paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DoodleBug Sportz (DBS) Indoor Paintball Arena / DoodleBug Sportz (DBS) Indoor Paintball Arena / DoodleBug Sportz (DBS) Indoor Paintball Arena / DoodleBug Sportz (DBS) Indoor Paintball Arena

DoodleBug Sportz (DBS) Indoor Paintball Arena

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
82Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 425-257-9771
Address: 3303 McDougall Ave
Everett, Washington 98201
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
hwutang Thursday, December 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, KC Crusaders, CDR, Hole in the Wall, Danger Zone, Mad Dogg, Bill and Teds, Splat Attack - None can compare to the only indoor field in the North West.
Directions
to the Field:
3303 McDougall Ave
Everett, WA 98201
PHONE: (425) 257-9800
FAX: (425) 259-6375
Review: Safety - The refs and staff are awesome. They are very strict about making sure everyone is safe from harm while still making things super fun.

Prices - Very affordable and is comparable to all the other fields.

Facility - It's the nicest field in the Northwest and it's the only indoor field in the Northwest. The facility is cleaned all the time. If you wan to stay out of the mud and rain, then this is the place to be.

Players - There is always players here. I've been to other places and there is no one to play with.

Games - Games are turned around very fast and efficiently so there isn't a bunch of waiting around. You definitely get the most out your time here.

Overall, DBS is the best bang for your buck. The most fun you'll have in paintball around the NW.
Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2010 at 2:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eran361 Thursday, December 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CDR - not even close to as professional. More of a slapped together operation.
Forest Fire - Run by good people, same issue though.
Splat Attack - A decent option for woodsball. Doesn't offer the speedball that DBS does.
Review: Have you ever built something only to realise that you could have made it perfect with some changes? That is what the new DBS indoor arena is all about. The Cort family has been in NW paintball for a long time and the new indoor arena is a demonstration of how much experience they all have. Very well thought out, very friendly staff and an over all good experience no matter what your skill level.

If you are new to paintball, I would recommend one of the weekend sessions.

If you are experienced or like challenge, the Wednesday and Thursday sessions are fantastic.

I've been to many local fields in Washington, Oregon, Ohio, PA, and Florida and the new DBS indoor is definitely my favorite.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

adbromeo Thursday, December 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at CDR, OP, KC Crusaders they are all great fields but nothing compares to DBS and their indoor facility. We live in Washington, rain central, and it's always great knowing that we have an amazing indoor facility at our disposal.
Directions
to the Field:
3303 McDougall Ave
Everett, WA 98201
Review: Doodlebug Sportz Indoor is THE premiere paintball facility in the Pacific Northwest. A Indoor at our disposal is so beneficial considering we get rain pretty much all year long. The lighting inside the new facility is amazing. The white netting that they use allows for the facility to be much brighter. The staging area is nice with very nice tables to set up. The customer service is above par with someone always lending a helping hand. Hands down Doodlebug Sportz indoor is the best facility in the Pacific Northwest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matkat Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Attack - Many Fields
STP - Old Field
Operation Paintball
Hole in the Wall
KC Krusaders
Bill and Jims
Private Property Speed Ball/Air Ball Fields
Review: ***I will say that there are fewer and fewer indoor fields in WA due to rising real estate costs and a bad economy... this means, a few things... space is expensive and/or limited, so you can expect higher prices and smaller fields than the past

The Pro Shop they had (not the on site one), the one on Broadway is awesome, solid selection and friendly staff.

It should be said that I went on "Free Thursdays" where you buy a case of paint and get free admissions. Normally this place is a bit pricey at $20 for a 3hr session plus paint. However, there paint was reasonable, I got a case of Nightmare for $45 and tax and it worked fine, fresh paint. It was pretty reasonable. I was "cautioned" by the pro hsop staff that there were many tourney players on Thursdays "That was the understatement of the century", it was straight packed with tourney players. Everyone there minus 3 ppl was a tourney player, seasoned veteran, everyone was shooting high end markers. I would say 30 players or so... it was straight mayhem... they allowed PSP ramping and some players were swtiching to auto, etc. The field feels like a 100yrds air ball field crammed into 50 or so yards with all the cans turned side ways so you cant stand anywhere. Very few bunkers with any hieght to them (am tall, I spent the whole time on my knees so to speak). I feel the field was nice and appropriate for about 3--5 players a team, but would be best with 3-4 per team or 6-8 players total. They of course did not play all 30 players at once, but they did play about 7-9 players per team, which was WAY WAY too many, especially with these fire rates and what felt like a 100yard field in 50 yards.

Pros
A pro shop on site with decent goodies, with a full if not the most extensive pro shop in washington a few blocks away
One of the few indoor fields (we dont have great weather year around)
Promotional days/discounts that make it more affordable
The ref did chrono as players entered the field and did decent paint checks (there was basic safety)
They have an outdoor field also
Shielded from the weather
Open during the week
Free on Thursday with a Case

Cons
Regularly a bit pricey and short $20/hr 3 hr sessions/additional sessions $12
It was overcrowed, there needed to be more structure to forming groups, in both skill (not that there was much variance, everyone was tourney level) and based on the number of people and cycle them... having teams of 5 people or less is the appropriate amount of players for this field... that limit was pushed partly because it was discount Thursday and I am sure for profits, the skill, fire power, close quarters and numbers of people made for a straight volley of fire every game
It was just straight bunker play, so much firepower/skill in such a little space moving was impossible even if you are fast until many players are eliminated
There was not change in game type, straight elimination the whole time
The chrono in the prep room didn't work, I informed the ref he said thats what this is for let my gun get around the 280s and I was trying to see consitency on a new marker and get it near 300 like everyone else
You had to use the "trust" system in leaving your gear and paint that is not on the field (I left mine in the car, that is stupid)
Too many players for the space
Not enough structure or change in gameplay
Chrono should be more like 280 in that space
Refs were not able to enforce firing modes, I heard full auto/burst, only PSP up to 15 bps and semi were allowed
I saw a few folks turn up there markers after the ref chronoed them

Conclusion

This is not an enviornment for young or inexpereienced players. definately on Thursdays. However, it could be great for a private party of 10 or less I think or for 3 and 5 man teams practicing or someone who just likes straight insane volleys of fire.

If they only limited the players on the field to 10 AT MOST and had a working chrono for players, enforced the rules a little more strictly it would have been a much funner night. As it was I still had a good time, it was straight insane, but I feel like other than your bunker shooting skills were all that mattered. Bunkering was allowed but youd get shot from 4 directions from an over crowded field, tree walking and flanking simply were not possible. Too many high level players/guns and overcrowded field in a cramped space. That being said many tourney players may like this field if you like, fast, overcrowded, and mayhem type games.

This field is for some people, it just wasn't for me. Very tournament oriented. I feel it could have been better organized and had more vareity. Its only 1 field at least change the game type and keep the players on the field to realistic numbers (6-10MAX).

I had an ok time, I am going to play outdoor from now on, even in the cold.




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sheep dog Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: The feled is ok the turf needs to be cleaned or replaced and so do some of the bunkers but what do u expect. the staff is cool and if u have gun probs then there trained staff can fix it. they could use new lights and more of them so word to the wise don't ware tented fens.
they have a viewing box for your "fans" that has a good of most the place. the flore has paint every where and some on the walls... there rental packages are pretty good and paint is cheapish (i just got the $45 nil splat it sells so fast its always pretty new)

good place, cool people, fun time, good place to buy a new gun.

hope this helped maybe al see u there one day
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forestfire, DBS Outdoors
Review: Safety: Great, they chrono after every third or so game

Pricing: Pretty good, comparable to most online retailers in terms of paint

Hours: They have 3 hour sessions. These seem a bit short to me

Refs: These guys are great, if you call for a paintcheck they will definitely check. They are friendly and helpful

Proshop: Awesome selection with decent prices

Food: None really

Rules: Standard, pretty self-explanatory

Field: Great bunkers (they rearrange every week), lighting could use some work because it's really dim (yellowish orange lights), making it hard to see if you got hit, and the worst part is the turf. You wouldn't have good traction in there if you were wearing cleats

Overall, it's a good field, but before I play there again I at least want the place cleaned up again. Until then, I'll find somewhere else to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

canada_a Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
DBS outdoor is in snohomish, Splat Attack is decent, not enough players and the prices are kinda high(also no techs at the field). CDR (wood chips ARE NOT fun to slide on).
Directions
to the Field:
If you can find the everett train station, its within a quarter mile of the station. They have directions on the site and a big sign by the wharehouse that houses the field.
Review: DBS may not look like much, but its one of the best, if not the best fields in western washington. Alot of people complain about high paint prices. These are the absolute best prices for any field in the area. They sell a case of Hemorage for $40, and Marbs for $60. One issue that is indisputible is the fact that they need new turf. Tripping on it: no,slipping on it:guarenteed. Other than the turf the field is awesome. The range of players stretches from tourneys that began playing in the 1980's, to my uncle who had only been once before and who loved it. The proshop is inexpensive and expirienced, the atmosphere is friendly and a little serve your self (one of the staff taught me how to work their compresor), and extremley saftey minded (it would be smart to bring tools onto the field because they make you chrono before each game). The only downside is the turf and it takes kind of long if you want something from the proshop (they are constantley giving their 20 minute rundowns of the guns to any renters, but everybody has a first time)
DBS is a 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshot38 Tuesday, April 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SVP, See review
CDR
Outdoor snohomish park
Directions
to the Field:
Well if you can get to the train station, its the little side road next to the end of the roll carpet place. The carpet store is green. You cant miss it.
Review: Well for starts the field is very safe. Very understandable rules that ensure a great day of play. I really like the fact that you can use your own paintballs, SVP and CDR are field paint only fields. Monster balls have been banned? is what ive heard. But that is more than ok, because those things are like marbles. Do they even have paint in them? Anyway back to the review, the sessions are three hours long. Some of my friends complain that that is too short of a time. But if you actually play you run out of steam long before you run out of time, So A+! I am not gonna lie, some of the prices could make a pacemaker stop. Paint can get kind of expensive, but really that apple smelling stuff is worth the high cost.
On to the main reason i wrote this review. The turf. i really enjoy going to Doodlebug, I do not enjoy playing on that turf.It is all torn up and slimy. The slime has been dubbed by my friends, the doodlesludge. Even with cleats there is no traction. And it is layed down in strips across the field and the stitching has come undone or it was never stitched in the first place but you trip a lot on the parts that are raised up.
In conclusion, Doodlebug= adrenaline packed fun, but needs new turf
I almost forgot. They opened a new store on broadway. They moved all the clothes up there. Its pretty cool.
I almost forgot another thing. The gatorade machine ate my 1.50 but the staff was more than helpful in getting that for me.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 at 9:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silokan Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive only played back in Boise ID at Splat paintball, but there both pretty good.
Directions
to the Field:
If you know where the bus depot is its a block away from there on Paine Street.
Review: safety- Very safe, 300 max fps, barrel bags required everywhere except the field.
field- big field, changes weekly to add a new dynamic every week, the only bad part is the floor is really slimy, but its fun anyways.
Prices- Paint starts at $10 a bag, field fees are 10 with paint purchase and your own equipment and 15 with equipment and w/o paint purchase. Rentals are 25, 35, and 45. you can bring your own paint if you want.
refs- very good, always helpful.
facilities- theres 2 bathrooms, big proshop, vending machines (i dont know how old the food is),
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stalkin Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
As far as indoor - Splat Attack, Kent. DBS Indoor Everett is way bigger.
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest is best. It's in an industrial section of downtown Everett. Find Broadway and 33rd and you're a block away.
Review: Field/Rental Prices: I think they are pretty good. $35 rental is a good bargain as long as you get one of their better guns. Field fees are good for 3 hours and you get discounts with paint purchases.

Pro Shop Prices: Prices are hit and miss when it comes to being the lowest. I have no doubt that they'd happily price match. Kenmore shop is small, but the service is good. Everett shop can sometimes be a wait if you go on the days the field is open. Service, knowledge and friendliness are always great.

Field Conditions: I love the size of the field. Just played at Splat Attack (Kent Indoor - great service, by the way. Just wish it were larger) and DBS is huge in comparison. About 50 yards long and 30 wide. Depending on what time you play in the day may determine how inflated the bunkers are and how much paint is on the ground. My opinion is that the ground is just fine no matter how much paint is out there, since they clean it frequently.

Waiting/Prep Area: It's a good size with lots of room. I like that they have a camera in there. You just never know.

Bathrooms: I'm glad that I'm not a girl or else I'd use the hover technique. It's a bit slick and could use some bleach sprayed through there nightly.

Staff: They are friendly, funny and helpful. If you have a question, they are always willing to answer it. If they don't know the answer, they'll at least be honest and tell you, then try and find the answer.

Refs: The refs are funny as hell! Nice guys that do a great job. DBS needs to make sure that they get their breaks. They can get cranky when not fed. j/k LOL!

Services: I've had tune-ups and they start at about $40. I've also had a couple of tanks hydro'd and had work done to them. Great job all around.

Hours: Check their website. I think they are pretty good.

Food: Vending machines.

Added: They have gone to great efforts to hear the voice of the customers! Increasing staff levels and always making improvements to the environment. Thanks Danny!
Last edited on Wednesday, September 5th, 2007 at 7:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media