paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Proshop 98 Response / Tippmann Proshop 98 Response / Tippmann Proshop 98 Response / Tippmann Proshop 98 Response

Tippmann Proshop 98 Response Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Proshop 98 Response

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Proshop 98 Response
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 98 response is a 98 Custom with GTA accessories. Along with the Double Trigger system, the Response Trigger was added. This creates less trigger pull, and adjustable trigger speed for maximum firepower. The 14" sniper barrel was incorporated for extreme accuracy. The Full Bore Rear Cocking Knob not only adds the rear cocking application, but also the ability to hold the gun close and ensure an excellent view of the GTA Raised Sight Rail included with this set up. The Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward improves weight disrtibution and maintains the gun closeness that is associated with speedball and wood games.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Proshop 98 Response is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
thutch Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with the following mod's:

- Double Trigger
- Smart Parts 14" All American Barrel
- Expansion Chamber
- Dead-On Drop Forward
...and thinking of purchasing the Response Trigger System.
Recommended
Upgrades:
#1 New Barrel - I found the stock barrel to be accurate enough to hit a pie plate at 50-60 feet. After reading alot of barrel reviews, I went and purchased the Smart Parts 14" All American. What a difference! The stock barrel is ~7" in length, so going to the 14" AA doubled my barrel length. The accuracy improvement is incredible. I can now hit the same size pie plate from a distance of 85-95 feet, and can put paint on paint from 75 feet. And I can hit a peice of 2.5" diameter steel pipe 8 out of 10 shots from 55 feet. Not a bad improvement in my opinion. Don't think these distances are that great? Try pacing them out with a tape measure. I only had to open up my velocity screw 3/4 of a turn due to the added length of the barrel. The AA barrel retails for about $90. Kind of spendy but I'm glad I made the decision. I've also found that I get the best accuracy with the AA barrel when I pair it with RPS PMI Premium paint.

#2 Expansion Chamber - I live in the Pacific NW where there's an abundance of cool weather 9 months out of the year. On cold days the marker would really get cold from the weather and the use of CO2. There were times where you could see small particles of ice coming from the rear bolt opening. This type of condition effected the useage of gas and without a doubt the shot to shot velocity consistancy. I added the Expansion Chamber and have never regreted my purchase. No longer do I get the moisture build up on the inside of the marker, the ice particles or the massive temp drop to the front half of my marker. With the addition of the Expansion Chamber my shot to shot velocity improved 100%.

#3 Drop Forward - With the added length of the AA barrel, the drop forward helps with weight distribution and over all balance. It's also easier to tuck the marker in closer to you with the reduced length.
Strengths: Great marker for little money. Ease of mod's. Haven't chopped a ball yet.
Weaknesses: Field stripping is not easy. Disassy, clean, re-oil and reassy in 10 min.
Review: Great marker! No complaints. You can shoot the cheapest practice paint through it stock and no breaks or chops. For the money it can't be beat. Highly recommend picking one up if you've been thinking about it. Keep in mind the above mentioned upgrades. This marker can keep up with many of the high dollar markers out there. You won't be embarassed walking onto the field with one of these under you arm.
Conclusion: I only rated this marker a 9 because there's always something better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ironwood22 Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Spyders almost
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98

Xpansion Chamber
New Barrel 12 incher
Venturi Bolt
Respone Trigger
Tounament Velocity Adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
All what i got exept the velocitity adjuster. IT is nice to have but it is not a tourny necesity like all the rest.
Strengths: This gun is just bad ace!! THe response trigger makes it so much fun and instead of shooting like 8 rps you get like 13. Also it has great accuracy. Also the velocity on it is great. Also the price is unbeatable
Weaknesses: Paint Strips off after a period of time. That is just about it and the field stripping. But since it is such a great gun i have never needed to stip in the field.
Conclusion: Go to a store and pick it up now. Its not like a wife either ...

It never gets old and rusty.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toastman923 Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've only shot a few of my friend's guns, I had a Model 98, but upgraded it to a Custom.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Double Finger Trigger
Response Trigger System
Halo TSA Frontman LED
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
You NEED an electric hopper- I like the Halo TSA Frontman- It keeps up with the Response Trigger, isn't that expensive, and isn't as big as the Backman

A new barrel would be good- The Progressive is pretty cheap and has excellent accuracy
Strengths: -Very Powerful, doesn't lose velocity
-Excellent rate of fire
-Gets adrenaline pumping
-Very Intimidating
Weaknesses: You can't hold the trigger down too long or the gun will freeze
Review: About a year ago I bought a Model 98. I was stunned by it's preformance and durability. But I was a little disappointed with the lack of customization. So I sent it to Tippmann to have it upgraded to a 98 Custom, and have the Response Trigger installed. When I got it back and shot it, my jaw dropped. The firepower the response trigger gives will amaze you. It gives a nice kick, fires around 10 balls a second and is Super intimidating. I blew all my friends away; now they are all afraid of my and my gun. The Response Trigger keeps the accuracy, has undenyiable power, and is the ultimate upgrade for a 98 Custom.
Conclusion: The Ultimate Tippmann firepower upgrade!
Anyone who owns a 98 Custom should get this!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 8th, 2004 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil Eye Monkey Thursday, May 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 sniper
Marker Setup: model 98 custom response, 12 volt hopper, 12 oz. co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote, nitro tank, electronic hopper.
Strengths: response trigger, 14 inch barrel, drop forward, rear cocking system.
Weaknesses: This whole gun is great. Nothing is bad.
Review: My tippmann model 98 response is a excelent gun among begginers and experts. I consider this a must have. They are pin point accurate and are quiet. I consider a remote, nitro tank, and an electronic hopper. The good things on it is the response trigger, 14 inch barrel, drop forward, rear cocking system. This whole gun is great. Nothing is bad.
Conclusion: This products a must have. Its pin point accurate and is not to heavy not to light. I reccomend an electronic hopper. Dont go out and waste your money on a $50-$120 hopper. A 9 or 12 volt rev hopper does fine. Thats why i think you should buy this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used something this good!
Marker Setup: M98C w/ cp flame drop forward, response, double trigger, Xchamber, 12volt revvy w/ x-board, rocket cock, dye sticky grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you buy it flat out as the response, nothing really, but if you buy it as a stock m98 you should buy as many upgraes as you can!
Strengths: Everything, never chops balls, barrels pretty good, looks cool, response trigger works like there is no 2morrow, rocket cock makes it much quieter and sticky grips make it much more comfortable.
Weaknesses: the barrel-you should get a longer one-but the stock works fine
Conclusion: BUY IT! There is no gun that is as durable, powerfull, reliable as the m98c
if you can find this gun with this setup i would buy it quickly, i also might reccomend a gun stock and the flatline barrel system, dont buy the nitro kit because it is expensive and doesnt work all that well, All in all you should buy this gun NOW!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BUS Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
older 98
Marker Setup: Angel 4
-slayer trigger
-low rise gated feed neck
-freak barrel set
-nitro duck 68/4500 adjustable tank
-Evo 2 hopper
-CP drop and on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit, preferably freak
Strengths: Decent speed
comfortable
enclosed
Weaknesses: Accuracy
weight
Review: When I received the marker there was a bit of assembly required which kind of sucked, but even the response trigger was easy to install. I don't know what people are complaining about, with having to take it to pro shops or whatever. Anyways, soon after receiving the marker I played in a scenario game at Southwest Paintball. With the equation barrel kit I had put on the marker the marker shot paint on paint at a nice quick rate,thanks to the rt trigger.
Conclusion: This is the second best woodsball marker ever, just behind my duked-out A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 23rd, 2005 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AutoCocker4JC Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom---- 14 inch barrel, response trigger, 12v revy, star shaped bolt, Rear cocking, drop forward, 68ci/4500psi crossfire tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward, Response for sure!, 12v rEvY, Compressed Air ALL THE WAY!
Strengths: VERY DURABLE!
~Gun is very sturdy
~Pretty balanced
~Accurate
~Very fast
Weaknesses: HEAVY
~Loud
~More Ball breakage with stock barrel
Review: Well this gun has been very very good to me in the years i have had it. I got it for my birthday and has been great ever since! It is extremely upgradable and dependable. This gun is a very good gun to start out with. it will keep u playing and will have that stress relief that u need on them weekends. I used to have a macro line on my tipp. but i took it off because it was a pain in trying to take it off. It always seemed to leak air on the Field. But i went to steel braided hose and it was fine. Once or if u have a response trigger you are gonna want to upgrade the hopper to keep up with response.
Conclusion: I would Really consider this to anybody looking to get into paintball. And once u get good u could allways advance to a Autococker!!

I rate this gun a 9 because it is very nice but tends to brake balls and as a tourny player i cant have that..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bubbles Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used simular products such as the double finger trigger when i first tried it i thought it was nice but now that i have yhe response trigger. well lets just say that double finger trigger is nothing compared to the response.
Marker Setup: Gun: Tippmann 98 custom
Barrel: 14 inch dye boomstick
Trigger: response trigger
Hopper: 9 volt adjetated hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
First i would go with a new barrel such as boomstick or quiet riot. Then i would go with the response triiger then with every fast shooting trigger you need an adjetated hopper such as halo or 9 volt hopper.
Strengths: So far i think this product is great, it is totally worth its price. with this trigger it is almost full auto. but it is a good thing that it isn't because full auto is illegal at most playing fields, but the response trigger is technically a trigger pull. But even thought it isn't full auto you can shoot from four balls to ten balls a second you decide.
Weaknesses: There are very few bad things about this product. One thing is that it makes your gun a little bit heavier. And it waste up balls and gas kind of quick, but that would be your fault depending how much you shoot.
Conclusion: Over all this is a great product one of the best paintball products i ever bought it is defiantly worth its price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black dragun, Autococker
Marker Setup: Powerfeed,ACI 4-stage expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
revy, flatline or any other fine barrel OR if you have access to a drill and a porting tool you can drill some spiral holes down the side of the stock barrel then take a porting tool and get rid of the burs left over in the barrel!!!
Strengths: It's a very exellent upgrade for rec players shoots very fast, and with a powerfeed and revy i've had like two barrel brakes both of which have come from my gun running out of CO2. A guy I play with who has about 35 or so guns or so runs it on HPA it he says it runs even smoother than if you run it on CO2 plus you don't have to worry about your gun freezing up!
Weaknesses: There illeagal in tournaments. Some people will have problems with balls breaking if they don't have a powerfeed or a revy ( usually only one or the other will suffice).
Conclusion: If your a rec player looking for a increased ROF I strongly reccomend this gun/upgrade. Superb.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline, Autococker, Micromag, Rainmaker, Automag, Spyder and an Armson semi.
Marker Setup: Black Micromag, BOA Snake Bite, Palmer's Regulator, Bottom Line, ANS Venturi Bolt, ANS Valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mine has a drop down, expansion chamber and an All American Smart Parts Barrel. I would recommend these upgrades. Barrel of your choice would be okay. VL2000
Strengths: I had some of the guys I play with ask me how I could shoot so fast the first time I used it. They probably thought it was just a plain old Tippmann Custom.
This gun does shoot very fast and the rate of fire is adjustable. It puts out some good bursts once you get used to the trigger. I can get it to go full auto without much trouble. I shot a case of Diablo Blaze through it and didn't have a break. I will probably put my Flatline barrel on it and give it a try.
Weaknesses: The only bad about this gun is that it is big. My Micromag is a lot more compact but I don't need to tell anyone that but I wanted to put something in this space. :-)
Conclusion: A great gun and you don't have to worry about your battery going dead.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media