paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer / Kingman Hammer

Kingman Hammer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Hammer

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Hammer
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $72

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Standard Features: Pump Action, Power Feed, Adjustable Bolt, Composite Trigger Frame, Two Arm Pump, Auto Trigger, Light Spring, Anti-double Cocking, 45 Grip, Muzzle Brake Barrel.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Hammer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jakeweeks Monday, March 21st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Converted Trilogy Sport pump
CCI Phantom
Marker Setup: Kingman Hammer
Custom Products .689 16 inch barrel
9oz Co2 tank
100 round hopper
45 degree feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Find a good feedneck. I've had several break on me because of the weird neck size.
A barrel is a good upgrade. The stock barrel is loud as hell, but accurate for it's length.
This gun screams "Make me a stock class!"
Strengths: Accurate out of the box
Smooth pump stroke
Extremely lightweight
Highly upgradeable
Back-bottle setup
Weaknesses: Back-bottle setup
Loud out of the box
1' feedneck
Some rollouts
Review: I have to say... I was impressed with the Kingman Hammer. I intended to buy it as a backup gun... and now it's the only gun I use. I got it for around $40 on Ebay, a great deal. I have shot a lot of paint through it, and my consensus is overwhelmingly positive.

Gassing up the gun, I immediately noticed two things: It was ball-on-ball accurate, and it was shooting hot. While I eventually cranked the velocity down, I didn't crank the accuracy down. Even with rubbish paint, the only thing I could think of whenever I shot it was "Sniper". The velocity was an easily fixable problem. This marker came from the era of Nelspots and Sheridans, and even cranked all the way down it was barely chrono'ing legally. I didn't clip the spring, and once I put my new barrel on, it shot fine.

Speaking of barrels, with the stock barrel this gun is LOUD. I mean real loud. Like, people around you plugging their ears loud. It was far quieter and more accurate with my CP barrel, however. It is still quite loud, but it's more due to the loud metal-on-metal interior components than the rattling around the end of the barrel.

The pump stroke is smooth. It is really solid with almost no play in the pump handle at all. With a good rhythm, you could shoot this gun really fast. One problem I do have is that the cutout on the right-hand side of the pump arm sometimes scrapes on the feed neck; on my Hammer, a 1cm circular area on my feedneck was scraped away. Not a real problem, but a minor cosmetic flaw.

The gun is super-simple. Internally, it resembles a scaled-up Nelson pump. The whole thing can be field stripped in under a minute, making for easy cleaning. On that note, it is nearly maintenance free. I've never had a mechanical problem with this marker.

The tank has a back-bottle setup. This makes it incredibly maneuverable and well-balanced, especially when shooting 12 grams. And without the steel-braided line, ASA, and drop-forward, it keeps the weight down. While I personally like this setup (it gives a more stable shooting platform and keeps a low profile for you and your hopper) it does have a few flaws. First of all, it's hard to look down the stock sight pin with a mask on and a Co2 tank on the back. Second, it makes it a bit clumsy in airball and exposes more of my body than I like when I snap out of a bunker. Tourney players might find the setup cumbersome, but it isn't really a serious problem.

The biggest problem, without a doubt, is the stock feedneck. It's a one-inch diameter feedneck, and that creates problems. Way back when, a 1' feedneck was standard. Not anymore. Every marker for the past 12 years or so has had a 7/8 inch feedneck. No modern hopper will fit in the feedneck. You'll need a WGP 40 round box or something, or hook up a 45 degree feedneck. The only problem is... most modern feednecks are designed for a 7/8 inch anyway. I've had feednecks snap from the stresses of "barely fitting" on the feedneck and had to wrap the neck in duct tape. It's inconvenient and frustrating.

The second worst problem is the rollouts. Too often I'll pump the gun and switch hands to go around a bunker and shoot... and nothing will come out. Double feeds are also a problem. It's hard to get small bores in Spyder threads, so I'll have to deal with it, probably. Better buy some bigger paint.

These problems are kind of nit-picky, I know. At the end of the day, you're still using an awesome, old-school pump gun. And, at the end of the day, you've only shot 500 paintballs, which means you can buy a case of top-of-the-range paint and play all month long. Better paint improves your accuracy, which improves your kill-count and improves your game. Once you get used to using a pump, you'll be having the most fun you've had playing in a long time.
Conclusion: If you want a solid, accurate, feather-weight, inexpensive pump gun with some funky 90's style, this is your gun. Although it may require a little modification to become a truly awesome pump gun, it is well worth it. A good Hammer can match any modern pump gun and many semi's as well. Definitely worth looking into.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pudamobile Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark- It was cheaply made compared against the Hammer, but still a fun cheap pump.
CCI Phantom- Slightly smoother, and the stock barrel tends to be more accurate, but I don't know that the price difference makes up for a smoother pump stroke and a stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Kingman Hammer
16" SP All-American
Lapco Gas-thru Stock
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some sort of barrel, I like my AA but many people would also consider a J&J Ceramic for on their Hammer.
Strengths: Lightweight
Reliable
Relatively Cheap for what you get
Relatively Accurate
Weaknesses: The Hammer-Ps have plastic triggerframes, that's pretty crappy.
Review: I picked up my Hammer a couple years ago off ebay for around $35 shipped. I pulled it out because at the time all of my friends were obsessed with fast markers. So while everyone else was running around shooting 15 BPS, I was rocking the pump. In my opinion, it made me a much better player because I couldn't just "spray and Pray" like everyone else did. Now a bunch of my friends are buying pumps, but not a one has considered a used Hammer, all have gone out and spent $200+ on a Phantom. Now I've shot a few Phantoms, and they are NICE, but for the difference between the $35 I spent for my Hammer and $200+ on their Phantoms, I'd take the Hammer and buy a good barrel, possibly some new grips and still come out ahead $100 on the deal. The only reason I could see buying a Phantom was if you got the VSC variation to play in Stock Class Tourneys. But if you're only going to Rec-Ball at your local field, pick up a cheap used Hammer and give pump a shot!
Conclusion: Buy one of these if you're curious as to if you'd like SC paintball, if you don't like pumping and such, you don't have much money tied up into your pump, if you do like pumping, you have either a great starting point for your setup or a cheap taste of what a Phantom can do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jfd Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Maverick, CCI Phantom, NPS Diablo,
Marker Setup: Hammer A, stock barrel, M16 grip, WGP 45 rd hopper, gas through t-stock and remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polish internals, lighten hammer, Maybe a 45 grip, shoulder stock
Strengths: metal grip frame, brass lined barrel, brass internals. Good eficiency, anti double feed . Spyder threads
Weaknesses: Plastic pump handle, pump stroke rough. Hard to find.
Review: I bought this used off ebay as part of a lot of gear. It ended up one of my favorite guns. If your looking for a pump this is a good one to get, if you can find one. Usually you can find them used for about 40-60 bucks.

The Kingman Hammer A is a Nelson based, bore drop, pump action paintball gun. It features anti double feed as well as anti double pump, so once you pump the gun the pump locks forward until you shoot.

This Gun is pretty solidly built, Aluminum body, cast aluminum grip frame with plastic grip and pump handle. the barrel is a brass lined with an aluminum outer sheath. I like the brass lining because its easy to polish. Also the brass internals polish up real nice, which improves efficiency and eases the pump stroke a bit.
The gun is about as accurate as any pump, which can be improved by using quality paint and taking time to match the paint to the barrel. (which I dont bother doing)
I play mostly pump and one of the problems with lower end pumps is ball rollout, I haven't noticed that happening too much with this gun. If you do have this problem a quick fix is to make a ring of nail polish on the inside of the barrel, at the threaded end just far enough in to hold the ball against the bolt. another thing that I do is to compensate by not pumping til I'm ready to shoot. If you do pump and the ball rolls out you have to shoot before you can pump again.

You can also increase efficiency by lightening the hammer. I did this by drilling a hole through the hammer, from left to right. I used about a 3/8 inch drill bit, I didn't do any research into what would be the best size hole to drill, so it's up to you if youwant to do it.
When I first got it the safety button was loose so I knocked it out to avoid problems. I don't recommend doing this for the reason that the field you play may not let you use ot without a safety. I havent had this happen but you never know.

I have used this gun for the first 6 mos without any mods and it performed great as it was. It is alittle loud, but I like it that way for the intimidation factor. The pump stroke was a little rough but with use I got accustomed to it.
Conclusion: I love my Hammer. As I said I play mostly pump (Ok, pretty much exclusively). After using this once it became my main gun. Because these are hard to find I was afraid to try any mods, But I got over that and started making small improvements. Now that the cold weather is here I'm adding a vertical asa and a 3.5 oz co2 tank and I'm hoping to add and under barrel pump.

I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting a pump. It is a low end pump but still serves its purpose very well. The main components are made with quality materials (brass and aluminum) and those that aren't can be replaced ( pump arm and grip). This past summer this gun shared duties with my Phantom. Because it is a low end gun I can not give it a 10, but don't get me wrong I personally love this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Layman Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mac1 Annihilator
AM-P Illusion
PMI Trracer
Hammer 2
Nelspot 007
etc., etc...
Marker Setup: Old (read as metal...)Hammer
10 round loader
9oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, something to sight with is a must have on this marker
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Ability to customize
Weaknesses: Hard to sight without a scope
Plastic pump arm
Review: Overall a great pump. I have had no problems with the marker malfunctioning. I paid $12 for mine and so I love the price tag! After taking the time to sight mine in at 25 yards I am able to hit the target every time. It is accurate and with a silencer is a formidable opponent in a woods setting. If you want a cheap pump that works really well than get this one, if you can find it. I have played with several pumps now and I like this one about as much as the AM-P Illusion that I tried. With the right barrel and acc. this is a 10 marker.

I have now owned at least five of these. The metal handled ones (Hammer A) is great, but the Hammer P is crap... If you find one with a metal grip frame - buy it.
Conclusion: If you can find one get it or at least try it out for a game. If you like pump games then it is for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 5:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acemav1 Friday, February 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Kingman New Hammer
ADCO Champ sight
PMI Sight Rail
Smart Parts 12" Tear Drop (Speed Ball)
Taso 17" Stone Cold II(Forest)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Well I just tried this Stone Cold Barrel on this gun. Well lets just say it made this Hammer more accurate than my brother's new Sterling. Yep I said Sterling. It doesn't have the light as hell pump and doesn't feel cheap, but to me, accuracy counts. I was hitting a 12in square board from 50 yards away, every time once I got the sight adjusted. The Sterling STP was basically stock but it had the diffuser eight venturi bolt. The Sterling was louder, but it has a more solid feel and it shoots straight most of the time. My Hammer has a slight curve but once you have the sight adjusted, it hits the little dot every time.
Finally, since the STP is more "refined" the velocity spiked and fell a lot since it was running on CO2 in 35 degree weather, but then again so was mine.
Weaknesses: Plastic
Plastic
Plastic
Conclusion: Great gun for the price, put a stone cold on this thing since the New Hammers have four hole venturi, it is as accurate as any Phantom or STP stock, and you pay less for a gun that you can buy any barrel you want. Even ones that don't fit with the pump because it has a sleeve that comes out so you can fit in a wide barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

acemav1 Sunday, February 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha (brother's)
Autococker pump convert
Marker Setup: New Hammer
12" Smart Parts Tear Drop
PMI sight rail
ADCO champ sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: This was my first gun and really it was one of the most reliable guns I have used for under 300 dollars. Whether it was 20 below or 100 degrees, I have never had any velocity spikes or drops. The gun is fairly accurate ( with my setup, about as accurate as a stock Automag ). The best thing about it is that everybody underestimates you and that is where it bites them in the ass. Autotrigger works but not recommended for more than 10 shots because the valve can't keep up but for a 50 dollar gun( I paid 70 when they first came out), Overall it is a great gun and I would recommend it to anyone starting out or as a backup gun because it is so reliable.
Weaknesses: Plastic Plastic Plastic
Safety doesn't work
Valve design is poor(only on the New Hammer)
Parts are expensive
Conclusion: Great gun for a great price, it is so cheap now, it is worth trying, if you can find it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pumper4life Wednesday, May 23rd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun can have any Spyder Barrel, all you have 2 do is unscrew the little scrw on the bottom of the pump then push the little plastic insert out!!! Dont say it cant have any barrel but a straight 1 if you really have no clue how it works.
Weaknesses: not much but a plastic pump and a sucky stock barrel
Conclusion: Great gun, and very cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pumper4life Monday, April 30th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This Pump gun is great with the super smooth pump action, Great accuracy and super light weight. This Gun uses very little CO2 and a 10 round tube can fit into the place where an elbow would go. It's really easy to clean and it has an ajustable pump. All the internals are Brass and has nice strip screws.
Weaknesses: If I think about theres nothing really bad about this gun except that the parts are plastic but I have come to think that it's a good thing because it makes it really light, in fact it's way lighter than a phantom and the Hammer goes just as far and accurate. Has a sucky barrel, just change it when you get it.
Conclusion: I feel I needed to rate this gun again cuz I rated it wrong. I have grown to like it better than a phantom. The Phantom still has the looks but it's really heavy. I hate how you have to "Rock and Cock" the Phantom. I have tagged semi's over and over and hit phantoms with my shot after theres, and have even bunkered several semis' with auto-triggering. Get this gun if your into pumps or want to be a sniper. Pumps save paint and air.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Great pumpn gun. I have this gun as a side arm to my SE. I have used it when I under fire and I run out of co2 n my SE and I don't have time to change. Also I play one on one games with people with it somtimes if they suck to give them a advantage. I only use a brass eagle 4 oz tank so its under 2 pounds with full hopper and tank. Great if yopu want to be the hero and run around.I have shot many balls though it. It likes PMI, Marbilizer, and Pro ball. What gun doesn't?
Weaknesses: The triger could be double and not composite. But then It would be cheap. Kidda hard to take apart. Thats all.
Conclusion: Kingman makes the best paintball guns in the world!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cpt_crunch Friday, August 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Oigershark pump.
other milsim Semi's
Marker Setup: J&J ceramic 16" Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Light
Shoots strait
Cheap
Durable
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Loud
Stiff pump stroke
Review: I tool this marker out because I wanted to start playing pump. I was surprised at how well it worked. The marker is very light and shoots very straight. I was hitting soda cans at 100 feet without a problem.
However there are some downsides. The pump stroke is pretty stiff and pretty loud. Other players said they could hear me pumping the gun even when they couldn't hear it firing. Pumping it gently reduced the noise but was more difficult due to the stiff stroke.
My biggest complaint is the feedneck. Most hammers have the right offset, the hammer PLUS (the one I had) has a powerfeed. However decided to use that was not thinking straight. powerfeeds use blowback to bounce the balls into the breach. PUMPS AREN'T BLOWBACK! It doesn't work. That annoyed me to no end.
Conclusion: Other then the feedneck its a wonderful marker for anyone wanting start playing pump. It will be hard to find one around but they will be cheap. If you find one buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media