, which is ok, because i was called out at Skirmish for wiping sweat on my forehead, which required me to lift my goggles for a second. At Action games they pretty much let you play as long as there are no glaring safety issues, like playing with goggles off or shooting pointblank. Before you can play they check all guns, whether you bring them or they supply them to you to see if they are shooting at the correct speed and give the whole group a short speach on safety, the rules, and how they expect the games to go (time, format, how to call someone out, and advice on playing the fields). So although they aren't strict on safety, no one is getting hurt on their watch.

Fields: These are the best woodsball fields I've played on so far. I like them better than Skirmish because these fields are actually woods, not a clearing with bunkers, this is real woodsball. When I went last, we played 3 woodsball fields and one speedball. Their website says that there are 7 fields on the complex, but i have yet to see them, whether they're under construction or what, I don't know. The speedball field we played was not very good, way worse than the Graveyard, but the Graveyard is built for professional teams and experienced players so they have better speedball. Overall the fields are right in line with what you're looking for and pay for.

Pricing: 35$ for a full setup provided by the field or 10$ if you bring your own gear, which is cheap compared to the other places I play. Paintballs are 60$ for a box of 2000 which is great compared to Skirmish where I payed 100$ for 2000.

Proshop: There is none, kind of a bummer

Staff: Mainly kids and a couple adults. They know what they're doing, but again, they're kids, and they don't take the job as seriously as I expected off the field, but they act very professionally during play, are very fare and enjoy seeing everyone play, its always nice to have staff who enjoy the game.

Players: Mainly you'll see beginners and amatuers, as well as alot of parties there. Walk-on's are permitted as long as there is a party of players the same day, call them to find out. When I went there last it was me and my friends as the main group, and some guys showed up who were good. They were very helpful to me and my less expecienced friends, showing us the correct strategy for each field, and giving advice on guns and equiptment, I probably got lucky with the guys that showed up, I know there are alot of jerks who like to prey on beginners but these gus were all class.

Food: Whenever I go I bring drinks and order pizza there when we're hungry, I don't know what they offer as far as food goes, but only because I never asked, theire website will probably explain more.

In conclusion, it's a very good facility, one I enjoy and continue to go to in the summer. I reccomend it to everyone I know and they have all said they enjoy it as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

elacter Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I had been thinking about doing this for a while. This was my first time. We all had a blast. I was a little reluctant about playing with some experienced jerks but along with the four of us, everyone else were nice guys. For some it was they first time as well. Others had played a few times before.

The staff are also good guys. It took a little too long to start but I guess that's due to having to organize many people including many beginners.

We didn't have any mosquitoes but that's because of the season.

The staff was very strict on safety and that's good.

Yes, the access road was challenging even with a Tahoe. They could repair it a little. But I'm sure the owner doesn't make big bucks.

The prices are very reasonable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ageranger361 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I just got done reading the other postings about this paintball site! Some of the complaints are somewhat understandable, but a lot of them sound like whining to me. I have only played at this site once, but plan to re-visit it again this weekend. Yes, the field does require you to purchase their paint, but $65 for 2000 or $35 for 1000 is not highway robbery or anything. The complaints about the bugs I really don't even want to comment to much about, except for this, Holy Crap! Bug Spray! Stop Whining, you are in the woods! As for the head shots comments, here is my advice, Move Faster and keep your head down. Don't like it, maybe paintball isn't for you, try another sport/hobby!

The site does have a few issues that they would do well to attend to though. First and foremost is safety. I did notice that they required barrell plugs except when in the field or practice shooting, but some didn't follow the directions. This is inevitable and should be expected, but the refs and the site owner did not do anything about it when it happened. Dumb people are a reality we all have to deal with, but the refs and site owner are responsible for everyone's safety. Fix it!

Secondly, the signage and instructions are not very user friendly for first timers such as myself. Putting some instruction signs up would speed registration and ease first timers learning curve. Also, the refs were nice kids, but they needed to get involved by helping first timers through the process.

Lastly, the refs were good kids and seemed to be on top of things during gameplay, but the starting of games was kind of a wreck.

All in all, I will re-visit this site again because I had a friggin' blast, and so did everyone else I went with! The players were all pretty cool and there was no trouble with anyone there like I half expected. This seemed like a great site to get started on. I'm giving the field a rating of seven. I would have chosen a 6, but it was my first time playing and the only field I have ever been to. It is definitely worth while visiting this location to decide for yourself!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None locally, but this was on par with other's i've tried.
Directions
to the Field:
Glad they have a big sign because the dirt path is easy to miss.
Review: After reading the other reviews of this site i decided to post my own because their seems to be an awful lot of negative things to say about PAG. I'm not a paintball expert by any means, i've gone about 3 times before. As a beginner i'll tell you about my experience here.

Safety: At the initial "briefing" about the rules and what not they were very strict about googles and gun plugs, but after that it was kind of hit or miss. The refs didn't seem to pay much attention to it, but i was part of a good group that played responsibly, so we had no problems here. I can see however, that if a bunch of immature teenagers ran loose things could get bad. But i have no complaints. The chronograph area is shot at 2 targets. Yes it is setup near the staging area and behind the speedball area, but not once did i ever feel in remote danger while i was in either. You'd have to be purposely shooting somewhere else for anyone to be in danger.

Fields: The woodsball fields all were great. Although i didn't get to play on all of the fields, the ones we played on were great. I didn't have any problems with bugs, but it is November afterall. Only problem i had was thorn bushes, and lots of them, lol.

Hours: We arrived at 12:45 and got started at 1:30. It did take a little time to get organized and ready to go, but part of that problem was part of our team arriving late, can't blame them for that. Signing in, payment, and picking up/dropping off rentals was very smooth and easy.

Prices: $35 to rent you equipment, $10 if bring your own. Not bad at all really. But you can't bring your own paint and have to buy theres. I suppose that's not a big deal, but for those of us on tighter budgets it would have been nice. Although i'm not sure about what a great price is for a case of paint, they charged $60 for 2000 rounds. I split that with 3 other guys and we all ended up with 700 rounds for the afternoon. We ran out before the last game was fully done, but it wasnt by much. So if you can share it cuts your cost down alot. The only thing i don't understand about the prices is the "group rate" They said you needed 15 people to get the group rate which we had, but we still paid the same as walk on's, so i'm not sure about that. I suppose i'll look into it for next time.

Service: They use Tippman Custom 98's (yea i had to look that up) and they seemed to be everything i'd expect from a rental; tough and reliable, but not of the best quality. Accuracy wasn't very good, but now i'm more inclined to get my own marker and become more involved in paintball, so maybe it was a good thing? I was having some trouble with my rental and the owner cleaned out my barrel and checked my CO2 and got me back on track. All of the guys in the "shop" seemed very friendly and willing to help out us beginners. I talked to the owner briefly about the setup and hours/prices/dates for future engagements and he answered all my questions.

Staff/Refs: Staff was very nice and the Refs did a fine job. They weren't the most organized by any means. (somehow i don't think it's a good idea to use ""go in 5 seconds"" as a round starter) We ended up coming back to the start several times because we weren't sure if we were live or not. That was kinda annoying, but once the game was on, everything was fine.

Facilities: Basic describes it pretty well. But basic is all i need really. My only complaint about "basic" is the muddy road to get there. Some of those holes are big enough to swallow cars and getting stuck wouldn't have been hard to do. They should fill some of that in/get gravel or something. Anyway, a bunch of picnic tables and the wooden shop plus a portapotty. Next time i go (which won't be long since i had so much fun) i may bring some tailgating gear and rest some more. And 75 cents for a soda can is NOT something to cry about. Jeez, that's cheap guys, go to hershey park and then you'll see what extortion is.

In conclusion, my group of 16 people had an absolute blast here. It wasn't very crowded, the courses were fine, the equipment did it's job; as long as you play safe and fair you'll have a good time. I'm looking forward to my next round. Just have to let all my bruises heal first, some of those guys are brutal!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fmac702 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Poco Loco
Directions
to the Field:
After you turn on Old Country Rd. it is 1.4 miles, not 0.4 like Mapquest.com says.
Review: Eventhough the fields are a little bit smaller then the others I have played at, it was very clean and well kept up. A good amount of coverage in the wooded fields, which is great. It has the basic rest area setup and the parking is right in the middle of the fields, which was very convinient. The owner and staff did anything to make sure you had the best experience possible, safety always came first. I enjoyed the wooded fields with various situations and they also have a speedball field that helped switch things up. All the fields were kept up nice and you didn't have to walk too far from the rest area or resupply on ammo or CO2.

There is a variety of players but mostly beginners or intermediate. I had the chance to play with a few rangers which is always interesting. All in all it was a good mix of people and staff.

If you own your equiptment the pricing is lower then most other places for admission/CO2 and a box of paintballs is about the same everywhere. The prices for rentals was also about the same as anywhere else.

If your looking for a close field for the day this is where you want to go! I'm sure I will be going there in the future, it would be even better if there were some more experienced players that gave this field a run. ENJOY!!!
Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 1:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crow_says Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Graveyard, ECX, Paintball Adventure
Review: I just wanted to chime in that I have had some very positive experiences at this field. I have found the owner to be helpful above and beyond what should be expected. I've seen him assist experienced players with repairing their marker, loan parts and supplies when guns break, and routinely provide help for players of all types.

The facilities are basic, a wooden shack and some tables, nothing extravagant, but it gets the job done. You'll be parked close to the 'dead-zone' so you'll have ready access to your gear.

The referee's here are definitely the best I have dealt with. Too many fields have refs that feel that they are hanging out with friends instead of working. Yeah, occasionally the refs will ramble on about their gear, but just about all of them do if you get them talking about it. The best part of PAG, and the reason I keep going back, is the efficiency of the place. You are nto standing around for hours on end waiting for things to get organized. Other fields I've been too have refs that wander around and talk with their friends and have interest or desire to get the day started. PAG keeps things on a fun, but rigid, schedule, and it allows you to get more time in on the fields.

The owner and the refs are fanatical about barrel plugs.

I am a woodsball player, so i think the fields are great. If your primary interest is speedball you will not be satisfied, but if you like to play a combination of both woodsball and (ghetto) speedball you will love this place.

If it rains alot the days before you play you will:

a) get muddy - duh
b) lose 1 quart of blood to the mosquitoes - bring some sweat-proof bugspray and you'll be fine.

Overall I would recommend this to all woodsball and non-hardcore-speedball players. This is *definitely* the place to go if you are a newer player looking for a relaxed place to play with a group or in a pick-up game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

J.Electro24 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I love this place. The refs are great because they are young, avid paintball players. I have talked with them and they ref fairly. They're facility is'nt the nicest but for an outdoor paintball field place they are good. They have a speedball field and a center flag and regular CTF field. They another CTF field across from the Center flag field but every time I go there no on wants to play that field because it is either flooded or the grass is to high.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media