paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field / Paintball Zone Paintball Field

Paintball Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281-660-0663
Address: 2811 Dixie Farm Road
Houston, Texas 77089
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pbkid808 Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: this field is great....jim is very usefull. if you need help with your gun he will literally drive down to the nearest hardware store to get you a part that you need at 0 cost. they have a great D2 team and they help you on how to play. Sometimes it gets a little mudddy but the mud goes away in about 2 days. their paint is pretty expensive but if you go there enough they give you discounts :]
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluesboyk3 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bonanza, TKPB, Survival games of TX, Twisted
Directions
to the Field:
Just print out the map from the website, very self explanatory.
Review: General overview:
Hours are flexible - until dark so more play time during summer i suppose. price are good, BYOP fee is cheap 5 bux. all day air is 10 bux. very-very reasonable. The field is huge, you have to walk maybe half a mile to the fort area from the staging area. Lots of variable fields available for play. Lots of rec players and mixed skill level.

REVIEW:
Well, came there by myself, sign up, the cashier didn't give me a wristband until i ask her. I don't know if they put this much trust on their customer but i just don;t wanna be hassled when i go to get my air fill. I was at a table with 2 other guys and decided to stick with them and the ref joined us with another group. Lots of play time, waiting between games was brief.

GOOD:
**The ref divided me and the 2 guys to make it fair and he did a good job to make sure it's fair.
** Safety was enforced, chrono before game, masks on the field, etc.
****The most fun I had because the ref actually took us to play multiple fields ( i go to TKPB since it's 2 minutes away and basically u go there to speedball.) But here you can play a lot of different games

BAD:
** the ref wasn;t too invilved in the game. kinda just watched from the sideline. He did make pretty good calls and can supervise from there but on capture the fort game, i slid into the fort, tapped the fort to ensure my victory but he didn't know until everyone in the castle lit me up. We won, painfully.

All in all i would go back again but distance is really bad for me. I live in Katy. But it was worth the drive. I would definitely come back though. gave it a 9 since I love the fields, made new friends, and had lots of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gonzo1337 Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not been to any other fields in the area, I do not want to go to another field.
Directions
to the Field:
Depends where you live. Easiest way to get directions is http://www.mapquest.com/
Review: Safety

The referees and staff members there strive to keep the safety aspect on and off the fields as safe and customer friendly as possible, Barrel plugs are not allowed for safety reason, so bring a barrel condom.

Fields

The fields are very fun, even if they aren't of the best quality. Fields are:

-Fort field with a tower (Haven't played it yet, but is on the same terrain as the castle.)

-8 Acre scenario field (Huge. Just watch out for Ants.)

-Spool field (Best field with good tree cover, and stays pretty dry.)

-Lego field

-Fast Paced Airball Field

-Hyperball field (Very fun, but can get muddy in rainy weather.)

Prices

If you are going alone, it is VERY cheap! $30.75 per person includes 500 paintballs. With free refills of Co2 all day!

Referees & Staff

The referees and staff members there strive to keep the safety aspect on and off the fields as safe and customer friendly as possible, Barrel plugs are not allowed for safety reason, so bring a barrel condom. Also, make friends with the refs, they are pretty cool guys.

Facilities

The facilities are nothing more than a Port-O-Potty, but hey, that is all you need! Look at it his way, you are jumping around mud, dirt, and getting shot. No need for a 5-Star restroom.

Food

They have plenty of chips and a variety of drinks to help you keep hydrated.

Conclusion

Best field, and the best prices in the area, Go there on a Saturday or Sunday, and I might just see you there!
Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 11:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SgtKork Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Paintball of Texas (Alvin)
Directions
to the Field:
From I-45 Take the dixie farm exit, take a left on dixie farm road and it will be on your left about a mile or a mile and a half down.
Review: The fields here are really fun to play, my favorites are hyperball and the big scenario field. Paint is sort of expensive, but the all day air price kind of balances it out. The refs are not the best but I have seen worse. Watch for spiders and other bugs in the woods field those things are annoying. I give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcarva Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I played at this field for the first time, and I found some things worth noting. To be fair, here are the positive aspects:

1. Most of the staff was friendly.
2. Prices were low. 10 bucks to fill air and C02 all day.
3. There was a hyperball field that was a lot of fun.
4. Some big fields with potential.
5. Good staging area.
6. Parking is close to staging area.

Negative aspects:

1. The place needs some adult supervision. Most of the staff were nice and did the best they could. But there are some things that need to change. I saw one ref stand on the sidelines and shot into the field and try to shoot other players or other refs. That is total BS, especially if you're one of the mom's or dad's watching. That's just one incident. It sounds like I am whining, but refs need to act professional and responsible and take charge of situations. I heard at least 3 other adults people voicing their dismay.

2. They have a castle that needs work. The stairs that led to the second floor was missing a board. I almost went right through it. The thing was poorly designed. It is way too easy to defend it. I've played other castles, and I can tell you that this was the worst one.

3. They had waiver forms, but no one was signing them. (maybe some did, but they didn't ask my group to sign it) Every action sports I have ever played at forced me to sign a waiver every time I played. Lawsuit waiting to happen.

4. They way teams are picked is stupid. At other places i've been, refs typically just choose teams and put arm bands on you. At this field, they pick 2 team captains. Then the team captains take turns picking the players. In the end, there are a few little kids left behind with sad faces. This reminded me of recess in elementary school. This is not encouraging for the younger players. Those younger kids need to feel welcomed and encouraged so that the sport will continue to grow. They should also be able to play within their own group. Either way, you waste a lot of time picking players when all you really want to do is play.

5. They had a nice speedball field, but half of the bunkers were deflated. Maybe for a good reason, but...

6. Compared to other fields, it seemed like they waited too long to start games.

7. I didn't see anyone doing chronograph checks on the markers.

Perhaps I just picked a bad day. To be fair, maybe things are different on other days. You'll have to decide for yourself. I am not sure if I will return.
Last edited on Monday, October 30th, 2006 at 11:03 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yougotowned Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
UPOT, Paintball USA, Twisted, Tanks Katy, Sam and Daves
Directions
to the Field:
On dixie farm, just past the beamer rd. intersection (heading away from I-45). If you're coming from the I-45 area, you shouldnt ever hit 518.
Review: Good place, been playing there ever since I started getting more into paintball(I'll keep this unbiased, just like the review under me)

Place is real nice, they've got natural shade from all those trees. Prices are good(except for paint) for the area. Although I wouldnt agree on $60 for a case of stingers, I still buy them. Jim is awesome. The refs are good.

I played STARS there, and it was great.


If you ever decide to play woods there during the spring/summer seasons. Beware of banana spiders. They get annoying, especially in those rarely trodden parts of the woods. But that's why I dont play woods. :P
Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 8:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skullhead0 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sam and daves
upot
Directions
to the Field:
dixie farm road
Review: well ok I play at zone every weekend so I will try to make this review as unbiased as possible.

refs try to work hard all day it gets very tireing walking around the field all day and watching rec ball but they try there hardest and I think they do a good job.

the over all field is a good layout airball is out every sunday for the tournament players and the rec ballers to

jim is a great guy and zones prices are very good for the area.

only bad thing is the weather when it rains it gets a little muddy but most of the time it is really dry,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBaller84 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA, TANKS, Twisted, Paintball Zone
Review: Well, I have actually been 2 times to paintball zone the latest one was here recently, the first time was in August of last year. I didn't enjoy it the first time I went, but I figured I would try a second time with some friends. First of all I couldn't stand the fact that the people working the "stand" taking money and stuff were young kids probably not out of junior high. Second, I waited inbetween games for about 20 minutes being as the "refs" stood around talking to other people instead of doing their job and getting the next game organized. When we actually got out there to play, the ref that would be assigned a game just stood there and wouldnt come to not only me when I called for a paint check or anyone else that I could see (Not to say that the kid "ref" never did paint checks). That went on both times I played there. When I played on the 12th of Feb., I got out there and the airball field was blown down and the netting came loose off the wiring that held it to the poles so people could go and watch. The Lego field was blown over and both those fields were inoperable due to the fact that they didn't bother to get out there and fix it before the field opened.

In my opinion, find another field to go to if you can, because obviously they are only there to make money, and not provide enjoyment for the people that spend the money to play there.

5/10
Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 2:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jnthndvdwllfrd Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is my first Houston Area field to play on -
Have played on fields in Dallas and Fort-worth - Va. CA. MO. LA. and NC.
Review: I had a good time because most things are what you make them - but here is what I would improve -

Refs:

The refs wanted to sit down and socialize with their fellow employees rather than make sure the players( ie. customers ) got their $'s worth. I didn't drive out to the middle of no where to sit on at a table and wait for a ref to take charge.

Fields:

A little more imagination and daring would go along way - I saw the Lego field and it was little more than a few plastic pallets - everything else was in need of repairs and it had nothing to do with the RITA.

Certain fields were loaded with cow patties - ( I love beef - I just don't want to pay to play it in ).

A word to the owners: A little pride in your business would go a long way. Go buy some lumber - nails and a few hammers.

Other than that - I would go back - I had a good time with the people who were running the show (not a soul over 18) and had fun the other players -
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HunterWebb Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am not from around there, so i dont know
Review: I came to Texas on vacation, and I usually play at a field close to my house. I thought this field was well put together. The prices were good, but you should bring your own gun, because these seemed to be more worn than usual. I know this because my uncle rented a gun. I was disappointed with the pro shop. They also had a barrel sock only, I got busted for walking around with a barrel plug in. The fields were really good though, we played a big game on the lego field, which is really fun, and a couple field ball games, which were really fun. One thing I didn't like, was the cow pies all around the fields, I am not sure what those were about, but one almost took my shoe. Over all this was an awsome field and I had a great time, I will be coming back when I visit Texas again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media