paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field

Paintball Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281-660-0663
Address: 2811 Dixie Farm Road
Houston, Texas 77089
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
typod33 Tuesday, April 5th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 24th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Don't even scroll down. The other reviews say it sucks, but those are from 2 years ago. It is now an amazing paintball field. They have 7 different fields, 5 woodsball, and 2 speedball. They have one poor quality old X-BALL field, and an amazing NPPL regulation field. The woodsball courses are really good too. They have a pretty good safety level there. They only chrono if you ask to be, but they're rental guns are all set to about 285 fps. They sell paintball products cheap, but charge $2.00 for a small gatorade!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pneumaticninja Thursday, September 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I went to the south location for Labor Day (Monday) and they had a special going on. $20 got you entrance and air. The field was decent and they had a lot of setups to choose from. The ref was not that knowledgeable and did not go over any rules or safety procedures. He simply told the walk-ons to not put paint that had been dropped on the ground into the rental guns. We played on their dirt mound field and also the "fort" field. The ref never discussed what counted as a hit and what didn't. This was frustrating because a lot of younger players decided what counted for themselves...Overall, it has a lot of potential. The place could DEFINITELY use some gravel in the parking area (it is a mud hole!!) as well as some time spent organizing and keeping things looking sharp. The inside of the trailer where you pay is cluttered with junk. Not to mention they have no way of keeping it cool besides fans, this is a big problem because paint and humidity don't get along.

If they added some organized "structure" to the environment and cleaned the place up a bit, this field could be amazing. I hope they also find some dedicated refs to control the games and add structure. I will go back a little later and see if things have changed.

P.S.-The owner is a really nice guy, if you get the chance to meet him you will agree.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dknofx Wednesday, June 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twisted Paintball - Twisted is better in every possible way!
Directions
to the Field:
Google Maps
Review: My friend and I went to Paintball Zone South at 10a.m. on a Saturday. I parked their mud pit (aka parking area). Then we proceeded to stand in line for a hour to pay and get air. I was expecting to be directed to a chrono station to make sure my marker was shooting under 300 fps but they don't bother taking that safety measure at Paintball Zone. I left with huge bruises! People where shooting hot all over the place. At about 11:45 I finally got to play a game of paintball. The refs did a good job off explaining the rules. My friend and I got teamed up with a corporate group of about 40 people. All most all of them where new players. I saw at least 4 people taking off their masks while on a field with a game going on. I yelled to them to put them back on because the 1 ref that was watching 40+ people didn't notice this safety problem. After a few games I was in need of a air refill and I had to wait in line for another 15 min. to get about 2000 psi in my tank. The refilling station couldn't fill to 4500 PSI. It took about 25 to 35 minutes to get games going. I was hoping to play some air ball or even hyper ball but we were not allowed to. The fields I did play were fun and overall well put together. There is no proshop. The rule for an out is a hit anywhere including hopper or gun counts. I like elbows and knees down don't count. Prices where on par with other fields. Snacks and drinks were expensive so I would bring your own in a cooler. The port-a-potty was very dirty. I won't be going back to Paintball Zone South. I recommend you enter at your own risk because it is a very unsafe place to paintball.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2010 at 9:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donte55 Saturday, December 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle grounds
twisted
Review: This field is bad they only had one good map, and that was the one with the big hill. The refs where ok, the did not crono a single gun, people where taking off mask in the middle of a game. they are very expensive. it like 40 for walk on, and thats just to get in, luckily i went with group and it was $27 dollars plus 500 paintballs. It took us 2 hours just to get every one sign in then another 30 mins to get a safety meeting, then finally we got to play. we only got to play like 3 games which where 10 min each. SO be prepared to Wait. Also after every game there was a 20 min break, we where all ready to go again in 5 min, but had to wait on ref. The ref was cool just slow to get something started. Fields where just bad. Rentals where bad, especially the mask. Will not be returning i will just keep going to twisted.
i give the field a 4 for the 2 games where we played the hill map. other than that go to twisted or some where else . WAIST OF MONEY
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thanasis11 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 paintball (grant road), tactical paintball (harwood,tx)
Directions
to the Field:
from downtown take 59 north and exit left on fm1960
Review: This one has become my regular field in Houston. It has 15 dollar entry fee on Sundays which includes everything if you bring your own equipment, and paint costs $40 a case (2000) for tournament grade Draxxus paint (again only on Sundays) but you can always bring your own paint if you want to. The recent price drop in effect draws a large crowd ranging from pro's to first timers.
The field allows full auto (up to 10bps) and have a marker velocity limit of 300bps.
They are really good on safety but sometimes games take a while to get going.
I do not have any complaints by the staff as they are very friendly and helpful with giving you whatever you ask from them (allen wrenches, co2 fills etc.). The refs are good as they are all frequent paintballers and most of them play with the main group when they are not reffing.
There are 5 maps i think which are mainly in the woods but with bunkers and hiding places scattered around to keep the game fast paced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

YbeNormal Monday, November 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
(I played at the NORTH field)Survival games of Texas, Staff is better @ PBZN but SGT your not down near as long and play alot more games which is exactly what I'm there for.
Directions
to the Field:
This is for the North field....from 59n take 1960 West it is on the right hand side (not to far past wal-mart) from 45n it will be on the left hand side.
Review: Will not go back until they get more refs? Me and some friends spent most the time there sitting down waiting on games to start, There is way to much down time and they play way to many people on one field, We were playing over 20 on 20. Fields were good and the staff was really nice, Get for refs and run separate games at once and stop the 30 or more minute down times between games and I will definitely make it my weekend field.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 3rd, 2009 at 7:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Rol! Saturday, July 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Survival Game of Texas, Tactical Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
I actually played at the new Paintball Zone North< located at 59 and 1960.
Review: Ok..... to start off with, this field surpassed my expectations, so kudos! Compared to some fields in the area< survival game of texas, it is a whole lot better, no doubt about it.

Safety : the refs were so respectful and responsible to all of the players: A

Fields: good fields, wooded area for woodsball but developed to keep the game moving. room for improvement but there is potential.

Prices: very good prices, 20 dollars for field fee and BYOB and 10 dollars for all day air. pretty good deal because of the all day air.

Overall: the refs were realy good and professional and really wanted to know what the consumers wanted to play. The manager, Leo, was very upbeat and talked to people outside, even though it was like 100 degrees outside!!! lots of tree coverage so the heat didn't bother us so much. There were noobs and veterans and it seemed that we all had fun today! Thank you Paintball Zone North for a great 4th of July.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballin07 Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban War Zone, Unlimited Paintball (just closed from storm)
Directions
to the Field:
Dixie farm road
Review: Prices: 15$ to get in with your own gun!
45$ to get in includes rental gun, mask, and 500 pb
I really don't recommend buying paint from them! 8 bucks for 200 balls! 50 to 60 dollers to get 2000 balls! But there pro cap balls i dont like them my self don't always bust! If your gonna get 50-60 doller paint for 2000 balls get marbelizers they burst just buy tossing them softly at garbage can and cool looking.
Bring your on food (Ex.2 $ for mini Gatorade)

Safety: They are very good on safety!

Walk-ons: it takes for ever to get a game going for walk-on but if you have a private party its good! One time it took so long i ordered pizza from dominoes took a while to to deliver and still ate he whole thing before any walk-on games were started!

Fields: One of the best fields, X-ball requires you to use field paint which is expensive.

The other speedball field is never inflated fully and has tons of cow crap all other the field. You might just slide into which is not fun!

The hyperball feild that have tube shaped bases is another good field! Pretty good 5 vs 5 map!

Then you have fort which is a huge map no fun to me cause you cant hit anyone close and your paint is gone very soon!!!!

Then village is a mix between fort and hyperball theres sand bags and bunkers its pretty sweet also then theres like 6 mini forts with windows. 3rd best field there!

Also theres spools you dont play it like not at all cause i have been there like 7 times only played that once! cant reveiw it cause my gun broke down! at the start!

Refs: refs can be lazy just sitting on the sideline! all they do is say 3 2 1 go go go!!!! then say helmets on barrel socks on at the end of the game! But i really like a ref there, John hes cool if you call a paint check he goes in searches you, then waves arms saying hes clean and play on!!! or hes like like player eliminated raises his arm and take player off the field!!! he says people do shoot him when you goes in but he says its part of his job so he does it!!! but other refs just sit there and so many people wipe paint and cheat so hard its annoying and garbage!!

Guns: If your gun breaks down they try there best to fix it!!! Especially Jim very cool manger!!!

Paintballs: They do not allow tactical performance or monster balls please do not shoot this at any player! These balls has parelized a person for i think 4 days. thats what i heard not sure if its true! but its stupid to buy that type of paint cause number 1 it does not break so you cant get them out also! Its like shooting rocks so dont use it!




About said it all so ya..... thats Paintball Zone
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zimm001 Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
From Downtown Houston, take I-45 south, exit Dixie Farm Rd, go right. It is a couple miles down on the left. Keep your eyes open.
Review: My company paid for a group outing, and the group decided to play paintball. Paintball Zone provided the best group prices and features we wanted. There was a good price break depending on the number of people in the group. We hit the highest price break and the overall cost was excellent for us. Each player got a rental gun, 500 paintballs, unlimited air and a face mask.

Facilities:
Staging area had approx 9 tables with benches, and was covered by large tarps. No table was in the sun. Which was very important when playing in the middle of the summer. There was even an area for us to setup our grill and cook dogs and burgers for the group. They were very nice allowing us to setup the staging area to fit our needs.

Refs:
Refs were extremely polite and adjusted to our groups abilities very quickly. They worked very hard at making sure everyone knew the rules and played safely. All it took was a mention of a game and field we wanted, and we were off to play.

Players:
We ended up with 67 players with all ranges of abilities. Players who play up to twice a month, to the first timers.

Hours of Operation:
We started at 10am, and were allowed to play till we ran out of paint, or till the last of our group left.

Overall a very successful group outing. I would definitely recommend bringing a group here. But be sure to have an organizer who knows paintball. Very helpful in interacting and keeping the games going.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fliggapanicduk Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Dixie Farm Rd.
Review: Safety:
They enforce this alot. *Note:Only barrel socks allowed*

Fields:
Sometimes get muddy, but still fun to play at

Hours:
10am until it gets dark

Prices:
$5 Fee BYOP
$10 All day air Co2 or Nitro
Their paint is expensive but worth it. *Note:Never chops on me*

Services:
Slow

Refs:
They have alot of blind spots

Players:
The majority of the time, Friendly

Food:
Hecka expensive, If you can try to bring your own food
Ex.$2 for a kids sized gatorade
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media