View Full Version : Stay Away From Paintball Classifieds!!!!
Shinnanagans
08-19-2005, 04:39 PM
I was trying to sell my A5 a long long time ago. The interested buyer was the owner of the site. He wanted to buy it but here's the catch. I would recieve a check for 1000 some while I was asking for 350. Then I would send the rest to him in a MO. Idk if you guys know what this is but it is luandering money. I checked it out with the FBI office and they confirmed my theory. In conclusion : DO NOT USE PAINTBALL CLASSIFIEDS TO SELL OR TRADE YOUR ITEMS IT MAY RESULT IN A SCAM FROM THE OWNER HIMSELF
Just thought I'd share with my experience with fellow paintballers.
Shimboodo
08-19-2005, 08:13 PM
Same thing happened with me. The guy sent me a check for $3000, and wanted me to wire him the $2700.
Did he call himself Reverend Willie?
Samrog777
08-19-2005, 08:46 PM
western union scam?
scarroll825
08-19-2005, 08:51 PM
That guy was probobly in the mafia. That's how they make alot of their money. Here in Jersey the just join a Union and "work" for a couple diffrent buisnesses down at the harbors. For some reason they can't get fired (even though the never show) and they just get these checks coming in every month or so.
OWNAGE
08-19-2005, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by scarroll825
That guy was probobly in the mafia. That's how they make alot of their money. Here in Jersey the just join a Union and "work" for a couple diffrent buisnesses down at the harbors. For some reason they can't get fired (even though the never show) and they just get these checks coming in every month or so.
Or not. (http://www.warpig.com/paintball/articles/news/060104nigerian.shtml)
Found from Scam Sticky (http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=283204) by the one and only, RCX.
Omegaboy13
08-19-2005, 10:22 PM
Eh, to me dirty money is still money.
Shinnanagans
08-20-2005, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by Shimboodo
Same thing happened with me. The guy sent me a check for $3000, and wanted me to wire him the $2700.
Did he call himself Reverend Willie?
I am not sure, I backed out of it though, my mom works for the federal government and that is a no, no.
Shimboodo
08-20-2005, 12:23 PM
I just remembered the guy who tried to scam me was on the Warpig classifieds, not paintball classifieds.
Similar scam, though.
Shinnanagans
08-20-2005, 12:28 PM
Yeah, sure you'll get your money unless it bounces but then you have to worry about federal laws.:eyes:
LordOfThePaint
08-20-2005, 12:34 PM
Wow, where you dropped as a child? That wasnt the owner of paintball classifieds.
That is a scam older then time itself, they send you the check, you send them money, and when you go to get money from the check guess what, it bounces. It the old Nigerian somethingorother scam. Someone randomly found your email addy on the site and sent it to you, it has nothing to do with pbclassifieds itself.
Shinnanagans
08-20-2005, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by LordOfThePaint
Wow, where you dropped as a child? That wasnt the owner of paintball classifieds.
That is a scam older then time itself, they send you the check, you send them money, and when you go to get money from the check guess what, it bounces. It the old Nigerian somethingorother scam. Someone randomly found your email addy on the site and sent it to you, it has nothing to do with pbclassifieds itself.
No need to make yourself look like a jerk, and it was from the lead man himself that's why it has something to do with piantball classifieds.:rolleyes:
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.