paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field / Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Palmetto Hills Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 803-366-3801
Address: 1481 S Anderson Rd.
Rock Hill, South Carolina 29730
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
NYSEguy Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Central Charlotte
Review: I had played about a half a dozen times several years ago when I lived in Colorado. I just got my own marker, and started back into it last week. So I consider myself a newb.

First, I'd like to comment on the quality of the people who seem to congregate at the field. We had a total of about 25 people playing and they were all very nice. It made playing the games w/virtual strangers a lot of fun. Everyone was very friendly and I felt pretty comfortable.

Ok, now the review in ernest. The field setup is cool in principle, but I agree w/the comments of another earlier that a few bucks, and the place would be a class field. I know I don't have a lot of exp, and perhaps this is the way paintball fields are, but I wouldn't call single plywood sheets comming apart from the support posts w/rusty nails exposed as quality. Replace the rotting plywood sheets w/barrels or at least new pieces of plywood would go a long way. The refs were ok . The were friendly enough, but too many people were walking around the "neutral" ground w/o barrel plugs or condoms. Some people were even "testing" their guns by firing them from the neutral zone area into the playing field. The neutral area is also directly behind the playing area and isn't offset nor shielded by any netting or barriers so a "stray" shot could easily find it's way to the neutral zone. I would caution that you have to be much more proactive in your own safety precautions. Don't rely entirely on the refs or the field setup to protect your safety. The refs also could have kept the games moving more. It seemed that we would wait for people to go get more paint or air from the store instead of just playing and letting them catch the next round. The tower that has been mentioned in other reviews is in great physical condition and seemed very solid. Also, the barricades are angled so you can't just hide behind one the entire time. You or your opponents can advance and easily catch you in a cross fire. This design helps move the games forward as it forces you to move around finding the best cover for that moment then moving to another barricade before someone takes you on your flank. Very smart design. I enjoyed myself very much at this field, but earnestly believe that it's more a "diamond in the rough". It has awsome potential, hopefully the owners will be able to upgrade and impove it so it can live up to it's full potential.

I don't know what the "going rate" is for field use, but I was charged $20.00. That included 'all day air' (which was one refill on my way out when I fininished for the day), and 200 rounds. I had my own equipment, so I didn't need to rent anything. I thought $20 was pretty steep and wondered if I was mischarged since someone else mentioned a $7.00 field fee.

If you go to this field, you will have a good time. If they fixed things up a little you could have a great time.

EDIT: 1-8-05 They have done much better about the ref'ing. The refs are much more dilligent about enforcing the barrel plug rule. Some of the "bunkers" have been repaired...that is to say they have been nailed back on their support posts, and are not pulling away. The crowds seem to be getting bigger and bigger, which is a good thing. Having a blast and making friends. The are resonable on their paint, only a few bucks more than Wally world, but better quality. The $20 fee i believe is still stiff, and puts a serious cramp in how much i can play due to other obligations like the mortgage....lol. Some sort of break for your own equipment would be grand. Getting charged $20 just to use my own equipment on their property....I dunno. I'd almost rather buy an extra 1000 rounds instead and play woodsball in my backyard w/some buddies. Some sort of "membership" or club that you can pay upfront for and get reduced fees or something would be ideal.

Edit 2-14-07: They have made significant improvements to the field. Better bunkers, more fields have opened up, new Xball/Speedball Bunkers. That's just the facilities improvements. They have also improved safety. They enforce the safety waiver, all markers are chrono'd before you're allowed to leave the "proshop" and head to the field. The refs are much more diligent, and there is safety netting around the various spectator/deadbox areas. If you were disappointed in the past, you might want to give them another try, if you liked them before but its been a while you might want to dust off that Spyder and blow off the yard work for just one day. Increased rating from 7 to 8 in light of the added improvements.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 6:17 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NCSpyderMAn Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB SPOT(closed down) Cj's Paintball
Review: Palmetto HIlls is a pretty cool place. all i have played on was the hill course it is HUGE pretty much likea valley witha creek at the middle with trees along it and a tower over the creek. there are bunkers skatered on both sides and on either side of the brigdges across the creek. if you have a long range gun like a tippmann witha flatline then this is the field you need to play on most of hte games i have played here were pretty long so you should prbably bring a pack with you. over all i think its really fun to play on.
THE STORE
The store is pretty un organized but the prices arent that bad, you can get a case of good paint for about 45 bucks so thats good for me and the all day air isnt steep either. i wouldnt give the store a very high rating but the old guyw ho runs it knows alot about paintball and like i said before its pretty cheep so overal this is a pretty good field to go because you can spend all day playing without waistin your whole wallet.
EDIT: I played at Palmetto HIlls again a few weeks ago and had a much better time, this time i got to play on the speedball course and it was pretty fun, the only thing was that some of the bunkers were half filled, but ohter than that it was awesome. if you live in the area deffinately check this place out. the refs there r pretty cool we hung out with 2 of htem most of the day (trey and thomas i think) and they were pretty fun trey brought out his matrix and let me and my friend go crazy with it so i had a good time
Last edited on Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 at 9:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

falcon2ko Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Patriot pb.Cj's.PB Spot.PB USA
Review: A very nice field.It has about 4 courses now to choose from.And the field fees and all day air fees are pretty cheap too.Probs are it is kinda unkept inside the store and the fields rarely have refs.But other than that this place is sweet,cheap,and loads of fun to stop by and play all day.One of my fav fields to play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Spot (Don't bother) CJs, Gold Diggers, Paintball Kingdom
Review: I wanted to try something different so I drove down to SC to try this field. It was easy to find, and right off of the main road. When I pulled in, I was impressed that the field was actually on an old golf course, and had a paved parking lot with an actual building for the shop with real bathrooms and air conditioning. The guy behind the counter was very nice, and the prices were very good. THe field layout is pretty cool, with two hills coming together with a creek and some woods in the middle. There was also a speedball field, but I didn't play on that.

The bad:
This field could be so much more than it is if they would put some money into it. The bunkers on the field with the creek on it are pathetic. They need to add several more on each side, and a few bigger ones. The ref was, for all intents and purposes, non existent. We had one kid who was the ref, and all he really did was sit around. I got there at 9:30, and stayed until 12:00, and we had played a total of 4 games. The ref also stated that some rules could be gotten around as long as he didn't catch you doing it. WTF??? I would also reccomend that the field owners check their insurance regulations regarding barrel blocking devices. Several kids were walking around with no plug in the time dead zone, with their finger on the trigger. Once again, THe ref ignored this. When I asked one of the kids were his barrel plug was, he just shrugged and said he didn't have one. Several people would take their mask off on the field, and I was the only person yelling at them to put it back on. This caused one guy to take offense to my screaming at him to put his mask on. Its not my fault if I shot at them, and they pull their goggles off and get hit in the eye, but I would still feel guilty about it. Here's a bit of advise, if you fail to enforce the safety requirements and someone gets injured because of it, you WILL be responsible for it, regardless of the waiver that the player signs. It is the field owners responsibility to ensure a safe playing experience. Get rid of the kids as refs, and get someone who will take an active role in reffing the game and moving games along. Also get them some orange vests or ref jerseys. And get more than one on a field. Also, playing "wounded" is fine for outlaw fields, but when I pay to play, I expect to eliminate some one if I shoot them in the foot, not wait until I can shoot them above the knee or elbow.

To the field owner:
This really could be one of the best fields in the area if some money was put into the field, and there were some decent refs who enforced the safety rules. Don't take this as a slam, take it as some constructive criticisim from someone who has been playing for 16 years and has seen many fields come and go. You need to correct some serious issues with your field. Buy some netting and use it to separate the chrono station and the field boundry. This is simple stuff people.
Last edited on Saturday, August 7th, 2004 at 3:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

OneEyedZiggy Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Spot - only speedball fields, only 1 ref, nice staff, light 'traffic', several types of "brand name" paint .
Review: This "field" usually only has 2 fields, one large 10-20 player field, and 1 mediocre speedball field. (sometimes there is a sup-air(with pipes & a constant fan) inflated in the back, where it is out of usual view. (spectators here need masks due to lack of netting, no biggie.)

major points:
->There is always plenty of traffic, which, aside from being one of the only 2 fields in a 50 mile radius, is the reason I go here.
-> The staff does not go "above and beyond" to please the customer,
-> They only stock one brand of paint (they keep it nice and cool though), kickin' paint which will soup up any gun or barrel at any faster than 3 balls per second (a sign says they have one or two other brands, but it only comes in full cases, and still isn't "quality paint")
->I gave them a 9oz tank to fill, and they lost it, they did give me a 14oz to replace it, but that isn't the point.
->they don't require medical release or release of liability forms, which is good and bad, they are responsible if i get hurt (even though it would most likely be my fault), but cannot take me to a hospital if need be.
->The reffing is of poor quality, although it is better than that of the Paintball spot. I fully expect poor reffing until paintball fields can get more buisness.(edit: reffing has improved slowly since I first went)

the field up the road The Paintball Spot has a nicer staff, but less traffic, so if you are in a group, and want to play speedball, go there, but if you are alone, the best idea is to go to palmetto hills.

(make sure to lock up your belongings at paintball fields, some people take handfuls of paint from everyone while they are on the field and fill a hopper, this has not happened at this field, but it has happened)
Last edited on Friday, April 16th, 2004 at 1:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

loft Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red fox, Badlands, Carolina paint Slingers
Review: This is a great place for a paint ball complex it is a old golf course that is been made in to a paint ball field.Very nice layout great location and very save for the entire family to go and see how paint ball is played.
the hill course is wide open it is a Huge open area with a creek seperating it down the middle. and two bridges and a sniper tower, Very cool place to play ther is not a unfair spot to play from on this field.
the jungle is way cool small competitive field with a creek that has 2 bridges and a creek good area of play not Quit wood ball not speed ball but it is a blast to be on./ did not get ot play the woods field but will be back soon and will update.

the staff there are very nice and helpful and the cost compared to the other fields is inexpensive not cheep if all paint ball complexes especially for woods player could be this nice it would be great it is a class act.

if your looking for a good safe place that is a lot of fun this is it if you looking for a deep woods ball course the look else wear but for the most bang fort he buck this is it i have paid twice the feild fees and twice the money for field paint and did not come close to this field for fun. $7.00 field fee $9-$11 for field paint (kicin ,pmi big balls) or bring your own.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdad Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Spot.
Review: This is the best field in the rock hill area. The owner is really nice and you can't beat the prices! This place has a Sup'airball field and a scenario field called "The Hill" which is a field with two hills opposite each other and a creek in the center with two bridges on either side of it. There is also a sniper tower in the middle. The airball field is equipped for a 3 or 5 man team and has plenty of bunkers. There is also a few other woods fields I have not tried.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintba11player Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is A really good field. Compaired to this cheep place down the road.
Review: The field is Really fun. The best part is the speed ball corse. The next best field Is the hill. There if you run to the middle you can take the tower and be a sniper. They also have a jungle corse, woods corse another speedball. And the people are really nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkertime Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Spot Inc. -
Review: This field is GREAT! they have a Sup' Air ball cource which is insane. They have a cource named "The Hill" which is 2 hills comming at each other w/ a tower, bridges and a creek which alot of players like. Another field called the jungle is basicly open woodland w/ lots of random natural opjects which can be fun for a 1 on 2 "Sniper" game. They have lighted fields which is a very nice thing when it gets dark. The owner is VERY nice and they are a very nicly equiped field. There are turnament players there, and new players. The Ref's are EXCTREAMLY nice but VERY safe. I would recommend this field to any one in the Rock Hill, SC area. It's off Exit 77, left, across from the catawba baptis church

Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 6:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media