paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Bunkers Paintball Field / The Bunkers Paintball Field / The Bunkers Paintball Field / The Bunkers Paintball Field

The Bunkers Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (254) 518-3279
Address: 3699 FM 2657
Copperas Cove, Texas 76522
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
joejoez71 Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mandatory fun
Review: After reading the old reviews on this field and talking to the owner i now see how they have improved from a couple years ago there is now two speedball fields though he only sets up new bunkers on one field every weekend unless alot of players show up he will set up the second field staff they have 2 refs on the field at all times and many refs on call for packed weekends they are doing speedball tournments now and getting to be a great place to play as far as comparing it to mandatory fun there is no way to compare totally different experience i like both and the pro shop at bunkers is great if he doent have it in stock he will in a matter of days and will order anything you want i know i dont use proper gramar or anything seeing that i hate typeing i hope this helps try this place out i think you will see a good change
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

I_eet_paint Wednesday, April 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mandatory Fun (recommended), BLORA
Review: First, I want to say that in the Killeen, Fort Hood, Copperas Cove area, right now this is the only outdoors field to play at (and when I went it was extremely busy), so despite my review, until a new outdoor field opens, this is the place to go, The other field in the area is the number one option.


The Fields.

The initial field you will see right in front of the store front is the woods field. It is a decent sized field that has a few good burmers and bush areas. I didn't notice any trash in the playing field. I had no problem with the field itself and enjoyed it. My problem came with the netting, The front area netting shows it signs of wear, but also shows where it has been repaired, but on the right side of the netting there is a huge tear, you could call it a hole, in the netting. This thing is about a foot in diameter or even bigger. I tried to stay away from it for obvious reasons. I've played here a few times and this thing has never been repaired. I've even seen grown men climb through it to get into the field. The big issue I have with this is the fact that there are a few benches and tables in that area for players to rest, and in every case have goggles off. You get a fire fight at the right angle and one of those paintballs come through that hole. You know whats next.

There are a few speedball courses. They only had one with a few inflatables up and it was used primarily by the children in a birthday group. I got a kick at watching them use the bunkers and push them while behind them to advance.

The main attraction to this place is "The Alamo". This is a decent sized enclosure cut out like the alamo with windows all around the bottom floor and a row of windows on the second level in the front and back. I liked that if you played defense they do give you time to set up and baracade the openings. I played both sides of this game. Defense is extremely hard as you are in this area and you can only see through these cracks to see where the advancements are. Once the other side gets to the outside walls and starts opening the window baracades, you really have to be on your toes. Playing defense is hard to win, but not impossible. Offensively, there is quite a few brushlines and wooded areas with obstacles to be used for cover and if played right you can collapse the alamo in no time. Very fun game.

There are two other fields that I did not play. The first is "the castle" which is just a bunch of dirt burmers and a tree in the middle. This is also the starting point of the alamo offense. There is also one that a few players reffered to as The Town which I did not see because from what I was told was a decent walk aways.

Staff. The guy who works the counter (not the owner) was vey friendly and was somewhat versed with paintball gear and equipment. They usually have two teenagers working the fields "reffing" if you would call it because its pretty much non-existent. A few of the adult and seasoned players found ourselves keeping the kids and first timers in check with the goggles on and barrel socks. There was a third guy who was on it, but I only saw him once and he vanished. I asked one of the ref's to get chrono'd and he had no idea what I meant and he did not know much about paintball guns. I had to explain what I was talking about. After all of that, it never happened.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost82289 Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at many fields all across the country. My father is retired air force and we moved regularly. Most recently, On Target Paintball -NJ, Fireball Mountain -NJ, Panther Creek Paintball -TX, Twisted Paintball -TX, Xdrenalin Zone Paintball -TX.
Directions
to the Field:
Dont bother, not worth finding.
Review: First off, i dont know what these guys giving positive reviews are talking about. I have played at fields in many different states, as we moved about every three years. and hands down, this is the worst field i have ever seen as far as organization and safety and just general play is concerned. I play for my university paintball team (Texas A&M), so i have also played at many fields throughout texas when we travel to compete. and i have always found accomodations sufficient everywhere except here. I am an avid player, have been for since i was 13 and even the refs told me when i showed up that they thought i was wasting my money by going here. the paint sold in the shop was getting old and i suspect that they do not air condition the building during the night because the paint was extremely brittle and some had deformed. Not to mention the "Pro Shop" is just an isle and small counter in a hardwars supply store, the actual purpose of the entire installation. the fields were poorly kept up. safety netting was showing major signs of weathering and very little signs of proper upkeep. it seems to me like the owner of the hardware supply tried this paintball thing out as a hobby, lost interest and just figured he would let it fall apart. didnt use the rentals, but the refs complained of how poor their upkeep and performance of the rental equiptment was when I questioned about them. they admitted that many of the bunkers were old, leaked constantly, and were in desperate need of repair that was not coming. i would not recomend this field to anyone. i think it presents the wrong impression of our sport and would gladly drive the distance to find any other field in order to do my paintballing at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nacacia Tuesday, October 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields cause non compare
Review: Not sure what the other guy was talking about, this park rocks.
Me and my 7 year old play here alot and we have never had a problem.
Rob the manager is great to me and my son, he knows his stuff, he likes to talk alot, but hey he’s just being friendly.
I have never seen an advertisement for a cafe or snack bar. We've been going out there for a while now and they have always had candy bars soda's and gator aide.
I have had to rent a few times out there due to my marker going wacky, but I have never had a problem with the Tippmanns and Rob or Robert fixes my gun while I continue to play.
The refs are good, I mean their high school kids and all, I have never had to use them, but I have watched them ref a few games and they seem fair to all that are playing.
As far as the air ball fields are concern I cannot tell you jack about them, we are a scenario family, so I can tell you that I have slid many a times into the bunkers in front of the Alamo and my pants did not rip, maybe somebody needs to learn how to slide, (there’s an art to it :)
We mostly play on the small wooded course and have a blast.
The fields, store and the area around it are always clean and not just the bathrooms like the other guy said. (there clean too)
I think somebody was having a bad day and took it out on a review board.
We love this place and are glad it's here for us.
A family that plays together stays together.
And just a thought to all you other mom's that might want to play, it's a blast and your kids will love you for it TRUST ME I get a kick out of my son's smile and laugh every time he gets the drop on me. He lives for lighting is mom up.
But I ask you..don't just take mine or anyone else’s opinion on this park, you really need to go out there and try it yourself.
And one more thing I asked the owner what his safety record was and low and behold it is PERFECT. Now tell me how do you get a perfect safety record on a field as bad as the other person has described.
We will continue to play here, we enjoy it and hope it stays around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mj77 Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
S.C. Village Corona, CA. - Jungle - Corona, CA. These are pro style fields, The Bunkers is NOT!!
Directions
to the Field:
Copperas Cove, TX
Review: This is hands down the worst field i have ever seen. ABSOLUTELY NO REFS at all with multiple games running by themselves. SAFETY..NONE! people walking around shooting freely in the parking lot, nobody checking the chrono's. The fields are poorly managed and very dangerous with a lot of broken glass, wood and scrap metal. Field owner will only allow "field Paint" which is understandable due to insurance reasons, but the paint is Diablo and it bounces more then it splatters. more or less a waste of money.

The pro shop does have quite a bit of selection for just about any gun you have when it comes to accessories, they have rentals but they are poorly maintained as well. more or less this is not a good place if your a beginner looking to get into the sport and if your experienced then stay clear of this place, its a waste of paint and you will get pissed off at the staff..oh wait..WHAT STAFF? i found myself reffing our games more than i was playing because most of the players were noobies and really didn't know any of the basic rules to the sport.

They did not have any snacks or a cafe as they have advertised so if you don't heed my warnings and you do decide to go here, bring EVERYTHING YOU NEED/WANT YOURSELF. The bathrooms would probably be the only thing i could say was up to par...go figure.

Ok, now for the playing fields. They only had 3 somewhat playable fields. 1 was a mocked up Alamo, which wasn't to bad but could use some creativity and experience.
1 was a speedball field with inflatables. This one was set up nice, just needed some serious maintenance. Most of the inflate's were dilapidated and were poorly anchored. 1 field was a wooded field with dirt berms scattered throughout. all in all, not to bad.


Don't expect friendly customer service from the owner Dennis. He makes it very clear he's in it for the money and not the sport. It should be both with this sport! The guy is very rude across the board. I watched him argue and belittle several customers in his shop which was not necessary. Not once did he leave his shop to check on the players or fields. If there were a gaming safety commission like O.S.H.A., this would need to be the first place on the chopping block. PARENTS, DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS HERE!!! IT IS VERY DANGEROUS!!!. No refs to check chrono checks (device used to measure the speed of the paintball in fps) or barrel bags..accident waiting to happen.

I know it may seem like im bad mouthing this establishment, but trust me, im being fair. I have over 12 years experience in this sport and have played on professionally operated fields from San Diego, L.A. and Las Vegas as well as some tournaments. My expectations are not high because of my experience. I go to every field with an open mind. This place however, does not get a passing grade! on a scale of 1-10...i give it a -2
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ty2d2 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball.... The Bunkers have Better fields for scenario, cheaper prices, nicer staff.
Review: (9.5/10)

Good-

Nice staff and owner, we got to vote on the feilds WE wanted to play on, 1 vrs 1 was cool. Fields are nice and clean. Many fields to choose from that are all good fun and balanced, Not very pricey. THE LUMBER IS NOT SCATTERED EVERYWHERE, it is in 2 neat piles. The castles in the rec ball field are good and sturdy I TESTED THEM.. they are securly in the ground, they arent meant for climbing onto. My freind an I went there today he rented a Tippmann 98 from them.. they guy was inspecting it while we got there, it was clean and worked fine no leaks in the tanks nothing. The guns are scratched up pretty good but HELLO its a Tippmann those guns can take a beating. I know that the ref that was with us was 17 years old, he did know his stuff, he knew the rules and balanced the teams. He even played the last game with us while another person was Ref. They have lockers for your stuff... and frankly if your not an idiot you can keep an eye on your stuff yourself... The proshop is good airconditioned and cool 50 cent sodas or gatorade. Everyone is gets a chrony before play, and if you get caught you get kicked out.


BAD- Ok theres some fire ants on 2 of the feilds, the alamo won't be open until the memorial weekend because ITS UNDER CONSTRUCTION, so no one can play there yet... but if you go to the fields website you can register for the main event and be one of the first to play in it in May. They wouldn't fill our tanks at the Field House that day but they usually do I guess just wasn't many people there that day so it wasn't worth the effort.
The fields were safe for the most part besides a couple holes. but I could see they are patching them up still.


Fields-
they have 2 new fields under construction... A hyperball field I think and the Alamo field.. they both look pretty good... the Hyperball one is going to have grass.. some of the others are patch, or dirt.

Overall A GREAT PLACE TO PAINTBALL! I will be going back soon, worth a 50 minute drive for an excelent game...

Don't miss the Alamo this may either.


(9.5/10)
Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 8:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

satchmo joe Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the one in waco, i cant rember the name of it, i think its powerplay, which is awesome, GO THERE NOT HERE!!! THE DRIVE IS WORTH IT!!!!!
Directions
to the Field:
you dont want them, this place is horrible
Review: let me start off with DO NOT GO HERE, DO NOT GO HERE!!!! the pro shop is ok, sorta, they're just out of stock with everything you need. But this place is dirty, trash everywhere! and lumber scatter about the staging area. They claim theyre "building it up" i went 3 weekends in a row and have seen no progress.

I first tried this place about three weekends ago with another buddy on a sunday, there was nobody else to play with, so we tried the fields out. They have one woodsball course that's pretty nice, but none of the staff walks through and cleans up, there trash all kinds in there, and the bunkers are facing every which way, so its hard to set up a front. Its the best field there.
They also have 2 speed ball courts and room for one more. but they keep one inflated and don't even think about asking the staff to inflate the other one, they'll complain, whine, and try to convince you to play on the other one that has half a net. and when they decide to set up the other court, it takes them FOREVER!!!!
They have one recball field in front of "the alamo" which you cant play in or around, its not really a recball field, its like 15 berms facing each other and a cut out of a castle that is supported by one 2X4 and looks like its about to fall over, not safe to say the least.

Now let me tell you about the rentals they have, they rent out 98 customs with a tank, mask, and barrel condom, not bad for 20 dollars. But these weapons are only hosed off after returning from use, they don't take them apart and inspect them for broken or damaged components or Orings, and these things have seen better days! MUCH BETTER!!!
The refs on this field are all pretty much under the age of 16, half of them don't know how to fill up a co2 tank, and are reluctant if you ask them to ref a game or have ask to fill up a tank, and after every game they ask, "when are you guys leaving?" The staff at the counter are pretty clueless about their rental policies, and most questions are answered with an "uuhhh", "im not sure, lemme ask the owner" or an "ask that guy."
Now the owner, he is a crusty bitter old man who cops and attitude with EVERYBODY! well, everybody that was there today. Today, this place lost a drivers license (which are required for rentals) and it belong to a member in my group. The owner refused any reimbursement what so ever at the time and asked for receipts when my buddy gets a new Drivers licence so he can pay him back. So i asked him "what about the lost wages in traveling to work?" The old man SNAPPED AT ME and proceeded to shake his finger at me, began insulting me and demanded that i leave. He claimed that "this is a place of bussiness" and i replied with "if it was, this man would have his drivers license back, he completed his part of the bargin..." before i could finish, the man demanded i leave. So now my buddy is S O L and has no ride. What a great place....
Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 5:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ArcLight Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Assorted fields in Austin and Waco... I haven't seen any really high-grade locations, you know, the ones with in-door fields and what-not.
Review: I actually liked this location a lot. The place was wide and open, leaving lots of room for Scout/Sniper types to roam around and flank their opponents. There was plenty of cover to hide behind, and it was easy enough to move fire-teams around without being seen.

The refs seemed to know what they were about, and one of the refs even played with us a few matches. He had a lot of skill and quality equipment.

The pro shop sells some interesting hardware, and the people running it can fix basic problems easily.

A good field... I'm probably going out there today.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guy_G Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE
Review: Hey why is everyone giving this place such a bad wrap...I went there and they seem fine to me. So what if the manager is a little grumpy now and then, Heck if I had to deal with people like yall I would probably be too. Devon is a close friends so you might wanna watch your comments, hes a great guy and im sure he would't do anything like that on purpose so get over yourself. Decent paint prices, fun young refs, and a good proshop and a pretty good speedball field how bout you people just leave it at that and stop wanting perfection.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaker3 Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
played at Ultimate Paintball in Alvin, the rest in Florida
Review: I guess the field was pretty bad back in the day, reading these reviews. i quite enjoy myself out there when i go play. The staff is quite knowledgeable and Mikey, (the new manager) is a very good gun tech. Cyndyr, the field's team, usually plays there on sundays, but ref's the games on saturday....usually. the refs that work there are pretty good, but like everyone still have learning to do. The prices for paint aren't bad at all- $50 for a case of blaze and down for rec/sport. the guns on the wall are usually a pretty good selection, though admittedly they can be a bit expensive. the rest of their equipment is pretty reasonable considering the internet is so cheap. My final judgement is that i will continue to play out there until they dont let me for bonus balling everyone.... and i recommend that everyone atleast give it a shot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media