paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field / Outlaw Paintball Field

Outlaw Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 512-252-1664
Address: 1436 Grand Ave Parkway
Pflugerville, Texas 78660
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
onealhart54 Sunday, February 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball-More fields but also more expensive
Directions
to the Field:
across the street from windemere primary scool
Review: The referees and employees were very helpful to me and the ref even let me borrow a HPA tank for free when my o-ring needed to be replaced. all of their fields are cool and fast paced but sometimes people don't pay attention. paint checks happened often and the refs really crack down on people who try to take off their masks in the playing area. They didn't have a bathroom but their paint ball prices were reasonable. $50 dollars a case, $30 for a half case, and $17 for 500 paintballs. The paintballs were triax. They had beef jerky, lots of famous amos cookies, candy, gatorade, and soda. All the players were friendly, and 1 birthday party showed up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjbse Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty's, The Realm, Texas Paintball
Review: This feild was a great place to play 2 years ago. 2 years ago, there was tournament practice every Friday, the refs actually did paint checks, the owner was there every weekend; but not any more. They sold there Xball feild becuase "it was too expensive to operate," there are only three fields now. The referees did not do paint checks, games were refed by the players, the guys working there were not very friendly, and were all teenagers that stood behind the shed fooling around between games.

However, this feild is cheaper than other feilds in Austin.

Lets face it, Outlaw Paintball has had better days.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gsxrjeff02 Sunday, April 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty Paintball, Texas Paintball, Field 13. This field is ok but dosent compare to the rest I just listed.
Review: Ok let me just say that Outlaw PB is a good field with a very minimal pro shop. BUT... I didnt see a single employee over the age of 14. Not a sigle adult in the place. If you need a paint check while playing foget about it. I was involved in a huge argument with another player over a paintcheck or LACK of. Ive never seen so many cheating players in my life and its probably due to lack of care from the refs. I just started shooting players untill they put there guns in the air because I couldnt get them to call themselves out after one or two shots that broke clear as day... But for what its worth it is in the middle of north Austin but I will never go back again. Petty Paintball is the only place for me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

emilio Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paint ball challenge
Review: ok every one else seems to have a bad experience . but i go almost every week end for 3 reasons

1. wonderful location
2. awesome people go there
3. the manger and staff is cool

you cant argue how its smack down in the suburbs, really.

almost every time i go there i run out of paint and some players would just give me paint with no problem. i don't mooch though . and i offer paint as well. its that gratitude of others that makes a wonderful visit

here's a example of the manger Keith (who is awesome) , one game this kid on my team side slid into the 50 and for no reason (what so ever the gun had no impact) his gas line came off and unscrewed(broke , it wouldn't screw back in). Keith said "man that blows, go get a rental gun not as good but it will keep you playing" and he got a rental for the whole day.

as for safety, not as strict but they keep it at a required level to be safe, Example story time; A kid kept on taking his mask off pass the nets and Keith said one more time and you off the field for the day,the kid never took his mask off again not even off the fields LOL, Kieth said he hates doing it but it happens. I've also been yelled at by the other staff about my barrel sock not being on outside the nets ,

now as for there example of paint check. its a joke, only Keith will paint check(if he feels like it lol) but hay every field has its downer, and that's why i giving them a 9 instead of a 10 because if i hit some one and call a paint check knowing i hit them but they wont honor system and leave i expect a paint check to make sure i hit them and call him out.

rather then that every thing else is great, the people, the staff. o and they always have a beautiful cashier working (girls of course lol). O AND a little cheaper then paint ball challenge

so i say come on down but just don't expect a paint check, for the most time people honor system it; and are honorable

9 out of 10 BAM

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gough Saturday, March 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review: My friends and I visited this field on spring break. Entered the field and was originally excited. Much to my dismay our experience was very poor.

The rental equipment was damaged and in poor working condition.

There was no ability to secure our personal property resulting in theft of our paintballs.

Business refused to refund rentals when the theft occured after less than 15 minutes of play. Refused to give us 500 paintballs in compensation even though we purchased 2000.

"Managers" at the business consisted of 16 year old boys with no communication ability.

"Referees" were non-existent on the fields.

Fields were muddy and worn around the obstacles from wear even with nice weather the day we visited.

DO NOT VISIT THIS PLACE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

huneycutt Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball challenge, and xtreme paintball
Review: Outlaws fields are okay. But they have some of the worst refs. One game no one got shot and the ref ended the game early just so he could go smoke a cigarette. They don't even do paintchecks The last time i played i shot at least eigth diferent players that didn't go out and i ask the refs to go check them but they just go walk around and don't do anything. The main type of people that go there have $1,000 guns or its just a 10 year olds birthday party. There rentals are okay. They only have two good refs out of 5 and 1 of the refs is like 12 years old. And the prices there are outrages but i have no where else to go thats as convienent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mvergara Sunday, January 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field Ive played because its really convenient from my house.
Review: Ive played this field twice now and it has decent fields: giant spindles, hyperball , and a fort field...the X-ball field hasn't been used.

Costs: $12.50 field fee/all day air HPA ; $4.50 rentals (the rental masks are horrible); paint starts at $50 ; and $7.50 BYOP fee.

The biggest negative against this place is the lack of organization, its run by little kids the majority of the time.. The last time I went they had 2 refs and 2 private parties going on with additional parties showing up..so that left everyone else just standing around. We finally just jumped on vacant fields and used the honor system. Oh and the refs just start and finish the game, Ive never seen them do a paint check or anything else for that matter.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shawn_Savage Saturday, January 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty Paintball - Still the best, hands down. Just sucks because of the drive and lack of players due to the drive.

Still exploring others
Directions
to the Field:
The website says it best but basically from Austin you go 35 N to Grand Ave. Pkwy and take a right. 3/4 miles down its on the left by a rock and concrete place. Look closely.
Review: Ok, so let's start with the fact that I have been here twice. The first time is always a gamble and you go back and see if you can have a better experience with the knowledge that you now know on the second trip around.

So the reviews on here are all from a very long time ago and let me tell you that some things have changed drastically and some have not changed at all.

Major changes:

The website is completely outdated. There were 2 reasons I decided to go to Outlaw other than the location. One is the airball field on the website and the other is a membership option because it's very close to my house and that could save a lot of money.

The first time I went I was able to get a pickup match (I'm having harder times lately with this at all fields) due to all games being private parties. I got in and began to play. Immediately the issue was 3-4 groups and 1-2 refs depending on how everyone split and what the refs were doing. During my first game the ref was overseeing two different fields and standing in the middle of both. During this time he called and end to my game when there was still one person left on the opposite team. I let him know this and he was very surprised. They did let me stand in as a ref with some of the games due to the short handedness and I don't mind helping out at all. I wanted to get to know the field, refs, operations, etc.

Later while the ref is watching a match I tagged someone once, they didn't call it and I yelled to them to call it. I tagged them a second time and said for them to call it to no avail. I had to shoot them in the top of the head before they would exit the field, yelling constantly for them to remove themselves the whole time. No help from the referee on this one. I had that happen another time a few games later but it was a lesser issue. Both times I have been they allow the private parties (usually first time players and mostly children) to referee themselves. The second time I went there was one referee and maybe 5 groups?

The first time I went I was talking a lot with the ref (I tore a chunk from my knee on a rock on the ground while sliding) because I was out for the day and wanted to still get a feel for this field. I asked about the airball field and he told me that they were attracting a lot of unwanted attention from poor attitude players and fights were starting up, basically all the stuff you read about on the reviews before this. The airball field is gone for good.which is understandable because things like that do happen. He told me what he believed the plans for the fields are, which I won't share incase they are secret for some reason. He was a good guy and was very friendly but as far as his actual job was concerned I just didn't feel satisfied. He was smoking out on the field while watching the games which isn't easily done without fudging some mask rules.

So the fields are 2 speedball fields, one is spools and one is the large plastic culvert type tubing, I'm sure everyone has seen them. The last and third field is a fort type structure and some trenches that surround it. I like all the fields, they are fun. The bunkers are unkempt though because I touched one today and my hand was instantly covered in massively thick paint. I'm serious, it was so nasty, it felt like sticking your hand in mud.

The prices are very reasonable, especially for paint which is the most surprising and attractive deal. Free air all day (fill it yourself) which is strange at first but then easy.

Now someone mentioned the whole bit about a bunch of kids running a business under no supervision. This has not changed at ALL. The first week the girl told me to come back in a week and ask questions because her boss was on vacation (that's cool but leave someone in charge) and this weekend there was no one around and they just basically run their own schedule and do as they please. Everyone that I met, other than 1 person, was very friendly. When I tore the piece off my knee I asked the guy working counter for some paper towels so I could clean it and determine if I needed to go get stitches and he was extremely unhelpful and rude. Other than that, the people are courteous enough.

Now my biggest gripe about the field. I would have sugar coated everything if not for this. After having issues last weekend with being a walk on player and barely finding a game I could play in, I decided to call this weekend. I specifically asked the girl "Do you have any games currently available for walk on players, like walk on groups?" and she straight up told me that there was a whole bunch outside and that was no problem. 15 minutes later I was there and there was not a single group I could join in with. Not one group. There were some players there (5 of them) that had their little electronic markers and bully gear on that were trash talking the birthday parties and groups there because they would not allow anyone to be included in their group. I played a 1 on 1 with my brother to at least say I played once in the day and packed up and went home. This part had to be the biggest let down of all of them. Had I not called and been very specific before hand I could understand a little better. I am going to send an email to the field about this issue.

No proshop for those of you who care. Tippman 98 rentals but in really bad shape. The goggles are usually covered in paint and the ones my brother had were so scratched that you literally could not see through them. These were the ones that were handpicked as the best ones by the guy working the counter.

Overall the field has potential but it's a long ways off and has some serious managerial issues. I hope to see this pick up and I'll probably go back in about 6 months or so and see how it looks.

Best of luck

if you have any questions hit me with a comment or message and I'll let you know.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sjking-vs1 Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
texas paintball- alot more expencive (around 80$ if you come with nothing)

petty- has 7+ awesome courses and its really cheep.
Review: Ok this field is not for beginners, but maybe if your throwing a party and you rent a field. every time i go, the players rush and the match is over quick. not for beginners.

Fields- They have a nice sized airball court, about 25 bouncers and last time i checked it was in psp but that was last time. They have a cool course called spools, they have giant industrial cable spools scewed across the field in tactical positions. there is hyperball with industrial piping, it was small, they have better. But the coolist thing they have is deff their attack/defend the castle field, there is a safe house (2 stories, cement, firing holes) and it is sourrounded by bunkers and trenches and obsticles.

staff- They are really good their, they actually care unlike some places i go to *coughtexaspaintball*

players- professional
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

beshwah309 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Challenge- Its close but not really worth it.
Maximum- The best place to play
Petty- Lots of fields to chose from but so far away and there usually isn't very many people there.
Review: Here is a little review about my first time at outlaw paintball.

Location- Its a good place to go if you live in the north Austin area, just because it's only a few miles off 35

Staff- I wasn't too impresed with their staff, but i have seen worse(paintball challenge) they only had one ref working for the 15-20 rec players plus the 12 or so kids running around for someones b-day. So alot of my time was spent waiting around for the ref to get our game started.

Fields- I perfer airball over anything and i was disappointed when i saw no airball field up....bummer. most of the games held place on their hyperball field, wich was way to small for the ammount of players we had. Noone ever wanted to play their spools field so i cant say anything about that. I just hope if i go back that thay have an airball field up.

Safety- Lets just say a dozen kids with rental markers is never gonna be safe but i guess the ref didn realize that. There was kids in the chrono area shooting just to shoot and taking their masks off while still behind the nets, walking around with barrel bags that don't even stay tight, i was right beside a kid when he was talking about how his safety doesnt work.

All in all i would say that for 60bux it wasn't worth it but it is a place close that i can go out and not spend the whole day i might consider going back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media