paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Raised Sight Rail / Lapco Raised Sight Rail / Lapco Raised Sight Rail / Lapco Raised Sight Rail / Lapco Raised Sight Rail

Lapco Raised Sight Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Raised Sight Rail

Paintball Custom 98 Sight Rails

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Raised Sight Rail
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Lapco raised sight rails are made from machined aluminum and anodized to give you a long lasting finish in either black or chrome. With cutting edge design and the Lapco name etched into every sight, these rails are a welcome addition to any Model 98. These adapters attach on the right side of the gun replacing the valve lock screws with a longer screw that holds the valve and the sight rail on the gun at the same time. The kit includes; sight rail in black or chrome and 2 mounting bolts.
Product Availability 
The Lapco Raised Sight Rail is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
led5604 Friday, August 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
Tippmann Low Pressure Kit
WGP Ergo Regulator
Lapco Raused Sight Rail
PMI Perfect Drop Forward
DYE Sticky Grips
32* 14in Terminator Barrel
Tippmann Beaver Tail
Strengths: It looks cool and it makes mounting sights very easy.
Weaknesses: The dang screws don't fit!!! I don't know why though, it was made for the Tippmann Model 98 Custom.
Conclusion: Great add on to any Tippmann. It is extremely easy to attach on and off. It gives the Tippmann 98 Custom a nice look to an already awesome design one. Buy it and buy new screws to mount it. You need 10-32 X 3/8 button heads - those should work. You should be able to get them at like Ace Hardware or Home Depot. You will probably have to search though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakexeyes Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom OD Green
32 degrees Whisper Barrel
Lapco Front Grip
Lapco Sightrail
Target Sports Red Dot Sight
200 rnd Hopper
20 oz Tank
High Pressure Coiled Remote
Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster
...
Strengths: Does what it needs to do!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very good upgrade for your C98!
It's made out of quality material like all the LAPCO items and installs very easily!
THE SCREWS ARE CORRECT! You just need to place the two small discs (wich are included) between your gun and the sight rail. If you do that all works fine! They don't loosen or anything else.
I first used this without a sight and it is an improvement over the stock sighting device wich is pretty useless imho. Now I have a red dot on it and the gun looks killer and improved the sighting.
Conclusion: All in all a very stylish solution when you need a sight rail! Recommended!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

swirusek Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none hehe it is a sight rail
Marker Setup: custom 98
lapco sight rail
flatline
14 inch teardrop
m-16 stock
red dot
remonte coil
duble triger
lapco power feeder
12v revy hooper
p/b cocking
dye grips
xchamber
Strengths: looks very nice on your marker
the price was good
paid only 20 dollars
perfect sight rail for any scope
u can mount scope in sizes from 3/8 of hte inch inch to 7/8 of the inch
Weaknesses: there is nothing bad about this product except screws
they did not fit the size was wrong and in adition they were too short
i dont know why because it was made to fit ur tippmann 98 custom
i dont think there is anything else bad about this product
Conclusion: if u want nice upgrade to ur marker get it
it is not expensive and it is nice looking on ur marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None "IT's A SCOPE MOUNT" LOL!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (polished internals), M4 Stock, M4 Handguard, 16" Armson Stealth Barrel, Hyperstar Bolt, Lapco Sight Mount, Red Dot Sight (Weaver Mount), Custom Suppressor, Remote System, 20oz. CO2, 9v Revvy, Subzero 4 Stage Expansion Chamber, Response Trigger, Field Strip Thumb Screws
Strengths: Because of my configuration (M4 Stock) getting your "Cheek to Stock" weld with the stock sight post was impossible (Facial Cheek not A$$ Cheek). The Lapco is configured to raise the level of the scope and can accomodate the 3/8" and 5/8" dove tail scopes as well as having enough clearance for the Weaver style scope mounts.
Weaknesses: AS WITH THE OTHER REVIEWS THE DAMNED SCREWS WERE THE WRONG SIZE! Great product and hopefully Lapco will actually try mounting the damned thing on a M98 to see what we're talking about.
Conclusion: Great product, gives the Tippmann 98 Custom a nice look to an already awesome design... too bad the boneheads at Lapco don't have the screw measurements correct or they would have gotten a 10 from me!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nunez Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just the rails on my 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with a collapsable stock, lapco direct feed, lapco dovetail, gta expainsion chamber kit, resonse trigger, j an j pro 1 barrel, dead on paintball pro seal, rocket cocker II, red dot scope and a flashlight and laser pointer taped on
Strengths: Raises the sight rail
helps for stocks
looks cooler
Weaknesses: the scope can slide off because of the medal (fixed by electrical tape)
Review: I bought this upgrade because with my collapsable stock i could not use my red dot scope because of the mask. now that i have it it makes aiming alot more easier. i had heard that they didnt come with the right size screws but the one i got from countypaintball fit fine. if it had anyreal weakness its the fact the scope can slide off but i wrapped electrical tape at the end and that took care of it fine.
Conclusion: get this product if you have a scope and a stock or if you just want to make your gun look a little cooler. you really cant go wrong with the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baserunner77 Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 16 inch Tru flight QB barell, GTA Double trigger, GTA Expantion chamber, Lapco Sight rail, GTA Adjustible Stock, Cabelas Red dot scope.
Strengths: Sturdy once you get the screws in...
Weaknesses: Screws are too small but thats why you have a local hardware store
Review: I needed to get a raised sight rail for my red dot scope that I purchased because with the mask on, I couldnt see through the scope. This did everything that I needed. It raised my scope, and made it look nice in the mean time!! not a bad purchase for $15!!! I would get it if you are looking for a raised sight rail.
Conclusion: Does what it is needed to do
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boom_boom Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Model 98
Custom installed response trigger
Lapco Sight Rail
Red dot scope
Car stock
Expansion Chamber
Tasco winforce 14" barrel

Tippmann A-5
Rufus Dawg Bolt
E-trigger
OPSGEAR folding stock
Tac Cap
Raised sight rail
Red Dot scope
Smart Parts 14" Tear Drop Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Remote System
A small mortgage :)
Strengths: Easy Installation
Offers both 3/8" inch AND Weaver rails
Weaknesses: LAPCO would sell a ton more if they had a decent photo and description.
Review: For the Tippmann Model 98 and 98 custom, this is the best rail ever made. I searched high and low to find a rail that would work the best for my red dot scope. I ended up getting this, and I am so glad I did. Here's why:

1. It fastens to the powertube bolts. That means you can field strip your gun without taking the rail off. I love that!

2. I offers BOTH 3/8" rails AND 7/8" Weaver style rails. That means you can attach just about anything to this rail!

3. Good height. It puts your scope up high enough to see if you have a stock.

4. It's durable.

5. It looks good.
Conclusion: LAPCO, hire a decent marketing person to update your photos and descriptions! This is the best sight rail ever and you would never know if you didn't buy one first! If you want a rail for a Model 98 ir 98 Custom, buy this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cameron_ward19 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All kinds of generic sight rails, mainly spyder types.
Marker Setup: (my tippmann 98 custom)
-16 inch smart parts teardrop barrel
-Superfly bolt
-Lapco Sight Rail
-Red Dot Sight
-Scope (only for viewing things far away... scenerio play)
-BT Folding Stock
-Pure Energy Remote Coil
-AK-47 Expansion Chamber
-Q-Loader
Strengths: Strong
Nice black finish
Nice look
Cheap
Weaknesses: none.

Screws fit like a charm.
Review: Great product, no problems at all... just make sure you order for the custom and not model 98, otherwise screws will be the wrong size.

Cheap i got mine for 14.95$

It also supports both dovetail sizes 3/8 and 5/8, very happy since my red dot scope is a freak and takes a 5/8 dovetail.
Conclusion: Very nice sight rail, does what it is suppose to do. Mind you anyone using a Custom or model 98 should not be using them for speedball. If you want a cheap fast shooting speedballish marker go for a spider rodeo or something. Custom and model 98's are great outdoor scenario or woodsball markers. A sight rail is designed to mount accessories too, mainly a RED DOT SCOPE or a SCOPE, or even a laser or flashlight if that is our fancy. A flashlight with a pressure switch could actually be a nice accessory for night time playing.... (gives me an idea).

Don't get a sight rail thinking it will improve your aim... stick with the stock sight, from my experience it does a more than adequate job.

If you want a sight with a good scenario look that doesn't mount anything check out some of the BT sights, they are modeled after the m16 sight and don't mount anything.

So yes great dovetail sight rail, the best available for the tippmann in my opinion. Cheaper that the BT equivalent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DS_SS5788 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippy m98, pro-team power feed, lapco raised sight dovetail, lapco kocking knob, pro-team solid sniper stock, some red dot i found, opsgear.com psg-1 hand gaurd kit, harris bipod (barrle clip attachment), and VLrevolution hopper...
Strengths: Raises sights... looks the best...
Weaknesses: Thought it would work with flatline... errr
Review: This thing is great! I can mount by red dot scope on here! its dovetail, its just the right highth, and my scope fits just right on it... I liked the look of this one over all the others... I think it was because the thing mounts on the side (creative) and if you are woundering if the thing will work with the flatline shroud... no, not unless you cut it... ( i thought mayby it would go over the shroud but noooo, it comes up and rests right on to of the old rail, how stupid is that... ah well.) anyways it tuns out that my cool namless red dot fits perfect... and those big chunky red dots would look good on there too... (i also mounted my bb gun scope on there, that was cool, not usefull but cool)
Conclusion: Over all I dont think it realy matters what kind of raise you get... just find the style one that fits you... and your scope errr dot thingy...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spartan Dan Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Ricochet 2k hopper, sniper solid stock (sometimes), Lapco Raised Sight Rail (sometimes), 8in drop forward, J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: pretty cool, can put a scope on it
Weaknesses: Wrong screw size!
Review: Like everyone else says the screws don't fit! So I got some washers and they fit snuggly afterwards. Then one day I was making sure screws were tight on my gun and I came to the front screw on this and it had stripped the threading on my valve. so I had to order another valve.
Conclusion: It's ok
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media