paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 / Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 / Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 / Kingman Spyder Compact 2000

Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Compact 2000

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Compact 2000
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 413
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $99

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard Features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, 2nd Generation Venturi Bolt, Anti-Double Feed, Two Finger Trigger with Regulation Trigger Guard, Muzzle Brake Barrel, Filter System, Composite Trigger Frame, 45 Grip Frame with Rubber Grip Cover, Raised Mini Sight Rail, Vertical Adapter, External Velocity Adjuster.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
brendon Friday, August 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: spyder compact 2000 with custom flames-looks sweet
-smart parts progressive barrel
-xchamber
-em1 n-bolt
-gas through grips
-sweet spot trigger
-shocktech low pressure cell
-ipi trigger frame

spyder xtra
-stock

Wgp 04 vertical feed autococker
-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-xchamber
-new barrel
-bolt
Strengths: The gun is cheap and its very upgradable, it doesn't break balls
Weaknesses: The barrel is the only key weaknesses to this gun, its loud, and inaccurate
Review: I put alot of crap on this gun and it did me well. Alot of people say its not a tournament gun and its not, but if u have the upgrades on it, it is. I went to alot of tournament games with this gun and i did really good. No JoKe. The gun is really fun and easy to take care of. If your looking for a good beginner gun or maybe a tournament gun get this.
Conclusion: Like i said up there, good gun, go buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 9:29 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

BSF2ooo Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder FLASH LCD
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000-
Marker
14 inch CP barrel
Viewloader Barrel
expansion chamber
bottom line

Spyder FLASH LCD -
Marker
Viewloader Hopper
14 inch CP barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Expansion chamber and bottom line
Maybe an electric hopper if you have a fast finger
Strengths: Cheap price and great gun for beginners. Doesn't break a lot of balls
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Wouldn't recommend for tournaments but a good starter gun.
Review: It was the first paintball gun I ever used. It worked good while I started playing paintball, but as I got better and started getting more involved in paintball I had to upgrade to a better gun. Doesn't break a lot of balls. Requires little to no maintenance. I would recommend to any beginner. Never broke on me. I still own it, and still think its a great gun.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out paintballing, I would recommend this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_pbguns Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Longer Barrel
Strengths: Shoots very accurate.
It is and extremely affordable gun.

Weaknesses: None
Review: My friend let me borrow this gun when I went paintballing at his house. This gun worked great and shot very accuratly. Even though it is only semi-automatic, you can still shoot pretty fast. The only thing I would recommend would be to get a longer barrel. This gun also has very good and fast velocity. I hope this review will be helpful for others.
Conclusion: I think this is a very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ice Friday, April 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98 - Works well, had a problem with th valve getting out of place. Other then that about the same as the compact 2000.
TL+ - works the same, just comes with more odds and ends.
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2000, and a fair amount of upgrades.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- will really help out the noise and accuracy factor.
Removed Venturi- Free, and will improve performance, so why not.
Polish internals- increases performance, doesn't cost anything if you have the materials needed.
Drop - will make your gun more compact.
Regulator - will make your fps more consistent.
Anti-siphon tube- makes it so liquid co2 can't get into your reg/gun and freeze it up. If not this, get...
Nitro - also makes it more consistent, isn't as dirty, and won't freeze up your gun like co2.
Motorized hopper - it'll feed faster so you can shoot faster
E-frame - increase ball per second (will fire faster)

Check out the upgrade sticky in the kingman forum for more in-depth stuff on upgrades.
Strengths: Cheap
Good performance
Upgradeability
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks, like every gun.
No quick strip pin.
Review: Works well. Haven't had any problem with it.
The money i saved on getting this, went into some performance upgrades (new barrel) that worked very well.
The M98's and other spyders are good, but for $69 new, you can't come close with anything.
Find out you're playing style. It seems that people who play woods go for the M98 most of the time, while people that play everything perfer spyders. This is in general, not everyone. Try out all the guns you are thinking of getting, see what you like most, then factor in things like price to see what's best. Think about how many times you are going to be playing. If you only go "every once in awhile" then that $400 impulse isn't worth it. If you play every weekend, and don't think you'll be quiting anytime soon, then you may want to think about saving up for that impulse. Read up in the forums, read the stickies, do searches, then ask. We'll help ya out.
Conclusion: If you're getting into paintball, or want a gun/spyder to upgrade/fool around with. This is one to think about. At $69 online, you can't beat it. The only thing close would be the espirit. (The equvilent with a E-frame already on it). I'd recomend the Espirit over this,, simple due to the fact that for like $20 more, you'll be getting the E-frame, which you'd probably want anyway, so might as well get it for cheapier. You also get the Quick strip pin, so you won't have to worry about stripping the threads of the screws (like on the Compact 2000).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 27th, 2003 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Evil Bacon Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder TL Plus
Model 98 w/ Reponse Trigger
Marker Setup: AGD Minimag
- Benchmark Double Trigger Frame
- Dye Sticky Grips
- Psycho-Ballistics Drop Forward
- Macro-Line Setup w/ Quick Disconnect
- Smart Parts Gadget Grip
- AGD Level 10 Bolt
- J&J Edge Barrel System: 12 in.
- ZAP Mach 404 Electronic Loader
- Crossfire 88 c.i. 3000 p.s.i.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Invest in a good barrel; Smart Parts All-American if you want to spend the money; or a J&J Ceramic Barrel, which is a cheap buy and infinitely better than the stock barrel.
- I would also look into buying a good volumizer/low pressure chamber; this can noticeably reduce shoot down.
- Invest in a good bolt, because a bolt can make a world of difference in accuracy as well preventing ball breakage.
- If you plan to run CO2 with this marker, it is a good idea to purchase a good expansion chamber. This not only increases the number of shots you can get out of your CO2 tanks, but it can help keep your velocity at a more consistent level.
- Add whatever else you want to the gun to make it feel more comfortable; be it new grips, trigger frame, drop-forward, etc.
Strengths: Easy to maintain, to clean, and to install upgrades.
Weaknesses: Chops paint. Leaves distance and accuracy to be desired. Low R.O.F.
Review: Straight out of the box, this marker is a back yard warriors dream come true. However, the allure of this particular marker ends right there. This marker is perfect for just playing around with a bunch of friends that have Wal-Mart level markers, but don't even bother taken this marker to the fields. There is no way that it can compete with any of those players toting around their $1000 marker; shoot, this marker is hard pressed to even hang with the rental Tippman's. The marker likes to chop paint, and once it starts, it's going to continue to eat paint like its going out of style the rest of the day. The rate of fire this marker has with the stock frame is slow, and there is so much play, it's not funny. And don't even get me started on the stock barrel; good luck at trying to nail anything outside of 50 feet with that worthless piece of piping. And if you plan on just screwing your CO2 canister stright into the ASA adapter, expect a lot of shoot down and velocity inconsistency. But, fear not, there is still hope for this little bad boy.
Before the die-hard Spyder fans get upset, I better talk about the positive aspects of this marker. This marker is not a complete loss, not by a long shot. If you are willing to spend the time, effort, and money to get to know and upgrade your spyder, you can have yourself one seriously sweet marker. I sunk about $500 worth of accessories into my Compact, and I don't regret my decision to do so. Upgrading this thing was so easy to do, too.
In order increase the range and accuracy of this marker it is a good idea to invest in a good barrel, as well as quality paint that matches the barrel's bore-size. A good delrin bolt can increase the accuracy and range of the marker, as well as decrease chopping and prolong the life of the compact's body; if you have your marker set up with an electronic loader, misfeads can become a thing of the past. A good volumizer can prevent shootdown from occuring and your range can remain constant. (Shocktech makes a good, albeit large volumizer.) An expansion chamber would be a good idea if playing with CO2 and can help prevent liquid CO2 from feeding in and screwing up your marker. A good trigger frame, be it a replacement mechanical or a new electronic frame which have come down considerabley in price, can greatly improve and increase you rate of fire.
I like to play in tight, and I love the fact that the marker is side cocking, and I do not have to worry about a beaver tail, but look out. If you are not careful you can scratch your lenses if tuck in to tight with this marker, as the bolt sits right by your face. So get used to and know your marker.
I sometimes still play with this tricked out bad boy, and I always get looks at the field when people realize its a Spyder. The thing looks ugly, performs like nothing else with its upgrades, and is louder than all get out; a real head turner. Definitly worth spending the money, because even though this is my back up marker, I know I can hang with those Angel's and Timmy's; because this marker, ef given a chance will and has proven its worth over and over again.
Conclusion: It's an okay marker for just goofing off with friends, but is not really a competitive marker out of the box. Sink some money and time with this marker, and you will have a friend for life. I would reccommend this marker for anyone starting out and wanting a marker that they can grow and work with. Perfect for all beginners. The marker still has its limitations, but once you know what they are, you just adapt your playing to compensate for any weaknesses. It's all part of becoming a good paintball player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Thursday, September 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other syders
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
14" Battle Stikxx
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
E-Grip
12"Lapco Big Shot Apex
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-chamber
longer/better barrel
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Lots of fun
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: Aaaaaah the good old days of paintball. Haha, I know its 2010 but when I saw my very first paintball gun was up for review I just had tor type something. I bought this gun from a friend of mine 2001 for $50 used, it came with a 16oz CO2 with a anti-syphon, and some cheap old revy that was slow as hell compared to todays hoppers. If I remember correctly, this was actually a very descent marker for what it was. It had a X-chamber already on it, so the air-efficiency was great(got like 800 shots out of 16OZ), It never chopped paint, and it required minimal maintenance. The day I bought this gun was the first day I played paintball, I had no idea what I was doing but I was totally hooked on paintball from that day on.
Conclusion: Well since its 2010 I cant really see there being to many of these around anymore. If you find one make sure you take good care of it and dont get rid of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life21 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Odyssey Halo Hopper w/ Rip Drive and Warrior Shell
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Shocker/Nerve Roller Trigger

07 WGP Outkast Sniper 2
ViewLoader Revolution Hopper
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank

Spyder Compact 2000
ViewLoader 200 Hopper
20 oz. Co2 Tank
16 inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel
Internal Parts (Bolt, Spring, Velocity Shim)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This was my first marker when I started playing. I had gotten it from a friend who had bought it offline. I first tried it out and I was impressed with the performance of Compact. I had also tried a Tippmann 98 Custom and chose the compact over it. The first thing that impressed me was the accuracy of the stock barrel and the 16 inch barrel. I had no chops and was able to shoot at a consistent rate. Overall I was impressed. So I went over to my friends and they were impressed with my play with my first marker. The marker is lightweight and good for the woods. Mine is a tan color so it fits perfect for it. I now play air ball and occasionally play woods with it. The compact is very reliable and would be good for a new player. This is an old marker and would be hard to find but if you manage to get one, make a few upgrades such as a spring, velocity shim, and bolt and you have a perfect basic marker.
Conclusion: This was my first marker and its awesome!!! It served me well and it would be a good starter marker for a new player.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 3:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

basooka bob Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used several paranahs, all kinds of rebels, and tippman 98 and a flatline. The spyder is comprable to the most paranahs but better than the rest. I've also shot an STO autococker, timmy, and a matrix all of these being better guns all round.
Marker Setup: 2000 compact, ceramic barrel, warpig dropforward, expansion chamber, bottomline, and nitroduck compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lots but a new barrel should come first. Then a bottomline and expantion chamber. A dropforward and a new trigger couldn't hurt.
Strengths: Good price, very durable and has lots of upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Needs alot added to it
Review: Overall a good gun but the stock barrel on it is crap. I have used mine for almost three years now and have been able to paint alot of players with "supperior" equipment. It has had it's troubles but nothing too bad. It won't outshoot Angels, timmys or anything of that sort but then again it costs a fraction of the price.
Conclusion: I would recomend the gun to anyone wanting to start paintball because it is cheap and durable.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ultimatesniper Thursday, June 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, e-99, tipmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: you really dont need more accesories except maybe a 12oz co2 or barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
find a cheap barrel, 12oz co2
Strengths: good starter gun, reliable, rugged, no ball breaks ever. virtually no maintnence needed.
Weaknesses: not a gun youd use in a tourny.
Review: this was the first gun i ever used. i have used many since, they are higher performance, but did not give me as much bang for buck. (50$)if your a newbie and need a gun that would fit on your budget and still perform virtually maintenance free- this is the gun for you.
I would recommend this gun anyday over a tipmann 98 custom, its main competitor, because of its price, reliability, and user friendliness.
Conclusion: buy this gun if you are starting out a need a cheap and reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 23rd, 2003 at 9:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimeSpaceCntm Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggressor, Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot ACS
20 oz tank
Viewloader Quantum
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch barrel. The stock barrel is a bit to short at 9 1/2 inches. It tends to cause the balls to wing a bit.
Maybe an X chamber and a cheap do it yourself trigger job ( sure, you could buy a new trigger, but that is not neccissary for this class of marker)
Strengths: Accurate, reliable, no chopping, affordable, and tough.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel a bit loud, inaccurate. Angled feedneck a bit of a pain.
Review: Obviousely this is not a high end marker. So, I will rate it on the basis of comparing it against other markers in its class. A must for begginers, and experenced players alike.
It is affordable, fairly accurate stock, easy to maintain and field strip and very good on chopping. So far I have never chopped a ball. It is far better than my aggressor, probably because its older and better quality. ( that happens now days, things get cheaper and cheaper).
I would recomend this guin to anyone looking for a good, reliable marker for under a $100. Take a moment to consider what else is in this catagory: Pirhanas, Brass eagles, And JTs. This marker out performs these in my book 10 to 1.
I would reccomend a 12-14 inch barrel and you have a first class woodsball marker. I even played speedball with it (ya, I know) and it actually held up pretty good.

Conclusion: I shot 500 balls through it in a couple hours and never had one chop. That speaks for itself. Cheap, reliable, the best begginers marker bar none for the price. My 10 of 10 rating does not mean a perfect marker. It simply means the best in its class.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media