paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper / Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper

Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 62
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 98 Sniper is a 98 Custom with GTA accessories. The 98 Sniper comes with the farthest shooting barrel on earth, the Flatline Barrel System. The Pro Team F/X Collapsable Stock is added for unparalleled stability, thus improving accuracy. Our Pro Shop Remote Line gives versatility by allowing the player to choose where the air tank is stored, this helps with crawling and strafing maneuvers. The 98 Sniper is more for a player that likes to shoot from long distances, and uses sniper like tactics.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tipmannman88 Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: model 98, flatline barrel, adco sureshot red dot sight, adjustable stock, coiled remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
package came with everything except gun
Strengths: accurate, long range
Weaknesses: expensive
Review: this is a good gun for scenario and woodland games. perfect for snipers... remote makes the gun very lite and easy for moving around.. the flatline barrel is very accurate...took 15 minutes to install everything... can pick off people in the back in speed ball with ease. not the best gun for close quarters but this gun is great for long distance..
Conclusion: buy this product from paintball-discounters it only costs $235 with free shipping.. it comes with flatline barrel, sureshot red dot sight. coiled remote, adjustable stock..... great gun for sniping... if installed right, balls break as easily as any other barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

littlejerry Wednesday, June 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 2000
some cockers
Piranha STS
impulse
to many others to name...
Marker Setup: The one i tested was just stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmm, i wouldnt realy recomend the gun, so i wouldnt recomend wasting money on upgrades...
Strengths: Well, the stock is realy nice. It was a nice change to have a nice stock on the gun. And bein ably to aim down the top of the barrel was a nice change. The flatline barrel does work, but it is restricting, and rarely was there a situation that a good regular barrel(like my AA 2002) couldnt handle with ease.



Weaknesses: Well, its a high quality gun and all, but its overpriced for one. At a MSRP of $400 without even a tank, i would say you would be MUCH better off gettin a cocker for the same price. The flatline is to restricting, often i found myself needing to tilt my gun when leaing from cover or to hide my hopper while shootin, the bad thing about this is that the flatline would throw the balls where ever the "top" of the barrel pointed, i.e. tilt to left, balls fly up to the left. The trigger wasnt bad, but i have used better, and if you try to modify it yourself its very unreliable. The potential upgrading for this is zip. It comes with the flatline, so if you buy a new barrel thats a bunch of cash down the drain, VERY few manufacturers make parts for this, If you want an upgrade, you have to buy it from tippmann and they arnt exactly able to customize your gun unless you have some big bucks. The gun is farily ugly, which i dont care much aobut, but some of you might. When you compare this to other guns it realy doesnt have ANYTHING when you consider its price. I have a Piranha STS G3 with a flushcocking bolt, nitro tank, 2002 AA barrel, nice drop forward, laser sight, and custom trigger job all for about $400. It performs much better than this tippmann did and costs less when you include the tank in there.
Conclusion: Well, i dont see why someone would pay this much for such little in a paintball gun. for the price, i would say this is junk. If you would compare it to lower priced guns, down there in the sub $200 range this could be a decent buy, but its twice as much as that so I say get a cocker if you have the money for this, or get a low end spyder or piranha and upgrade everything on them. I give this a 4 because of mainly it realy doesnt give any "bang for the buck"
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

chunk.masta Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom with/ jj ceramic 12" & RT /// also used Stock marker
pro carbine - stock
BE - Maurader
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Response Trigger
-J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel
- ProTeam Collapsible Stock w/ RVA
- 32 Degrees HPA Remote
- BE Red Dot Sight

Woodsball is played with same set up except with Flatline

Recommended
Upgrades:
listed in importance
1- Barrel - J&J Ceramic ( Best Value)
or
Flatline Barrel System ( Best Accuracy)
2 - Drop Foward or Remote Line
3 - Agitated Hopper
4 - RT or Electroic SEAR
Strengths: Durability ; Accuracy; Ease of Use(Once Set Up Correctly)
Weaknesses: Size& Weight; Matinence; Remote Line
Review: If you play woods ball this is the way to go. A little expensive but, it can be found online for cheaper.

The tippmann 98 custom is one of the most reliable markers you will ever own; Thats why fields rent them. It's easy to clean, and easy to handle; a couple bolts and you have full acess to your gun. On the other hand the Flatline can be a pain in the booty sometimes, but those days are few are far between.

Accuracy is great the Flatline barrell gives you at least 100ft of ball travel, not accuracy BALL TRAVEL. "Whats that mean?" you ask, it means that the further the ball travles the less of a chance to break it has, but now this is just simple physics nothign we can do about it, but if u can shoot from further than ur oppenent then you have a higher chance of not getting taged and a higher taging chance.

Tippmanns are the easeist guns to use, connect your co2 cock it and your ready. Now the flatline makes this whole thing jsut a little more difficult. Because of the back spin it puts on the balls it needs to be well aligned or else the balls will not spin corectly and go off course. once you have it perfectly aligned all u need to do is mark the midspot and your good for life. Personaly i dont like how the flatline looks on the gun i think it make it look too big, this is my opioin only you might disagree.

The remote line is too short in my opinion, i wish they would have included the original botomline adapter so i can choose my air options. Not that big of a deal , jsut buy a botomline kit and the ASA to 1/4"(i think) adapter, $25 dollars max; now u can choose to have the tank attached or with the remote.

If you want to play in tournament this setup should't be your first choice. This marker is heavy, no way around it. Its big too, more area to get hit on. The Flatline shroud is plastic it hasn't ever broke on me but i don't really trust it.

I personally love the stock it helps to keep the marker stable in woodsball and colapses to smaller size when u need to get tight into positions. The only thing that could be changed here is to use the same stock but with a RVA. The stock adds size and weight to this already large gun.

Maitinence is a breeze all you need is to unscrew a couple bolts and and u have full acess to the whole gun. Don't try it on the field you will loose parts, luckily the hopper is hinged (this is good and bad, sometimes the pings get loose and the hopper wobbles) so u can insert a jerk squigee through the barrel incase you ever break a ball.

The only really bad thing about this marker is that the flatline is picky about the paint you use. Cheap paint, will break alittle more often say maybe 4 outa 2000, the main thing is after it leaves the barrel if the ball is misshaped it will spin incorectly and go off course
Conclusion: Overall if u play woods-ball and want a very sturdy and reliable marker, then this is the marker to get. If you have the money you could build it from scratch adding the additions metioned but since most of us don't then this is the next best thin. Accuracy is great , you can hit nething in range in one shot ( no surprise) as long as good paint is used.

8 out of 10 because some improvements could be made, overall great marker
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rhoton2211 Tuesday, July 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
You can't compare this gun to anything but an A-5 with a flatline system.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom W/ Full Sniper Setup ( Flatline System & Adjustable Stock) & an Adco E Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend getting a Sight. Don't get a cheap sight either.
Get a BSA or and Adco E Dot sight.
And a Rocket Cock
Strengths: Great Accuracy
Looks Awesome
Reliable
Shoots Crazy Far
Weaknesses: Not easy to clean. But well worth the time. Just take care of it.
Review: This gun is by far the best gun I have ever used. I wouldn't recommend it to someone who plays speedball a lot, but if you like playing in the woods then this is the gun for you. All your friends will want you to be on their team if you have this gun. Sometimes everyone that I play against gets mad because they can't compete with me. I have the ability to shoots someone from 50 yards without aiming up at all. If that person tries to shoot back you can watch his paintballs hit the ground in front of you. I have shot more people in the back because all you can do is run away from this gun. I also get a lot more head shots because every shot rises a little as it moves towards its target. With my E Dot sight I can put my laser on someones face mask from 30 yards away and fire one shot, and hit my target. I have only had one ball break on me and that wasn't in competition. It was because I didn't have the barrel pushed in all the way. I have fired more than 3000 shots with this gun in competition and have had Zero breaks. Just don't buy cheap paint. I would recommend Marbs or PMI paint. Some say that this gun is way to big to be running around with. Just look at the weapons our military use today. If you know how to move with a weapon then you won't have a problem.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun for someone who likes playing in the woods or scenario games. People on the other team get scared when they see what this gun can do. Everyone will want to be on your team. If you get this gun you will not be unhappy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawksniper Monday, November 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, like every other paintball player on earth, I have had a spyder before, and it can't compare. This gun is absolutely NO MAINTENENCE. The only time I'm not shooting it on the field is when I'm looking up to see who it is I just shot.
Marker Setup: I use the Tippmann Proshop 98 Sniper, which is a 98 Custom with the Flatline Barrel System, F/X Collapsible Stock, and remote gas line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well, it comes with everything a sniper needs, but you'd better bring along a squeege if you like to go trigger happy.
Strengths: This gun is the best damn sniping gun I have ever used. The flatline barrel is exceptionally accurate, and can shoot very far. I rarely have to aim ABOVE a target, but right at it. The stock adds for excellent balance, and the remote gas line is a smart, convenient addition. This gun will make you a formidible weapon on the field in scenario and woodland games, and is ideal for finding a good spot and going prone.
Weaknesses: Well, this gun is HUGE, for one thing. It doesn't really matter to me, I still love it, but all my friends say how bulky it is and that obviously makes it utterly useless in close quarter shootouts. It's not exactly the quietest paintball gun I've ever shot, but I guess that's a day in the life of a sniper. Also, if your paint is even a little soft, it WILL break when it passes through the flatline barrel. I had to buy boxes of paint litterely the day before a game. But, with that said, this is still one badass gun.
Conclusion: If you want to tag out your buds and still live to tell about it, this is your gun. Be patient with it, though, because snipers usually stay in one area, and let the prey come to them. Happy hunting. AND BUY THIS DAMN GUN!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippysniper98 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Custom
Stock A-5
A-5 w/ E-Grip, Double Trigger, and Flatline/ Dye Xcel
98 Custom w/ 14 in. Progressive and a 12 volt Viewloader Revolution w/ X-board
Spdyer Xtra w/ 14 in. J&J ceramic
A-5 with a 16 in. Ultralite and 48/30 Pure Energy HPA
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel System
Car stock
Remoteline
VL 9v Revolution
Redz Flex Tech 404 Harness (holds my tank)
Dye 70/4500 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red Dot Sight (a good one)
HPA (nitro or compressed air)
Electric Hopper
Strengths: Accuracy
Range (about 250 feet)
Looks (not that important)
Doesn't chop or break balls

Weaknesses: You can't shoot too fast if you have really old paint
Review: This is my first gun and its shoots farther and has been more accurate than my friends guns. My original paint was old so I could not shoot fast(I didn't know the paint was old),because of the Flatline, but the Flatline wasn't the reason I was breaking paint it was because the paint was old, now I can shoot as fast as my friends that don't have a Flatline. You can shoot fast and use cheap paint (I've used BlueStreak, Zap Rec Series and Afterburner only had one or two breaks with those balls). Just make sure if you buy cheap paint its a hard paintball and isn't too old. Its a little big for speed ball ans since my HPA dosen't work with my remote it weighs in at about 12 pounds. which is really heavy. But i look at it this way one look at the guys in the army and two i got used to it so its no biggie for me. Also it never chops if my hopper is on and this gun never broken on me once. I take care of mine but other than snow i've used this gun in every condition without a problem. I changed the trigger spring with a shortened clicky pen spring and it really light so i can shot faster than gun can cycle.
Conclusion: If you like sniper tactics and play scenario games this is a great gun, but don't get it for speedball since its kind of big. Earlier when I first got the gun I used some Dusk paint and it wasn't stored properly (plus it was on the shelf a while,I didn't know) so if I shot to fast it would break, so I got new paint and the problem was solved. (that means I can SHOOT FAST, WAHOOO!!!!!!!!) This review siad you can't shoot fast before I got the good paint. I gave this a 10 in comparison to the other guns i have used
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 22nd, 2005 at 6:53 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Assailer 1 Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Trition, 98 Custom current setup,
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with collapsible stock, GTA 14" sniper barrel, GTA Expansion chamber, 9 oz CO2 tank, 150 round hopper, rifle wrap, occasionaly a model one bipod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber is a good idea to have.
Barrel extension if you can get it to work.
Strengths: Long Distance
Stock adds good stability
Accuarcy was excellent under 150 feet
Weaknesses: Remote line coiled up
Accuracy drop after 200+ feet
Flatline barrel is high maintence
Review: The long distance is great, good for cover fire and firesupport.
The accuracy was excellent under 150 feet but tended to get worse after 200 feet.
If the barrel got dirty or had paint it in it, dont expect to hit anything but a 747 at 5 feet away.
I had problems with the remote line not working, that is not sealing in the tank adapter. The guy who I bought it from was a pain to get the gun. He sent it to me missiing flatline parts and the remoteline, once I got the remoteline it didnt work but once. The remoteline tends to coil up a lot and I couldnt stand using it.

The gun looks really nice, especially with a 7x scope or so on it.

I had a barrel extension on the flatline for a while, at one point I had it tuned nicely and the gun was impressive. But the high maintanice of both the flatline and a extension over did it, and cleaning a long barrel in the field after a few shots is no fun.
Conclusion: Want long range sniper ability? Get this gun.
The 98 custom it's built upon means almost endless modifications. The flatline is a truly impressive thing when you are 170+ feet away and think you are safe...that is untill paint starts slamming into you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

know your enemy Monday, August 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
m98 with an Armson pro-series 14 inch, lapco rear cocking knob and adco imp sight
Marker Setup: 98 custom with flatline barrel and carbine stock, remote line, adco imp sight, blue powder coated receivers, ACI regulator and expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm, probably a laser dot sight; a scope is a bit much, seeing as the gun is not a long range sniper rifle, just a paintball gun. but if you do want to get a scope, get a medium-range.
Strengths: everything. this gun has a great feel - it looks like a real gun, and it has the feel of a rifle. i love it-i've put over 5,000 rounds through it and i've only had 2 breaks, and even then i can just flush some water through the chamber and its clean as a whistle. plus, the adjustable stock is really great. it steadies my shot incredibly, and i like how it's more like im shooting a real gun. but again, if you really want to be at your best shooting, you'll want to get some sort of sight.
Weaknesses: nothing that i've noticed. everyone says it chops balls and uses gas, but it's only a barrel. it's not like it's some sort of new system. it's just a great and extremely accurate barrel.
Conclusion: i think it's a great gun. it is excellent for using sniper tactics, and you don't have to worry about being too close. it's the same as though you were using a real gun; close range combat is no problem. remember, it's just a barrel, not a system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: M98 custom w/ 200 rd hopper,Pro team F/x Car Stock, Flatline barrel kit, Rocket Cocker, and Maddmann spring kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Switch from CO2 to nitro, upgrade springs, and add a hopper extention(only if your going to use a scope)
Strengths: Looks good, and is very durable for newbies. And is very upgradable. Used in a speedball game and had a blast.
Weaknesses: With the flatline in place you have to Make a hopper extention for your hopper or you can't put a scope on straight, The psi must be set at around 280 or better for the barrel to work correctly. ( I fixed this problem by just upgrading the springs and putting the red spring in from the Maddman spring kit in.) You have to hold the weapon in a level line or the balls curve away from your target. Using the gun in speed ball is hard to move around or stick out from bunkers but can be done with help from others and you can hit from far distance then other players. Can't speed fire well CO2 can't keep up. ( Change over to Nitro to fix this problem)and uses alot of CO2 . ( Compeard to some guns you should get about 350 rounds out of a 9 oz., and I found I could only get 250 to 280) When you brake a ball the sqeegy the sistem comes with works but you will still have to field strip it to clean it right. Any paint left behind hinders the proformance. The flat line system is expensive for a curved barrel and a bunch of plastic.
Conclusion: It is taking me time to get use to it but I love it. It works for me and I would do it again.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Assaulter5 Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/12" LAPCO Bigshot, Remote, 20 Oz. with on/off valve and CAR stock
9v Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Good range
Good accuracy
Looks cool
Feels like a rifle
Weaknesses: If you break a ball it's worse than BE
Big
Review: I played once with the Flatline and took it off. It shoots straight as an arrow, but if you break one ball in it (which you will unless you get it factory installed), shots go all over the place.
I got a LAPCO bigshot and it's range isn't as good but it shoots straight every time.
My remote line doesn't go directly into the gun, it screws into the steel braided cable, which I unscrewed from the bottom of the pistol grip, so it's essentially the same, but I think it's more convenient because when I'm in the staging area I can turn my tank off, let the gas out of the remote and quick disconnect it.
The CAR stock give it a real "Rifle" feel. With it the iron sights are useless because it gets in the way of your mask, but you can get a raised sight or just watch where your shots are going.
The Tippmann Custom itself is a great gun, if you don't like the sniper setup you can allways take it all off and put something else in it to suit your style better.
Plus it's about as sturdy as a rock. Mud dust paint bad maintnance you name it this gun can take it
Conclusion: I play paintball because I like to play army, and this gun is as close as one can get without spending $1000 for a replica, and without being questioned by the police.
Anyone who plays scenario games or big games would love this marker.
I dropped it from a 10 to a 9 just because the Flatline isn't so reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media