paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Frog Holler Paintball Field / Frog Holler Paintball Field / Frog Holler Paintball Field / Frog Holler Paintball Field

Frog Holler Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
24Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 316-789-9991
Address: 9430 So. Bluff
Derby, Kansas 67037
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
bill bailey Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i do not know
Directions
to the Field:
call charlotte at frog holler. she gives awesome directions
Review: O.K. where to start.

the owners are awesome. just by looking at the facilities you can tell they care about the customers. they have concrete floor shaded areas with enough water spikits to make noah worry. all the fields are well marked and there is always a differant type of game going on somewhere. they are laid back and everyone is treated like family..they have concessions available and the parking is close to everything. chrono area is covered and everything is in great shape. if you do not like them you either dont know them or you did something wrong and dont like to be told how to do the right thing.

i have been playing for 22 years and i had a blast playing in their 5 man that they had last weekend.we played in their mowed 20 piece airball field.

thumbs up Kerry and charlotte
ALL HAIL THE VELVET TWINKIE.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KIngman-Boy Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Edge - boring as hell
Review: I'v been playing at Frog Holler since i started playing paintball and its a really cool and fun field. The one time i went to the edge, there were a bunch of mean players and refs, and the edge doesnt even have any shade, and Frog Holler has lots of it! And Frog Holler says that you have to have field paint, but i always take my own and they dont really care. The owner can be really mean sometimes, but that doesnt really matter because teh only time hes around is when hes giving a saftey speech, filling air or making food, so hes not too much of a bother. It does take 5 - 10 minutes between games, but some people like to rest a little, that seems to bother some people. their field is mostly woodsball, but if you like woodsball then frog holler is a really good place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

liver_pudding Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Graffiti
Review: The owner (Kerry) can seem pretty unfriendly at times. This seems especially true when there are a lot of people and he's very busy. The first time I played there he was very nice, but there weren't many people. The other times I've went it has been very busy and he's not been friendly. That's not to say he's not willing to help if you have a problem. He's helped me modify my gun when I couldn't get the fps low enough. You can tell he's busy and people (maybe his own people) are starting to annoy him.

The positives about Frog Holler paintball are obvious for anyone that's been there before. They have decent fields even if there are mostly woodsball fields. There's usually a good turnout and their prices aren't bad. 10 dollar walk on fee. 7 dollar all day air fee. Paint prices are about the same as everyone else. They also sell food and drinks.

Now, the negatives. The Wilderness field. This field is along the arkansas river and requires you to walk quite a ways to get to it and the last time I played it, it was way overgrown. I believe they use this field when they have large groups because of the fields size.

Some of the players (not really frog hollers problem) like to get shot repeatedly and not call themselves out. The older refs are good and won't hesitate to call these people out when it's called to their attention. The younger refs are... well... younger refs. I'm sure this happens at other fields also.

There really aren't a lot of negatives and I personally really like frog holler. I go there with a friend and I think he would agree with me on all of the positives and negatives that I've mentioned. You can always count on a good turn out, and you can't say that about every field in the Wichita area. Some of the fields could use some work but other than that it's a great place to play.

UPDATE (8/1/2006) I'm updating my review because Frog Holler has added a tire course. And I must say it has quickly become my least favorite course. ALL of the tires sit upright. None of the are stacked. And it is waaay too small. We played it with about 10 people and it is just pitifully undersized. I don't like small courses and I don't like courses that don't provide proper cover. You can already imagine what happened. I got shot thru a tire. Again. And Again. I'm about a 90% woodsballer, 10% speedballer. But even still this course has major problems. The tire course at Graffiti paintball is 10 times better than this one.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 5:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Psycho81 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Everyone there was extremely nice. I don't see where all this talk about the owner not being friendly comes from. I was having a problem with my gun that he looked at but couldn't figure out so I got a free rental. The refs weren't bad. Some of them stayed to the side and they would do a paint check when asked, although they were a little slow sometimes. Everyone playing was very friendly and helpful. There were a few of us who hadn't played there before and they made sure everyone knew what was going on. All in all it was a good experience and I'd recommend it to anyone that wants to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

-[xsv]- Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wipa
Graffiti
Review: Overall pretty fun.. Its a lil pricy but the refs are fun and ppl there are nice. The only bad thing is its like all woodsball.. There is only 1 or 2 speedball courses.. The ppl there are pretty nice but the person who explains the rules talks wayy to fast. So overall its a pretty nice course. If u love woodsball then u would reccomend u go there.. If ur more of a speedball player then i would go to graffiti..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

napolian22 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Edge
Review: Frog Holler is a good place to paintball but the owner of the place it a real jerk. Also they seem desperate for money so they overpirce. The refs there are awesome but the owners son wines too much. they need to drop the price for that crappy karnage paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

minimartin Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have only been playin a frog holler
Review: wow,
i love frog holler i mean everybody on here is saying that the owner (Kerry) is some mean guy?? and i personally know Kerry and hes an awesome guy, alright one time my ion was broke and he gladly worked on it, and he couldn't fix it so he gave me a rental absolutely FREE and that was pretty cool... they are pretty cheap on pricing and they have these hamburgers... oh my god!!!!! they are so good and they are only like $1.50.. the only thing i don't like there is that sometimes they don't check velocity but overall i love this place

GO THERE
Last edited on Friday, March 24th, 2006 at 6:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fearthelongball Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tornado ally is the only other place I've played at and it is way better than frogg holler, although frogg holler's paint was extremely better.
Review: The dude who runs this place is a real jerk, and his sons who help him are to. the food is awesome. they really respect the walk or die rules but other than that there safety sucks. all the ever play is woods, good if your a woods player not so good if you a speed ball player. prices were a little high. the refs are the owners sons and are unfair at times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

dustin1026 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 12th, 2001
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: i would both recomend Frog Holler, and wouldn't. Frog Holler is an excellent place to get your paintball career started, but if you are looking for competition speedball i would reccomend WIPA. If you are an expierienced woodsballer, then go. i would say that their speedball course, and their town, and barrel course are the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dday_paintball9 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I don't kno wat all these other people are talkin about. the owner is a friendly person who isn't afraid to handle business. He stays on top of everything makes sure we kno all the rules and makes sure the teams are fair. He keeps the fields up and makes sure we don't hav any problems! He is happy to do repairs to guns or give a rental for guns he cant fix at a reasonable price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media