paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Proshop 98 E / Tippmann Proshop 98 E / Tippmann Proshop 98 E / Tippmann Proshop 98 E

Tippmann Proshop 98 E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Proshop 98 E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Proshop 98 E
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 98E is 98 Custom with GTA accessories. For those interested in an electronic gun, the 98E comes equipped with the extremely popular E Bolt electronic sytem. With variable bursts patterns and fully auto capabilities, this is one of the most diverse electronic kits on the market. Included in the 98E, is the Double Trigger system. This insures lighter trigger pull for extended use without fatigue. Topped off with the 14" sniper barrel, the accuracy is improved to new heights, which is ideal for tournament play.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Proshop 98 E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
9er Sunday, September 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt excellerator 5.0 (sux big time)
Marker Setup: model 98 with e-bolt
14"dye boomer
dye sticky grips
12 volt revy
tippmann low pressure kit with palmer reg.
3000/68 pmi carbon fiber tank with dye cover
tippmann double trigger kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
I've noticed improvement with all, but would say the boomer and 12v revy are a must to get the full benefit of the e-bolt.
Strengths: mega kick butt fast
accurate
dosn't break allot of ball's
easy 2 install
made by tippmann 4 tippmann (super rad tech support)
it's a 98 on crack, turbo: put fear into the hearts of those with cocker's.
adjustable light trigger pull
reliable
Weaknesses: I have yet 2 find anything bad with the e-bolt. I guess for those that don't have great jobs it is a little pricey.
the electronics r hard 2 get at 2 switch modes(grip must b removed)
Conclusion: If you have a 98 custom and want to make your gun into a cool sleeper, get the kit. If your new 2 the sport u may not b supper accurate, but with this kit u can spray and pray. This really can make those with the thousand dollar cocker's mad when their offed by a guy with "just 98 custom"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

tippydude Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
ebolt
14 all american
dye sticky 3
gta double trigger
soon:egg, hp tank, a reg (not shure what kind yet(

mods:
milled letters and rear site
polished internals
gray paint job
double trigger milled to stick trig
trigger mods
hopper wobble
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
hopper
hp or lp tank
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Customizable
Many many home mods
Not as heavy as ppl say
Weaknesses: Lenght
Review: Ive had my 98 for bout a year and a half and it works great. I jus recently bout my ebolt and this thing rocks its fast, no kick what so ever, and u get the tippmann quality get an electronic hopper and n2 tank though. If u don't, u'll b choppin and u might mess ur board or noid up wit co2 although u can use co2, I would get a n2 tank im getting one in about a week
Conclusion: if you're lookin for a good fast reliable gun, buy it!!!!!!!!! U wont regret it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Was'd impulse- better
Tippmann A5 w/egrip- just as good
Spyder with CAMD- not as good
Marker Setup: Silver 98 custom
Tippmann Ebolt
Tippmann Low Pressure Kit
Supafly bolt
System-X Regulator
Dead-On-Paintball Drop
Ballistic Sports Blade Trigger
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Halo B
Crossfire 114/30 tank
Lots and Lots of MODS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Nitro Tank
Strengths: Fires almost as fast as a high-end electro
Eliminates some of the blowback
Weaknesses: Doesnt fire as fast as some of the Really high end electros
Review: When i first bought this product, i didnt know what to expect. I had heard mixed reviews here on pbreview.com. With those thoughts in care, i ordered it. It didnt take long to get here, but it seemed so because i was so excited to install it. When it finally arrived, i took it out of its package and read the instructions. It was farley simple to install, but the wires got in the way a little. After a day of play, i found the ebolt on/off switch to be loose, and the gun not functioning correctly. I took it apart and i found a broken switch and disconnected wires. I dont know why the switch broke, but i had not installed the wires to where they wouldnt get squashed by the other reciever. A quick trip to radio shack fixed the problem, but im just glad i know how to sauder. This turned out to be an overall great product, and i recommend it to all those who play or plan to play tournament paintball.

I just hope the equalizer board or a new aftermarket board comes out soon.
Conclusion: This is a great product by tippmann. It will transform a low-end tippmann to a high end electro. Install with care.

This is a great product, but the wires were a problem in the begginning, so i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 6th, 2005 at 12:36 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

arson51 Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
standard 98c and 98c with RT
Marker Setup: 98c with 14inch sniper barrel ebolt kit, psychobalistics drop forward. halo feeder.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, fast hopper.
Strengths: it makes the tippmann incredibly fast. its trigger pull is a microswitch and is adjustable. its feel is similar to a mouse click, and is comparabe to the impulse and busmasters. it uses a pneumatic ram contolled by a 2 way solenoid which is regulated by a LPR which taps gas from the tank instead of a heavy hammer to hit the valve pin. the lpr is adjustable and if you have a lp kit it is highly possible that you will be able to get this thing to bounce off paint. altho i dont have on and cant experiment this... yet...
Weaknesses: its quite expensive the cheapest i found it for is for 205. but most places you find it it will be 240. unless you have a halo or warp. the ebolt is so fast the blow back cuases the thing to chop. and since it dosetn use any blow back gas to push the hammer back when you do chop there is a chance that the forward bolt will jam in the barrel. and you wll have to slighty unscreew the barrel to unjam it.
Conclusion: very good upgrade for people that arent ready to give up their 98cs yet. i recomend it for people with cash to burn only. i give it a 10 becuase it is the best most well designed and most effective upgradde for the 98c, cost not being a factor
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

PhoenixCaptain Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard 98 Custom
Kingman Spyder e-99
WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/ E-Bolt, Ballistic Sports Drop Forward, GTA Double Trigger, Tippmann Raised Sight Rail (chrome, just for looks), 14" Custom Products Barrel, Dye Sticky Grips, Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Custom Products barrel (light, quiet, and accurate)
Empire Reloader
Crossfire nitro tank with blue regulator
Strengths: Quiet, accurate, and fast
Weaknesses: Most tanks are preset at 800 psi. This gives you a minimum fps of 275
Review: A must have for all position players. This marker honestly out-shoots all paintball guns except for the highest end markers (Angel and Intimidator). Making the gun pnuematic makes it quieter than the standard 98 Custom. It is marketed that it shoots at 13 bps. On a fresh battery, you shoot about 15 bps. My only real complant about this marker is that it has a longer distance between trigger and the foregrip than must guns do. This balances the weight nicely, but it sometimes leads to bizarre shooting positions.
Conclusion: This may be the best marker under $1000. I highly recommend it for both novice and experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

WussyPballer Saturday, June 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
Kingman Spyder Compact Deluxe (w/ upgrades)
Tippmann Model 98
Marker Setup: J&J Ceramic, Phsyco drop, palm stabalizer, eblot, double trigger, etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J Ceramic, drop
Strengths: Even though this is electronic, it's very easy to keep clean and basically take care of. It's not like all of the other electro markers. They're all very compilcated and most of the time you have to take them to a pro-shop to get them fixed. But the Tippman 98-E, you can take it aprart and put it back together in no time.
Weaknesses: The only thing that I dont like about this gun is the length. It's very long. Depending on the nitro you have, it can get very heavy. Some people like heavy guns, but I dont.
Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent gun. I've used better, but for the price and just being a tippman, it's worth the money. I would highly recommend getting this gun as soon as you can get it. The only problem is, is that not a lot of places carry it. You'll probbaly have to buy the 98 Custom and put the upgrades on ur self.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

counterfith13 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
piranah bl
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom e " custom with double trigger ebolt tippmann gta dropforward and tippmann gta 14" sniper barrell"
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a flatline expansion chamber and a stock
Strengths: very fast shot
easy trigger pull
and excelent accuracy
Weaknesses: could be a little more powerful
needs better accuracy
Review: i have only played two games with this gun but i will tell u this i feel that in any game whether it be against an a-5 or and auto cocker the 98 custom e could kick the best guns asses this gun is amazing i nailed one of my aponents in the head while he was behind a bail of hay from about 75 yards away. so i have said it once and i'll say it again this gun in my personall opinion beats even the most expensive cockers or bushys on the market.
Conclusion: if u have $1,000 to spend on a gun buy this gun and spend the other 500 on paint and maybe a nitro setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Peter Griffin Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 RT
Tippmann 98 C
Marker Setup: I have 2:
Tippmann 98 w/ E-Bolt, 14" Nite Stikk barrel.
KAPP Flame Cocker with Boomstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, I suggest Nite Stikk, Boomy, or tear drop
faster loader, i suggest evlution
Strengths: Fast, accurate, dosen't break alot of pballs, by Tippmann.... reliable gun, 7 firing modes
Weaknesses: bit heavy with tank, paintballs and hopper.
Review: This gun is as good as an Autococker. It's fast, looks mean. To be honest with you, I like this better than my cocker. The 7 firing modes and the mean look is what got my attention. The 7 modes are semi, reactive,turbo, full auto, 3 shot burst, 5 shot burst, and user programmable. You can alwaysexpect something from Tippmann to blow you away, like Cyclone Feed System, E-Bolt. This gun is a really good gun, I have never broken a paintball in this gun. This gun is good for anybody. You all know Tippmann makes reliable, durable guns and equipment, except the people who think Angels and Spyders are, because I don't think that. I have broken about 11 paintballs in 2 games with my cocker and haven't broken one in my Tippy. I use Diablo, RPS, and Nelson paint. I don't like Spyders or Angels but I like everything else....except BE.
Conclusion: I reccomen this to any paintballer that has played for quite a while. This is a great gun. Maybe the price is a bit high ( 200-400 dollars) but its cheaper than some cockers and believe me I like the 98 EBolt better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

32degrees2 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: ProShop 98 E w/ 14" Big Daddy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Accurate
7 Firing Modes
Tippmann made it.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is awesome. It's selection of firing modes is out of this world.

Semi Auto- One shot per trigger pull
Reactive-Fires on trigger pull and release
Turbo- Starts out as Semi Auto then when fired 5 shots or more it switches to full-auto.
Full Auto- Fires until trigger is released.
3 Shot Burst- Fires 3 shots in one trigger pull.
5 Shot Burst- Fires 5 shots in one trigger pull.
User Programmable- Capable of firing 13 shots in one trigger pull.

Is that great or what??????
Conclusion: This gun is definatly worth $400. Get it. 7 Firing modes to choose from. Tippmann has created a monster.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kylethrawn Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98
e-99
em1
Marker Setup: every thing that comes with it
evolution 2
3000psi
2 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic HOPPER(must) Don't even try without one
nitro/compressed air (must)
Strengths: very very accurate
fast
durable
not that loud
Weaknesses: must have an electronic hopper
hard to take apart and clean
only nitro/comp air
Review: Its accurate fast and it works great with marbalizers
make sure you have an electric hopper or be prepared for breaks
great for any kind of play especially woods because of no flashy colors

a couple very MINOR problems
screws once in a great while come loose nothing big at all
rarely chops as long as hopper is on
other than that it is awesome
Conclusion: First take awhile and really look for the gun right for you,but I highly recommend it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media