paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Maddman Products Spring Kit / Maddman Products Spring Kit / Maddman Products Spring Kit / Maddman Products Spring Kit

Maddman Products Spring Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Maddman Products

Buy Maddman Products Spring Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Maddman Products Spring Kit
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
With this replacement kit, you can keep your springs nice and healthy. This kit also contains springs of varying tensions for a variety of velocities. 7 springs total: 2 trigger spring to lighten trigger pull, 2 sear spring, 3 striker springs of varying tensions.
Product Availability 
The Maddman Products Spring Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
deluxestogie Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock
Marker Setup: A-5, E-grip, JCS Duel Trigger, JCS front bolt, Phat XChamber, accumulator, anti-siphon on 20 oz. CO2, Flatline or 14" JJ Ceramic barrel, JCS Gold power tube.
Strengths: These are indeed for the A-5.
increase power valve dwell time.
increase fps.
Weaknesses: Require more care to insert than the stock spring.
Review: Even though the set comes with trigger and sear springs (the latter for the 98), you only need the long hammer springs in the set for the A-5 (which currently is labeled for 98, 98C, A-5). For the A-5, just ignore the other springs that come with the set. The hammer spring is longer than the stock spring, so it's a little trickier to install. Don't cut the spring. With the new spring inserted into the hammer, draw the bolt to almost cocked, insert the guide pin into the end of the spring, then force the pin to the hammer while you attach the end cap. This will prevent the spring from folding.

Maddman no longer sells them directly, but only through their vendors.

They really shouldn't be cut, and fit without cutting. If you cut the spring, you lose some of the dwell time on the valve pin.

I take them in and out all the time, switching spring colors, as I reconfigure my marker. Yes, they're more difficult to insert than the stock spring, but the extra energy has to come from somewhere.

In comparing the three colors of un-cut Maddman springs with my (1 year old) stock spring, with a JCS Gold power tube (no FVA) and my RVA backed all the way out, full CO2, no regulator, flatline, polished A-5 internals:

[average values, 30 single shots per spring]
stock **** 286 fps
green **** 305 fps
blue ***** 325 fps
red ****** 340 fps

Of course, these numbers are meaningless in absolute terms, but they do give an idea of the relative strengths of the springs, and the effect they might have on your current fps. I'd like to get one of Tippmann's new, stronger springs for comparison.
Conclusion: If your A-5 needs to raise its fps, this is the set of springs to buy. Just be patient the first time you install one, since it's a little trickier than with the stock spring.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

blade7334 Sunday, November 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock springs they were not as good
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, 12 inch PROgressive barrel, rocket cock, pro team hyperstar bolt, GTA expansion chamber, double trigger, 32 degreese universal drop forward, madman spring kit
Strengths: Lighter trigger springs
More velocity with heavy springs
Weaknesses: You still can't walk a tippmann
Heavy spring gives the gun kick back
Review: i bought this kit to reduce trigger pull and it definatly did that but it still isnt enough to walk my gun. i put the heavy striker spring in first and it had excellent velocity but made the gun kick back. The medium spring seems to work best. the light spring just lowers velocity
Conclusion: I recomend you buy this product if your striker springs are bad or you have velocity problenms
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 10:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Springs
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Strengths: A little bit more consistant
Color coded
Weaknesses: Doesnt do much
Review: Well if you want a slight increase in consistancy or if your having velocity problems this may be right for you. I found a 1-2 +\- improvement in consistancy. The trigger spring wasnt any lighter than my pen spring so I dont use that. But if you need replacement springs or want a slight increase in consistancy go for this. Also you can increase your effciancy slightly by putting in the highest fps spring and than turning your velocity down so you will save a bit of air.
Conclusion: This is good for replacement spring, improves consitancy slight, and even can be a bit more effcianct. But this isnt the holy grail of pb or anything. Just a slight improvement.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Frosti Friday, July 23rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock springs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Egrip
14" All American
Car Stock
M4 Fake magazine
M4 Front handguard and sight
M4 sight rail
Remote
Reds 4+1 Comfort Harness

Zeus G1 w/ quick change adapter
Modded Ronin holster

Wrist Straps for 12 grams
Strengths: Probably good for model 98
Weaknesses: Not for use with A-5, even though it says on the package
Review: i bought a maddmann kit. It says on it : Precision stainless steel spring kit for use in tippmann markers. Model 98, custom 98, A-5, Pro-carbine.

It comes with 3 striker, 2 sear, 2 trigger = 7 in total

The striker springs dont fit the A-5, they are for a 98 (too long so you cant put the endcap on)

The A-5 doesnt use sear springs

So basically I bought this kit for 2 identical trigger return springs, which are almost identical to a bic pen. Don't buy this kit for an A-5
Conclusion: I've heard its good for 98's, but its not for an A-5, EVEN IF IT SAYS SO ON THE PACKAGE

I'll give it a 5 cause its probably good on the 98
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Menohl Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Springs
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Madmann Spring Kit
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 6" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
Magnacraft 3-9X40 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA
32* Coiled Remote w/ Slide Check
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: Light Trigger Pull
Quiet Sear Spring
Weaknesses: Degraded Velocity
Review: I've read on many reviews & Forums that the Madmann Spring kit is a must have for hte 98 Custom, so i got one.

When i recieved the kit i put the lighter springs in for the sear and trigger. I immediatly noticed a great difference in the lighter trigger pull, and i noticed that the sear is alot quieter when you are firing. I was definatly impressed.

I put the Red Bolt Spring in (Red is strongest) because i had read that if you were having velocity problems this would increase the max FPS about 15-20. Well this i didn't see when i went to the chrono. I usually chrono at about 290-300 and have to crank it down, unless the weather is cold, but with this "strong" spring in i couldn't get my marker to chrono over 260fps. I had both my powertube valve screw out all the way, and my rva cranked to max... I was quite dissapointed. I am playing tonight and this weekend for a senario game. If i cannot get my marker to chrono back into the 270-280 tonight, i'm taking it out, and putting the stock spring back in.

Update: Since i wrote this review, i have field stripped and cleaned my marker to make sure nothing was installed incorrectly, and yesterday i went out and used it. When i went to chrono it was shooting at 325fps, and i had to crank my RVA all the way down to get it down to 285. All day my shooting was dead on, so i guess it works after all.
Conclusion: Seems to be working like a champ now so up goes the rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 4th, 2004 at 5:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock and replacement stock springs
Marker Setup: c98 tricked (really)
Strengths: Well, they're color coded.
Weaknesses: The coloring on the springs comes off.
Review: The red spring only added 10 or 15 fps for me at most, so I'm still way under. This product is overpriced, especially since I cannot use the trigger spring, nor can I use the seer spring with my RT kit.

When it comes right down to it, however, this is the ONLY spring kit available, so it is the best by default. I suppose it would be very handy in that it is a very quick and unique fix to any troubles with your drive spring.
Conclusion: If you really need a different velocity, it's your only choice, but still not great.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 31st, 2004 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

camerica19 Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 spring?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ 12" All-American Barrel, Double Trigger (W/ Spring Mod), DOP X chamber, Drop with On Off, JCS RVA, Maddman Spring kit, Macroline
Strengths: Easy to install, cheap
Weaknesses: some of the stuff doesn't work for A5's
Review: Well I got this thing since my A5 wasn't shooting fast enough. And just so everyone knows, MADDMAN SAYS THESE ARE FOR A5s TOO. so I get it. I leave it in my basement before I install it, and my dog eats the two sear springs and trigger springs, lol. So I put in the high tension spring, and now my gun is more consistent, and MUCH faster. It is even harder to cock so I know its working. I say they should comeout with a kit JUST for A5's, so u can save like 5 bucks. But hey, still worth it
Conclusion: I say get it if your having velocity problems, its worth it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike p1 Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock springs
Marker Setup: A-5
flatline
e grip
blade double trigger
maddman springs
72 ci 3000 psi compressed air
20 inch smart parts tactical barrel
Strengths: Makes trigger pull way easier
Increases velocity
Weaknesses: Color rubbs off
Review: I got these springs yesterday. The trigger springs are the best thing about them in my opinion. The drive springs are cool, but I haven't noticed a large difference compared to the stock springs. The velocity goes up about 15-25 fps for my gun. Get these springs with a rva, and you will be able to adjust your velocity easily.
Conclusion: These springs are cool, but you will on'y use 5 of the 7 springs with the a-5, but who cares! They do help, so buy them!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cire Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: DM3, Tadao 5.0 w/M6, CCM No-Pro, Torpedo Reg, Dye LPR, Toxic Spikes, CP Rail and On/Off, JT 2-Piece barrel, Ricochet Apache and PMI 68/45.

68 Classic Automag, PF Left, Intelliframe w/Blade Trigger, SP All-American Barrel, CP Micro Drop, Ricochet AK and AA Armageddon 68/45.

Tippmann Model 98C, Dead-on Double Trigger, Lapco Bigshot, Madmann Spring Kit, Lapco Drop Forward, Ricochet AK and 20oz CO2.
Strengths: Gives more setting options
Weaknesses: None
Review: I originally ordered this upgrade mainly for the trigger spring and to have the other springs as spare parts. I installed the spring in for the trigger and it did lighten the pull on the stock trigger. When I installed a double trigger that benefit went away, I actually had to put the stock spring back in to help on the trigger rebound.

As far as the main springs, my velocity was always good so I never messed around and changed them out. And for all of you that change out the spring to get higher velocities, especially over 300fps, are completely unsafe and I hope I never have to play against.

Keep you velocity under 300fps please, even for outlaw ball, there is a reason!
Conclusion: In my case it was not a needed upgrade and a waste of money. I would recommend spending your upgrade money elsewhere.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE.Other then a guys shocker, an impulse and a Piranha.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT and E-grip
8" Bigshot with Lapco Supressor
68/3000 Crossfire stubby tank
20oz Co2
JCS RVA
Flatline
GTA 2x Trigger
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop
Male Palmers Stabilizer with 1000psi MacDev gauge
Maddman Spring Kit(Trigger)
Strengths: LIGHTENS THE PULL OMG.
Weaknesses: Well, they sent me this weird looking spring...might be m98c trigger lol.
Review: Well, when I first opened my Maddman Spring Kit, I didnt think it would do much. First I slapped in the Maddman Spring for the Striker. Boosted my velo. I was stuck at 230 fps with normal velo screw all the way out and at 800psi with the Flatline. I chronied the red one... like 320 FPS! Thats with the RVA at the stock position too. Then, I put in the trigger spring. Its like a natural blessing. The trigger is so light and easy to walk all my gun needs now is an adjustable trigger. The only problem is the book says this comes with 5 screws, when in reality in came with 7. Two of them are like tight coils with little coils sticking out each end... If someone PM's me what they are il put it here..
Buy the way I dont think the guy belows me knows WTF hes talking about...The hardness of the Striker Spring will not affect trigger pull.
Conclusion: Buy this product. Something like 8$ and it improved my performance!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 10:31 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media