paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 803-366-3801
Address: 1481 S Anderson Rd.
Rock Hill, South Carolina 29730
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
rt942 Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 22nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pbc
private field
Directions
to the Field:
easy to find right of I-77 just south of Rock Hill
Review: I really like this field, good variety of terrain (4 scenerio fields & a speedball field), well stocked pro shop & reasonable staff. I've read re reviews stating this field had some safety issues in the past. They seem to have solved them because the refs are on it pretty well -- barrel plugs & mask rules are strickly enforced.

The good -- great prices! and NOT a field paint only field... although their paint is very reasonably priced (I usually shoot the US Army paint at $40 a case). I don't mind buying paint and supporting their business if it's decent paint at a fair price, but I don't like being forced to buy over-priced paint just because some field wants to suck some extra money out of me.
Nice varied terrain -- woods ball fields provide a good balance of shooting lanes and decent cover.
Fran (the older woman in the proshop) is a hoot and can fix just about anything -- and has pretty much every part you could possibly need.

The bad: Some of the bunkers are looking a little tired, but not really a problem.
The refs all seem to have the personality of a rock & aren't real motivated... your basic minimum wage kids.

Overall it's always been a great experience everytime I've played there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MINDFREAK Saturday, July 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC field
Directions
to the Field:
Just off I77 exit 79 on Highway 21
Review: There is not much more to be said about the field. The refs have gotten better and a well know team is changing making this their home field. They will also be fefs and would not put up with any safety problems on and off the field.

As others stated the prices are great and the proshop on site is very helpful. There woodsball field is the best in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bohricua Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Several others in South Carolina and North Carolina.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are pretty easy once off the exit 77. Really big sign you can not miss saying the name of place.
Review: I have been to a few places across the east coast, but mostly play in South Carolina,
I only have a few things to say as I will touch briefly on the good things and more in detail in to the others.
SAFETY: Besides the signs all over the place stating the importance of safety, it was not enforced at all. This was more enforced by me and not by most of the refs. I was extremely disappointed and had to keep my mask on the whole time because lack of enforcement. I actually had a kid walk up to a ref, which didnt have a mask on either, waving his gun in our faces with no barrel plug. Really? yes.

Fields: This is a great place to experience woodsball and scenario type playing. It was the only reason I wanted to check out the place and met all my expectations. Great setting, believe me the pictures on the site don't even begin to express it. Great props as there are woods, open fields, ponds, creeks, big hills, and bridges.

Hours of Operation: Pretty standard amongst fields. But it was open on a friday, which is good. I believe they are open all week, but check the site for more info.

Prices: I used my own gear, but paid for air and field fee: $13. Really nice. and paid for premium paint at 49.99 a box. Rec paint was at $40.

Rules: Standard again. Keep mask on at all times unless in safety zones. But again, not enforced.

Staff: Inside the store, were great! Very knowledgeable and more than willing to help.Great addition to the proshop.

Proshop: Great inventory of Tippmann products and Mil-Sim markers. They have plenty of gear as well.

Refs: They were nice and friendly. But did not enforce the game at all. No paint checks. No rules given. Extremely Disappointed.

The facilities are great. It used to be an old golf course and great to play scenario games. And speedball course is great for 5 man play. The proshop has goodies like snacks and drinks.

Overall, the place is nice and has a great location. If they can pep talk the refs in encouraging players to practice safety, I would be very happy with this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ham8legs Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Going on I-77 north you will hit exit 77 and turn right on US-21 and it will be on the left about a mile down.
Review: Safety - I do have to admit that the safety is abouta 7 out of ten because they do require you to have barell pulgs in at all times away from the fields but they do not breif the new players of safety issues except the rules.

Fields - Thris fields are the nest i have seen because I am an all out woodsballer and all of the fields that they offer are great. I think my favorite is assault or jungle.

Hours Of Operation - Their hours are great they open at 9 am and close aroun 6 or 7 and on tuesdays they have night games from 4-8.

Prices - Great prices if you have your own gear its only 13 for all day air and field fee. Or you can rent BT-4 or Tippmanns for 25 dollars all day air and 200 balls included.

Rules -Their rules are fairly simple and require an honor code if you want to call it that. Their crono spees is no more that 280 fps.

Staff - Their staff is really friendly and thay will do almost anything for you. They will even help you get into a car you locked your keys in ( *Cough* Cai).

Overall i give this field a 9 because nothign is perfect and nothing deserves a ten but i think it is the best.
Last edited on Monday, June 29th, 2009 at 6:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

David C Sunday, May 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atomic Paintball
Triggertyme (Referee there for 2 years)
BallBusters
Paintball Charleston
Adventure Beach Paintball
Review: My overall experience with Palmetto Hills was HORRIBLE. Safety was obviously not a priority, not even a secondary. When we arrived we paid the prices which if i might add were extremely reasonable, $7 for field fee and $6air along with paint that was priced good. After we paid we received no safety briefing or any clue to getting one. As we were gearing up we noticed NO ONE had barrel bags. Odd? And the referees were not enforcing it as we clearly watched roughly 40 kids along with a decent amount of regulars walk around throughout the day without any signs of barrel plugs with a referee tagging along at the back. Along with no barrel plugs we watched people walk up and down the road shooting air and paintballs into random directions with no mask on. To top it off when we went to play in the woods field there were people walking around on the field WHILE THE GAME WAS GOING ON with their masks off. I'm not talking about 50-100 feet, I'm talking 5-10 feet. And if you think thats bad the referees which were roughly 30 feet away were watching them play.. with no mask on. I said don't you think they should put there masks on and the referee yelled once for them to put there masks on but never did anything about it as they continued to be maskless.
I expect this kind of behavior from newbies but defiantly not the regulars and most importantly the referees who were the most unmotivated referees I have ever seen.
On the brighter side the speedball field was properly maintained and ran like it should of been. I only found 3 staff members that were helpful, the young man who ran our speedball games (not the one who left us and went to KFC), Fran?(I believe thats her name) and the other man in the shop that was helping her.

I WILL NOT be coming back here again or any other time in the future. This field is far from being safe in my eyes along with this being one of the worst, if not the worst paintball experiences I have ever had.

If you do decide to go please use caution.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 26th, 2009 at 2:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MILSIMpball Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC
Review: This field is great for woodsball players like myself. Friendly staff who can help you with any of your problems. You can tell ms. fran knows what she is doing. Dont know how she got into it though.
All right the fields totally kick rear. they have four woodsball fields and a dinky little speedball field. but if you come to play at palmetto hills your not coming to play speedball. well first off they have the hill. its at great big ole field with bunkers as well as natural terrian. there are three bridges which tthe teams try to take, and you could go into the woods and sneak up behind your enemy. usually you play a big game there like 15 on 15 is great. you can also divid the field in half and play a smaller game.
the jungle and assault are pretty much the same. bunkers and woods. the games there tend to be smaller. the newest field is called "the new field" guess they havent come up with a name yet. it is a large open field wiht bunkers and a little tower. it also has a woods section and can be divided in half depending on numbers of players. big games are fun though.
prices are great you can byop and great deals on equipment
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

oneeyemedic Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area
Directions
to the Field:
485 to 77 get off exit 77 go left then its on the left about a mile down the road.
Review: Great field to play, at, with GREAT PRICES $13 to play all day with all day air, you cant beat that! Friendly staff, awsome field if your into woods ball, they had assault field which we had a blast playing on and we also played on the hill which was great too! There were two other fields but we didnt get a chance to play on them. There is also one speedball field, but im not into that. I think this field would be even better if they had some sort of small town or some type of fort to defend. Also some lunch! But overall we had a great time will go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carolina impact Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC-way too expensive
Behind Enemy Lines-No speedball!
Review: Fran the woman that runs it is just a nice person knows a lot about paintball and is willing to help any one. the refs are usually very people friendly never had a problem with any of them. Unfortunatley they only have 1 speed ball field wich is pretty nice sh tells me theywill add another in the near future. The paint is very reasonable from 40-60 dollars per case. $13 for field fee and all day air i play with a case of paint and field fee for around $55 would cost $70-80 at PBC. Very good place go there we need more speedballers!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SameBIG CHIEF Thursday, July 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None I prefer this one due to atmosphere.
Review: Fran and her crew have the knowledge and capabilities to handle whatever problems or situations you may encounter. They have very reasonable prices and the fields are great. I am more of a woodsball player and their set up is perfect for a day full of fun games. I highly recommend Palmetto Hills to anyone who wants a laid back Saturday full of family fun. They also do night games on Tuesdays from 4 to 8.
Last edited on Thursday, July 5th, 2007 at 6:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mpfootball Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC- too expensive for me, especially the fact that you have to buy paint from the field. Plus it's more of a speedballer place. Not really into speedball
Directions
to the Field:
I-77 to 21 then anderson rd, keep going till the road forks, keep going stright/left and it's on the left
Review: So I've been going to this field for like three months now, every other weekend. It's really a great place to throw some paint around. It's ideally a place for woodsball players. But they have one Speedball field that is your typical air bunkers with the snake, X, doritos, cylinders. But speedball is not for me, waste too much paint for my taste. But as far as woodsball goes, this is a GREAT field. Has 4 "Fields" to play on, could be 5 if you split on up (which you can cause it's big).

They have Assault, a "longer" field with a creek/pond seperating the wider side by a little alley way. Bunkers are well placed for strategy, but it is more long than it is wide.

They have the Jungle, a more circular field with two sides and a creek seperating the two, has an open circular space and the ability to go into the woods and into some "marshes" on the other side. two bridges are there to cross the creek.

Then they have the Hill(s). This field is suited for a pretty big game, say 12v12 or so. It's basically two hills facing each other with a creek in between w/ two bridges used to cross it. Both hills are bunkerd up pretty well with a back "base" bunker on each side. The woods that surround the field are also accesible and part of the field. this is the one that could be seperated into two fields, both sides of the hill, can make it like an attack and defent sort of thing. Capture the flag is also a favorite here.

They also have a complete woods field/area, it can still use some spicing up to it, adding some more bunkers stuff like that. It's still pretty fun but not suited for a big crowd.

Last and least (IMO) is the speedball field, standard air bunkers. Netted 2/4's of the way around (on the sides that are towards the other paintball fields, the other two sides face and open unused field and woods. Also it has a nice coverd bench area that is nice for spectators. Tournies could easily be held here with no problem other than having to wait for your game, but can wach others in the meantime.

The Staff there is very very polite. They make it a very laid back environment. Not meaning lackadaisical in saftey, but laid back in that they assume of you to be a responsible person in that you know what to do when you are playing. The refs are cool, and know what their doing. But imo this place is not for a complete noob of paintball to go. They show you how to shoot the gun, put in saftey, and all that stuff, but most of the time you are to be responsible of yourselves. Me, I like that, it shows respect.

The Field Rate is probably the cheapest rate I've ever "experienced". It's only 20 bucks for a custom 98, All day air, mask, and a 200 round filled hopper. Plus it's a BYOP, bring your own paintball, place. They have some to buy, but being able to bring your own paint is a big plus for me. And if you have your own gear, it's 13 bucks for field fee and all day air. Might be cheaper if you get the field fee 7 bucks and fill your air once at a time if you have a big tank. They also sell guns, apparel, mods, the regular stuff for a paintball shop. They also do some repairs, i don't really know what seeing that i repair my gun myself, but they do some.

Overall, this place is probably the best place I've been to. Everything is great there, from the fields, to the staff, to the rates, it's a great place to be. Plus it's only like 20 mins away from my house.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media